223386 User submitted reviews online!!
Cape Ann Camp Site was rated 7 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (978) 283-8683
CGID1357

Cape Ann Camp Site

Camp Information
Sites
230
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$56



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   4   10   6   7   5   8   10   1   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$56
Very hilly CG, but sites (those we saw, anyway) are level enough. We got a charming site, with plenty of privacy from the foliage and terrain. View of the cove, which is always a plus. Staff was friendly and helpful. Wi-fi was, as in many CGs, sometimes great, sometimes very slow. No cable TV, and we got only 2 (PBS) channels on the antenna. Biggest complaint, and it's not something they can fix, the swarms of mosquitoes. Otherwise, a pretty nice place. The price, high for what you get, is clearly based on the CG's proximity to the beautiful parts of Cape Ann. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$56
Wow, not only all hills and no dog park, but NO amenities either. Not only didn't they have cable, we couldn't even get a channel with our antenna. Expensive rip-off park, but it's the only RV park in the area. I'm just happy I'll never have to stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$48
Regardless of the naysayers in past reviews of Cape Ann, I am going to give you an HONEST opinion and stray from the negative and pessimistic views of those who really can't appreciate the art of camping and life in an RV. The staff/owners of Cape Ann were more than accommodating by giving us two excellent sites with a gorgeous, breathtaking view of the salt marsh directly connected to the Atlantic Ocean. The sites were unbelievably located on quite a steep hill, previously mentioned in the less optimistic reviews, but with the excellent guest service of Cape Ann. We were given sites that were accommodating to our rigs needs. The service was beyond what other campgrounds give, the campground was a wealth of resources for localities and sight seeing. Wingaersheek Beach, just about a mile and a half down the road was costly but Cape Ann gives vouchers to lessen that cost. The beach is beautiful and worth a day trip. The bathhouses at Cape Ann were clean, the campsites were clean and the Wi-Fi was fast. All in all, our stay at Cape Ann left us refreshed, in awe of the east coast and the coastal towns, and we would highly recommend and give this campground a ten star rating based on our findings. Thanks Cape Ann for your love for customer service and understanding of people, it's an old school style, face to face, and it goes a long way. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$60
I found the owners here are extremely nice and very helpful. We camped here in a 40' fifth wheel. It is a very tight fit coming into the park. The entry road is very narrow and there are a lot of trees. This is not a fancy park, but the location to Gloucester and Rockport is very convenient. Overall, the park served our needs and we had a great visit to this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$40
When I first pulled into this park and realized after only being a few feet into the driveway and was going to have to unhook my toad before proceeding, I thought I had made a big mistake coming here. However, once I got situated in a spacious site at the bottom of the hill and spent some time getting acquainted with the owners, I was glad I was there. This park has been in the same family for over 60 years. The information about the local area provided me made my visit to this region of Massachusetts a real delight. The only real drawback (other than initially getting into my site) were the trees that blocked my satellite reception. However, Wi-Fi worked well. Given the limited choice of campgrounds in this area, I would definitely consider staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$50
Very friendly and helpful staff both by email for me to book and on arrival. My 2 sons ages (21 and 22) were keen to go deep sea fishing and the staff organized it for us and ordered a taxi within minuets of us checking in. (They had a brilliant time and caught 4 large cod). It was about a £20 taxi ride into Gloucester. Our site was quite uneven leaning downhill. Only real negative is showers are in bad need of updating and are located up quite a steep slope. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$47
Beautiful view. Very friendly and helpful staff. Sites look out on to gorgeous tidal marsh. Only negative is showers are in bad need of updating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
Cape Ann Campsite - what a beautiful little jewel. It is tiered up a steep hill, with all the tents up behind it. The owners are marvelously friendly and down to earth. We let our cat roam with no problem and no complaints. You're close to Gloucester (loved the town!) and a beautiful beach. Bathrooms and showers are older, but clean. We would stay again, no questions asked. Here's a tip - pull in and park to the right - no rigs up the hill! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2010
$42
I guess when you are the only campground in the area, there is no need to keep up appearances. It doesn't appear that there has been any upkeep to this property in years! The RV sites located at the entrance do not allow campfires so we chose the full hook-up sites within the campground. Most of these sites were small and cramped or had an unusual layout (a camp fire ring located directly between two electricity boxes, a sewer hook-up in the middle of the site). The fire pits were filled with old wood and ash that have to be cleaned out and the rocks restructured. Most of the primitive sites looked really large and private but the bathrooms/shower facilities were disgusting. One evening we noticed one of our coolers sitting in a nearby (vacant) campsite. When we retrieved the cooler, the beer was missing! Some may call this place "rustic" or "quaint" but I can think of a few other words that are more descriptive and candid. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2010
$48
Cape Ann Campsite has wonderful advertisement, but when you finally get here you say "What the heck"? First of all, when you drive through the gate, there is a sign that says to leave your vehicle at the bottom, and walk up to the hill, and I mean hill. About 150 ft or so to the office. The sites are very tight with uneven parking, roots, stones etc. The men restroom is very nasty. No soap, nasty floor with maggots crawling on the floor due to the overflowing dumpster right outside the bathroom door. The shower costs .25 cents for 5 minute shower. There are no trash receptacles except the dumpster which is at the top of the hill making it a 300 foot trek up the hill just to dispose of your trash. The area where the campground is located is situated such that you must travel down through tight turns and twists on a bad road, through a residential area. And it is not the nicest I've seen either. Now on the positive side, the view from the campground is nice. It faces a tidal marsh that has some boats and nice homes on the other side. Close to a beach, but it costs $10 to go on the beach and if you have a dog, it is not welcome on the beach. If you ask, "Will I return"? Probably not. Even there are just a few in this area, there is bound to be a nicer one. Staff was friendly. Sorry, but I call 'em like I see 'em. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$44
The staff and owner here are very friendly and helpful. We are in a travel trailer however we asked to stay in the big rig area at the bottom of a hill, these sites have full hookups. Here you could get WiFi reception and set up a satellite if you wanted TV. Dogs are welcome. There is a nice view of a marsh across from the park. Some sites have trees, most did not. The sites in all the park were not level. If you camp up above you need a smaller trailer or tent. It is pretty in the upper campground. There are a lot of trees and nice granitic rocks. In the upper campground the paved road winds around, it is broken up by roots in some places, you CANNOT take a big rig up here. We stayed 4 days and would come back again. This is a no frills campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$40
I spoke several times with the owners and they were always very pleasant and helpful. However, this campground is not big rig accessible by any means. There are two narrow, no shoulder, rutted, winding roads you must traverse in order to get to the campground - each road is approximately 1 mile. In addition, there are low hanging branches and a couple very tight turns you must negotiate while on these roads. We arrived mid-day in the middle of the week and there was alot of traffic on the roads leading to the campground; a state park/beach area was just down the road from the campground. The location for the big rigs is indeed at the bottom of the hill, sites are terraced (I was told this area used to be a trailer park) up the hill. The rest of the campground is made for (very)small towables and tent camping. It is rustic and in a natural setting; finding a place to yourself should not be hard. This is probably a great place for tent camping and small rvs; but because of the road conditions and hilly terrain, large RVs should beware. Oh yeah...and the mosquitos near the road are brutal! Not the parks' fault, but worth mentioning just the same. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$35
We stayed here for several days to see the Glouchester area, and it is the only nearby campground. There is a great deal to like about this place and I would have given it a much higher mark but for the fact that the bathrooms and shower areas are terrible. The entire bath and shower area were infested with spiders and they are not well kept. The showers are coin operated and we could not get hot water. Because we choose to use the bathrooms and showers this is an important aspect for us and Cape Anne needs a lot of work. Having said that the area is great. The grounds are hilly and rustic and the sites are fairly large and in woods. The management could not have been nicer and were always helpful. Our site was at the very top of the hillside and at times we had no water pressure at all. But for the bathrooms it is a nice campground situated in a great area. I suspect that because they have no competition they are content to keep it the way it is. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2007
$40
We have a dually/36' high-profile fifth wheel. Our back-in site was HUGE and easy to access. Other sites are very variable. Lots of small ones in dense trees, others at bottom of a steep hill are large and open, some with sea views. Arrive early to avoid busy times. Campground a little tired and needs much renovation but no competitors so little likelihood of that! Poor antenna TV reception - no cable service. Good free WiFi at office and sometimes at site. 50A supply just adequate for two a/c units. Good water pressure. Very helpful staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$35
Quaint campground with a lot of character on a hillside. Felt like we were really camping as opposed to an RV resort. Kids loved the large rocks to climb on. Not much to do at the campground. The staff was friendly and helpful. Some of the upper roads are narrow, hilly, low branches and tough to navigate, even in our 26ft 5th wheel. Good location with nice beaches nearby. Considering the rate, we would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$42
An older campground that could use some maintenance. Nice staff and an excellent view of the bay. Very convenient to Gloucester and about 30 minutes from Boston. We would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$30
This is a great campground! The owners are super nice too. It is very close to the beach and everything else. We loved it! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2005
$40
I would like to echo the sentiments of the Aug 2005 reviewer. IMO, this campground is what camping is all about. It is a beautiful area, the sites are nice, varied and rustic. Some of the tent and PU sites are about as good as it gets. The comments above concerning narrow windy roads are accurate, however, if you pay attention to what you are doing you can get to where you want to go. Some driving skill is necessary to position your TT, but that is a learning experience not a fault. We camped here over Halloween weekend in a 23ft TT and are planning regular family gatherings at this CG. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$32
An older park but well kept. Larger rigs are put in the front lower area of the campground, a more open area. Some of these lower sites had sewer and some were satellite friendly. The back area, for smaller rigs, PU's, tents, is a gem. Lots of secluded spots in the woods. Perhaps some issues with levelness of sites due to hilly terrain. No pool but within a short bike ride or car ride to a great family beach. Beach parking passes available for registered campers. We will stay here again when we make our next trip to the Gloucester area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$26
This is a wonderful campground and is one of our favorites. The owners could not be more helpful or nice if they tried. This campground has been welcoming campers for 50 years and is located in one of the most beautiful areas of Massachusetts. There are great beaches, restaurants, activities and shopping all within easy driving distance. Boston is an easy drive or you can catch a ferry or take the train to the heart of the city. The campground is not one of those big "RV resorts" and has no "planned activities" but it has unlimited character and charm. You really feel like you are "camping" while staying at Cape Ann Campsites regardless of what you are camping in. The bath-houses are old but clean and well equiped. (They have pay showers--.25 for 5 minutes of really hot water.) Also, the roads are a bit tight for some of the really big rigs to try and navigate and it is a bit hilly. (I have to admit that I would trim back some of the trees along the roads and combine some sites to make way for today's larger camping units.) If you use a tent or tent trailer there are some really wonderful and secluded sites. The sites are all shaded with a fire pit and table. All and all, I would rate this campground a 10. We camped here in 2004 with a 28' 5th wheel and also with a tent trailer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$25
If you have a big rig they will put you out front. We stayed back in the woods. We had a little bit of trouble getting back in there because of the trees close to the road, but we made it ok. The people couldn't be nicer, very helpful. Told us all the places to avoid and places to check out. Recommended a place to eat everyday as we left. A good place to stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$26
This is one of our favorite campgrounds. Not fancy, no pool, playground etc, restrooms are not fancy but are clean and have $ showers (.25 for 5 min of very hot water) but the people who own and run it are the finest owners you will ever run across! They could not be more helpful and informative if they tried. The sites are spread out and most are shaded. The campground is a bit hilly and I would trim back some of the trees to widen the roads a bit. Tent sites or tent trailer sites are awesome!! Some are very secluded. They are one mile from one of the most beautiful beaches in New England and they will provide you with a daily parking pass. The campground is located about 40 minutes north of Boston. The Gloucester, Rockport and Cape Ann area is chock full of great restaurants, shopping and sightseeing. If you are looking for really nice, friendly, quiet place you will love Cape Ann Camp Site. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2001
$30
This was a nice, peaceful campground. Lots of trees and hills. The owner was extremely helpful recommending things to do in the area. This campground is great if you like a more natural setting, but want full hookups. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com