214825 User submitted reviews online!!
Emmett KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (810) 395-7042
CGID1391

Emmett KOA

Camp Information
Sites
98
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$55



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   6   8   7   8   9   9   4   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$55
This is an older KOA. Our site was crushed rock and pretty level. The CG is about 4 miles from the interstate, closest grocery store is about 12 miles away. I think the CG is over priced: many empty sites. Staff is friendly and you get an escort to the site. The lake is very green with weeds. We would not attempt a swim even though it was pretty warm. We stayed here because it was the closest CG to end our daily drive. Ok for 1 or 2 nights. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$56
In my opinion this is an older KOA that seems a bit tired. The sites are too close together. When we were escorted to our site, the site next to us had loud music playing on a boom box playing on their patio. The employee was content to ignore the situation. Fortunately it was hot, we were there only for the night and we ran the A/C continuously. I will not return to this CG. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$43
Maybe it is because we are on day 47 of a 48- day road trip, but despite the fact that I prefer modern, resort-type, urban campgrounds, I loved this nostalgic family-oriented campground. Our site was grass, but it was level, facing the lake. It seems that you have to pay extra for some activities (and there were lots for the weekend) which could make it quite pricey. It was near the highway, but far enough to be quiet. If I lived nearby, I think I would come every weekend with the grandkids. Pavilion was very nice. They could use more washroom and shower facilities, though. Always full. Not enough for size of campground. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$53
Nicely wooded, shady clean campground. Upon check in we were led to our camp site (which was a very nice touch). Site was pretty level however we were unable to use the septic as it was to far away from our site and we did not have enough hose. Nice list of activities (some were a $ fee). Neighbors across from us were very loud with music and all well after 1am. Several dogs were also running around unleashed. We had our own dogs which caused issues there. Pond was nice for catch and release fishing and the kids enjoyed swimming in it. Mosquitos were quite thick, bring spray! Would give it a higher rating if the security were increased along with rule enforcement on loose dogs. Office staff was friendly, however the wood delivery man was not. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$45
Great little park, this was our second time here. We had site 7 which is a pull thru. Reason for not being a 10 is site was not level and hookups where pretty far to connect. Has a nice dog park which our dogs love. No kids so didn't rent anything so couldn't tell what charge was. Park was surprisingly quite. Will go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$25
This park is very nice. It's close to the highway but far enough from it that there was no road noise. They have the best off-leash dog area we have seen. Staff are very friendly. WiFi worked well. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
The new owners have really been putting money back into this campground and it shows. They have upgraded the bathrooms and added gravel to the roads and sites(helps keep down the dust). The owners are also very hands on and always available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2009
$44
Another poor value KOA campground, hence the low overall score. It has good facilities for families, but campground roads are poor and sites are uneven. WiFi internet worked well. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$42
Very nice campground. We enjoyed our camping experience here. The sites were very sandy! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$38
This is a hidden gem of a campground. The campstore is cute and abundantly stocked with the essentials at reasonable prices. The owners were extremely accommodating and very helpful. The sites were adequate in size but could use some additional landscaping for definition and curb appeal. Most sites had many trees which offered a Northern Mi feel. The amenities that are listed are all in good shape and most were free. The restroom and showers were very clean although hot water was sparse at peak times. The lake had many water attractions (slide, rafts, volleyball) and the lake bottom was actually tolerable(sandy). We also appreciated the theme weekend were they played a movie at dusk and had childrens games during the day. The only downside is they need more 50 amp sites and could offer trash pickup each day. They have started to add the deluxe patio sites but some would be difficult to fit a large RV, be specific with the staff regarding your needs. The pull throughs were in an open area which did not offer shady sites. The weather was very dry when we stayed here which created dust clouds every time a vehicle drove down a street. Adding something to minimize this would be appreciated. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2007
$39
The staff was very accommodating when we found our sites were muddy due to a recent rain. They were able to find us another site though we were not able to camp next to friends we had also reserved spots for. Overall, from reviewing other comments on this campground, it appears this place is trying to better itself. The area appears to be well taken care of but more improvements could be done such as better site layout, grass cutting and overall landscaping to drain water from some sites. The playground is good but it appears that more could be added to make it a little more attractive for the kids. Some of the year-round or seasonal campers were somewhat in dis-repair making the campground less appealing. Because of ash borer concerns, you must purchase firewood from the campground. Be prepared to pay as a small supply of quick burning firewood (dry pine) costs $5.00 a bundle and does not last long. Would I come back again? Maybe. I think this would be a great spot in the fall but over the summer, especially with 3 young children, I'd rather be at another campground that offers more activities for children. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2006
$39
Sites were very small. Didn't really have enough room to park the truck. Lots of drinking and loud partying going on, not our kind of crowd. Had no hot water for showers on 2nd day of reservation. Nice campstore,playground. Clean beach, nice fishing lake. Oneway roads not convenient for the way they park your rv. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$34
Labor Day weekend camping...can bring a tear to your eye or a smile to your face, depending on your experiences. All Smiles here for 2005!!! This campground has changed hands in the last year or so with the new owners literally working day and night to make your stay enjoyable. Most sites are well treed, giving you that natural surrounding. The lake and beach were well maintained and a nice place to relax, swim, and fish. Bathrooms and showers were clean, well kept with plenty of hot water. Some of the activities (putt putt) were a bit dated but, I would still reccommend this place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2003
$30
This campground is mostly seasonals, some year round permanent residents. We found the sites to be crowded, with confusing water hookups, hoses running every which way. We had someone else plugged into our electric 30amp and had to have them remove it to their own box, which they said was farther away for them. Our site (C) had a horrible sewer smell the entire time we were there. Seems some of the sewer lines had been left open and uncapped, so the smell would gag you at times, it seemed it was in the grass everywhere. They even brought the honeywagon to dump a seasonal next to ours right when we were barbqueing our dinner, and dumped it running loudly next to the grill. It ruined our taste for dinner. The CG is small, so not much to see or do. The "on site" mini golf is old, dirty and tiny. They have you "rent" a card for $10 to enter and exit the CG, which is returned when you check out. The roads are dirt and dusty with ruts at times. We saw no reason or pull that would make us want to come back and camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$30
This is a very nice campground with lots of adult trees that provide plenty of shade. Very few sites for large rigs (40+) so request these sites when you book your trip. Great playground for the kids. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com