206564 User submitted reviews online!!
Tahquamenon Falls State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 26 user reviews. Phone: (906) 492-3415
CGID1437

Tahquamenon Falls State Park

Camp Information
Sites
298
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$21



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   7   8   9   10   8   8   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$21
Tahquamenon Falls State Park is a fantastic place. The campground offers ADA sites. All sites are relatively large, level, grass and dirt. The bathrooms/showers were clean. The staff was friendly. We only stayed one night; however, there is much to do in the area including Great Lakes Shipwreck Museum, kayaking/canoeing and hiking to the falls. There was no Verizon service in the state park. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$21
We stayed in the Lower Falls campground and had a nice big site which was grass and flat. We had a fire pit and a picnic table. A firewood vendor drives through the campground every day selling firewood. Lots to see and do here. Hiking trails, Upper and Lower Falls (Lower Falls are a short walk from the campground) and only 20 miles from Whitefish Point and the Shipwreck Museum which is highly recommended! The Upper Falls area has an excellent restaurant, "Brewery and Pub". Their beer was good. The food and service was excellent! We had minimal Verizon service, but by using a booster antenna it was okay. No television watching here, but star watching is excellent! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$21
Price reflects nightly rate with 30-amp electric. Note that there is also an $8 online reservation fee and daily entrance fees for both Michigan residents and non-residents. The non-resident daily fee is $8.40/day and an annual pass is $30.50. Figuring that we're here three nights & non-residents, it's actually rather expensive ($34/night). State park staff is very nice, although camphosts & employees of concessionaire are not. Free hot and strong-pressured showers. Sites are a bit on top of one another and our fire pit needs a serious cleaning - here are cigarette butts & trash. There are some nice trees and it's quite quiet at night. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$23
This park is very well run! We showed up on a Thursday with no reservation and were handed a list of sites that were available for 1, 2, or 2 or more days. We were able to quickly zero in on a nice pull-through. We stayed at the Overlook Loop. Sites are totally wooded and fairly large. The shower/bath facilities are older but well kept. There are two sets of waterfalls, upper and lower, with a nice 4 mile hike between them. A shuttle runs in the summer, to return you home without hiking another 4 miles! Wonderful ranger programs for kids/grand kids, including "Investigating Owl Puke." (No kidding!) Again, everyone seems to have a campfire, so if smoke is a problem for you, avoid the busy season. I'm sure this park would be gorgeous in the fall. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$21
This is a beautiful area of Michigan. Defiantly a must see. The campground was also nice. We stayed in the lower falls. The best sights would be on the river or on the premier of the park. Sights in the river would have to be booked 6 months in advanced. If you are into hiking this would be for you. Nothing really to do there after seeing the falls. Absolutely no cell service, no IPad (AT&T). Could not pick up any local channels on TV. This is really roughing it for me. There 3 campgrounds in this state park. Lower falls and upper falls are about 2 miles apart. The 3rd one is Rivermouth which is about 15 miles from the other two. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$27
In my opinion, Michigan's premier "nature" campground. Absolutely beautiful scenery/location. Campground is in two sections, a "lower campground" (our favorite) which is near the river & lower falls, and an "upper campground" which is short hike or bike/car ride up-hill from the falls area. If reservations are made months in advance, can usually get a river-front site. Campground is very well maintained. Sites are large, grassy, and shaded. Staff is courteous. Campfire wood is sold on site, with truck that makes rounds through campground twice each evening. Lots of hiking trails. Boardwalk and trail along the river is the closest thing to the Pacific Northwest that Michigan has to offer: the smell of pines, the sound of rushing water, and a quiet trail through the woods for a 4-mile journey to the "upper" section of the falls. We've camped here often and and will continue to do so for many years to come. Always a highlight of my summer camping experiences. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$24
Rivermouth Campground is part of Tahquemenon Falls State Park near Paradise, Michigan. It's a nice quiet park with just electric hookups. Very nice restrooms and showers. All sites within easy walking distance to the river. The mouth of the river hits Lake Superior right across the highway from the campground. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$29
This is a large state park, beautiful setting at the top of the Upper Peninsula. Sites are varying sizes, but plenty of larger sites for big rigs. This is a great park for hiking and cycling. We walked to the falls which were very scenic. Our only negative comment is the process of selecting a site - we stopped at the gate and were told to drive around the park (pulling a good sized 5th wheel) and choose a site then return to the gate and tell them which one we selected (with 5th wheel still in tow) and then they would book us in. Since all the sites were the same price, why not just choose a site, set up, and then let them know which one, like we have done in other state parks? Their answer was that others were also driving around choosing sites, and if someone came back first with the site we wanted we would have to go and choose another. So their check-in system needs an over-haul. Out of State charge of $8.00 is included in our rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$29
This park is in an absolutely beautiful setting. Lovely trees, grass, forest and waterfalls. However we felt like prisoners in our trailer due to the sheer numbers of mosquitoes. It's due to the area, what with lots of water and bogs. Smart campers had screened tents to place over and around their picnic tables to allow them a bug-free area. The rangers even offer a nature walk during which you can identify the 49 species of mosquitoes! The falls are really lovely though, and the campground nice. Despite high usage, the bathrooms were very clean. Electric only sites, but there were nearby water faucets and the dump site was fine. Rate reflects an $8 reservation fee, but doesn't include the $8.00 daily pass for a nonresident. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$21
Always a beautiful state park. I camped here several times when I was a kid. You can tell that the State of Michigan is starting to invest in its parks again: everything was in good repair. The facilities were clean, and they were mowing in the Riversbend campground while we were here. Cell phone reception is spotty in Riversbend but OK higher up in Overlook campground. Wi-Fi access is the same, depending on your ISP (our Virgin Mobile MiFi hotspot didn't get a signal). We had a pull-through site in Riversbend Site No. 14, and were able to pick up satellite for DirecTV. Mosquitoes were awful. We actually had a departing camper walk up while we set up, asking if we needed mosquito coils he had left over. It IS in the middle of expansive cedar swamps, so mosquitoes are expected, but worth the stay. There's a great lady who drives her truck through with firewood: a very friendly vendor. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$21
We really enjoyed our stay at this state park. The site was clean and well maintained. The location of the park enabled us to tour the surrounding areas easily. We used this park as a base to tour the Falls (Upper and Lower), Whitefish Point and Sault Ste. Marie. The main roads in the park were paved. The sites are grassy and level and sufficient room between each site. We really enjoyed our pull through site. There were no advanced amenities (cable TV, Wi-Fi) but the beautiful trees made up for them. The restrooms were modern, clean and each shower area was private: a real plus. We attended fantastic ranger programs in the park. We would definitely come back here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$23
Very nice State Park. Most sites were roomy and shady. Park had nice mature trees and was pretty clean and quiet. We camped in the lower falls campground which is closest to the lower falls. The upper falls campground is located at the same park and just a bit further away to walk to the lower falls. Not sure why it is called upper falls since you are not camping at the upper falls. I was confused about this and had to check it out. To view the upper falls, you can hike the 4 miles or drive. We toured all the State area campgrounds and the lower falls campground seemed the nicest to us. Bathrooms and showers were very busy and for the most part, clean. There is a park store within walking distance and near the falls. Walkways are nicely paved and well worth the walk to the falls. Mosquitoes were very vicious and could not sit by evening campfire they were so bad. Would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$36
This is a great park in which to visit Tahquamenon Falls. The sites are relatively large and it is your typical state park here in the State of Michigan. There are several hiking/biking trails within the park and many connect with areas to actually view the falls. While mosquitoes were in full force in the heavily wooded areas, they weren't too bad in the campground area. Check-in was easy and everything seemed to be well maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$28
This Rivermouth campground is excellent, although there is no water or sewer at the sites. The rates quoted on their website do not include the park entry fee of $8 per day (or an annual pass); thus making this park fairly expensive for the service provided. Still, it is very well kept, quite scenic and quiet. Almost all sites are very shaded, so forget about your satellite connection at this park. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
Very large state park in Michigan's Upper Peninsula with some good, short hikes and beautiful scenery. Quiet campground with almost all sites shaded and very spacious. Reasonably clean restrooms and showers, however the playground facilities were marginal. Only real negative here was the mosquito population during our visit. Ensure you bring the best repellent you can find! Campfires in the evening (which are permitted) were limited by how long we could tolerate the mosquitoes, even with a good slathering of DEET repellent. We rented a rowboat to view the beautiful Lower Falls from the island, however were eventually driven off the island by those aggressive mosquitoes. However, we had great sightseeing daytrips to Whitefish Point and Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore. Recommend both Grand Sable Dunes and Miner's Castle areas. The Fish House restaurant in Paradise features the best fish 'n chips we've ever had! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
Campsite opens May 5th. Water was not on yet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$24
This park was very quiet and seems safe. Park officials were helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$29
Bathrooms were very modern and clean. Despite many campers, very quiet and peaceful. Lower Falls accessible just a short walk away. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
very nice! Highly recommended. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
We started our UP vacation at this campground. We loved the location, and the park itself. The park was real clean, and well taken care of. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$19
This is a wonderful, large state park in the UP of Michigan. There are four campgrounds in the park (two by the rivermouth, two by the Lower Falls). We camped at the Riverbend Campground by the Lower Falls. Most of the sites are shaded and level with dirt or grass. Some of the pull-through sites are paved. All sites have 30 amp service with a few 50 amp sites. No city water hookup are available. The restrooms and showers are very nice and clean (perhaps the best I've ever seen). The Riverbend Campground is a short walk from the Lower Falls area. An absolute must-do is renting a row boat ($2 per person) and paddle out to the island. This allows you to get up-close and personal with the waterfalls. We had our picnic lunch out there one day. The park is enormous. Most of it is undeveloped, with plenty of hiking trails. While we were there, we saw a black bear and a moose. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$22
We had two good sites at the Rivermouth campground over eight days, #36 was not near the water but level with no one on one side. We also had site #19 which was level, close to the river, 50 amp and very nice. The Rivermouth CG is not close to the upper or lower Tahquamenon falls but is not as crowded and chaotic as the campgrounds near the falls. We also really liked the rustic sites at this campground. It was too hot during our stay for us to do without electricity but during cooler spells we would have been very happy with many of the rustic sites. In exchange for electricity they are huge wooded sites (although not entirely level) with half of them very close to the river. We saw three river otters catching fish and crawdads in the river one evening. This was a great place for scenic river kayaking. Dump is easy to access and has fresh potable water that you can reach while dumping your tanks. The Great Lakes Shipwreck Museum was also a worthwhile side trip and Paradise has a nice little fabric and craft store. From what we've seen of Michigan SP's it's a bargain at $21 a night (not counting of course the additional motor vehicle permit fee of $58 total for MH and car, yearly, or $8 per day for the MH and $6 per park for the toad). It's a very nice campground in a very nice park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$19
Excellent daily & nightly programs. Lower falls campground within hiking distance to campground (Rivermouth campground some 20 miles to the south). Very quiet. Alcohol prohibited. Make sure you have plenty of diesel fuel, there is no station for 30 miles. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$21
A very nice state park. We stayed in the Upper Falls camping area and used this for a base camp to explore Mackinac Is., Fort Michillimakinac, Sault St. Marie, and a few other spots. Also explored the park a bit. Saw the falls. Easy access. Trails paved except for 2 sets of stairs to view the larger upper falls from below. One set of 94 and the other was 114, I think. Had a micro brewery restaurant in the park. Great beer batter fried Whitefish. Campgrounds were clean but some folks were complaining about the lack of hot water in the showers. We used them but didn't have that problem. Reasonably clean. After Prophets Town, IN and Little Bay de Noc, MI, the campsites weren't all that private but it was still nice. Another place I'd go back to. Make your reservations early. This place fills up fast. $21/ Night + $8/ day entrance fee We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$21
There are two different campgrounds in this very large state park. They are 17 miles apart so be sure you pick the best one for your needs. The lower falls campground is very near the falls and between Newberry and Paradise. The other campground is Rivermouth and about 6 miles south of Paradise. The only thing that keeps this campground from being a 10 is not having full hook ups and also bitting flies that come out in the afternoon. There is so much to do in the park and area that you could stay for a week and still not do it all. Also something different about the upperfalls is they have a grill/pub right near the trail to go to the falls. This is a fantastic break from always packing a picnic lunch for all our state park visits. They also have a great little ice cream stand and a large but cozy seating area that includes rocking chairs near an old fire place where you can sit and rock in the shade after your day of visiting the falls. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$17
There are actually three different campgrounds to this park. The river mouth unit and the main park. We stayed at the main park where there are two separate campgrounds. The bathrooms were all upgraded in 2002 as were the newly black topped roads. The sites range from small (tents) to large for motorhomes. A beautiful park it is right on the Tahquamenon River. The lower falls are walking distance from the campground. The upper falls are four miles which you can drive to or hike on the trails. The lower falls are a series of cascading falls that surround an island. You can take a rowboat rented from the park concessions and row to the island. Here you can play in the lower falls. The upper falls are one of the largest east of the Mississippi and are 200 feet wide and have a 50 foot drop. The park itself has more than 40,000 acres and is mostly wilderness. The campgrounds are well kept. The staff is friendly and helpful. There are some attractions in the area. Whitefish Point Lighthouse with a museum. This museum holds artifacts from the Edmund Fitzgerald plus many others. Point Iraquoix Lighthouse, which you can climb the light tower. Soo Locks, and Pictures Rocks national seashore are about an hours drive away. I highly recommend this park, if anything for the beauty. Make reservations as early as possible. This is one of Michigans most popular parks. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com