223556 User submitted reviews online!!
Stovepipe Wells Village RV Park (Privately Owned) was rated 7 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (760) 786-2387
CGID13644

Stovepipe Wells Village RV Park (Privately Owned)

Camp Information
Sites
14
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$16



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   5   6   8   8   9   7   7   6   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$16
I know it would have been helpful for me to understand the situation at Stovepipe Wells before I got there, so I will start with that. There is a motel/cabins with bar, restaurant, gift shop and pool on the south side of Highway 190. On the other side is a general store and gas station, NPS campground (which is a big parking lot with marked spaces and curbs surrounded by desert and fabulous views of the mountains). Between the store and the NPS parking lot is a smaller parking lot with 14 long pull-through spaces side-by-side close together. All this is in the middle of Death Valley with the nearest outpost about 25 miles away at Furnace Creek. We really liked staying here and think it is one of the bargains of Death Valley. For $16 (using the US senior discount card) you get full hookups, access to the very nice pool, and fabulous views front and back. In the NPS campground, you get basically the same views, probably more space (it was never more than 40% full the whole week we were there), generator noise, no pool (unless you pay for a pass) and no hook ups for a bit less cost. Staying in this area is much quieter and darker than at Furnace Creek and closer to some very nice and less-visited sites (sand dunes, Mosaic Canyon, Aguerreberry Point, the Eureka mine, Titus Canyon, Marble Canyon and others. We stayed at both places and each has its merits, but if you want to experience more of the quiet and solitude of Death Valley, Stovepipe Wells is a great place to do it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2014
$37
Good place for what it is. Gravel parking lot with hookups in the middle of Death Valley NP. Store, restaurant, and gas available (no diesel). They say they have WiFi available at the lounge (not at sites), but you cannot connect even after midnight. No cell service either. People are friendly and it is a good place to stay to explore Death Valley. Just be aware that you are pretty isolated. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$16
Rate reflects Senior Discount available with National Parks Senior Pass. While we made reservations on-line as per the web-site, there were plenty of pull through sites available. We spent three nights here while exploring Death Valley. Rest rooms available at the General Store, a short walk and showers available at the hotel pool across the street. We did not use either but observed the showers were in dire need of cleaning. No Wi-Fi or TV at the sites. Wi-Fi available at the hotel, but very weak and slow. No cellular phone service at all. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
For an RV park in the middle of one of the hottest places in the world all we really wanted was to have reliable power to run our air conditioning units which it did no problems. It is conveniently located to all the Death Valley attractions and as guests of the park you are able to use the motel across the road facilities including the swimming pool. We also visited the Badwater Saloon to have a few drinks after a hot day in the sun. Wifi was non existent in the park; however, is available in the saloon and also the guest lounge room. The convenience store is open from 7 am - 10pm and has all the necessities. Staff were friendly - especially the bar man. Thought it a bit unnecessary, however, that a fellow camper was reminded of the checkout time by one of the managers; check out time was 11:00 and this was at 11:20. It was evident that he was packing up, and as there were no other campers in the park, couldn't quite understand what the drama was. Would definitely stay here again due to all the facilities so close by. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$16
To our surprise, we accidentally found out that this CG provides a 50% discount to holders of the Federal Senior Pass. That makes this place an incredible buy at $16. Who cares if it is a gravel parking lot with hookups, at that price it doesn't matter. The office staff were very pleasant and informative at check-in. This is one of the few "resorts" we've encountered that treats CG customers as if they are at a hotel. We can actually eat at the restaurant, if we wish, and charge our meals to our "room." There's no cell service in the Valley, but the CG has free Wi-Fi in the "lounge". However, with our WiFiRanger we were able to connect from our site, something the staff said wasn't possible. It's not great Wi-Fi (it's satellite-based), but at least it provides internet access. The best aspect of the CG, of course, is that you are in the middle of Death Valley and all the sightseeing spots are within easy driving distance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$32
For in the middle of no where, this was a welcome site. View of the dunes at a distance. Level sites, no trees but you can't expect that in Death Valley. Dark at night: can see all the stars. NPS campground right next to this one, so be sure you make the correct turn. They only have 14 sites, but at this time they were not busy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$32
This is a parking lot behind the general store. No grass, shade, etc.. Just power and water which is nice when it is very hot out. Check in is across the street. The pool is across the street and it is very nice. They even provide pool towels. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
Well kept park. Hard packed gravel sites. Pool and Wi-Fi access are at the motel. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2011
$30
Site gravel pull through and not level. Amenities included use of restroom/showers and pool across the street at the motel. No TV available except for satellite. Wi-Fi at motel, but not able to connect from campground. If you need to buy gas in Death Valley fill up in Stovepipe Wells. It was over a dollar a gallon cheaper there than Furnace Creek. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2011
$31
Not worth the price. You have water, electric, and dump at each site but unless you want the electric, spend twenty bucks less by camping next door. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$30
In addition to full hook-ups, location is what makes this park awesome. If you're visiting Death Valley, it pretty much puts you right in the middle of everything you would want to see during your visit. I was there for a week and was out everyday in every direction. Great to be able to come back to full hook-ups, store, restaurant, bar, 24 hour gas. Very friendly and professional staff. No reservations accepted. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$31
Had not planned to stay at Stovepipe Wells, but after stopping we liked the looks of the RV park and also the facilities and friendly staff. Very nice experience and would stay here again. Close to the sand dunes, which are right off the main road so we took the RV. Gas was also cheap (ER) than at Furnace Creek by over $1.00 per gallon. If you get stuck in Death Valley for gas Stovepipe Wells has the best gas prices by far. We paid $31 for the hookup variety which included a nice little continental breakfast buffet. Also has dry camping for less at the adjacent campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$30
There are two RV Parks at Stovepipe Wells Village. One is run by the NPS and the other is a private concern run by Xanterra Inc. Both are behind the General Store and next to each other. Both are on hard packed dirt/sand. The private one has hook ups for electric/sewer/water and are pull through. One registers at the hotel across the street from the General Store and further amenities include the use of the facilities including the swimming pool, showers/bathrooms, ice machine, guest lounge and soda/phone. The NPS run site has numerous places to camp and is basically dry camping with limited times for generator use and is much cheaper to stay. I saw dumpsters and a small building at this site, but I don't know if there were showers there. Death Valley is an awesome experience; however, come prepared at all levels. Many of off main road scenic sights have turn around areas for large rigs. I was in a 28' MH towing a vehicle and had no problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
Sites not on pavement, only pavement is a small perimeter loop. Level site and clean. No cell or internet service available. Cell service is limited in the whole park, suggest getting a satellite phone or internet if it’s really important. Only 30 amps: first time using less that 50 so we had to learn how to manage power. (Can't run 2 a/c units with hairdryer and convection oven). I had to use the system Eddie Albert used with Eva Gabor in Green Acres and put number values on devices. Good water pressure and supply voltage. Sites are first come, first served; we also rented 3 rooms at the motel across street. Gas and C-store next to site, fuel is VERY expensive, but you are in Death Valley and it’s a long walk to civilization. Remember to fill up before entering the park. Only propane fires allowed in park: no charcoal or open pits. Additional sites (RV and tent) next to these sites, but no services. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$30
We camped here a while back and seemed to have liked it enough to be thinking of going back there again. It's on a sandy lot and has a swimming pool. The rate is not too high. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$40
Spent two nights here. Staff were friendly and helpful. Good central location for the tourist spots in the valley. Spectacular views as you would expect in Death Valley. Really quiet when we were there but we heard the hotel across the road was full. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$28
In an area where you would expect to find extremely basic amenities was this absolute gem. The campground is a short distance from the sand dunes, and offers motel rooms, hookups, swimming pool, showers and shops. At night - silence, pure silence, and dark, clear skies. We loved it and will make every effort to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2005
$20
Management was friendly, and helpful. Park is located in the middle of the park, so you will need transportation aside from your RV if you wish to visit other areas of the park. There is a small store with essentials. Recommend very highly! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2004
$22
Again the employees were very rude, same concession that owns Furnace Creek Ranch owns and runs this one. We ended up staying at the park no hook up for $5 ($10.reg) Stay at the park campgrounds they are very nice and offer just as much if you don't really need hookups. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2004
$20
Only 20 sites in a dirt field managed by Xanterra, cannot make reservations and it was full everyday. It's in the middle of the park so if you want to participate in ranger guided walks or talks you should stay in the area of Furnace Creek. Next door were dry camping areas run by the park at $10/night, but the air conditioning sure was appreciated during the afternoons and worth the extra $10 a day for hookups. We visited in for 4 days in March and temp was above 90F everyday. Travel advice: don't take Hwy 190 going west to get out of the park. Very steep and hairpin turns, dangerous. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com