223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Spaulding Lake Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (269) 684-1393
CGID1433

Spaulding Lake Campground

Camp Information
Sites
120
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$31



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   6   10   10   8   7   9   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$31
We have stayed here several times, the owners are always nice, the park is clean, and the sites are level. There is a playground of sorts, but it is not very well kept but not dangerous. The lakes(ponds) are nice and fishing is allowed. The sites are grass and of medium size and length, they are easy to get into and many are shaded. We use a portable satellite dish and have had no problem getting set up in the treed sites. This is a nice campground, not to far from Elkhart. They only take checks and cash. I gave it an 8 because it lacks the amenities that some parks offer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
We stayed overnight and it was a nice park for that purpose. A large park with lots of grass and trees which blocked our satellite signal, but the cable was good. Many activities for a family and children. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
This campground is a hard one to rate. Some things were very good and some things not. The people who run the campground have not progressed in many ways into modern methods. They do not take credit cards. The reservations were a stack of yellow slips of paper. We were given a site that barely fit our 32’ trailer. When we parked our truck along the road we were told we could not do that. When we asked where we could park it, we were told to fit it on the site or park in the remote parking, and we were to just “work it out”. We would have preferred that they would have told us that there was no room for us. The bathrooms are older, but are pretty clean. They had Wi-Fi, but it only work sporadically and then slowly. About half the sites have shade. Some sites were decent size but others were not; some places folks were really crowded together. The grounds were very well kept with a pretty stream flowing through it. This contrasted to the junk that sits around in various places. We stayed four nights this time, but we will think long-and-hard about there being a next time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$29
This is a very nice campground that is very well maintained. The staff is friendly and helpful. All of the RV sites have 20/30/50 amp service, water and sewer and are level. The Wi-Fi was good at our site. Getting to the site was easy. There are several play areas for children as well as fishing and swimming. We stayed here for a week and would definitely come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$28
We loved everything about this place. A terrific combination of RV Park and Campground. Level grass sites and beautiful surroundings. We would easily spend a week here but need to move on after only 2 nights. Also, it has a really close proximity to Notre Dame for those who are interested. Great hosts. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$29
Nice family campground, with plenty for things for kids to do, including a playground, swimming lake, two fishing lakes and a nature trail. An enclosed meeting hall is provided on site for get-togethers. The grounds are very clean and well kept with gravel drives. There is firewood available on site for a fee. Fishing is free in the two stocked lakes with no license required. Bait is for sale on site. We stayed in site 47 which is a pull through site in a 40' motorcoach. The sites are adequate, but fairly narrow. Many of the sites have good sized shade trees, all sites had fire rings and a picnic table. Dumpsters are available at the entrance and exit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$22
Family owned and run. Older campground, but well taken care of. Mostly permanent and seasonal campers. Gravel sites and road, but generally level. Quiet and most sites have some shade. Cash or check only. Easy access from US31 & US12. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$27
Older park, family owned and operated, very well maintained. Restrooms very clean. Park is a little bit off the main highways but is easy to find and very quiet. Sites are gravel/grass, some seasonal sites. Stayed here one night on brief visit to South Bend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$35
Possibly the best maintained park we ever stayed in. Every tree and shrub is trimmed, and they pick up every scrap of paper they see on the ground as they go about their business there. They were having problems with the cable TV, but were working on it. Restrooms and showers are spotless. Three small ponds for fishing, with one having a sandy beach. Relatively close to both I-80 and I-94. They don't allow alcohol in the park, but they never asked if we had any, so if you want a beer, you'll have to be discreet. This one is a real gem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$33
Although a older park it was well maintained. They had nice play grounds and a small lake for swimming and 2 other small lakes/ponds for fishing. It was only 6 miles to South Bend and Notre Dame with good roads. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$34
This is a small family owned campground located a few miles away from Red Bud MX. We stayed here over the July 4th/race weekend. It was relatively quiet, except for some moderate noise from the neighboring highway. The sites were a little close for my liking, but the campground and facilities were very well maintained. Hostess was very pleasant when taking our reservation and equally as friendly upon our arrival. We'd stay here again, but ask to be located in a site farthest from the highway. Wi-Fi connection was very good. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$23
The price reflects the weekly rate. We enjoyed our stay here; quiet, well landscaped, and very friendly owners/managers. There are a variety of sites, from tree shaded to open, all level grass/dirt with solid hookups and a picnic table. The lakes are full of small bluegill and provide a fishing experience for the kids. There's a playground, basketball court, hiking trails through the woods and rec room, along with a small laundry. Verizon Aircard worked well, but the free park WiFi was exceptionally fast and secure. The location was perfect for exploring the Amish communities, South Bend, and the lakefront communities. A very good value; we'll stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$28
Very pretty campground. Nice trails through the woods and the small lakes are a real plus. Neat playground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$28
Very cute park. Stayed 4 nights in a TT. See comments below for additional information. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$27
We have stayed in this campground numerous times. The owners are very friendly and the campground is immaculate. Very clean restrooms. There are picnic tables and fire pits at each site. Many pull thru sites for big rigs. The lawn is neatly mowed and the bushes are trimmed. They do not accept credit cards; cash or checks only. They do give a discount for senior citizens 65 and older. Very quiet. Convenient to Notre Dame University in South Bend. They have two pond, one for fishing and one for swimming. We will stay there every year while visiting our daughter in South Bend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$25
While this camprground is nicely kept, the idea that it is on a lake is very misleading. There are 3 man made retention areas, 2 for fishing and 1 for swimming. It is however a good place to camp if going down the St. Joseph River, or visiting Notre Dame. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
1999
$19
Lakes are 3 man made. 1 for swimming and 2 for fishing. Is a very scenic setting in Southern Michigan 5 miles North of South Bend, Indiana Good base for prowling the Amish country in Northern Indiana, Visiting the Studebaker Museum, or College Football Hall of fame in South Bend, In. Twenty miles from Lake Michigan. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com