219034 User submitted reviews online!!
Waterloo / Lost Island Waterpark KOA was rated 5 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (319) 233-3485
CGID13782

Waterloo / Lost Island Waterpark KOA

Camp Information
Sites
162
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   8   1   8   1   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$25
Large, level sites with bench and fire pit. Gas & diesel on premises with fair prices. Verizon voice and data excellent. Visual is nice and large. Water park across the street. Should not advertise free wifi, as it is useless. Very slow when available. Two dog parks that need grass (weed) cutting. Basically not useable for small dogs. Walking path around lake is gravel. Grass (weeds) need lots of work just to be able to walk on it. Very clumpy. Price reflects weekly rate. I would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$47
We stayed overnight and had a site that was level and good hookups. It rained in the late afternoon and our power cord was laying in water but by morning water was gone. Had storm warnings out and the workers came to the camper to inform us and where the shelters were at. Still in the refining stag of finishing up the new park but was looking good. Some of the trees are not growing straight and will need to be trimmed so that they don't rub on campers. The store and gas station together was really nice. Lots of camping needs and if wanted a pizza they would deliver it to your camper. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$50
This KOA is still a work in progress. The new grass and trees need some time to take hold and get thick. While we were there, landscapers were planting new trees and replacing some of the small trees that had not survived. There is lots of space between sites, more than you will find at most campgrounds and the utilities are properly placed. Power is solid. Lots of activities both on site and nearby. It's great to have diesel fuel available on site. There's a lake, sand beach, island and a Frisbee course. This is a really nice KOA that will soon be a great KOA. The owner has invested heavily in this park and it shows. We will definitely return here when we are back in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2013
$40
No, no, no! Do not stay here! This is one of the worst KOA's we have seen. If it is wet, every site will have some mud. If it is dry, every site will be dusty. Yes, it is still under construction and will likely be for a long time. Whoever designed this KOA needs to go back to designing school. If you are one of the many with a large rig, be aware that the roads are very narrow, turns are sharp, and it is very difficullt to maneuver into any site. The sites are very small, and you are spaced right on top of the next site to the point that another's campfire ring could easily start you camper on fire. They're that close! There is no shade, and the just planted trees hinder your maneuring into and out of your site. I understand they filled in an old farm field making most of the sites terraced. They should have left it more level. With the narrow roads, narrow sites, 7% or more grade hills, and gravel roads you better have the power and traction to make that sharp turn and uphill drive to get into or out of your site if you have a big rig. The lake? What lake? It's a hole in the ground with barely any water. Even when their grass takes hold and the trees take root it will not help. Speaking of help, they could use some more experienced help at the check-in office to explain how to read their campground map and signs. Never mind. It wouldn't do any good because it's confusing anyway. And to think we got all this for the exhorbitent fee of $40 per night. Earlier this week we stayed at what we consider one of the best RV resorts in Iowa for $28 per night! This KOA is a rip! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$41
This campground is a work-in-progress and, while not fully landscaped, has the promise of being both an excellent stopover and destination resort. It has an on-site lake complete with an island, spacious sites, and an on-premises gas station. We would definitely plan on staying here when passing through Iowa in the future. Friendly and helpful staff. This campground should be a 9 or a 10 in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2012
$30
For a KOA, this park was a real loser. The worst KOA we've ever been in. New park, no grass, and mud everywhere. We had to walk through mud to get to the showers to walk back through the mud. Tried to contact the owners or the resident managers, but there are none to contact. The owner is an absentee owner. No resident managers - only shift workers in the gas station/convenience store that acts as the office. How KOA allowed this setup is beyond me. No native trees, but a few planted palms that are dying in the fall weather. Palms in Iowa? Really? How this place will survive is beyond me. We will never stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2012
$47
This park is still under construction. It will be a nice park someday, and it had the basics now (electric, water, sewer, wi-fi) but that is all. I have come to expect a pool, propane, a map to my site, convenient dumpsters, etc. when I pay a premium price. This park will probably be worth $47.00 when it is finished, but now it is very basic. The staff is friendly, however, and the wi-fi and electric worked fine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com