221698 User submitted reviews online!!
Wild Cherry Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 22 user reviews. Phone: (231) 271-5550
CGID1412

Wild Cherry Resort

Camp Information
Sites
112
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$59



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   10   2   4   5   2   1   8   9   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  no  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2012
$59
Park sites are large. Really not pet friendly even though they claim to be. Owner makes you take your dog to a specified area to do it's business. He had a fit, ours urinated on the grass in the campsite. Nothing here for kids to do, it was pretty boring for them. Expensive for what he offers, which is nothing but real bad WiFi. We really liked the surrounding area, but would find another campground the next time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$59
Excellent big rig friendly park, easy in and out, no tree problems or tight turns. Paved interior roads, gravel pad, concrete patio. Extremely quiet park. No pool, restrooms, showers or laundry but not a problem if in a self contained rig. Staff extremely friendly and accommodating. Website mentions pet restriction of 40 lbs, but this was not an issue as many larger dogs were welcomed. Not a lot for kids to do if traveling with younger folks. Park is within 2 miles of Sutton's Bay, about 20 miles from Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore. Planned on staying four days but extended for an additional four. Very nice park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2012
$59
We have camped here over the last 5 years, a few as seasonal. I'm not surprised seeing the latest negative reviews. We reserved a specific site with the owner early in the winter of 2012 for a agreed upon seasonal site. When we arrived for our summer stay we found our site was already taken by a motorhome. Making a long story short, we couldn't have the site we gave him a $1600.00 deposit on many months earlier, and he demanded we take a site that he knew we didn't want. As some others mentioned here, he was extremely rude and insulting. I asked for my deposit back (which he gave back) and drove 5 hours back home. Our summer plans were ruined. He keeps saying he's planning on improvements, he never makes any. No pool, no store, no bathrooms, Wi-Fi spotty, no cable TV, only a few channels can be received from Winegard antenna. The price he charges is way too high for the service he provides. The pond area is overgrown with scum and weeds, lots of mosquitoes and droppings from the many ducks and geese that run around it. He is trying to be like a couple of the higher class RV parks in the Traverse city area. He falls way short. We refuse to return to this campground, unless someone else buys him out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
We camped there last fall in our 21 ft Jayco fifth wheel. This year we were told that we were not welcome because our 5th wheel is to small. They now require at least a 27 ft camper, or a tent? Note: Last year, our camp site's power pole did not work and we had to borrow a long cord and pull power from a nearby site. Note 2: There are not bathrooms or shower house, and there wasn't enough water pressure on our site, to allow taking a good shower. Note 3: I picked up a virus on my computer, while using their unsecured wireless access! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$59
The sites have nice concrete pads and a small patio, a newspaper is delivered each morning and trash collection is done at your site, but the "resort" lacks restrooms, showers, laundry, and a pool. It is very quiet, but lacks the amenities of a first class RV resort charging $59. Be careful when reserving a site if you want to have a campfire in the evening, many sites do not have fire circles. Wild Cherry is located in a centrally located area making it easy to visit various wineries, Suttons Bay, Leland and the rest of the beautiful Leelanau peninsula. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2011
$59
"Resort" is a joke! This place doesn't have a pool, bathhouses, laundry, cable TV, playground, camp store or any other normal RV park amenity. The owners appear to be frustrated golfers - all focus is on building and/or maintaining several golf greens around the algae choked pond. The physical sites are beautiful but the price is ridiculous for what is provided. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2011
$56
Not pet friendly. Made us leave because our dog pottied on site. We cleaned too. Owner does not allow anything to sit on grass/weeds. Owner has a short temper. Very mean and rude to us. We have camped in 10 different states and have never felt so disrespected. I have never been kicked out of an establishment. I left in tears. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$59
Spacious, scenic park. But overpriced, should be $10/night less since it needs more amenities. Has no pool, no cable TV, and no restrooms or showers yet. Extremely quiet and lots of places to walk your pets. Liked the large sites. Might stay again if it is "right-priced." We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$45
This is a really great campground. There is much to do in the area and the CG is well located to take advantage of all there is to see and do. Leland, Traverse City, Scott's Harbor are all close by and if you can't find something to do, you need professional help! There are more great restaurants in the area than anywhere else we go. The management is professional. It would be a 10 if there were more amenities, but who needs them when there is so much to do in the area. Didn't play them,m but there are two golf holes that appear to be really fun. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$39
The setting surrounding this park is beautiful. However, the prices are, in our opinion, too high. We chose a "grassy site" because we felt the $39 price was a little more reasonable. There are ants all over the grass, and even though we were told the electric (50amp) had just been checked, it was not turned on. We went to the office at 4:00 on a Sat. afternoon and found it closed. Someone did come out of a motor home to help and sent someone to turn the electric on. We feel we should not have had to chase this since we had prepaid reservations for the site, and they we expecting us. The electric should have been checked and the ants should have been sprayed before we arrived. The sites are reasonably level. There is no cable, and there are no bathhouse facilities. There is no pool. More reasons we feel the park is over priced. WI-FI seems to work well. , We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$29
We stayed here a week so the rate depicts that, plus, although it was not advertised, we got the Good Sam discount. (July is not included, as that is a busy cherry festival time.) This is a very quiet, serene, hilly setting, with very large pull-in sites around a small lake. Trees are on the perimeter of the property. No problem with satellite, but we did have problems with their Wi-Fi and our Verizon air card and phone. Very low signal so computer and phone worked intermittently. They are working on a couple short golf holes. There were some information brochures in the office but no real store to purchase items. I was given information about some of the local restaurants and wineries. No laundry available on site but nice laundromat in Suttons Bay. The newspaper was delivered daily, even the Sunday paper, which was a nice touch. There is plenty to do in the area to keep you busy or you can just relax and watch the ducks in the lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$50
This is a spectacular campground in a very serene setting with lots of elbow room and the owner is fantastic. The grounds are impeccable and there is so much to do and see in the area. I would have to agree that at the moment it is a bit overpriced because there are no facilities, but the grounds and setting more than make up for it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$10
We rented a spot at Wild Cherry for the entire summer in 2009. It's a great place. No hassles at all, quiet, clean, beautiful. Trash pickup and news paper delivery every day. Easy to use Wi-Fi. Walks through the Cherry Orchards, and trips to the numerous wineries make it a great place. Small towns with great restaurants, and many things to do. Owners are laid back, and easy to work with. No problems, no worries. We're not newbies, we've been camping for many, many years. We highly recommend this to anyone looking to get away to the most beautiful part of the state. The amount we showed in the nightly rent is a little off since we rented for the entire summer, best to get the price directly from the park. Try out the park, you won't regret it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$55
We stayed here a week. The park is very nice. There are spacious sites, good wi-fi, but not really much to do for the price. There is no pool as advertised, no golf holes as advertised, one bathroom for men & women in the office. There was hardly anything in the store. We felt it was very overpriced! We won't be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$38
Excellent rv facility with nice amenities. Located near Suttons Bay. Good wi-fi, extremely quiet, excellent elbow room. Any sized rig can fit here! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$33
This park is beautifully situated adjacent to a cherry orchard. There is a small lake with sites around it. Paved roads, large sites, most sites have patios, lots of grass and open space, few trees. Nice log clubhouse. No pool, toilets, showers or cable. Wi-Fi worked very well. Owner and staff friendly and helpful. Trash pickup at site. We stayed a week and would use it again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2006
$33
Absolutely most beautiful spot we have parked the RV. Very easy access for 40' MH. Almost anysize would have no trouble getting here. Also overpriced. No laundry or bath house. Not sure how they advertise tent sites when there are no bathroom facitilities. Lots of potential. Very nice management and workcampers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2006
$35
What a beautiful, pristine setting in the hills of Leelanau Peninsula. Great park, plenty of room for big rigs and plenty of room for maneuvering. Beautifully maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$40
This place is beautiful. The owner is one of the nicest people we have ever dealt with at a campground. She was extremely helpful and enthuastic. It is built on a working cherry orchard and it's a work in progress. The back-in sites are the lake are perfect. I look forward to returning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$45
This campground would be a 10 if it had cable and the price was more reasonable. The owners were very nice. They provided a guided tour through the cherry orchard and we watched as they picked cherrys. It was a very interesting operation. We also picked cherrys while we were there. The site is beautifu with the orchards, hills, and two man-made lakes. Easy access to Sutton's Bay, Leland, and Traverse City. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$43
Very nice, a new campground with the owner still working on the sites! Sat. TV should be added by next year. CG is in a Cherry Orchard. The park has Pull in sites for MH for a lake front view. Nice camp ground a little pricey but owner goes out of his way to make you feel at home! Also you get a paper each day:) We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$26
This is an excellent RV resort. The owner could not be more helpful if he had tried. Each morning the newspaper is brought to the site. There is quiet and sites are wide. It is only a few miles to Leland and two miles to Sutton's Bay. It is a wonderful place to stay! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com