219848 User submitted reviews online!!
Pine Acres Family Camping Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 53 user reviews. Phone: (508) 882-9509
CGID1363

Pine Acres Family Camping Resort

Camp Information
Sites
350
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$43



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   10   6   9   5   3   8   7   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$43
This is a very family-oriented campground with many activities for kids. It is also very woodsy, so we could not get satellite reception. It is in a very rural area so it's very quite but requires several miles to get to services. Big rigs will need to use caution on the narrow roads and take care of boulders placed to mark the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$80
We have stayed here several times. We really enjoy this campground. The lake/pond is nice. The sandy beach is clean. The pool is small, but nice. It was pretty warm over Memorial Day weekend. The adult hot tub is nice. They have a kiddie water park as well. They have a lot of activities for the kids. They added a new jump pad that the kids loved. Last year I complained that they were going overboard with being too strict. This time it appeared that they have let up a little. That is a good thing. They enforce quiet hours. We had a wooded site. It was not completely level. We had to work on leveling the camper. All in all, this is a great family park! It you are looking for a party zone or a super quiet place, this may not be for you. But in my opinion, they do a great job of balancing this campground so the adults can have fun along with the children. A+ We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$37
Very woodsy. The showers were not very good. Lukewarm water at best. I asked the staff to turn up the temperature of the water and they said they couldn't because they use a mixing valve so the temperature is at 1012 degrees. I'm a maintenance man and they could of turned it up but I think they didn't want to waste the gas. The water had no hot and cold valves. So they controlled the water pressure and temperature. They did have cable so that helped because it is very woody with lots of trees. I would not stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$55
We went for the Halloween weekend in October. The weather was not great - but we had a good time. They had several events for the kids on Saturday. They had a scavenger hunt, pumpkin decorating, other games, campsite decorating contests and trick or treating. They also had a professional storyteller come in and he told ghost stories by the campfire. He was VERY good. We did not swim in the lake and the pool was closed. But there were kids swimming in the lake. It was a laid back and fun time for the family. The campground was roughly half full. It was also very quiet at night. We love this campground and we will come back. It is expensive and it seemed liked they have loosened up the strict rules just a little. If you are not familiar with this area, you are out in the middle of nowhere.. you are a good twenty minutes from any stores. So be prepared for that.. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$48
Rating is based on rate versus what you get. We stayed here during the week in Sept and the pool/store/etc all closed until Friday, yet you still pay a high rate per day. It is a very well kept campground, though and we did not notice excessive rules enforcement. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2012
$88
Yikes! This place costs more than Disney! It’s out in the middle of nowhere and you have to drive forever to even get to a grocery store. While the setting is nice the sites are scattered all over, one is in the middle of a small island area formed where three roads come together – constant traffic all around. Almost every activity is pay extra. Base rates is only for two adults, then you add $7.50 per night for each child over 4 years, $15 per night for each extra adult, $5.00 extra PER pet PER day, visitors $10 extra per person per day. The pool and children’s splash area is nice but they are not heated and way too small for the amount of campers. You cannot enter the pool unless you are a registered camper and they have a list of sites and names that they check against upon entry and give you a colored wristband good for that day only. Excessive rules and employees continuously patrolling on golf carts to make sure there is no infraction of the rules. Children are everywhere on bikes and not supervised by parents. Children riding bikes without a helmet get their bikes confiscated and not given back. Resort employee claimed Massachusetts law says they cannot give bikes back and that confiscated bikes are given to needy children’s organizations. The beach area only open 10am to 6 pm?? Pool opens/closes at whim of management. Quiet hours 11 pm to 8 am, fires out at midnight and patrols make sure you are not even outside whispering after 11 pm. It is very dark at night, no lights except in parking area by lodge. No satellite coverage due to heavily treed area and cable had few stations and was very poor quality. Wi-Fi provided by Tengo Internet and was supposed to get 1 hour free each day. First day got Wi-Fi for 15 minutes and then could not connect without paying extra. Power fluctuated greatly between 102 volts to 116 volts during each day. Power into resort from local utility was low and had excessive voltage drops from resort's distribution transformer to individual sites. Owner claimed Mass Power only required to supply 110 volts and there was nothing he could do. Then owner tried to blame low voltage problem on our RV because our power management system shut down power to it when voltage dropped below 103 volts to protect our equipment. Rude owner told to us to use our own propane to run refrigerator and hot water heater to offset low voltage issue. Can’t understand why we should have to use our own propane and cost us even more when we are paying such exorbitant price for the “resort” to supply proper power?? The last straw was when numerous cars were broken into over the Labor Day weekend and GPS’ and other valuables stolen. Never returning to this place again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$70
Great place, clean, friendly, much to do. However, too strict about rules. One rule about only one car at a site is just stupid. They knocked on our door and told us to move a car into visitor parking. Seriously? Also, they charge each visitor who comes to see you a $10.00 charge. That is ridiculous! I could see a $5.00 charge, but not $10.00. Nevertheless it is a great place to go. We would go back again, but not have visitors. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$70
This is the 4th time we have stayed here. I will explain why we have only given the campground a 7. We LOVE Pine Acres! The campground is very clean. It is very well run. They have wooded sites,a nice beach on the 70 acre pond. They also have a nice pool and water park. Both are small, but still nice. They have a nice large adult hot tub. They have a decent playground with a baseball/whiffle ball field, a new dog park, you can rent paddle boats etc. This is a FANTASTIC family campground. There is more of a yuppie camping vibe in this park, which we are fine with. The park itself is fantastic. We have four children and do not drink very much. We like the fact that the rules are very strict. They STRICTLY enforce quiet hours and keep the park very clean. My problem is that I almost feel that they are too strict. They had people literally patrolling the campground all day and night on golf carts. It almost gives the feeling of being uneasy. I witnessed three separate warnings given to other campers for very minor issues. One was that a camper needed to move their extra car to a parking lot. There was plenty of room at the site. Then we had friends who had rented a cabin for a week. They had to check in late due to the cabin having a leak that needed to be fixed. They paid over $1,000 for the week and did not get any type of price break for the inconvenience. Then they decided to stay a couple of hours on their last day to spend time with us at the beach. They checked out of their cabin on time. But they were charged an additional $40.00 to remain in the park for a couple of hours. Needless to say, they were VERY angry. The park also nickels and dimes you for extra children, guests, pets, etc. The prices are already expensive and they really gouge you at every turn. I did not use the public showers. But my wife did and she said the water was freezing cold. For the amount you pay to camp here the showers should be warm. Even with my complaints. we would return again. We really love the park. The staff needs to ease up a little. We like strict, but we are not looking to be disciplined like children while paying a lot of money to camp. If you like to drink and stay up late, this is NOT the campground for you. It is an EXCELLENT family park. If you are not familiar with this area, it is out on the middle of nowhere. We spoke with some who complained about having to drive 35 minutes to find a grocery store. That is pretty accurate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$60
Nice campground, not far from home. Quiet time was early in my opinion and strictly enforced. Lots of mosquitoes, not sure they spray. My site, 111, was huge and close enough to everything, but not too close. Loved it. The trash bins are located clear to the front of the park, so it was a bit of a walk. I think they should provide more centrally located bins in the campground as well, but when I mentioned this, I was told they didn't want to have animals in the park. Seems to me the trash was on everyone's site anyway. I did see an employee picking up trash on occasion, but there didn't seem to be any set schedule for this, so if you wanted to not have trash on your site overnight, you needed to take it to the bins. Overall it was a decent campground and I will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$58
This park was awesome. The sites were huge and level. I loved the big trees and we stayed in site 58 and it was right next to the office and pool area. The staff was very professional and friendly. The front gate had a card access so the park was safe. We even saw the Sheriff drive through the park at night. Park workers drove around and picked up any little piece of paper that was lying on the ground. It was immaculate! The laundry room only had 4 washers and 4 dryers so there was a wait, but it was clean. There was a good cafe and a cute gift shop. The park had every amenity you could ever want, including a lake with a beach. My only regret is that I didn't have a month to spend there. I will come back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2012
$60
I would not come here again. The majority of staff was not friendly to my family at all. The camp ground ranger was just plain not friendly. The area I was in (site 32) was heavy with mosquitos after dark. Apparently, no service road entrance for deliveries, the delivery trucks would access the camp ground at high rates of speed and right through the site areas, this would include staff golf carts as well. When talking to the office and the ranger about this issue, their recourse was just to keep your kids off of the road so they don’t get hit and, that they do not have radar to enforce the speed limit. Nice. Just for your information, when they say quiet hour is at 10 o’clock; just go in your trailer or tent and go to sleep. Not only was I forced to bed but I watch others get sent in doors as well. Over priced items in my opinion: ice, wood. I will now spend days cleaning my gear from the pine sap and healing from bug bites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$100
We stayed at a lakefront spot, and I found my stay one I will remember for the rest of my camping life. The folks at the park are very friendly, and our kids made friends very quickly. The only negative things I can think of was the pool was not heated (it was a chilly June weekend) and a big rock at the end of our site to help mark two sites off caused a difficult back in. This was unique to this site. The guy next to me showed me a run in he had with the rock the year before on his motorhome. Then again, he had a monster class A, but we managed to get our large 5th wheel in perfect. The dog park is a little on the outside fringe of the park but was very clean. This place would make me go seasonal if I could get that specific spot. I highly recommend this campground for families with kids. It is a tad on the pricey side for lakefront with 2 kids and 2 dogs, but I don't regret the upgrade. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$70
We camped the weekend before Memorial Day weekend. The park was maybe half full. We had an excellent site. It was site number 88 with a view of the lake/pond. The pool only opened on Sunday. So we enjoyed the pool and small water park for a couple of hours. The park was clean and quiet. The sides are wooded and fairly large. They have a new dog park. The pond has a small beach that was pretty empty when we went. The water was warm. There was quite a bit of muck on the floor of the pond. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our four kids had other kids to play with. There were activities for the children. This is not a party campground. It is also not a super resort with tons of activities. But if you are looking for a nice campground, that is quiet and family oriented, I think you will like it here. They enforce quiet hours and the more expensive price seems to keep the party crowd out of the park. I will say that some of the sites look pretty tough to back into. The roads are paved but pretty curvy. Anyway.. this was our second trip here and we really like it.. We would certainly come back again.. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$85
For the cost I thought it would be better. Of course I had to pay the extra money for 4 kids which brings the cost up. The pool is rather small for the amount of campsites and the little beach area was packed. My wife liked the "old school" campsites that were shady. Very tight roads (I was escorted to site). I have a 29 ft travel trailer. Some sights are rather tight but mine (R7) was good. Electrical service kept tripping off when used microwave. Do not like the 11 AM checkout; it could at least be 1 PM. We will probably go back and try to get on of the lake sites (near #89). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$40
We love this campground! We heard about this campground over a year ago and are thrilled that it is one hour from our house. We were searching for so long for a near by campground we could have as "a favorite" and we finally found it at here. CLEAN! So much for the kids to do: great pool, arcade, activities. We ride our bikes for hours and use the paddle boats. So much to do and so many trees and a great lake and, and, and. Nice people working here. We went last year for a Halloween weekend and all had a blast. We went this year for my daughter's birthday and they made her feel so special. We love Pine Acres and plan to return over and over and over! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$40
We stayed for three nights during school vacation (me, my wife, and my 7 year old daughter) as a maiden voyage for our popup camper. The reservation process was very efficient. We had reserved about a week in advance, and we had no problem securing a site. We requested a site close to the bathrooms, and the person taking our reservation gave us a very good site. As it was pre-season, there were hardly any transient campers - there were some seasonal campers that pretty much kept to themselves. We arrived in early evening on a Sunday, and as the office was closed, we were pleasantly greeted by one of the on-site staff who gave us our gate code and we proceeded to our site. The site was very good: a level gravel rectangle that was very easy to back the PUP into, with conveniently-located water/electric hookups, a picnic table and fire pit. One thing I immediately notices about the campground is how immaculately it is kept, even outside the gate on the side of the road next to the entrance. We arrived at a time when there was a flurry of activity by the staff/groundskeepers cleaning up the landscaping and facilities. However, the bathrooms were very clean throughout our stay. While the facilities (pool, mini golf, camp store, etc.) were not opened when we stayed, we liked the layout - those facilities were located in one general area. So once you walked to that area from your site, you were pretty much in the middle of everything. In taking a drive around the campground, we noticed that the tent sites (up on a wooded ridge) were very private, well spaced with lots of trees around. In fact, I determined that this ridge is where we were hearing the wild turkeys gobbling every morning from our campsite. You definitely feel one with nature at this campground. Overall, this campground is well laid out, with a mixture of different types and sizes of sites. Many of the sites are already taken up by seasonal campers, but there are plenty of sites for transient campers. The facilities are some of the best I have seen, and while there were no activities going on at the time we were there, I understand that during the 'in-season', there is much to keep people occupied (especially kids). We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$57
Camped here for one of the Halloween weekends with my son. We loved it. A perfect campground feel with lakefront sites (we had one) and lots of activities. The seasonal sites harbored mostly modern campers and were extremely well kept. The facilities were spotless with constant cleaning and maintenance to keep the place in tip top shape. We prefer RV friendly campgrounds that have a shady, old school campground feel and this fit the bill perfectly. Not many open pull-through sites but we are back-in campers. At the store and kitchen, we got a fresh made, ready to cook in the camper apple pie as it was harvest season. Camper smelled great and started our weekend off just right. Sites are not very large, but large enough for most rigs. An overall beautiful campground. I would request a DJ every Saturday night but that is just our preference. We will definitely return in the summer: the pool was closed during our stay as it was late in the season. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2010
$51
We found the park to be nice with many amenities: boating, fishing, swimming and hot tub. However many of the amenities are not available this time of the year (September after Labor Day). When we went to use the Hot Tub (Adult Spa, 18+ Only) as stated in the rules, and found it full of children. So we could not use the "Adult Spa". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$70
If you're going to call yourself a resort then guide us to our campsite and don't nickel and dime us after we paid $7.50 extra per night per child to stay. Sites were packed in pretty tight and the swimming hours were limited. While we enjoyed ourselves at the lake, this was definitely a one and done. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$60
I will start by listing the three things that kept this campground from getting rated a ten. #1 Cold showers, they are free but you are unable to make it hot, I would pay for a hot shower. Showers were very clean by the way. #2 The pool was very cold, maybe 72? The pool area is amazing, have never been to a campground with such a nice pool area, hot-tub, (adults only) my kids are unlike most kids, they will not go in cold water. #3 The lake at our site L4 had no beach, just a dock, and the water was murky, kids wouldn't go in. If you went to where the beach was the lake was fine, as most lakes are. Over-all a very nice campground, staff was very nice, bathrooms clean, nice general store and activities for the kids. Our site L4 was very private, if you were going with a few other families and could get 4-6 you would be all by yourselves. The other side of the park the sites were close to each other but still somewhat private. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$38
This is one of the prettiest campground I've ever camp in. Very friendly staff and site are very level and pretty. There site map guide is very good and has a lot of information in it for restaurants and other services. Stayed 2 weeks here; will come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$70
We camped for two nights. We live a couple of towns away. We were here for a Saturday and Sunday night. The campground was pretty full but did not feel like it. The park was VERY quiet at night. People observed and respected quiet hours. The beach was clean and the swimming area had a sandy, clean floor. The pool and the water park were also fun. Our kids spent time in the game room and had fun. We missed the Saturday activities due to rain. But there were some scheduled. There was a playground, tennis courts, basketball courts etc. The park is somewhat hilly. So some of the sites were not level. Be prepared to level your camper. Some of the sites were tricky to back into. I got into mine despite being new at backing in to sites though. All in all an excellent experience, we would most certainly go back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$60
We spent a three night weekend at Pine Acres. Beautiful setting; wonderful public buildings; lovely lake; great staff. One complaint: it was too crowded with people, children, dogs everywhere. Noisy and smoky at night (as the tall trees trapped the smoke.) My car and the motorhome was filled with strong odor of smoke when we left. We camped here with kids ages 12-17, they agreed it was too congested. Otherwise a great RV Park with lots to do. But couldn't stand the crowds. May return in May or September, week days only, never again on weekends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$50
This is a very nice park. The staff is very friendly and the park is well-maintained. They have a number of sites that will work for a big rig. We did not like the first site we were assigned as it was too short, unlevel and had a low hanging tree limb. We asked to move to a deeper and more level site. They were fully booked but did have a site for us that was better and allowed us to move. Security was good. This is more of a family park and was loud and crowded on the week-end because of the excellent recreation facilities. The only other negative is that the location is remote and there is no easy way to get there without going down narrow back-roads. The roads are not ideal for those of us with "big rigs". Overall, we enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$63
We came here for the first time for Memorial Day Weekend. We really enjoyed this campground. The site we had (#59) was very nice. I thought it was cool that we actually had a stone fire ring, not some old tire rim or metal fire ring. The grounds were very well kept. I was impressed when I went to the fishing beach as it had been freshly raked. Nice. The lake beach was a bit weedy for my liking, but the kids didn't seem to care. The lake is nice, shallow but good for kayaking around. The pool area was smaller than I expected. The website and brochure pictures must have been taken with a WIDE angle lens to make it look huge. Anyhow, it was nice and clean. The bathrooms were clean, but for some reason, the showers weren't working at all when I went to clean up the kids. Overall, a good weekend, great place and I'm looking forward to getting back here, maybe for the Halloween weekend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$35
We camped here in late October so there was very little activity. The park was spotless. The sites are well shaded. The camp staff was very friendly. Just a thoroughly enjoyable experience. We extended our stay twice, and would gladly return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$45
We had a lovely visit. The pool area was fun, the lake was clean and inviting. Lots of activities for children. The only down side is that it is very crowded. But everyone was very friendly and the dog park was an added bonus. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$50
Camped here in a 42' toyhauler, which was a little tight getting in so staff moved our site to make things easier. Staff was extremely friendly. Sites are nicely laid out and some along the lake have their own docks. We kayaked everyday. Lots of seasonal sites but no junk or trash. Site prices rise on weekends. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
This is a great campground. The owners are very friendly and helpful. They renovated last year and they now have a nice new pool and jacuzzi. Also a water area for the kids. The sites are really big and wooded. The sites on the top of the hill are our favorite. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2008
$75
This is a beautiful campground. However, they call themselves a "family camping resort" but their rates are based on 2 adults. They charge an extra $7.50 per child. We stayed on a premium lake front site, #85. Very nice site with concrete pad and wooden bench. But definitely not worth the $97.50 per night that we payed for our family of 5. I would have rated this CG a 9 if they included at least 2 children in the rate. I did know about the extra charge for the children before booking but I don't know how they consider a family to consist of only 2 adults. Other than that this is a great campground with plenty of things for the kids to do. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$65
We have stayed at this park many times since 2001. The park is very nice and has many nice amenities. One of the reasons why we keep going back is the fact that Pine Acres has on site RV rentals and allows us to camp with our friends that don't have their own RV's. Over the years I have been continually impressed with how well the rentals have held up, they are very clean and the owner of the park replaces them after a few years of use. The campground is situated on Lake Dean and offers waterfront sites. This is something that other campgrounds have converted to seasonal sites only; not the case here. The pool area is very nice although a bit cramped for space (needs more room for chairs). The hot tub is also available but for adults only - kids are NOT allowed in or near as they will be quickly told they cannot be in the hot tub. The park offers boats to rent, a bait shop and a small, but well stocked store. The snack bar offers breakfast and lunch and you can eat in their cafe located within the store area or outside on picnic tables. On our most recent trip the WIFI was up and running and we were able to connect very easily. I can't speak to the coverage throughout the campground, but near the store area it worked fine. Some sites are smaller than others and can be a bit difficult to get into, so definitely make sure you mention the size of your RV so you don't end up on a site that's too small. On the weekends there are some organized activities or arts and crafts for the kids (some for a $) and if all else fails, there's a game room and playground. The campground is always clean, restrooms and sites as well. We've never had an issue in this regard. It's obvious the owner, who can be seen working at the campground runs a tight ship. The one big negative I will add is that this campground has become the most expensive campground that we camp at (even more than Fort Wilderness!). The waterfront sites are considered "premium sites" and they command a premium price. In the summer season, a family of 4 on a premium site for a weekend will cost $90 a night - $180 for a weekend of camping is a bit expensive in my mind. Despite the price, we do enjoy this park a lot and will return again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$48
A very pretty campground. Friendly staff, professionally run. Beautiful lake and a nice little beach. Paddle boats, fishing etc. The pool was clean and had a great splash play area. Sites were average . Some were great and others were just so so. The campground roads do get very busy though, lots of traffic. The Mini golf was good. The playground was just ok. The bathrooms were all clean. The game room was in pretty bad shape. Most games didn't work or were very old and involved killing something (not good for kids). Activities were average but the staff did try. Overall a great campground. Kids should love it. We have been 3 times and keep coming back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$42
We camped here for a week in August. When we pulled into our site I was so disappointed. We camped in the middle of the island, No privacy at all the parking lot was in front of us and a main road to the back of us. My sister made the reservations. She will not be doing this again. I was furious. I immediately went to the office. The person at the desk, younger kid helped but wasn't very concerned. No other sites available. When my sister arrived we made the best of it by hanging a cloths line and parking cars in front of our site. The next morning I went to the office again. A women gave me 2 other sites right away to choose from. She was very helpful. In the end we decided to stay where we were. We do like this campground, very clean staff is very helpful and friendly. The new pool is very nice, clean, and the splash park is very nice too. The kids enjoyed the activities as did we. We were told one night that we were being too loud. It was after 11 and our campsite was full of people. We checked out all the other sites and we did not see another bad site. The sites on the water are beautiful. Next time were getting one of those. People we were with rented a trailer on the water with a dock . The rentals were very nice they looked like new trailers. We checked out the cabins and they were very nice. They were also new. Overall we will be going back often. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$71
Stayed here for week over the 4th, with 2 kids & dog. Kids love the beach & lake that is weed controlled and has sandy bottom. A nice little island for able swimmers to swim out to. My lab loved swimming at the dog beach too. The pool is geared toward younger kids as it is shallow and has tons of kiddie water features, so we only visited once on our stay. It was clean, but my kids said the lake water was warmer. The weekday activities were fairly limited as compared to other resorts we camp at, but the weekend was fantastic. Live band Sat. night, and beach party/DJ family dance with fireworks on Sun. were outstanding. We all had a great time. The weather over the week was prone to pop up storms and this resort handled the situation better than I have ever seen. Staff drove to beach and informed us the storm would be entering the area in about 10 minutes so we should go prepare. This happened various days and each time staff drove around informing campers. The staff was also very attentive to a dead battery in our tow vehicle. The quickly sent help & got us on our way. We will camp here again, plan to bring what you'll need and enjoy time around camp fishing, hiking, biking, swimming because it is a drive to get anything you'll need (and there is extremely limited cell service). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2008
$51
I agree with other posters that the sites are small and very close together. My biggest problem with the campground was the fees. Since when does a "family" consist of only 2 people? Additional charges for each child and they charge extra for dogs as well? One of the folks in our group was going to cancel because her husband wasn't feeling well and when they were advised that they would not get refunded in any manner (we'd paid in full for the weekend), so they decided not to cancel. The campground ended up canceling them anyways, re booked their site and had no intention of refunding them! There is absolutely no cell phone service (except AT&T) in the area and how they get away with advertising that they have Wi-Fi is beyond me as I couldn't get service. I could connect, but got "limited or no connectivity", so I couldn't do anything with it. They had ceramics and jewelry making scheduled for activities, but the person running them never showed up, the pool complex was nice but they had so many rules about what you could bring and do there that it wasn't worth going to. If I do go back, it will be with much lower expectations for the value I'll get for the dollars spent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$35
Very nice campground. May be too crowded in the summer but it was quiet with very few campers in September. Many seasonals that were all very well kept. Everything was very clean. Workers were helpful and polite. There were also many very nice tent sites. We will return again off-season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2007
$40
This year we tried a few different campgrounds. The advertisement for this "resort" looked great. We arrived for a 3 night weekend and from moment one we were disappointed. The pine trees are so overgrown that hardly any sunlight gets through. The sites are small with no privacy between sites. The bathroom by the camp store was clean, but the one in our area was filthy. The same paper that was on the floor when we arrived was still there when we left. My daughter joined in on some activities, however she had to pay extra for this. I can see that this could be a great place, but they need to give it a "freshen-up". We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$40
We have been here multiple times. This summer we spent the week of july 4th and enjoyed the beach view fireworks display. My only complaint is it is a very busy park. If you dont get to the pool by 11:15 AM there are no chairs available. Most sites are crowded and small. We loved the dog park (fenced area for dogs to play off the leash.) We will go back for sure. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2007
$50
They clam its a resort. I'm still can't figure out why. If was 8 or younger it might be. The pool has all kinds of water features for small children which is one of the nice things about the campground. It opens at 11 am and closes at 7 pm. Get their early if you want to sit in the sun. They have a snack bar next to the pool just don't expect to get anything from it its never open. They also have a beautiful Lodge, again don't expect to go their unless you want to play bingo once a week or do some adult craft once a week because it to is never open. They have boat rentals which are charged by the hour and which I found to be quite pricey. The lake is a good size and the fishing was good. Activities were far and few between. Camper and my truck were covered with pine pitch after one week. While dumping my tanks I was 1/2 way thru the black tank when it started perk up thru the ground. Which made for a very unpleasant departure. Would I ever go back their, Nope. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$40
We loved this campground. We didn't find it too crowded. We had great sites that were close to everything. The pool can get a little crowded...but you can go to the lake if that's the case. The bathrooms could use some updating but were clean when we were there. They had some good activities for the kids and we were never bothered by neighbors or staff. Some places have fire restrictions, but no one ever came over to tell us to put our fire out, which was nice. You can even have a fire in the morning, which we are noticing that's not the case for a lot of campgrounds. There were about 8 of us that camped, and we all really loved the place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$51
Yes this place is nice. We camped here before the pool was built. It was dug out but the next season it would be ready. The sites were big and level, dirt bottom. Roads were wide, lake was beautiful, walking path very nice. I didn't like that you had to pay for the amenities. Mini Golf and now the pool. The store closed very early. and the hours were limited on the mini golf. I would like to go back but they don't take weekend reservations until May and when you call in May they're all booked up. We would like to go back but we can't get in. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2007
$70
I was really looking forward to camping here. It looked nice on the website. It is pretty, but very boring. It rained and so they just cancelled all the activities. We paid 7.50 for each kid and they had nothing free for the kids to participate in. They told me the arcade was open. However, I really didn't feel like spending anymore money to keep my kids entertained. They also said there was arts and crafts. Of course everything cost around $5 (times this by four and it adds up). My kids don't need entertaining but it was raining and we were staying in a tiny pop-up, with four kids. Pool was closed at 7 on Friday night, we arrived at 7:30 and it was still very hot. My kids swam in the lake which was nice. THe pool was closed most of Saturday because of the rain. When it was open, this mean lady follows you around yelling. The hot tub is not hot and don't dare have your kids put a body part in-you will get the lecture of a life time and maybe even get kicked out. Overall, this was a very disappointing camping experience and we left a day early. Way too expensive and you get nothing for your money. When you complain, you get an arrogant woman in the office who make you feel as if you around 12. Camp somewhere cheaper. It is not worth the money. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$50
Pine Acres was one of the most enjoyable camping trips we have had in awhile. We camped at the edge of the their lake, which was very nice. Our kids fished throughout the week and were very successful. The pool complex was nice, however, I would of like to see the hours extended on both ends. 10am-6pm is just not a good enough time frame considering what you pay and the how fast the time goes by. Because we went during the week in June, there were no scheduled activities. I'm sure that this picks up in the summer season. But, once again for what you are paying there should be a little something scheduled for the kids. There were enough kids to schedule maybe a kiddie bingo or kickball, etc. Aside from that, nice place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$43
Nice, pine shaded campground. Owners and employees are very accommodating. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$45
This was a fantastic campground. We visited it last year and spent Halloween weekend there. There was lots to do for the kid, Trick or Treating was a lot of fun, they had a costume party for the kids and also a scarecrow building contest for the campsites. Highly recommended We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2006
$45
Nice pool area, like a small water park for the kiddies. Good activities for kids. Nice and clean, well managed facility. Sites on the small side though. Nice place for a weekend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$50
The showers and bathrooms were very clean in my area since most other campers used their own facilities in the trailer. Great place to camp with children. The maximum depth of the pool was 3'6", and the small water park was a hit with my toddler. The shallow end of the pool starts at 1' deep. Nice mini golf area that never seemed to be busy, even on Memorial Day Weekend. Mini golf was free for my three year old. We also rented a square stern canoe ($10/hr) that was very stable for the little guy. The bait shop rented toddler sized fishing poles ($5/2 hrs) and sold crawlers which were used to take advantage of the fishing areas from shore. We stayed at site 123 (with W/S/E) which was on the main road, but very large and right across from the pool, arcade, mini golf, volleyball, basketball, and tennis courts, horseshoe pits and adult lounge. I had no problem backing in my 29' trailer due to the fact that there was no site across from it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$28
Nice place to start the camping season. But branches along roads need to be trimmed and sites needed to be raked. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$45
The swimming pool is currently being built. We stayed at campsite #86. Do not camp here if you want privacy. We could see everything our neighbors were doing and vice versa. Visited the restrooms near the store and very clean. The restrooms near our site were absolutely filthy when visited at 7am two mornings in a row. We rented a paddleboat ($15 per hour) and played mini golf for a nominal fee. Lots of shade, but the trees are tall and offer no privacy. Majority of campers were camping in RVs. We were in a tent. Swimming area was small, but nice and and clean water. No lifeguard on duty. Many activities. I am used to a more private campground setting, but my kids had fun. Went with another family and spent time with them at their site which was waterfront. The waterfront sites are nice, but other people have access to the shore in front of your site. Again, not very private. We camped here in a Tent.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2004
$27
We stayed at Pine Acres Resort in Oakham, MA this past weekend. Our experience here was so-so. When I initially made the reservations, they asked me what I was camping in, and what length. First off, although I love having plenty of trees at the campground, I thought that they didn't do a very good job clearing the road because I had more than a few tight turns to make with my 31' TT and extended cab truck. When I was shown my site, I made a few attempts to back into it. I ended up having to turn the whole setup around and approach from the opposite side. It was a challenging parking experience for me, and I consider myself to be pretty good at it normally. Other than the problem getting into the site, I'd say we enjoyed camping here. They have the usual amenities. As for activities for children, I'd say they were kind of sparse, but this is still not the official camping season so it's excuseable to me. They do have a nice pond for swimming, fishing and boating. We rented a paddleboat and went out for awhile to explore the pond. Although they do not have a pool, I saw that they are in the midst of constructing one: with an accompanying jacuzzi. All-in-all I'd rate it a 2-1/2 out of 5 and, if I don't find anything better near Old Sturbridge Village I wouldn't mind staying here again. Like I said, there are PLENTY of trees there so there is plenty of shade. The trees are not necesarily between the sites, however so privacy is at a minimum. There are some trees between the sites (all pines- hence the name), but they are so tall that they don't offer privacy. FWIW we stayed at site 121 with W/S/E & Cable TV. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$25
This park is one of the cleanest I have ever been to. The people were great and there was lots to do for adults as well as for kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$40
Spotlessly clean. Restrooms cleaned 3 times daily. Great family activities. Very modern facilities and friendly staff. Superclean rentals at great rates. Tenters: make sure your site is near a restroom with showers. We tent camped here and although we had restrooms, the showers were quite a way off. We plan to go back next season. We camped here in a Tent.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$40
Twenty minutes from Sturbridge. Cleanest bathrooms I have ever seen. Good family campground with plenty of activities for adults and children. Most sites are wooded and spacious, with some overlooking the lake. Campground has lodge with entertainment,tennis courts, basketball court, game room. Extremely clean and friendly staff. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com