206925 User submitted reviews online!!
Detroit Greenfield RV Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 67 user reviews. Phone: (734) 482-7722
CGID1463

Detroit Greenfield RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
212
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   9   8   9   4   8   9   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$38
This is a former KOA park, and it is old and a bit faded. We stayed in the open area, with a spacious site and easy access for big rigs. There are some pretty old sites, lakeside and away from the lake, which are heavily wooded and not so big-rig friendly. Laundry room is shabby. Staff is most helpful, WiFi worked well, as did our Verizon 4G data and T-Mobile 4G data. Very quiet park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$39
Nice park in a good location with easy access to area attractions. We were given the choice of parking "in the trees" or in a more open area. We chose the open area to ensure satellite reception, but were quite happy with our assigned site. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
We had a wonderful shaded 50 amp full hookup site that was level and had enough space for slide-outs, for 43 ft. motorcoach. Dirt roads into and inside campground. Also, Wi-Fi did not work at our site. Had to go to the office to use the Wi-Fi there. Excellent location to Ann Arbor, and the Ford Henry Museum and Greenview Village, 20 minutes. Very super friendly front desk staff, very cheerful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$42
We camped here for 3 nights. We were parked in the front circle, which is not shaded, but the sites are level and large. The staff was friendly and accommodating. It would be very nice for families with children. About 30 miles from Greenfield Village but easy to freeway access to get there. If you are a large vehicle, make your reservations early and make sure you are not in the shaded lake areasbecause they were very tight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
This park is about 30 minutes away from Henry Ford's Greenfield Village. We found the staff to be extremely helpful, accommodating, and pleasant. The restrooms are clean, and the showers have been recently renovated and are in good shape. We had our choice of parking on grass in the sun, in shade on dirt, or on dirt at the lake front. This is a large park and it wasn't full, yet it was noisy. The sound travels from all the campers, their children, the big rigs, and diesel trucks coming and going. Still we had a different experience from previous reviewers. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
We have stayed here before but with a 40 ft RV. This time we called to see if try could accommodate a 45 ft. They said they only had a few sites for that size and that they were all reserved but that several of their 40 foot sites would work. They were nice and eager to help. Unfortunately when we arrived they had not saved a 50 amp site per our request. This CG only has limited 50 amp sites. We stayed for 2 nights on 30 amp. During the heat of the summer and with an all electric coach this does not work out well. The CG was full with lots of seasonals and sites were very messy and cluttered. We won't stay here again with this size motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$38
Rate is with Good Sam discount and off season. It had been raining so we stayed in the grassy section for the first time, much less muddy than the wooded section where we normally stay. The grassy section has pull throughs with easy in/out for an overnight stay without unhooking the toad. Still a quiet campground with a friendly staff. It was too wet to use the great path that circles the lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$44
We stayed here 3 weeks and the park is great. Nice big pull thru grass site up front, big shady area toward the back.Waterfront lots are nice Staff is friendly and the park is clean and maintained well. Even had firewood delivered to our site for us. Quite at night nice grassy area for pets.We paid $240.00 per week. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$34
This campground is a former KOA that has been enlarged with a newer, open section for larger RVs. Our pull through site was in the older section and, although nicely shaded, was difficult to get into with tight turns and narrow roadways. Many locals use this campground as a weekend getaway so it was quite busy when we were there. We assumed that the low electric voltage which was less than 110 for the entire seven days we were there, was due to the high volume of campers. We found the Wi-Fi to be very unreliable. The camp store was well stocked and the staff was knowledgeable and informative. We chose this campground for its proximity to the Henry Ford museum and were pleasantly surprised when we were offered the opportunity to purchase discount tickets at campground check-in for that attraction with parking included, which were a better deal than at the attraction itself. If we were in the area again we would look for an alternative place to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$44
Nice park with a walking trail around the lake and close to services. Roads around the campground can be a bit tight (39' fifth wheel) but are manageable with some care. We narrowly missed dropping a front wheel into a fire pit when driving around a curve in an access road, but were saved by a sharp passer-by. Odd place to put a fire pit. The grounds get quite muddy when wet: a little more gravel would be nice. Otherwise, a very pleasant campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2012
$44
This is a scenic campground located on the lake. Facilities are older and could use some updating. There are only 5 showers for the 200+ campsites with the lights not working in some. There is also only 1 restroom (one each for men and women) with only 5 stalls. While they do come and clean the facilities, it gets dirty quickly with that many people using them. Campsites are really packed in tight, leaving little peace and privacy. Outdoor storage area is full of junk, some buildings are unpainted and neglected. Unfortunately the management is unwilling to enforce park rules and deal with disruptive campers. The park appears to attract the locals as a place to come and drink and party on the weekends. We did not find it an environment that we wanted for our three children. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$33
This is a former KOA. Sites are tight, roadways narrow, lots of seasonal campers and kids. Personnel were friendly and helpful offering to escort us to our site which was lakeside. Very wooded in the area we were assigned. Open in the front area. May or may not stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$31
Knowing that rains have been a recent problem in this area, I called to reserve a site that was relatively dry. They assured me that that request was no problem. Well after we checked in, it was a problem for us, but not them. Our site was a major mud wallow. The stickiest, blackest mud we have ever seen. If you stay here insist on a grassy site or be prepared for serious mud or serious dust in all the sites located in their wooded area. This campground is less than 20 miles from the Henry Ford Museum and Greenfield Village so that much is good. Staff was friendly but "full disclosure" did not seem to be included in their operations manual. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$32
Sites in the trees were either muddy or dusty depending on weather it rained or not. Grass sites were great. Showers were peeling and in bad shape. Generally clean but hated to use them. Great campground for dog walking. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$36
We don't use the pools, playgrounds, bathrooms, etc. We like nice big clean sites. This is a real campground with great playground, mini golf fishing, boating and more. The pull-throughs are open with a few trees, but most of the sites here are in the woods. If we were camping with kids, this would be a destination park. The place is well kept. We used it to visit the Henry Ford Museum Greenfield Village which is about 24 miles away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
Location, location, location. If you are going into Detroit, this is the campground for you. It had a nice lake and a good laundry. The site was level. Previous comments re: debris in the fire pits and around the campground are correct. There were lots of mosquitoes. We would stay here again, if only for the convenience to Detroit, If you can, go to the Henry Ford Museum. Quite impressive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$38
This is our second time at this CG. They have the ability to accommodate larger rigs in pull-through sites. The large rig pull through sites are pretty much in an open field, while smaller sites are available in shaded tree areas. Staff was friendly and always present monitoring traffic. We didn't use the park facilities as we primarily used the park to visit tourist attractions in Detroit. I would recommend it, if only from the standpoint of location. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
This is a park in a nice setting on Greenfield Lake. It is apparently a former KOA park, with several old KOA signs about the premises. There are lots of trees with dirt-only sites. Bigger rigs might have some difficulty getting into some sites. The office staff was friendly and did inquire about the size of our rig, so they are aware of size limitations of some of the sites. Kids seemed to have a good time with the available lake swimming area. Bathrooms were not the cleanest, but not bad considering the kid-traffic and the expected tracked in sand and dirt from the lake. It is the closest park we could find to the Henry Ford Museum, and there was convenient shopping nearby. Unfortunately, positive comments end there. The campsite was the most disgustingly dirty site we have seen in a long time. There was copious trash left behind from previous campers in the fire ring, rendering the fire ring useless for a campfire, cigarette butts, plastic bottles and bottle tops strewn everywhere nearby, chicken bones and vomit in the dirt. A walk around the campground revealed this our site was not the only dirty one. There was obviously no site-cleanup between campers. The entire campground needed trash pickup and a good raking. We didn't see that requesting a new site would have improved our lot, and didn't notice the extent of the filth until after we had set up. We didn't spend time in the campground and left immediately the next day after our sight-seeing. We would never return here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$36
Park is located in a good location with easy access to the lake. The campsites are dirt and a very tight fit, backing in to our site was a challenge. The sewer hook-up was bit far from the space in which our camper fit: the pipe was stretched to the max when connected. Fire pits are small yet deep, be careful not to accidentally fall in! The manager was constantly riding around in his golf cart asking campers if they had guests staying overnight and reminding everyone of visitor hours, it became quite annoying after the 4th time he asked us when we had no visitors. We would probably stay here again if on a group trip, but not again for a quiet weekend getaway. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$36
I read the earlier reviews about this park and was alert to any problems, but found none. The staff inside the office were not particularly friendly, but they did their job. We will return to this park when we are in the Detroit area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
This park has many sites, but, they are very close together. Getting our 31 foot TT in, was exciting to say the least. There are some larger sites available but I believe are reserved for those NOT using a Good Sam discount or other discount. Not real satisfied with the park, roads are dirt, many ruts, however alright for an overnight. Close to Henry Ford Museum. I will not visit this CG again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
There is no grass in the sites. There are very deep fire pits that someone could step in resulting in a broken leg. Nice view of the lake but a very loud family gathering there. It rained the night we were here making the place a mudhole. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$41
We really enjoyed this campground. The roads in have been repaired (ignore the older reviews). We had plenty of room for our slideouts, and our satellite worked (even with the trees in the area). There are swans on the lake, and the grounds are well-maintained. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$41
We had site 215 on the lake. While this was a small site, it was plenty big for our 24' pop-up. This was one of their Halloween weekends, so there was trick-or-treating on Saturday evening and many folks decorated their sites for the event. The only real drawback were the neighbors from (well, you can guess). Between their need to set everything alight in their fire pit to the constant nagging and yelling, I was convinced that someone was filming a reality show. I looked hard for the cameras. We had a great time (and great weather) and will be back in the future. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2010
$34
Very crowded, lots of trees making it hard to move around. They tried to put us on a site we would have had to backed into between trees then we wouldn't have had room to park the truck. No grass or pavement on the lot we had just dirt. The trees were nice didn't have to use awning. Nice lake, beach area and the store and staff were very nice. We probably would not camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$39
It is a quiet little park, shaded, with a small lake. It is your typical small area campground and worked well for touring Detroit. However our electrical voltage was the worst we have ever experienced and we camp 6 months out of every year. We even had to turn the refrigerator onto gas. We complained every day but nothing ever changed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
This is an older, poorly maintained, fairly large and quite busy, (especially on weekends) campground. If you like a lot of kids, noise and cars parked everywhere, this is the place to come. The entrance and access roads are dirt and are in need of some serious pot hole repair. Driving a big rig on these roads is almost suicidal. Instead of grading the roads, maintenance had one worker going around with a skip loader and shovel filling the holes one at a time. In the pull-through area, the pads are nonexistent, just soft grass which makes it impossible to level your motor home without sinking in with the levelers. The Wi-Fi was out of order/weak signal for 2 of the 7 days we were here. Electric and water is OK, if you don’t need 50 Amps. For what you get at this CG, the price charged ($32 p/night) is too high, your visitors are even charged $3 per head per visit. Also beware that the mosquitoes are fierce after dusk. We won’t be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$36
We spent 5 nights here, and if it hadn't been for work, would have probably moved on. At first glance, the park is pretty nice, but there are maintenance issues that are not being addressed. We had a spot on the lake, and they are the most desirable spots. Sitting out in the evening and watching the swans was the highlight. Our issues included, Wi-fi was almost non-existent. The only reliable wi-fi location was the laundry room. Forget using it in your campsite. The roads and many of the campsites became lakes in the rain. They have some serious drainage issues! If you have a site in the interior of the park, particularly on the west side, be prepared the be surrounded by water in a heavy shower. Roads were badly rutted and in need of grading/gravel. The bathrooms got absolutely disgusting on Sunday. I don't know what their cleaning schedule is, but on Sunday morning, prior to leaving, we visited the bathrooms and could not use them. The smell was awful, and there was wet paper all over the floor. With a park full of campers, clean bathrooms are a non-negotiable. I can understand conditions deteriorating throughout the day, but at 9 in the morning, they should be pretty fresh. This park used to be a KOA, and I think I know why they are not anymore. We will be looking elsewhere when we are in the area again We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$38
Great for a park so close to a major city. Close to the Henry Ford Museum and Greenfield Village (90 acres) and there are also museums in Ypsilanti you should check out. But, more gravel is needed for incoming and interior roads. Sites can be very tight. Way too many trees in the RV sections. Our 36' MH got within 10" of one tree in order to get in. Sites 60-80 are mostly seasonals, as mentioned in previous posts. Big rigs really need to be in sites 104 to 111: The Field. Same if you want satellite TV. Our electric was ok in the 50 amp section. Couple friends in the 30 amp area kept popping breakers. They would not let me in The Field for our 4 night stay but there were always sites open. That would be the place to stay for a one night stop, especially if you do not wish to unhook. A lot of pull-throughs require you to unhook and park beside your rig. Think about this if you arrive while it is raining and you have a long rig. The staff was friendly and helpful, except for our request for a site in THE FIELD. The office has discount tickets for The Henry Ford museum and other Henry Ford attractions. You can go to this park's website "site map" and see how things are laid out. It does not indicate the 50 amp sites and my guess is that 1/2 of the full hookups are not 50 amp. This is a former KOA. We would stay here again since this is about the only choice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
Nice lots, nice beach area (clean water and mostly sandy), great playground. Showers were being re-modeled while we were there but they seemed nice. Bathrooms were OK except for the wet slippery floor. Kid curfew is enforced. Waterslide was great but had to pay extra for it beyond 2 trial runs so it didn't see much use. Reasonable rental rates for paddle boats which we enjoyed. Nice place, would go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
This was a very nice park. Our site wasn't wooded or shaded but I'm sure we could have requested one. We were close to the fantastic playground. The beach was very nice and even had a water slide for the kids to enjoy. I do wish they had included unlimited riding of the slide for the kids as I think it would have gotten a lot more use but overall a very nice place. They were in the process of redoing the showers so most of them were out of commission for the weekend we were there. Strange time to be doing it but it wasn't a problem for us. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2010
$38
The park grounds themselves seem fine. The roads are a bit rough. It’s close to the Henry Ford Museum. However, I can’t give a single star to this campground because of their dishonest advertising and business practices. The problem we had is that we booked an advertised “Two-night Henry Ford Package” that included tickets to the Henry Ford Museum. After driving 150 miles to the campground, when checking in we were told there we no more tickets available, despite us having reserved the “package” a week in advance. The staff were completely unapologetic about this. They seemed to think it’s fine to bait people to come to the campground on the basis of a “package” deal, when in fact there is no package at all—they just sell tickets on a first-come, first-served basis. If they run out, they figure that’s your problem. After some discussion, the staff agreed to credit my account for the difference in cost of tickets at their advertised discounted price and the tickets I needed to buy myself at the museum. Then, after I bought the tickets at the museum, they changed their story and denied ever agreeing to credit my account. If you’re visiting the Henry Ford, save your money and frustration. Stay somewhere else. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2009
$31
The prime sites are in a wooded area close to the lake, however, difficult to maneuver for big rigs and large 5th Wheels. The hostess was very friendly and the campground is certainly close to the city and major attractions. There must have been some rain recently as some of the sites were a bit muddy and could use some more road base. Upon check in I could have used some direction to get to my site as the maps are a bit confusing and difficult to maneuver if you make a mistake. There is a large field close by for walking the dogs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$38
Nice place, they do not have much road appeal but once you get in and look around they have a nice lake and most are fully shaded. We spent two nights here and toured the Henry Ford museum and Greenfield Village. They campground has a really good deal on discount tickets there. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2009
$38
The roads in this park are not maintained. During our stay, folks were driving on the grass beside of the roads. Then they started filling in the holes. We made a reservation for a large site. We could not get our truck and fifth wheel on the site. The rates in this park are way to high. They should be in the mid twenty dollar range. It is an old KOA but appears to not be up to their standards any longer. We will not stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$39
We have stayed here over the past few years. They were associated with KOA but apparently no more. This park is run down. Dirt roads, pot holes and when it rains, forget it. We booked a 50amp site but when we arrived it was a 30amp, kept blowing the circuit. Unfortunately the RV parks in the Detroit area are far and few between. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$38
I would have rated this park higher if it had not been for all the dirt. Very little grass. Also, alot of potholes that need attention. Office staff helpful and discount tickets available for the Henry Ford complex. Need to be within 300 feet of office if you want to use wifi in your coach. Probably the best park anywhere near Detroit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$31
Nice wooded sites, but not quite wide enough. The fire pit on the site next to us was uncomfortably close to our window awnings. The putt putt golf course is fun, but is overdue for an upgrade. The trail around the lake is great for both walking and riding bikes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2009
$30
The sewer backed up. Most of the campground had standing water after it rained. I tried to use the dump station, it had no hose that worked for clean out. I asked them to fix the hose,they said no. The management was very rude and unhelpful. We will never stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
Very friendly staff. Nice trees, lake and swimming area. Quiet and family oriented. Level sites. I arrived in the rain, so the site was a bit muddy. Wi-Fi available intermittently; able to receive signal in camper located about 100 feet from the office. Very nice and clean restroom and showers. Full hookups available. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2008
$39
Some would say this is a good family campground. It would appear that half the inner city of Detroit comes out here for the summer; most sites have multiple vehicles and from 6 - 10 people (by actual count). All the sites are dirt - no gravel, etc. So after every rain the entire CG is one big mud patch. Otherwise it is a dusty mess. At $39/night I would expect a little nicer site. There are many amenities avail - all at a cost. We have family in Southeastern Michigan and this is about the only CG avail in this area for our bi-annual visits. So over the past 5 years we probably have spent more total nights here than most anywhere else in the US. Without doubt we dislike this more than anywhere else. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$37
We stayed at this campground while at a bowling tournament. Site we were given was in the woods and had not grass, gravel nor pad. Rained everyday we were there. As with all KOAs there was a charge for everything but the playground. There was a large field for walking the dog, however, not everyone picked up after their pet. The staff was friendly. If you have to be in the area it's a good base camp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
Restrooms were outdated. They have lots of activities for a fee; for example mini-golf, and boat rentals. When we stayed there it rained, and the site given was very, very muddy. There was no gravel or grass to help prevent or cut down on mud. Most KOA's that we have stayed at had some planned activities, and the only thing they had was a wagon ride, but it was canceled due to rain . We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$45
Good location if you want to see both Detroit and Ann Arbor. The campground is dusty and needs a little more care. The people were friendly. Two great features: one, they are on their own lake and have a well maintained path all the way around which we walked and jogged many times and two, a great field out front where our dog got to play ball. Most of the sites are in the woods near the lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$41
We returned to this campground for Memorial Day weekend. It was at capacity, as expected, but not so crowded that it was a problem. There were a few planned daily activities, a small beach, playground, banana bikes and boat rentals. There are sites here to suit everyone's tastes...wide open grassy sites for good satellite reception, lake front for fishing, and ones back in the woods too for that up north feel. Pros- they recently sprayed for mosquitos and we had no problems with them all weekend, they applied dust control chemicals to the dirt roads which was nice, and the older office staff was very friendly. Cons- the bathrooms STILL need attention. I've been coming here since I was a kid and the bathrooms don't look like they've been touched since then. There is only one bath/shower house and it is near the beach and therefor seems to stay dirty all of the time. The mini golf is also in pretty sad shape. It's really just some plywood boxes and outdoor carpet. A few other points that don't reflect on the campground itself but did take away from our stay. There was A LOT of dog mess in the pet walk area. For some reason people at this campground don't do such a good job of cleaning up after their pets. There are two big dogs that barked all night long on the property behind the campground near the entrance. And there were a lot of loud, drunk people wandering around Sat. and Sun. nights well after quiet hour. It isn't my favorite campground, but because of the location I find myself coming back every couple of years to visit with nearby friends and family. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$36
Park has a large lake with a walking trail around it. The sites in the front of the park are grassy and open and the sites in the back are heavily treed. The showers and restrooms inside the building are cleaner than the main showers in the front of the building. Office staff is friendly and helpful. We stay at this campground several times a year as it is close to our house and always have a good time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$33
Nice enough place. This was the first place I camped in my motorhome. Everyone was out bike-riding and such. The staff was helpful. There was a decent lake that I did not realize was attached to the campground. It really is not seen from the roadway. There are restaurants, supermarkets, and a Walmart within a few miles of the campground. I would camp again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2007
$35
The most disgusting showers I've ever seen. Thick mildew on the shower curtain. Bathrooms also pretty shabby. Very convenient to Ann Arbor, so we'd probably stay again, only because it's close. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$34
This place exists only because it is the closest thing to Detroit. Had to argue repeatedly with counter person to get a grassy sunny spot instead of being put in the muddy woods. Will stop here only if I have to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$32
We just did an overnight stay... much more than adequate! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$33
The good: convenient to activities we were here for. Full hookup sites right next to the lake. Great wildlife. Owners very responsive, friendly, helpful. Took care of an issue with a tent (not ours) behind our rig immediately. Lots of very shaded sites. The bad: very dry and roads are extremely dusty (not paved) with lots of holes (could use a good layer of stone). Very busy campground--lots of coming/going. Overall: We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$36
This is a typical KOA. The campground is located on a lake with swimming and fishing areas. Lots of activities for kids. The roads and sites are all gravel and very dusty. Every car that passes through the campground trails a dust cloud behind it. The campground did have the roads sprayed to reduce the dust, but it was only done once during the week we were there. The large pull through sites are easy to pull in and out and are large enough to accommodate multiple slide outs. The campground is located near to I-94, so access to major tourist attractions are easy to access. Unfortunately, this is the only private campground in the Detroit area outside of state parks which limit the size of motorhomes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2007
$30
This best thing about this park is its proximity to Detroit, which is only about 20-30 minutes away. The sites are level and the walk around the lake is nice. Neither the showers nor the restrooms were cleaned during the week we were there. The staff was helpful. It rained nearly every day and the campground turned to a sea of mud. Gravel is needed in a number of key places. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$25
We've camped here the last 3 years with our local cub scout pack. The lake is wonderful with plenty of fishing to be had. The park is well maintained, but the bathrooms could use with some extra attention. We did not experience any noise issues after dark. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2006
$42
We enjoyed our spacious, pull through full hook up site. However the general facilities could use some updating. The bathrooms were old and not well cleaned and the showers were just nasty. They did have a nice playground, mini golf($2), and the kids especially liked the trail that goes all the way around the small lake. They charged us extra for our 3rd child and a late check out, 6:00pm (then they tried to rush us out at 3pm because they had someone else coming in later that night). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$29
This is a nice campground. We stayed on a lake front site and enjoyed it very much, we could fish from our site. The site however did not have much grass, if it would have rained while we were there it probably would have been muddy. They also have a beach that is nice and a trail around the lake that is nice for a walk. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$36
Nice park and clean. Spacious sites with easy access. Friendly staff. Stayed here three weeks. Park is very quiet. Stayed here last year and will again next year. Only draw back is low water pressure. But you can live with it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$34
Camped here to visit friends, despite less than stellar recent reviews, and were pleasantly surprised. We had a pullthrough site in the trees with view of the lake, and full hookups; plenty of room for our trailer, including awning & slideout. Several couples work here as managers and most were very pleasant; one was a little gruff but not bad at all. They do charge extra for visitors. Nice woodsy trail around the lake, as well as minigolf, rental bikes & other amenities. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$30
OK park, staff came in after closing to check us in. Little tight down by lake but very doable. Bring fishing pole. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2005
$36
Unfortunately for us, I read the previous reviews only one day before heading for this campground. I was very concerned about my family's safety and almost backed out of the reservation. I can say that there were no issues with security for us at this campground, yet we will never be back again simply because the place was entirely disgusting!! The showers need to be knocked down and rebuilt. The bathrooms were filthy and had no soap. (Not even soap dispensers!! UGH!) Employees set up a booth selling hot dogs and such right next to the bathroom (with no soap) and I witnessed them use the facilities and go right back to serving up the grub. How gross!!! For a holiday weekend at a major franchise campground I somewhat expected some type of children's activities, and once again we were dissapointed. The only positive aspect about the place is the fact that the sites were mostly shaded amongst tall trees to really have that "camping atmosphere". That in itself was not enough to make me go back again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2005
$25
Hoping for a nice relaxing camping trip, this CG left us somewhat disappointed. We were assigned a spot right next to the CG's main access road. Consequently, we heard traffic drive within 10 feet of our tent till about 3AM. The posted speed limit was a joke as everyone drove as though they were on a city street rather than in a campground. The restrooms could've used more frequent cleaning. Overall, we weren't impressed and likely wouldn't stay there again in the future. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$34
What a gem of a campground! My family stays there every year for the past 5 years for our annual family reunion. They have a large pavillion where we can meet and have our activities. The lake is beautiful and convenient to everyone. While staying there it rained a couple of days and most of our sheets got wet. We used the laundry facilities as well as the showers and bathrooms, (very clean and well kept). Apparently security is different. When we camped there in 2005 there was a new security guard who was much friendlier and even sat by our fire occassionally. We would highly recommend this campground for it's family type atmosphere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2004
$40
Our family just returned from a long weekend at the Detroit Greenfield KOA. We will not be returning to this facility. The lake is beautiful and my children enjoyed swimming there. The bathrooms (not showers) were clean. The showers were tiny and dirty. The owners were less than friendly on the phone during registration and at the park. There was a great deal of noise in the surrounding neighborhood late into the night on Saturday. We were uncomfortable around some of the guests/visitors to the park. I did not feel safe there and security was nowhere to be seen. There was a report of a con artists in the park running a gambling scam and some robbery to a campsite during our stay. As were were visiting the restrooms one last time before heading home a campground representative threw a tantrum over the area we were parked in. We are saddened at the overall condition of the park and treatment we received. Our family will stick to state parks in the future unless we have a firsthand testimonial about a private park. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2004
$32
I just got back from a weekend at this location and will never be back. We stayed here because of its proximity to my friends house where he was having a big pig roast on Saturday. I live about 1.5 hours away and thought it would be nice to include a camping trip in with his party. I usually don't stay at private campgrounds as the state parks here in Michigan are so nice, but for nearly double the money as a state park I thought it would have been better. Not only were the sites VERY SMALL, but there were so many trees on the site I was given that I had to pull out and back into the site 4 times before I could get situated where my slide and awning would work. I had to pay extra for my friends to stay with us (I guess this may be normal for KOA's), the fire pits were small and the neighbor had his vehicle parked so close to our pit that I was afraid to start a fire (he wasn't there to ask him to move his vehicle). And to top if off the other neighbor got some jewelry stolen on Saturday morning. It seems that any of the hillbilly folks from the surrounding trailer parks can wander in unchecked and steal all sorts of stuff from campers. Apparently the lady even sees the people but could not do anything about it. The only time there was someone at the "security gate" was to collect money from guests of campers. The county sheriff was called and asked if we saw anything, but we didn't. WOW!!, I never had an experience like this before and hope to never again. Please stay away from this KOA!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2003
$36
This is a horrible campground not very well kept. Shower stalls are very small and had black mold on the grout. Fire rings are in the ground so no air can flow to start a fire. All sites are shady and without grass. Overpriced for a campground that offers nothing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$32
This park is a real gem considering how close it is to Detroit. Although some campers were complaining about muddy sites, our pull-through was great. The park was jam packed, but the sites are large, heavily wooded, and attractive. The gorgeous lake was only a few steps away. The facilities are great. The staff was a little testy because they had to turn people away, but they treated us well. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$28
Convenient campground to south Detroit suburbs and Ann Arbor. Nice lake with swimming area and paddleboat rentals. Good laundry facilities. Two distinct areas in the campground - East and west are very heavily wooded with narrow and tight turning roads. Problematic for big rigs or at least not worth the trouble for a night or two. - Central area is pretty much an open field with many full hookup pull through sites and easy roads. Level and very large sites easily handling 40' 5th and toter. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com