214825 User submitted reviews online!!
Monroe Co. / Toledo North KOA was rated 6 out of 10 based on 28 user reviews. Phone: (734) 856-4972
CGID1438

Monroe Co. / Toledo North KOA

Camp Information
Sites
250
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   10   9   3   5   1   3   6   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
KOA is a popular named campground but that's what you are buying, is the name. Overall cost was a bit high and everything the kids wanted to do cost money. There was nothing but a small store and snack shack so we had to go to Pirolli Park for our beer and pizza. There seemed to be no type of security and there was lots of rowdy people. Won't be coming back. Sorry, but we will going to another local campground that had what we needed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$45
We camped with 2 other families for one of their "Hallowe'en Weekends" and our Canadian Thanksgiving and we had a great experience! All of the staff was very friendly, the sites were scenic, the bathrooms were clean, and there were many activities to keep the kids busy. We would also like to thank the 2 staff members who were kind enough to boost the battery in our van when we left all of the lights on as we were loading to leave! We are already looking forward to next year. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$50
First time staying here. Pretty impressed. Nice swimming and nice fishing pond. Great activities, clean restrooms, friendly staff, quiet and overall really nice place to stay. Good for families. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2012
$60
We just stayed here and it was alright but I don't believe it is worth the money they charge. We stayed Sun and Mon(labor day) and left Tuesday morning. We had 3 adults and two kids they charged $61 for sun $47 mon $6 A Day for each additional adult $3 A Day for kids $5 A Day for additional car $5 A Day resort fee. So for two nights it cost us over $200! It wouldn't be bad if it was worth it. The resort fee I assume is for water slide which looks old and poorly maintained, the lake/beach and the old and extremely basic put put golf. My advice is save your money or go somewhere that is worth it! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$50
We stayed here for a couple nights to go to the Henry ford museum. This is a good place to stay to see the museum. The park is ok. Not in the best shape. My kids played golf. I would use this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2012
$60
This is the worst KOA we have ever stayed in and we tend to stay in them fairly often. First there is the added $5 per day "resort" fee attached to the relatively high daily rate. Second this is a vast party land swelled with kids, pets, and drunken adults. Restrooms were not cleaned often enough for the hordes of people. Truly disgusting. We booked into a deluxe full hookup-- the attendant provided direction and a map which put us in the wrong direction. After much difficulty getting in the proper direction we started to hook up and discovered that the "deluxe" site was only 30 amp! So we had to move again. Finally there is no parking control for extra cars so people were parked in all sorts of directions making the already narrow interior roads even more narrow. We will never stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2012
$52
A vast kiddie playground. It has all the basics so OK for our overnighter. Swimming lake looked clean but I didn't trust the bacteria control with the high usage (it was 100 degrees that day). Half the campers left because the electric, water ,& sewer went out (not their fault). The supervisor in the office was polite in a snarky kind of way. The crew was generally standoffish but understandable with the massive day-users there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$49
The rate is for two adults Saturday through Tuesday at a KOA discount. We did have a free night with a coupon which reduced our cost. They "forgot" to tell us of the $5 per night resort fee when I reserved the site. Because of our size in this tight campground, I asked for a specific site. They told me that it was available, but when we arrived, someone was on it. We did get a different site, luckily. Several for big rigs are not level, and we needed 20' of sewer hose to reach the connection at the rear of the site. The roads are dirt and can be muddy which makes the bathrooms muddy too. Verizon and wi-fi worked well. No cable is available, and the trees would make satellite difficult on most sites. There is a lot for little ones to do, but an extra cost for children and some activities would make this an expensive vacation for most families. We have stayed in many private parks with a pool and cable as well at a much lower cost. Due to the expense, we will stay elsewhere when visiting family in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$50
There is so much to do here, the kids stay busy and play all day. Huge swimming area, fishing pond, they love the water slide and mini golf. Pancake breakfast is great too. There is so much to love about this campground, it's by far our favorite. Especially for families with young children, this is a great vacation spot. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$55
This park was very family friendly, lots of activities for the kids. Not the place to go if you want peace and quiet. It was quiet at night the kids had to remain on there own campsite after dark. The park served a free pancake breakfast every day from 8 till 10. My grandson started smiling as soon as we got there and he never stopped for 4 days. It had a swimming lake, fishing lake, water slide, putt putt golf, outside pool tables, bike rentals. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2010
$55
Used to be a great, family-owned & operated park, but now it is owned by a larger corporate entity and it shows. True, they have made some improvements, but the overall feel is just different and not in a good way. We always went for the Halloween weekends, but they are no longer as well run or organized. Miss the Crots family who used to run the park and were involved with every activity! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$52
Fun for my family. Park was relatively clean but the restrooms could have used some more attention. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$38
We're used to "up north" camping but decided to head south when we saw the forecast. What a pleasant surprise! Friendly staff, great location (Toledo zoo, Cabelas, Lake Erie, Monroe), clean showers, nice size sites, excellent laundry room, and lots of tress and things to do. Kids loved it, son fished and fished, daughter met lots of friends and rode her bike endlessly. Park staff kept cars to a crawl and I felt very comfortable with letting the kids have a bit of independence. The cg had putt-putt, a nice swimming lake, water slide, sports fields, and a great store with very fair prices. This probably isn't the place for you if you want solitude and quiet but it is excellent for families for a close to home get-away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$45
The night in 2008 that we stayed there a wind storm came thru. A 5 inch in diameter branch fell on the roof of the motorhome. We have a metal roof so the branch did not go thru. A fan and ac shroud was damaged. All the campers around helped me get the branch off the roof. Nobody from the campground came around. The next day I went to the office and mentioned the incident. From talking to office I got the impression they did not want to hear about it. She said they have 24 hour patrol. They did not stop at my site to see if I was ok. She said if it was an emergency call 911. They had no emergency posted in there camping fliers or posted on the door of the office that closed at 10:00 pm. I would not expect the campground to pay for the accident. I was however disappointed with there response and lack of action. I would not stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$48
This KOA was excellent. They had the cleanest lake I have ever seen! Crystal clear water and they must groom the sand. The Bathrooms were flawless. I saw a cleaning crew going around on a golf cart all day long. Staff was very friendly. They always had fun activities for the kids including water slide, Swimming, outdoor pool tables, put-put golf, wagon rides, game rooms and more. If you didn't feel like cooking you could even order a pizza from there snack bar. The only negative thing I have to say is that they had several loud speaker announcements which could get annoying especially when I was trying to catch an afternoon nap. Other than that I will definitely be coming back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$45
A great family park with lots of activities for the kids (game room, swimming pond, fishing pond, bike and paddle boat rentals, water slides, and a large playground with play structures for toddlers as well as older kids). Campground has lots of undeveloped space for playing catch, frisbee, baseball, etc. Campground access roads are wide and accessible. If you have a larger camper you probably want to stick to the larger sites that are west of the entrance roads (sites 36 - 76) ... the back half of the campground is heavily treed and can be a tight squeeze. Also note that water electric sites 69 through 76B have shared hook-ups so it is advisable to have extra electrical cord and hose to reach the hookups. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2007
$65
Very expensive -- they charge for kids, charged for dog. $65 a night. Sites were dirt, loud speaker announcements every hour, very loud and annoying. We have stayed at other KOAs and they were much better and cheaper. This place is a ripoff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$42
Older campground but nice. My kids loved it. It gets very busy on the weekends, with a lot of tent campers. I would stay again for a short trip only. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$42
This is an older KOA that is a little tired but aging well. The campground staff was very helpful and friendly. The sites have concrete runners for the trailer with the remainder in grass. No cable TV but this is not a huge issue for short stay as there is excellent TV reception from both Detroit and Toledo. The WiFi worked very well and had good reception from our site. This is a good park for an overnight stay and a side trip to Cabelas in nearby Dundee is a must for any outdoors enthusiast. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$50
I took our son here for a schools out father and son camping trip. Upon registering I told them that I would be staying two nights, and possibly a third, they said it would not be a problem. After the second night they told me I had to check out by noon. I was very displeased with the quality of the staff and the rates. I e-mailed my disappointment to the host, only to receive a response of "oh well". They do have two lakes, one for swimming and one for fishing and canoe rentals. There is a waterslide as well. The camp store is stocked with everything you could need. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$38
We stayed here from Wed. through Mon. During the weekdays it was nice and quiet. Weekends were very busy and loud. Friendly staff and patrolmen for the weekend. One item to work on would be to have some children supervised activities that the staff do (treasure hunts, crafts, etc...). They only have a wagon ride for the kids and this is only on the weekends. Plenty of things to do at campground. Nice shady sites. Restrooms do need some cleaning up and very few to use for such a large campground. Wifi is very limited as to where it can be received. No swimming pool to swim in only what is at the end of the water slide. Love that the slide is free during the weekdays. Close to many attractions. Have stayed here twice and would be willing to stay again, only during the weekdays. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$78
Staff and campgrounds VERY nice. We stayed Monday to Friday. Pretty quiet early in the week and pretty full by the end. My only complaint is the showers were pretty dirty by the end of the week. Other than that I would stay here again. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$45
Nice KOA, good size sites and nice amenities. They have a very large playground area and I especially liked the fact that there is a separate fenced off area specifically for small toddlers with Little Tykes climbers, playhouses, etc. We have only stayed here in the fall for their Halloween weekends (great fun, not to be missed!) but they seem to have some nice activities for the summer including a waterslide and swimming lake, bike rentals, and mini-golf. Campground is owned by a very nice family and staff is very accommodating. Camp store is well stocked as well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2005
$50
Double the price for a theme weekend. We went during the Halloween theme. $50.00 doesn't include kids and pets. Beware of the speakers in the trees they are very annoying. Good Morning Campers at 8am. We might return but it will not be during any theme event. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2004
$32
Swimming water is a natural water pond and looks smucky. Lots of trees, which is great for shade, but also creates an umbrella effect for all the smoke from campfires. We were there for Halloween and I haven't been back because the smoke was so bad. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2002
$50
A lot for the kids to do, swimming, playground, but the park was extremely high priced, had to pay extra for water slide, boats and bike rental, charged extra for family to come in and visit. The showers were always dirty. We stayed a week and won't go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2002
$27
The security at this campground was a nightmare.If you don't chain everything down , It might be gone in the morning. The staff could care less about any problems you might have. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2001
$27
Looking for a family campground where you will want to come back again, this KOA is it! Privately owned by a family, the family runs the campground and are very friendly. They are located on US-23 at Exit #9 in Michigan...you won't be disappointed. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com