223422 User submitted reviews online!!
Calistoga RV and Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 44 user reviews. Phone: (707) 942-5221
CGID13781

Calistoga RV and Campground

Camp Information
Sites
72
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   2   7   6   8   8   7   7   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$45
Location is everything about this park. It is the only RV park north of Napa that is big rig friendly and has 50 amps. The sites are barren, just gravel, but they are level & clean. It is a super location for visiting the north Napa Valley. I do not know about the restrooms. I recommend making reservations far in advance for the 50 amp sites as it is a very busy place. There are 30 amp no sewer sites that are usually available during the week. You can walk to downtown to shopping & dining, if you wish. We have stayed here many times. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2014
$49
If you call, do not expect a call back until after 24 hours. The phone goes directly to voice mail -- it is NEVER answered. No one works in the office. A list of 70+ sites with arrival and departure dates is posted on the door. Bring your calendar and pen to do the process of elimination and expect to spend 30 minutes doing it. The park is adjacent to a neighborhood whose residential streets are required to access. The tree-lined streets have many low hanging branches that WILL hit everything on top of your coach. Sunday-Thursday rates are $5 less than Friday/Saturday which are $40 (30 amp) and $45 (50 amp). They charge $2 per pet per day, too. We found the park overpriced, under-managed and much too inconvenient. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$20
Rate reflects Passport America. Great value here in the Napa Valley. Free WiFi and it actually works fine except in the evening when folks are streaming video. Then it slows down to a crawl. Outstanding park staff. They are in the process of upgrading the bathrooms and they were closed during our stay. Hope you like your neighbor here since the parking sites are very close together, especially the full-hookup sites. We’ll be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2014
$40
Good proximity to Calistoga downtown, walking distance. Rate for our first night was Passport America $17.50, but the rate went up for weekend even though park was nearly empty. Might have stayed longer if they had given us a break on the price as it did not warrant $40 per night. Gravel lot but bathrooms okay. Can bike ride to town or a few nearby wineries. Some nice paths. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$32
The park staff was very nice and the campground was clean. The only problem was the park was all gravel, but there is a lot to do in the area We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$17
This was a clean park and the management was very efficient and answered your questions. The camp sites were wide enough but not exceptionally wide. You could use your slides and awnings. The reason I gave it an 8 was it was all gravel and dirt. We used Passport America discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$21
The park has nicely sized sites, but little in the way of amenities, in keeping with the fact that it’s in a county park in a fairgrounds. But it is a great place to stay if you want to spend your time sightseeing in the area. The staff was very pleasant and helpful, and we enjoyed our evening walks within the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$38
The sites are fairly large and have mature trees. They have decent Internet here, but the first night it was intermittent and ATT cell signal was OK. The bathroom area didn't look great, but we don't usually use them as we have a 40' Class A motorhome. The park is big rig friendly, but if you are traveling north from here the highway is pretty windy - so be prepared. We stayed here 4 nights and would probably stay here again because there is not a lot of options in the Napa Valley and have found this to be the best place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
I almost deducted more stars for the noise. This is a great location for exploring the area, but there must have been some nearby construction or something. There were large trucks driving by early in the morning. Otherwise, this park was very good, except they mounted the water spigot so close to the power pylons that it was hard to attach our hose. There was no over the air TV, only satellite, and that depends on where you park, as there are a lot of trees. Overall, great park. Just watch the trees coming in via city streets. We are 12'7" and our CB antenna whacked a few limbs, but the access was OK otherwise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$26
Big gravel parking lot but level, big rig friendly, a few blocks from main street and fast WiFi, some shaded spots available. Your best bet for Calistogo. We will stay here again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2013
$22
This is a Passport America rate. I thought I knew what to expect, but it was even worse. This is a large gravel parking lot at the fairgrounds. Back-ins sites have some ragged trees, but otherwise it's out in the open. Bathrooms were terrible. One large community shower for men with bare concrete that was not too clean. Man in the office not particularly friendly. It seemed the best option in the area, but sure hope something better comes up. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$22
Stayed here 2 nights under Passport America rate. Big open area with some trees. It's is part of the local fairgrounds, so it is probably full when the fairs are in season. There is a golf course next door. The RV park is in a residential are and is within walking distance of restaurants and shopping. There is no laundry facility. Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2013
$21
Stayed here in January for three days at the Passport America rate. There was never more than four units besides my own--therefore it was quiet and pleasant. It is off a residential area so little road noise. Most of the spaces are pull throughs with easy in and out, level and easy access to the utilities. It is also a good place for dog walking--a very short walk to the track/field, provides a great place for dog walking--even allowing the dog off the leash to run. The host is friendly and helpful, directing me to a mechanic to have my "towed" checked when I had mechanical problems. Very close and easy access to downtown with things to do like the Sheerstein museum and coffee shops, grocery and restaurants. I definitely will go back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2012
$39
This is basically a parking lot. Only trees are for the back-in sites, and the road leading out of campground from the site is very narrow. Be careful making a reservation here. We tried to cancel our reservation with 8 days notice and they would not refund any money. It is close to town but not walking distance. There is no highway noise. It is OK for a night, but campground in Napa is better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$34
We stayed one night at this site. I think that it used to be called the Calistoga Fairgrounds. We liked it for it's convenience to the town (we could just walk in and have a meal) and its location at the head of the Napa Valley and the start of the Silverado Trail. It is little more than a car park with some shaded spots from trees, mostly around the edge of the park. The office was closed when we arrived, but a list on the noticeboard explained where our site was and a leaflet was there on how to access the wi-fi. The bathrooms were functional but clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$37
Really nice campground. We were fortunate to be able to get a site for the sprint car races. If you don't like racing, it could be noisy until 10pm; but since we love racing, it was great to be able to go to races and walk back to our MH. This campground was also walking distance to Calistoga, so really made a fun place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
I was surprised about this place after reading some of the reviews. This is a pleasant RV park and we weren't packed in like sardines. The bathrooms are dated but the location of this park close to downtown Calistoga can't be beat. Plenty of trees in the park. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2012
$18
Rate reflects Passport America discount. We stay here often when visiting family in the area. There was no one in the office when we arrived but the list on the board told us where to go. We were in site #52 and all parking in that row are very, very close together. Water pressure seems to have gone downhill since we were last here. Tried to use our filter and just got a trickle in the coach. Bathrooms, although clean sure could use an updating. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$36
For fair grounds camping, this is pretty good. The pedestals are in good shape, the water pressure and volume is good and the sites are nice and wide. This camp ground is very dog friendly and clean. It is pretty much asphalt and packed dirt, but it is surrounded by seasonal trees so in the summer time, there would be plenty of shade. In the winter time, there is plenty of sun, so it is a great fit for us. The park is within walking distance of the golf course and even the town of Calistoga, though that is about 1/4 of a mile to town. If you are looking for a safe place to camp with solid utilities, this is the place. If you are looking for a fancy resort, you better keep looking. Though we would definitely come here again, we understand that some like more upscale accommodations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$17
This is a bit confusing but this campsite is really called Calistoga RV Park & Campground (at the Napa County Fairgrounds). We arrived on a Sunday morning. The office was closed but there were envelopes out to fill out and slip through the office door. The manager was to return on Monday morning. There were also papers near the envelopes detailing the log-on information for the campsite's Wi-Fi which we found to be excellent. We thought that that was really great that the manager thought to put those out for the Sunday check-ins. At this time of the year we found the park to be nearly empty (only RV in our whole row). Our DirecTV worked great here. The location is terrific as it is less than a half mile walk to downtown Calistoga. With the Passport America half off rate, we felt this place was a true bargain. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2011
$18
The Passport America rate is really one of the best parts of this park. Only two of the five rows of sites are full hookup. The rest are W/E only. Due to the inexpensive rate many clubs book here in advance and take up the full hook up sites. Many of the sites are extremely narrow, and most sites are "jack and jill" style. This means that two RV's will share the same pedestal, each one facing the opposite direction. This is OK if you are camping with a friend but not so much with a stranger. When we got a neighbor they were parked so close that they used our rug to enter their RV. Our patio awning nearly touched their rig! They didn't seem to mind but it was a little uncomfortable for me. The sites are dirt but the roads are paved. The dump station was also different. It is directly in front of the bath house, and looks like a man hole cover. A small door flips up in the center to insert the dump hose into. The odd part is that it is more like a sump than a sewer line. Under the manhole cover is just a large tank to hold the sewage. I would stay here again if in the area as there are not too many choices. Just don't expect a lot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2011
$36
Very mixed feelings about this place. On the good side, hookups all worked perfectly, and the Wi-Fi was excellent. But, the dirt and gravel sites are very narrow, the park is not attractive looking, and there was a loud party at the fairgrounds one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$18
Rate reflects Passport America discount. Very convenient for visiting the Napa Valley. Within walking distance to downtown Calistoga. Bathrooms were clean but could us some updating. Water pressure is very low at our site and in the restrooms. Wi-Fi intermittent. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2011
$36
This is a great location with easy access to all of the Napa Valley, Alexander Valley and Dry Creek. As the name implies the campground is located on the fairgrounds and just adjacent to their golf course. We have been coming here for years. They have a great website for making reservations. That said, the campground is in dire need of maintenance. It rained like crazy while we were here and the campground was a mess. Poor drainage and their failure to re-gravel the site made it a muddy morass. With dogs it was a mess each time we went out. A little of the payment must be used for maintenance. A little gravel would help the soggy situation there. The staff is friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2010
$35
Location is the prominent feature of this park. Like most fairgrounds' parks, it's straightforward RV'ing with the necessities provided. Located in a residential area which allows a quiet stay. Gravel parking spaces with a sprinkling of lawn. It's few blocks to walk to downtown/main street Calistoga with all it's cute attractions. We will camp here again for certain. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$30
This is a basic park with full 50 amp services and sewer hook available at some sites. Most sites are pull through but not all have sewer and 50 amp. 30 amp at non sewer sites. Staff is friendly. The hook ups are side by side and a bit tight when full. We spent 5 days here in October and the weekend was full but during the week the place only had a few sites occupied. This has a golf course right behind the park and is 3-4 blocks from town. Perfect for wine country and spas. If you just want to soak try the Calistoga spa they have a pool that they let you use. We paid $30 for a 30 amp site with water for $3 more you can have a full hook if available. This was the most reasonable price I have paid in California so far. Rest rooms and showers were clean and pretty plain Jane. Given the lack or RV camping available in the area I recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
Great location right in town but in poor condition. We were only able to reserve a water and electric site which was very narrow. We recommend the full hookup sites which are only $3 more per night and much wider with 50 amp service (the non-sewer sites are 30 amp). The facilities are very basic and in need of repair. Very few of the sites have shade which is important as Calistoga can get very hot, even in September. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2010
$18
Price reflects the four night Passport America rate. Not much has changed since our last visit here. Restrooms, although clean could use some updating. Water pressure was very low. Since we have family in the area, we will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$33
We stayed over Thanksgiving (the second time for us) and the park was about 2/3 full. The park is fairly basic, but they are the only game in town, and what they have is well maintained. You are walking distance from Downtown Calistoga and the fair grounds are not really used this time of year. The park is quiet, never have seen an employee at the park, but then again, never found a need for one. Our spot backed up to the golf course. The slots are fairly narrow and don't have much space once the slides are opened. But they are deep, we found that the motorhomes used the front of the spots, so we slid all the way back and the spot suddenly felt much wider. For those looking for TV access, since there is no cable, you have a choice of Channel 50, or Channel 50, or Channel 50. We chose channel 50 to watch. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$18
Price reflects Passport America rate. Nice park in a great location. We had some mix up with our reservation, but everything got worked out. Bathrooms could definitely use an upgrade, but they were clean. If you have a roof mounted satellite dish and are parked against the fence next to the golf course, you might have some trouble getting a signal. Depends on the time of year. We'll go back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$33
We ended up here because the Napa Valley Expo was full - we hadn't made reservations. This is a LONG way up the Napa Valley. It's kind of a glorified parking lot, but sites around the perimeter along the fence are pretty well shaded, surprisingly. The restrooms and showers were fine but basic (cement floors and walls), and directly behind the garbage and dump station, so not exactly aesthetically pleasing. $33 gets you a full hookup site with 50 amps. There are also E/W sites (30 amps) at which air conditioning is not guaranteed, although it was fine when we were there, and we definitely needed it. The surrounding neighborhood wakes up early. We would want to stay farther south next time while visiting in the Napa Valley. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$33
Not an RV resort, but an RV parking lot with full hook ups and bathroom facilities within a 5 or 6 block walk to the main commercial street - all 4 blocks of it. Clean and spartan. Calistoga is wine and spa country. Soak in hot springs, get a message, mud bath or other spa treatment, taste some wine in a small rural somewhat quaint town without having drive or search for parking; and the surrounding scenery is miles and miles of vineyards, mountains and beautiful California Oaks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2008
$32
You cant beat the location. It is centrally located within the wine country and a short walk or bike ride to downtown Calistoga. The showers and restrooms leave a lot to be desired. They reminded me of my high school locker room! However, they were clean. There are easy pull-through sites in the middle. The shady sites are around the perimeter but they do not have sewer hook ups. This is not a fancy park by any stretch of the imagination, but it is your best choice in the area. We will stay again when in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$33
Super location. Calistoga is out of the high traffic area just south with super wineries real close by. Some of the spots are a bit close together but the one we moved to was one of the best in the center pull-through area. Would definitely go there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$33
This place is all about the location. With a quaint town blocks away and multiple wineries within a short drive, there's a lot to like. Basically, this is a level gravel lot with hookups and spotty Wi-Fi. There are no amenities, but a great location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2008
$33
A good central location for the wine country. Bathroom is totally inadequate for the size of the campground. Men's room had one toilet and one functioning urinal. (There were two urinals, with one out of service and no work done on it in the three days we were there that I observed.) The staff is friendly, but pretty casual about how the campground is run. Someone was in our assigned space and it took some doing to get it straightened out. This despite the fact that there were plenty of open spaces. Overall the campground was just OK. It could be so much better with a little effort. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$33
As others have said, good basic park in a great location. Just five block walk from main street in Calistoga, California, with restaurants, spas, bars, and a grocery store. On the county fairgrounds, next to a golf course. Large gravel sites with choice of 50 or 30 amp; about half with sewer hookups. Dump station also available. Shady back-in sites around the perimeter; non-shady pull-through sites in the middle. No tables or fire rings at sites. Basic bathroom and shower - common shower at least on the Men's side, it could be cleaner. Great last-minute location as usually available even for summer weekends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$30
Park is centrally located for a visit to the Napa Valley. WiFi is available at your site, you need to get directions from the office on how to access it. Ample grass for pets. Very easy check-in. If the park isn't busy, the manager will let you select your own site. At first we opted for a pull-through and then got the OK to move to a back-in (Site 61), spacious and shaded. One of the best deals around is the 9 hole golf course next door, $18.00 for all day (play as much as you want). Although I didn't use it, I inspected the bathhouse. No locks on the doors, but clean inside. The mens room only had one shower. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$30
This is one of the best campgrounds in the area. We have a 40 foot class A with a 24 foot trailer for our toys, and we had plenty of room to pull around and drive into the site. The sites are fairly level and compacted well. This location for both Napa and Sonoma is ideal. Pretty much centrally located. There are no frills here but the hook-up are very good. There are plenty of places to grab a bite to eat in town. They keep the place clean and the two separate times I was there, the neighbors were friendly and lover of wine like us. The sites along the first row near the pavilion are the best ones for day long shade. The large trees are along the fence. We will stay here again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2007
$27
When we arrived in the afternoon no one was in the office for registration. The office sign said someone would come around, or you could pay at the house in front of the campground, or pay at the fairgrounds office. Big warning about not paying, so I looked around to see who to pay. Finally someone showed up at the office the following morning when we were ready to depart. The old water and electric sites are in dire need of repair. The cover on our electric box fell off. The newer sites have sewer and have more trees, and would rate higher. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
The park has wide, level, gravel sites with some shade. There is one grassy area for tents. No picnic tables or grills. It does not look like the pictures on the website. It is right next to the small grandstand/track of the fairgrounds which could be noisy, I guess, depending on what is going on. The gold course is across a parking lot. There is a small office for registration. It was very peaceful when we were there. They have an excellent WiFi connection that is free. We were able to log on from the coach with no problems. The only problem we had was finding the gal in the office so we could pay for the additional nights. She was friendly and easy to work with however. No campfires of any kind are allowed because of the fire danger. I think the walk to town is about 4 - 5 blocks. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2007
$30
A pleasant getaway. Close to downtown Calistoga. Campground is level, large pull-throughs in front section. 9 hole golf course adjacent to RV area. Covered area with benches for BBQ. Large room available for group functions through fair grounds. Campground host is very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2005
$27
Another great location. Walk to Town! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$22
These sites are very close together. We had to keep our curtains closed because we were window to window with the RVs on either side of us. The bathrooms were certainly nothing fancy, but they seemed to be adequate. Convenient location. Connected to a city-run golf course. Campground manager was friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com