221734 User submitted reviews online!!
Woodland Park Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 25 user reviews. Phone: (906) 494-2613
CGID1399

Woodland Park Campground

Camp Information
Sites
151
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   9   8   9   6   9   8   8   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2014
$30
Only campground in town. Sites range from huge to tiny, level to unlevel. No reservations so it is a hit or miss of what you end up with. Town squeezed in as many as they could in some sections. Some sites have unobstructed views of Lake Superior, some have too much brush/trees to see the lake. Lost many of their old growth beech trees a few years ago. Doesn't appear that township has any plans on fixing up sites in this cash-cow campground. Long way to drive for a tiny spot that sits in the sun. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$30
This campground is first come/first served. You can not call ahead to make a reservation. The phone number listed for it is for the town offices. You drive around and select a site from the unoccupied sites. Then after you move in, you go to the office and pay your fee. While we were there, there were plenty of sites. The sites along the lake shore are $30/night. The other sites with electricity and water were $27/night. The campground is on a bluff overlooking Lake Superior with staircases of 40 steps down to the beach. The beach is sand and then pebbles at the waters edge. The sites are mostly narrow, however they adequate for a big rig. The bath houses are in good shape, and the laundry room is clean. The campground is very close to the Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$30
Another favorite park in the quaint village of Grand Marais. Although we had a waterfront site we couldn't see too much of the grand Lake Superior because trees had grown too large. But we enjoyed the layed-back ambience of the area. Not too much to do in town (which is only one block long). Woodland Park is a city park and probably the largest commercial establishment in the city. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$27
We very much enjoyed our stay in this municipal park. Everything is low key. Lake Superior is just steps away and they have steps down to the beach. Gorgeous sunsets. Showers are coin operated. You can bike to town - 1 grocery, 4 restaurants and an outdoor store. Right at the eastern edge of Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$24
The campground is right on Lake Superior! And boy, what a view! Our site was spacious (#22). We were close to both bathrooms/shower buildings, which were very clean. Just make sure to have your quarters with you, as it costs $.50 for a shower. Sites and grounds were well maintained, and the campground was quiet at night. This campground doesn't take reservations, but I was told that they have never turned anyone away, for the fact that they have an overflow area. Nothing fancy about the campground itself, but the view can't be beat! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$25
Daily rate is $25, weekly rate is $150, and monthly rate is $600 for a lakefront 50 amp electric, water, and cable site. All sites are first come, first served at this lovely municipally owned and operated campground. There is a mixture of full-shade, partial-shade, and full-sun sites. All sites are just a short walk down stairways placed throughout the campground to the very nice, sandy beach on Lake Superior. To enter the water one must walk over a strip of smooth agate pebbles so water shoes are advisable. Spacing between sites was roomy and most sites were level. All sites are hard-packed dirt, which allows you to park in most any direction. The dump station is located near the main entrance/exit. Bathrooms and showers were clean and well lit. Recreational opportunities are available in and around the park. Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore is adjacent to the park and offers many sights and activities. Do your grocery shopping in a bigger city before you arrive as there is very limited shopping/groceries available in the small town of Grand Marais. Wi-Fi is free at the campground, but it can be a bit flaky at times. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$21
A great campground by a great town (Gran Marais) by a great lake (Superior). This place was a find. Though Woodland Park is a first-come-first-served campground, we were able to pick a site (of several available ones) during the height of summer. The grass campsites are laid out with adequate room between each and many sites have electric, water, and cable -- though no sewer hookups. There are a couple of small grocery stores in Grand Marais plus a few restaurants. Regardless, it's a great place to walk around. Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore is within walking distance and boats tours of the Pictured Rocks are an hour away in Munising. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$24
Stayed one night at the end of Sept. Park was less than 1/4 full. Bring extra hook up supplies as the sites are all different and power, water, cable points vary. This was established as a public RV park decades ago and as such was not intended for big rigs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$24
Really glad we followed advice from others to camp at this campground. It's a well kept municipal facility. All sites were grassy and some seemed larger than others. It's pretty wide open, but there are many mature trees for shade. The beach is down a bluff, but there are stairs down to the beach. If you're a rock hunter the beach is full of a lot of good specimens. Water shoes are a good idea because there are a good number of stones upon entering the water. It's a good swimming beach though. The campground got very full over the weekend, but it was quiet around us (site #66). Downtown Grand Marais is just a short walk from the campground. We enjoyed the Lake Superior Brewing Company (bar & grill). Not much in the way of grocery stores, but there is a small one that has fresh meats and most supplies. The road west to Munising, H-58, is a nice drive. You can access some of the Pictured Rocks Nat'l Lakeshore sites along the road. You will also find some hiking trails there too. The flies were biting while we were there so we didn't hike much. We didn't have any fly problems on our walks into Grand Marais and out to the lighthouse point. We would definitely recommend this campground to others and will camp here again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$24
A pleasant surprise to me, this municipal campground is at the end of the road on state highway 77. It is located beside low sand cliffs over Lake Superior with two stairs down to the beach. On the land side is the attractive well kept little town of Grand Marais with interesting neat houses for a evening walk, and a harbour with a U.S. Coast Guard ship. A great place for a bike ride. Most of the sites are grassed and fairly level. There are two clean bathhouses with the hot showers taking 50 cents to use. However, I took a full shower without using all my 50 cents worth of time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$28
Very nice and wonderful location. Large sites with wonderful view of Lake Superior. Only thing I would want from this campground is sewer hookups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
This municipal campground is located on a bluff above Lake Superior and offers convenient access to the sand beach below. Those not familiar with Lake Superior should be aware that the water temperature stays low (65 degrees) even in the summer, so swimming is not for the faint of heart. Each site is delineated by posts on 3 sides. While this gives the impression of a small pad (all are dirt), mine measured over 30 feet wide. Power, water and cable are located at the back corner of each site. I had no problem connecting to the utilities with a 25 foot power cord. The park supplies a very good Wi-Fi signal and an above average selection of cable TV channels. Grand Marais is a very small town with only a small general store / gas station. Be sure to bring an adequate supply of food. The campground does not accept reservations, so obtaining a spot in the summer might be a problem. I’d suggest calling ahead. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$25
Park is as described in other posts, big issue is that water hook up on every other site is on the wrong side of the RV so bring a long hose to make a connection. Also if Wi-Fi is important then this may not be the place for you, Wi-Fi worked OK for 1st two days and the was non existent for the next 5 days, park staff did not seem to know what the problem was or get it fixed. Park is still nice being on Lake Superior, nice in Sept. because no crowds. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$25
Good RV park with view of lake. Best sites are #8 to #18 with unobstructed view of lake. Sites need dirt hauled in to fill depression in center caused by years of use. Attendant would not turn WI-FI access on to Internet. Cable TV was weak (analog) and movie channels blocked. No sewer to allow longer visits. Needs MANAGEMENT. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$24
We decided to take a chance on this "first come, first serve" park and showed up about noon on Sunday. We got a W&E (there are no sewer sites) site near the office that was out in the open enough to get satellite reception. The park has cable but we didn't hook up to it because it would have taken a 50' cord to do so. As it was, we had to use a 50' water hose. We shared a water post (it had 6 water spigots) with 4 other sites. Out site was closest to the post - the other sites were using multiple hoses connected together. As previously mentioned, the park is right on Lake Superior and the extensive beach is just a short walk and flight of stairs from your site. Most of the campers are families and groups in adjacent sites enjoying this park for get-together for days or weeks. We would have stayed another day if they had sewers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
Woodland Park is the city park of Grand Marais. Located on a bluff (3 separate stairways lead down to the beach) overlooking Lake Superior, it is a no reservation park. They advertise 102 sites with W/E (all seemed to be both 30 and 50 amp) and cable TV. Unless you have a satellite dish, their cable is a must. They also offer free Wi-Fi but we were only able to lock on one brief moment in a 3 night stay and then it failed. Thankfully our Verizon cell and Mi-Fi worked just fine. Sites vary in size/length, are grassy, a little uneven (leveling boards a must) and come with a picnic table and fire ring and most offer some shade. You are close to your neighbor but we were still able to put out our awnings. Campers pull in/back in a helter-skelter fashion so you may share a “lawn” with your neighbor depending upon how you and they entered the site. The narrow roads in the park are unmarked direction wise so it gets pretty chaotic when rigs are searching for an available site. Suggest they put some direction arrows. We arrived on a rainy day (in fact the UP was in a 5 day rain period) so there were enough sites (even overlooking the bluff for $1.00 more than inland sites) available in spite of an advertised deep water weekend fishing tourney (lake trout & salmon). The town is pretty small but we enjoyed a generous evening meal at a reasonable price at the local Lake Superior Brewing Company. It appears all the locals and campers visit the place. Fishing, sitting by the fire, listening to the very close by church carillon that plays songs and chimes on the hour and collecting smooth stones from the beach seems to be the activities of choice. We spent a day and drove up to the Shipwreck Museum and the Whitefish Point Lighthouse from the campground. Diesel and gas prices, while not great, were still cheaper than at Mackinaw City. (Diesel $3.85). We’ll head in the direction of the Painted Rocks Light house at the eastern end of the national lakeshore while we’re here. As an aside, the access road to the lighthouse was closed and we didn’t feel like we wanted a mile plus hike to see it, so we visited the Sable Falls instead. We’re self contained but the CG has 4 pay (.50/ shower of undetermined length ) showers and clearly not enough for the number of people who will weekend here. It’s 25 miles off the beaten path to get here but on a good paved road and we’d recommend it to someone who has never been here before. Their harbor is very picturesque. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
This is a very nice park next to Lake Superior, it served as a great home base for quad riding on the many trails throughout the area. You can ride your quad right from your campsite through the town and get to any of the trails. Nice to walk the beach looking for agates, a lot of sites are very large. Only downside is there is a lot of sand and you are constantly tracking it inside, but that is part of being on a Great Lake. WiFi worked great, cable TV was very nice, only wished they had sewer hook ups. Definitely will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
This is one of our favorite campgrounds. Fantastic view of Lake Superior. Large, level campsites with very easy access, recently upgraded electric and Wi-Fi services, close by stores in town. The restrooms are very clean. The showers are nice, but require 50 cents for 6-8 minutes, so bring some quarters. We've been coming here for almost 10 years, and it's nice to see that the campground has made improvements that keep it up with the times, yet it still maintains the rustic atmosphere that, to us, defines camping. We'll be back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$21
Older park, but wonderful views of Lake Superior. Had cable TV which was a plus. Brew pub in town is a great place to eat. Bring groceries as they are a little scarce there. Beautiful area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
Located on lake Superior,close enough to town to walk to. Very friendly staff. Found unsecure WiFi around township office. Showers were 50 cents but worked good. Have recently upgraded most sites to 50amp. Excellent value for $25. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$22
The main attraction of this campground is the ideal location right on the shore of Lake Superior, a few blocks from the center of the village and a short drive from the eastern entrance to Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore. There are two stairways down to the excellent beach. You can walk for miles along the beach in either direction. The sites are relatively level with a mix of open and shaded sites. The view from the shoreline sites was partially obstructed by trees. We preferred the sites further back where there were lots of vacant sites and hence a more open and peaceful setting. There is a broad open section where you can go to watch the sunset. The washrooms facilities were good, - great showers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$28
A hidden gem in the UP. Great views of Lake Superior from the front row. Small hike down the hill to the water. Sites laid out poorly and many not very level (uneven not hilly). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$19
I had a GREAT time here. The office staff are very nice and the facilities clean and adequate. I stayed here for 4 days. They don't take reservations (first come first serve). I left home at 6 AM and I arrived before noon and didn't have trouble finding an open site. At check-in I was concerned because of their "cash only" policy. This can indicate unsavory business practices, and I usually don't carry much currency in my wallet, preferring 1 credit card. So, I had to return to the RV to dig out more money. However my concerns were unfounded. They let you drive around and choose a site that fits you before you commit. The prices are very reasonable at $19 and $20, depending on the site location. It's a cliff view of Lake Superior but there are paths and stairs down to the beach. Showers are 50 cents but they give you more than enough water. I would recommend this park highly! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$19
Beautiful campground in small Lake Superior town. Very clean and just built a new rest room - shower building. Both were very nice but had pay showers. A great beach on Lake Superior for swimming (COLD!), walking, agate hunting or just relaxing. The sunsets were terrific! Hosts are very friendly. Lots to do in the area - Pictured Rocks Nat. Seashore is next door and if you are there in August, there is wild blueberry picking just about everywhere. Great place-will be sure to return! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$16
This is a nice, clean, quiet campground, located on the shore of Lake Superior. This campground is operated on a first come, first serve basis and is open Apirl 20th thru october 15th. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com