224371 User submitted reviews online!!
McDowell Mountain Regional Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (480) 471-0173
CGID138

McDowell Mountain Regional Park

Camp Information
Sites
76
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   9   10   10   7   10   7   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$25
We have been here several times and always enjoy the park, the view, the hosts' care of the park and the hiking trails. Many cacti were blooming here at the end of March. Fabulous, nearly empty. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$25
A wonderful park off the beaten path that provides widely spaced well groomed sites, immaculately clean bathroom/shower facilities, amazing vistas, serenity, and plentiful nature viewing. There are hiking/mountain biking trails adjacent to the campground. If you're looking for peace and quiet in a beautiful natural setting, this is it! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$25
The rate is for a developed site. Maricopa County will increase the rates and fees by about 20% in the near future. And you have to add a $8 reservation fee per reservation. Without a reservation you have to be very lucky to get a site even for only one night. The overflow (dry camping) is not very appealing, rough and tight spaces, almost no views and no privacy at all. The developed sites are fine gravel, well level and provide good hookups. Picnic table, grill and fire pit on site. Good privacy. Verizon MiFi worked very well. The views are just gorgeous. There is some air traffic noise throughout the day, but the nights are super quiet. This is our new favorite park in the area. About 8 miles from the campsites to shopping in Fountain Hills. We will come back for sure and make a reservation for a longer stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2014
$28
Really a lovely park with views of the desert landscape. Because of a fire in 1995, there is limited cactus etc which is good when camping with dogs. Well maintained and clean. The information booth and shop was great with very friendly helpful people and good resources. Camp was quiet. Convenient to Scottsdale. Large camp sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$25
Absolutely a jewel of a park. Gorgeous desert camping at it finest. Top notch facilities and over 40 miles of riding and hiking trails (some of which are competitive). Interpretive programs available and nice staff. Would definitely go again and highly recommend it!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2013
$28
Another New Years visit to this park to get away from the crazies in town during this holiday. Took a pull thru for ease of parking our new class A but will probably get a back in next time as all sites are very spacious. Impeccably well maintained park with friendly gate keepers and camp hosts. In the midst of many trails for hiking and mountain biking. Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2013
$25
We fell in love with this park, first place we've ever camped in AZ and we'll be back. Huge sites, great connectivity on our Verizon card, lots of hiking trails, very quiet location, beautiful weather and friendly camp hosts. Very close to the town of Fountain Hills, diesel was a bit expensive in that town so fuel up before you arrive. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
Great if you want widely spaced sites in the desert. Lots of trails in this very large rural park, too. Despite feeling very remote, it's right next to Fountain Hills (suburbia) with all services within 4 miles. You have to drive through Fountain Hills to get here. But it's a long drive to any part of Phoenix, Mesa, Tempe, Chandler, etc. Be careful for rattlesnakes. You can see a captive one at the Nature Center. Also note that because the park is at about 1,400 ft elevation it's pretty hot all summer. Cell phone is no problem here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$25
We stayed here while visiting family that spends much of the winter in nearby Fountain Hills. We ended up staying 10 days and it was amazing. The sites are huge and spaced far apart, making for the most privacy we've ever experienced as I can recall. The camp hosts were very kind and helpful. The park is impossible to reach by phone, but the online reservation system was a breeze. Thank you to Maricopa County for building this spectacular park. Because of this terrific experience, we are planning our trip for two weeks in 2013 and will be visiting from Oregon every year. Sitting outside, under the desert sky at night is priceless and something every RV owner would appreciate! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$25
The only reason I did not rate it 10 is because there is no sewer hookup at the site; otherwise this park is fabulous. South loop is better for big rigs (sites are more level) and the perimeter sites are especially awesome! Got decent 3G service here as well. Fantastic mountain biking trails! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
One of our most favorite campgrounds in Arizona. Sites are huge and spaced quite far from your neighbor. If you like birdwatching, this is the place to be. Good trails for hiking and even a competitive mountain bike track. Quiet and remote, even considering the closeness of Fountain Hills. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$25
Very nice find! Quiet with great desert vista's. Only 7 miles from town for supplies and 3o miles from Scottsdale. Camp Hosts were great on site. Not so helpful by phone prior to arrival. Restrooms & Showers are some of the cleanest i have seen. This is important since there are no sewer hook ups. Dump station on-site. Bring your own shade. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$30
As others have said, this is a beautiful park. My only complaint is the cost of making a reservation prior to coming. It is $25 if you just show up but every time we have come here the park was full. We needed to camp here so made advanced reservations, which cost an extra five bucks. If you want to camp here, be sure and arrive early to get a site (probably before noon). Even then you may have to park in the overflow for a day or two. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$25
This is probably the most beautiful desert RV camping place we've stayed at. 30 minutes to Scottsdale,10 minutes to Fountain Hills with all you need. Wonderful hiking and biking trails from the campground. RV sites are level, graveled and big enough for big rig and towed. Sites have picnic tables, grill and fire ring. Great place for birding. This place would be a five star plus if it had sewer dumps at each site. Will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$14
Have stayed here many times, usually over the New Year holiday but at other times as well. Until this year I would have no complaints but while I was traveling cross country my in-laws called to tell us their usual New Years stay was a bit more challenged this year. Seems they only take on-line reservations now (?? - used to be ONLY walk-ins) & everything was full; they were charged $18 for an overflow spot in the big dirt lot near the group Campground. Hmmm, I wonder if Regional Parks in Arizona are making some questionable decisions trying to raise $? Anyway, my stay in September was more of my former experience: pristine rest rooms & shower; attentive but unobtrusive camp hosts (eg., came around & set water valves to better prevent freezing overnight) great hiking/mountain biking trails in the area; Will do some investigating before staying again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$36
This is a very nice "state park" type campground in the desert with a view of distant mountains all around. The drives are paved, quite level, and very well separated. There are quite a few large cacti in the park. There are several washrooms which are quite new with free hot showers. There were only three campers there when we were there, making it a very private experience in the high desert. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
Great RV park just outside the hustle and bustle of Phoenix. A small mountain range separates the city lights so you have nice dark nights. Sites are nicely spaced apart. There are trails all over the place for hiking and biking. Just 15 minutes from stores and restaurants and free Wi-Fi at the Safeway. Will stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2011
$25
I think this is a terrific park. The views of the surrounding McDowell and Superstition Mountains are outstanding, with beautiful sunsets and sunrises. The sites are huge and, given that you are in the desert, very private. We attended several ranger led hikes and talks, all well done an informative. There is also good hiking and biking out of the campground itself. The park is spotless and the Camp Hosts are helpful. This is a good place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$25
Only rated this "9" because of no direct sewer hookups, though the dump station was very close and handy. This is a spectacular place: very close to Scottsdale/Phoenix, yet a world away. They put the sites far from one another, so you feel as if you are alone in the desert. The showers are huge, clean and hot, plus free. There are miles of trails for hiking and biking, and we absolutely loved it. The sunsets are 360 degree and the birds are everywhere: especially when you put out feeders. We had Gila Woodpeckers, Cardinals, Curved Bill Thrashers plus lots of finches and wrens within feet of us all day. The birdseed bills were high! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$23
McDowell Mountain Regional Park is a wonderful state park. The McDowell Mountains and Superstition Mountains produce outstanding views and sunsets. The sites are paved, level and include a good amount of distance from other campers. Ranger led tours are available, including trails for hiking and bike riding. Electric power was stable and water pressure was great. Park has no sewer hookups, but a clean dump station is available. Park is close to Fountain Hills, which includes gas stations, grocery stores, shops, parks and dining. See their website for more details, park event planning and local attractions. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$25
If you are visiting the Phoenix area, and don't want to stay in basically a parking lot right in town, then this is a fantastic place to stay. It is located just 15-20 minutes from town (Scottsdale), and there is the cute town of Fountain Springs nearby for nice restaurants and quick shopping if you need to. The park is extremely well kept, clean with lots of great trails and playgrounds. You really feel like you are camping out in the Sonoran desert, and the ridge of hills between the park and the city give the impression that you're hundreds of miles out. The pull-through sites are basically just parallel parking on the side of the internal park roads, but the back-in sites are quite long, so you can pull right in and have some space. The sites are very well spaced apart, though you're in the desert so there's no trees between them of course. The entire park is on a first-come-first served basis, with no reservations. When we were here (just after New Year's) there was no problem getting a site. There are multiple bathrooms, which are basic but clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$25
This county park is just above Fountain Hills, AZ in the Phoenix metro area. You can even see the Fountain Hills Fountain way off in the distance. Except for a few airplanes, you wouldn’t know you were so close to civilization. It’s in a lovely Sonoran Desert setting with wide open sky, surrounded by mountains. You drive in and pick your site. A camp host comes by later to collect the fee. The campground creates privacy by using lots of space between sites, especially in the lower campground loop. We stayed in site #56, parallel to the road. This site had a slight incline. Most of the back in sites looked very level. The main gate person and camp ground hosts were all friendly. Showers were clean and hot. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$25
This is a nice desert park with all hookups. It was not very crowded when we were there and there are a number of hiking trails throughout the desert environment. In the evening the quail are all over the place, scurrying about (haven't gotten a good picture yet!), There are numerous, level sites and a very quiet, laid back type of park. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$20
Happened upon this desert jewel quite by accident. What a magical spot if you enjoy a rustic, pristine desert setting. Campsites are spacious and level with excellent separation between sites. Roads are paved, sites are gravel. Electric power is strong and stable. Water pressure is great. Although there are no sewer hookups at the sites, there is a dump station at the campground entrance. The desert and mountain views are inspiring, especially at sunrise and sunset. The saguaro cactus in this area are huge and numerous. Although it feels remote, the park is located only six miles north of the developed Fountain Hills area with its many stores and services. We highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2009
$20
Super park! Lots of room between sites. Great hiking on wonderful trails. The hosts and the park rangers are great. The host comes to your rig to collect your money for your stay. Don't leave your bird feeders out overnight because the javalinas will knock your shepherd hooks down and eat your seed and possibly your feeder as well. We also dump our bird water as well. Lots of coyotes howling at night. Love it here! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$20
Really fantastic RV park with spacious sites and beautiful desert views. Unlike some RV parks, while the sites varied somewhat, every one of the sites was really good with a large amount of space around it and offered a picnic table, fire ring and separate grill. The sites all access a series of hiking/bicycle/horse trails that are well maintained with great desert scenery. Only drawbacks are no sewer hookups (but they do have a dump station), very few dumpsters available, which meant a bike or car ride to take out the trash and they don't take reservations. Also, given their setting close to town, it would be nice for them to add WiFi and/or cable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$20
We've been on the road for about 6 months now and have stayed in many different campgrounds/RV parks and this may rate as the best of the trip. Certainly, as far as setting goes, it's wonderful. It's set in the middle of the desert surrounded by miles of undeveloped land. The sites are huge and widely spread out. There is a mix of pull through and back ins with many large enough for any size RV. Each site offers a table, BBQ and fire pit. We heard coyotes every night and had an abundance of various birds frequent our site. There is labyrinth of trails that leave each loop of the camp sites. They go off for many miles and connect with several other trails that wind throughout the area and are friendly to both hikers and bikers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$20
Beautiful amazing desert views. Can't be beat for $20 a night with electric & water. Dump station at entrance. You need to check this place out! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$18
Another great Maricopa County Regional Park. 2 large loops with well spaced sites, in open desert with far away views in every direction. Not much privacy due to lack of foliage. Great place to see birds and coyote. You can even see Fountain Hills' giant fountain from some sites. There are many hiking trails nearby but I found most to be loops of varying lengths through the same featureless desert. It's quite a drive to gas and groceries in Fountain Hills, which can be good or bad, depending on how you look at it. This park gets quite busy by mid January. It's first come, first served. We were quite lucky to get one of the last available spots. Good TV reception with an antennae. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2006
$18
Very nice campground. Large spots, very clean, well maintained, water and electric, no sewer, but does have a dump station. Close to town,shopping and highways. Camp hosts very helpful and friendly. Stay her often in a fifth wheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$18
We have used this park many times, first with Travel Trailers and now with a motorhome. It has always been very clean at each site and the bathrooms and showers are excellent. The songs of the coyotes during the night are regular and come with the package. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$18
A great desert setting in the McDowell Mountains north of Fountain Hills. Close enough to Phoenix, Mesa for shopping, etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com