218648 User submitted reviews online!!
Platte River Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (231) 326-5134
CGID1403

Platte River Campground

Camp Information
Sites
179
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$13



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   9   9   10   8   8   9   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$13
We loved our six night stay here and would have stayed longer if we could. The rate reflects a senior discount. I never give more than a 7 usually to a park with electricity that does not have water but this was just such a great place. The one drawback is that it is 10 miles from the rest of Sleeping Bear Dunes national seashore and there are few trails here although there is the shallow Platte river to canoe or kayak. Would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$24
This is a lovely campground, and being summer, and the holiday, it was booked solid. Even so, it did not feel crowded in the campground. The sites are mostly large, somewhat level, although what qualifies as pull through sites here are pretty small. Access to Lake Michigan through the RR trail from each loop, and the beach was not ever crowded, even though it was hot. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$16
4 paved loops plus a walkin tent area. Loops 1, 2 & 3 have optional electric $5 a night extra. Sites 1, 3 and most of loop 4 can be reserved for an extra $3 per night. NOTE: no generators allowed anywhere in this CG. There is potable water in each of the loops. Sites in all 4 loops are paved and vary in length, as noted all tires must be on the pavement. The hosts check on this on a regular basis. Best bet for a cold one is the Lumberjacks in Honor, food was ok, $2.50 domestic bottles, $2 during happy hour. Glen Arbor had real good food at Art's Tavern, but pricey for drinks, $3.75 domestic pints. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$14
We lucked into a cancellation and reserved a great site in this campground less than a week before arriving! We were told that waiting six months is the norm! Our cheap rate is due to getting a senior pass 50% discount and includes paying an additional $5. per night for electric, which was 50amp. We were in site #101, which was large enough for our 35' fifth wheel but parking the truck and keeping it on the pavement as required was a bit of a challenge. Beautiful campground in a gorgeous area! Very close to Lake Michigan and the Climbing Dunes and several very nice little towns that cater to tourists. Lots to see and do in this area, including kayaking and tubing on the Platte River. The program given by the campground interpreter was interesting and the rangers were friendly. The National Park Visitor's Center is worth a visit. We would definitely return to this campground and stay as long as possible! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$24
This is one of our favorite campgrounds. The sites are large and separated by plenty of trees, so you don't feel too close to your neighbors. It is extremely peaceful and beautiful. The park rangers were very friendly. You can walk to Lake Michigan, and Sleeping Bear Sand Dunes is just a short drive North. Our original reservation was for one night, but we liked it so much that we stayed an extra night. We will definitely camp here again. The $24 fee included an additional $5 for using the electricity. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$26
A very peaceful campground in one of the most beautiful areas of the Great Lakes. All of the sites are paved and equipped with electric only. The sites are nicely separated, some of the best we've seen in any park. I would estimate that the adjacent sites from us were about 75-100 feet away through trees. If you choose wisely, you may be able to secure a site close enough for your water hose to reach one of the water spigots scattered around the park. Some of the sites are less favorable than others because the pads are very short, or the picnic table is far behind the site rather than along side it. We were in site 315; and while it was nicely shaded and had a lengthy pad, a trail ran right behind the pad that separated the front of the site from the picnic table. All day long we had people passing through while hiking the trail. As for the campground itself, it is very, very quiet with no bright lights at night and also very wooded. The restrooms were cleaned regularly. A shower token purchased at the vending machine at the Ranger Station gets you 3 minutes (you get two tokens for a dollar.) There is no camp store, but there is a self-serve vending trailer that you can purchase firewood from for $5 a bundle. Within walking distance from the campground, however, is a canoe rental / convenience store that has plenty of what you might need from a camp store. If not, larger grocery stores are about 10 miles away in Buelah. Our cell phones worked but with a weak signal, and we were unable to pull in any TV stations (digital or analog.) I saw others that seemed to have some success, so perhaps it was our particular site location that caused the issue. As for getting a site, we booked ours; but the first-come, first-serve loops 1 & 2 were usually half full and also very nice. The least crowded day was a Monday, so that's when I would plan an arrival if you want one of those sites. Sleeping Bear Dunes and the surrounding communities are an amazing natural beauty. The dunes rise nearly 500 feet above lake Michigan and there are hundreds of miles of hiking trails and other activities to enjoy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
The site was very large and the surrounding woods made it very private. The campground charges $5 per night for electric and about $1 per shower. There is no sewer. We would have preferred water and sewer hookups, but that aside this is a beautiful, quiet campground in a very beautiful place. We tubed down the Platte River, climbed the dunes and loved the beach. It is a wonderful family campground that I will be sure to visit again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$23
We reserved our site 6 months prior in Loop #3 and were not disappointed! Most of the sites (especially those on the outside of the loop) very spacious and had lots of trees for privacy. Would have given this campground a 10 if it had water hook-ups and better nightly programs at the amphi-theatre. (The ranger who hosted the program was reading from notes which made it boring). There is a nice stream running beside the road leading to the campground where you can go tubing, kayaking or canoeing. Wished they would have mentioned this in the campground description so I could have brought my canoe along rather than renting one. Overall, a great park and I would definitely go back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
I'm old enough to remember when this campground (it's not an RV park with modern entertainment!) was Benzie State Park with gravel roads, pit toilets, and the like. My elderly parents and dog went with me--the sites are all mostly private, paved and level pads, picnic table and grill/firepit in each site, and where we were in Loop 1/Site 124, we had a clear shot for satellite to watch TV on cold nights. Hot showers do cost $1 for 2 3-minute tokens, but it reminds you to not waste water or energy. NPS staff are incredible--the ranger who checked us in actually came out to my vehicle to verify my parents' senior status and saved us money! While there is no water or sewer on the sites, the sanitation station has two lanes and is easily accessible. Hands-down the best blend of camping and RV amenities for those who don't need a pool, room service, or 24-hour entertainment in order to experience nature. We will be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
Loved it! Great campground, outstanding National Park! Plan a week or more to get everything in! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$13
This place is a jewell in the national park service. I recommend that everybody stays here for a extended vacation. Get here early in the morning for the 7am "lotto" so you can get a spot in the rustic area or in the electric area. if you walk over the hill toward the highway, you can tube down the platte river (20 -25 minutes) and take a short walk back (5 minutes )and end up next to the riverview store. many natural attractions are local, grocery stores in frankfurt, or honor, crystal lake and it's local towns are nearby, and Traverse City is about 33 miles away if you need anything. well worth going to and staying for a while We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$14
If ratings are based on an assessment of a campground’s list of facilities, amenities, and quality then this one is not a 9/10. As National Park campgrounds go this may be one of the nicer, but it doesn’t compare with any campground that actually is a 10. Unless you are a Golden Access or Age card holder, it is pricey and there is an extra charge for electricity, use of the bath facilities, and making a reservation. The sites do not have water or sewer hook ups. There is no cable. It would even be difficult to get satellite signals considering the amount of trees. Larger motor homes and 5th wheels can fit onto a number of the sites, but it is not by standard measure a ‘big rig friendly’ campground. Overhanging trees on the access roads and some tight turns into the sites just make that not so. Some sites have 50A service and there are a few pull through sites. For a park with varying degrees of terrain, I was surprised at how level many of the sites were. Even those with longer rigs would most likely be able to find one that required minimum leveling. It’s a nice place to park for a few days and enjoy the peace and quiet of the outdoors as well as see the nature attractions in the local area. Price shown reflects a discount with Golden Access card. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$13
There are some pull throughs in loop 1, but they are skimpy sites. C shaped, rather than straight, but convenient if you cannot backup. Got to know the law enforcement staff, and they were very busy keeping things quiet and enforcing the rules. This is a 10 if you are there to enjoy nature. You won't like it if you need WIFI, satellite, sewer and water hookups. Party people should not even attempt to make noise--no loud voices, etc. The $13 rate is for senior citizens--Golden Age Pass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$29
Not only was the camping itself enjoyable, but the area is filled with close-by attractions of all sorts. Good for those rainy days. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$21
This is one of the nicest National Park campgrounds we have ever stayed at. Difficult to get into during peak season because of it's popularity, but well worth the effort. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$19
Awesome, huge campsites. Rather far from the beaches, though. This is the only electric/reservable campground in the park. Lost electricity for more than half our stay due to a storm. No playground. Many rules, but this keeps it quiet. Not very good ranger programs for a national park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$26
We loved this park! Heavily wooded with privacy between spots. We were there in the summer and there were lots of kids, bikes and dogs. Short walk to the beach of Lake Michigan. Kids loved climbing the dunes. We were in Loop 2 and did not have a reservation. We went in on a Wednesday and were able to get a site, although we were surprised how few were available. We will definitely return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$19
We give it a five star rating! It is a gorgeous area and well maintained park. There are lots of rules which are strictly enforced but that's what makes this park special. The sites have privacy and are well spaced. The bathrooms are immaculate - even Corian countertops. It has pay showers but they are extremely clean. The hosts are great and the rangers friendly. There is lots to do in the area. We always go in Sept or Oct and have no problem getting in during the week. 35' 5th wheel We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$17
This is our favorite campground. It is within 2 miles of Lake Michigan and within walking distance of the Platte River (great for family canoeing). The only drawback is the difficulty getting a site. One loop is for reservations, but you must call months in advance. The rest of the sites are on a first come first serve basis. They pass out numbers at 8:00 A.M. and you will be able to get in only if someone leaves. We have been in line as early as 4 A.M. and people are waiting ahead of us for a number. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2000
$14
This is the best campground (public or private) I have ever been to. The bathrooms are immaculate, the sites are very generous in size, the park rangers are extremely accommodating. There is a trail you can take to the Lake Michigan beach and there is a canoeing/tubing place right near the entrance so you can float down the river. Beautiful camping in early October when the colors are at their peak! In the summer, you have to arrive very early in the morning to get a site because it is first come, first serve. Excellent campground and I will return each year! We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com