223427 User submitted reviews online!!
St Paul East RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 71 user reviews. Phone: (651) 436-6436
CGID1518

St Paul East RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
92
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$43



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   4   5   6   6   4   6   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2014
$43
This camp site showed "pride of ownership". Very clean and well taken care of. They went out of their way to help us check in when we showed up 1 day early. This campground closes their gates at 6pm. Campers can come and go as they please, but they have to open and close the gate for themselves. Not the most convenient, however it does make you feel very safe in the campground at night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$43
The park is easy to get too from I-94. They close the gate at 6 PM so it's best to arrive before this time. The gate is not locked but your rig will hang out on the road while you open the it. The owners are very friendly and provided us lots of tourist information and directions. Our Verizon phones, hot spot and Dish Tailgater all worked well. The roads and pads are gravel and fairly level. The sites are adequate but not large. We complained about the low water pressure and maintenance came right away but said it was okay. We have never been in a campground with that low of water pressure. The restrooms were updated and clean. Plenty of shopping nearby with WalMart, Sams, Cabela's, and many dining choices. We believe it's a little overpriced but it is very close to MSP. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2014
$50
Very nice family friendly staff. I first contacted them a week out for a Labor Day reservation & had been turned down (one of many campgrounds in the area). A few days later they called me and said they had a cancellation & if I still wanted a site, one was now available, I took it! The sites are VERY tight, one right up next to each other, as close as possible, row after row, all gravel with trees for shade and separation. They say WiFi & TV, but not really. The WiFi, you would have to be sitting at or around the office and the TV is with a good antenna & probably the same, and not worth the trouble...all this for $50! If we hadn't been strapped for the holiday, we wouldn't have stayed here for the price. On the plus side...a Walmart was just down the street! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2014
$43
I can not say much more than has all ready been said in other reviews. Staff was friendly and helpful. The roads are gravel, the sites are rock and gravel and there is little or no grass. Our site had a level pad for the trailer wheels but rest of site was sloped. It was 18 inches to the first step on on trailer. Wi-Fi is available only near the office and it was very slow. Lots of nice stores nearby including a Walmart. Not sorry we stayed here but will not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$46
Rate stated is for full hookups including tax. The people here are very friendly, electric and sewer worked fine, but the water pressure was very low. They do have Wi-Fi, but it only works near the office, and the Verizon signal was not strong enough to use for Internet access. Since we are full-time RVers this was not acceptable. The park is all gravel roads, dusty, with very little grass or shade, at least in the pull through site we were given. There are some nicer back in sites on the perimeter that might be much more pleasant. We will try another park in the area when we come by next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$47
A nice enough park from which to tour and visit the area. Friendly and helpful staff. Lots of grass and trees. Couldn't get satellite TV or radio. Verizon was 3G only. The gate system was taking security beyond necessary. Traffic noise from I-94 was noticeable. Close to services in Woodbury. It met our needs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2014
$43
This park is only average at best. It's an old KOA with a pool and such but no hot tub, and the Internet only works if your right next to the office. The rate for overnight is way too high for what you are getting. Yes, they have showers and laundry. Just not very impressed for a park that thinks they should get $43 for parking overnight. Also the old lady at the counter talked on and on with the folks in front of me for over 20 minutes while I waited about where they're going next and when they're next doctors appointment would be, all while I stand there waiting. Next time I'll boondock at the Wal-Mart; it's only a mile away. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$56
Another campground with not a lot to do with a very high rate. The staff was friendly and brought me out to my site. The sites were not real level but not to hard to level. It is an old KOA so they have the same setup and amenities as a KOA. I was a little disappointed that when I called and placed my reservation. I had ask for a back in site around the outside and was given a pull thru right in the middle. I do not care to camp in a pull thru right on top of my neighbors. This was my major problem and the fact that they had back in sites open for the weekend we were there. The back in sites seemed to be more private and that is big for us. It was not at though the lady that took my reservation did not know about it. She ask why I wanted a back in, and explained to her exactly that way. They did have a 5' deep pool that was nice and is hard to find a campground with a pool around that MSP metro area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$40
This is a great RV park for seeing the Twin Cities - easy to reach from the Interstate and convenient for shopping. We would stay here again. The only slight flaw was the fact that there was only one electrical outlet in the ladies showers and it did not work properly. I couldn't dry my hair. We stayed in #5 which was close enough to the office that we had WiFi at the site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$43
We were almost scared off by all the bad reviews, but decided to stay here anyway and we're glad we did. The location is Perfect for visiting the cities, as well as, being close to outdoor recreation activities. It's a great "Home base" for visiting the area. 50Amp sites with full hookups are available. So far, the staff here has been great. They are pretty hands-on getting you into your spot and making sure you know how everything works. The sites are pretty tight, but that's typical of places like this. We were put in 1A which is right at the entrance to the park, so that was kind of weird. Our site's fire pit looked like a coffee can sunk into the ground with rocks places around it. And after pulling in, the only place to park your car is pretty much on top of the fire pit. Super weird, but we weren't planning on using the fire pit, so it didn't really matter to us. There are much nicer sites in the park that would have been better, but this one worked. Overall, the sites are typical of an RV park. Pretty tight, as level as a gravel park with mature trees can be (bring your legos). Water pressure is pretty low, no problems with the power, our antenna picked up a bunch of St. Paul stations so that was nice. Nice little park, not going to win any contests, but we'd definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$37
Very nice place, very quiet. Sites need some leveling and no Wi-Fi outside the office is available. If not for these two items, would have given a 10 rating. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$44
Very nice campground. Obviously laid out by an experienced camper. Nice level sites with enough room between neighbors to make it comfortable. Large playground for kids with a volleyball/badminton net for teenagers and adults. Nice laundry and bath/shower rooms. Easy access from Rt. I-94, but far enough away that there are no highway sounds. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$37
Tightly run. Clean. Reservation followup by email. Was easy to find. Park had internet but was very close to office. Had to get out and open gate when we returned in the dark. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$42
Very nice owners and liked this park. There is a large area to walk dogs. Would have rated it higher if owner didn't shut the gate at 6 pm (why??). This was very inconvenient. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$41
I would have rated this park higher, but because they have only a Wi-Fi hotspot at the office, I gave them a 7. Apparently, it would cost the owners $20k to get Wi-Fi in the park, so I can understand why they don't want to do it. Everything else was fine. Close to the freeway and about 25 minutes from downtown. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$28
The only negative comment I have for this park were the pool hours and the gate hours. They seemed too early. Other than that this park is really great! We stayed a month in a site with no sewer. They did pump us out for 20.00 but since we full time it wasn't convienent for our lifestyle. The owners and staff are extremely nice and helpful. We would stay here again when we are in MN. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$39
We were wary of the owners due to past comments and although we did not see any belittling, there was a few things that diminished our stay here. The gate which we were right beside was locked at 6pm sharp which is far too early and people were continuously going in and out noisily which was- very inconvenient for everyone. This is an old KOA that same owners have gone independent. Well kept park, clean facilities, helpful hosts but it felt like you were living in fear of owner. One night the owners were away and the daughter was running the camp. The gate was open until 9pm and laughter was heard about the camp - much more relaxed. We would probably stay again as we know what to expect. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$48
These people could not have been nicer. We called late and told them we were an hour out and needed a place to stay. They waited for us and escorted us to our site. We ended staying another day. The park is immaculate. The sites are level. Park is easy to get into and plenty of stores within a mile. Wi-Fi is fiffy. Good satellite reception. Would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
We stayed here a couple of weeks while visiting family, and got one free night for every 5 we stayed. This park is clean and nicely maintained. Sites are spacious and clean, on gravel. We had a bit of a problem hooking up the waste hose to the sewer because the connection wasn't high enough out of the ground to allow screwing it in all the way, but we managed. There's a large sandy play area with swings and some climbing things, but very rudimentary, so we ended up taking the grands about a mile and a half away to a really nice community playground. The pool here is excellent - clean, heated, and big enough to accommodate all the people we ever saw there. One odd thing about this park is they make you unhook and rehook your towed vehicle at the entrance to the park, not at the site. This makes it difficult to make an early, fast getaway on your departure day because you have to stop to do this, not being able to hook up the night before. Finally, wi-fi is somewhat slow and unreliable and not available throughout the park. If you're close to the office you may be able to get it, but not in the far reaches. I consider wi-fi to be a utility, so having spotty coverage is like saying you have to be close to the office to get electricity. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2012
$38
I strongly recommend you avoid this park. The owner is out of control with his attitude, his mouth and his rules. And you better listen up, know them (whether told or not) and obey them. He has a reputation is known amongst those staying there and in the area. The Wi-Fi consists of a modem / router in the office which is rarely functional and owner does not feel he owes its working properly to anyone. He said so. But the park is clean and kept up. Keep in mind, as the owner well knows, he is - by far - the "only show in town' (or at least the only FHU place) for many miles around. So he will tell you to go someplace else if you don't like it or if he wants people to leave. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$45
This is a very nice place with extremely nice and helpful staff. Well maintained, clean laundry, clean sites. AT&T wifi worked great. Within 20 miles of Mall of America, St. Paul and Minneapolis. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$50
The owners are friendly, but some of the helpers are a little short on personality. The park is clean and well maintained except the laundry room which has a lot of cobwebs and only one basket. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$42
We stopped here for one night on our way home from the Oshkosh Air-venture airshow in Wisconsin. The park has easy access to/from the Interstate and local shopping (Mall of America / Ikea / Woodbury Plaza). Upon entry to the park we were immediately greeted and taken care of to show us the ins and outs of the RV park. The staff was VERY friendly and helpful. We were then guided to the site and helped out to place the trailer. We had our dog 'Echo' (Alaskan Malamute) and the staff was very friendly and receptive towards her. The other reviews of this park on the web are unfounded. They are very helpful and courteous. We run a bed & breakfast and understand the reasons behind certain rules (eg: arrival times - before 8pm) and others regarding pets, etc. If you want a nice quiet, clean, secure RV park this place is for you. If you want a beer binge party fest...go elsewhere please. This place is A+++. The only reason I gave it a 9 out of 10 is that although they have Wi-Fi internet it is only available inside or immediately outside the registration office. Other than that...we will be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$42
We stayed here with our family which includes 4 young kids. I read some of the previous reviews and let me set the record straight. The owners and their employees are wonderful. Our kids were always very welcome. This is very well run, clean and organized park. It is quiet and there are rules that need to be followed (which we like by the way). They know how to park you the best way so just follow what they tell you. The site was level, there was full 50 amp capability and the water pressure is good. Most sites are treed but they try and park you so you can get satellite coverage, but don't be upset if you don't. Local TV stations are plentiful. The bathrooms and showers were probably the cleanest we have been to. We don't usually use, since we have our own, but we did to save time and they were excellent. We would recommend highly if you are going through Minneapolis. There is always a difference when something is yours and you can see the owners feel that way and take care of their park accordingly. We stayed 7 days so we really got to experience this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
We have spent the summers of 2011 and 2012, at this campground, and plan on spending 2013 there also. It is near "home" in Stillwater. We enjoy living at the Park. It is clean, comfortable, and friendly. This is a family run park, and we have a fine relationship with all. They treat us with respect, and are always courteous. Everyone seems to have some question on the WiFi system employed, and yes, at times it is frustrating, but no one works harder to make it go than the managers. We definitely like this park. See you in the spring. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$42
This park was a real sleeper. It feels secluded and rural at first look, but is actually only one mile from several huge shopping and restaurant locations. The owners are heavily involved in the management and maintenance of this park and it shows. They are very friendly and do a great job of staying on top of everything. If you have pets, there is a huge grassy area for pet exercise and play. Many of the park guests we met have been coming here for years. One of the best overall parks we have stayed at. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2011
$40
If you like KOA’s, you may like this place. We are fulltime RV’ers, travel often and avoid KOA because we have always found them to be overpriced, mediocre or worse, with employees that resent the customers. This park fits the mold: overpriced, sites are too close, some are level and some not (we got one that wasn’t). Roads and sites are gravel, drive turns are tight for big rigs, electric works, water pressure is low or lower depending on how full the park, bathrooms are as clean as many parks, laundry works. No Wi-Fi beyond the office building. Just a high-priced overnight stop if you need to be in the area. Plenty of other equal or better options. Life is too short to put up with owners/employees who don’t like dealing with customers. “Welcome” came in the form of staff coming to the vehicle as we parked at the gate, to tell us to park and go inside to register because apparently we can’t read the three signs? I generally wait in the rig while my wife registers. Next part of the ‘welcome’ was a golf cart guide impatiently telling me to follow him before my wife returned or I knew anything about the park, our site or our registration. Although I remarked about waiting for my wife, the golf cart guide yelled insistently that I had to get parked “now.” He’s clearly already aggravated that I wasn’t following commands fast enough. Unlike most parks we visit, the golf cart guide was not guiding me to our site, but he knows more than me about maneuvering our rig and wanted to tell me how and when to turn the steering wheel as I moved through the park and into our site. Because, of course, I still did not know anything about the park lay out or what site we were headed for. He just liked to yell “turn your wheel now.” My wife and I are comfortable working together to quickly and easily park our rig, and admit that we trust our own parking experience far more than deciphering the yelling of a stranger with an attitude. When we were finally parked and thoroughly aggravated with the commanding and unhelpful guidance, the guide lastly had to point out to my wife that the electric was on the electric post, the septic was in the ground, and the water was at the water faucet. Apparently they believe too many customers with big rigs don’t know what those look like. Seems to us that a gracious: "Welcome, is there anything else you need from me?" would have been more than sufficient and a lot less insulting. Whenever we saw employees during our stay, we waved and smiled as we are accustomed to friendliness at the parks we visit. Without exception the staff simply stared at us blankly and were clearly annoyed by every guest. Rules and attitude suggest that pets and children are barely tolerated. Be sure to watch out for the fire pit (hole in the ground) at each site. Amazing if they have a liability insurance carrier that knows about those. Most folks moved table or chairs over the hole to avoid falling or driving in. Life is too short. If you want to avoid aggravation, we strongly urge you go to another park. We enjoy parks where helpful staff know that we have choices and appreciate that we are the source of their business revenue. Won't return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$32
Upon checkin we were greeted by an attendant and escorted to the office for the paperwork, then escorted to our site. The owners and workcampers were very friendly and always eager to visit and help with local information. The interior roads and camp sites are all gravel, mostly level, good space between sites, not allot of grass, lots of trees and landscaping. Restrooms/showers are modern, spacious and super clean. After hours there are entrance gates that are closed and have to be manually opened to enter/leave, kind of a pain but add to security. It is located fairly close to I94 and so there is some traffic noise, but not too bad. Directly across the street is a active rock quarry, so there is allot of truck traffic during the daytime hours. This park is very well managed and well maintained. The WiFi is available only in the office, or very close to the office. We stayed here in a class b motorhome and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2011
$42
Run don’t walk away from this park. This is a parking lot with full hook-ups. The park prides its self as a clean, quiet, friendly, family owned park. In reality it is a former KOA park that changed its name to “resort” but still has the feel and attitude of a KOA. It is over priced and overrated. The driveways are tight and narrow, sites are small (very short), and cramped with a parking lot feel. Some are level, but many are not. Ours was not. Each site has a recessed campfire ring that is nothing less than a hazard in the dark. Most of the guests place their picnic table over it to prevent an accident. The park is relatively quiet, but the freeway noise is bothersome. It is not family friendly. Although there is a small playground, kids are not welcome. All one needs is to read the many “rules” to know that kids are only considered a bother. I do not have children, but if I did I would not bring them here. The staff are the worst part. They are impatient, overbearing, and never wave or say hello. I am a full time RVer and have traveled extensively over the last few years. This is by and large the most unfriendly park I have stayed in. There are a few positives. The bath house and laundry room is clean and the park is located with easy access to shopping and Minneapolis attractions. Would I stay here again? NO. Would I recommend it? NO. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$42
The Good: Their grounds, buildings and RV sites & hook-ups were well maintained with lots of mature trees. Our site only had 50 AMP and they offered to let us borrow a 30-AMP converter if we didn't have one. A wide variety of well-graveled sites can accommodate many types of RV's. Our site was so level we only used our leveling-jacks to stabilize the RV. Besides RV sites, they also have tent sites and five log cabins available. The bathrooms/showers were spotless as were the laundry facilities. There is also a small pool and a play-ground. SPE (St Paul East's) location is a big plus. It is in a semi-rural setting but access to the interstate and shopping were convenient. Within a couple of miles were 2 mall areas with everything you would need. It was not too far from downtown St. Paul and an easy 20 mile drive to Stillwater, a very nice touristy-type small town on the St Croix river across from Wisconsin. As others have noted, SPE runs a very tight ship. Very thorough about registration, taking you to your site, exactly how you park your RV and tow-vehicle on your site, entering/exiting the park, etc. The staff routinely drove through the park on a golf cart watering plants, checking on things. You definitely got the feeling you would be reprimanded if you strayed from any of the rules. But it's good to not have to listen to barking dogs, mid-nite party-hardier, etc. The Bothersome: They have Wi-Fi but unless your site is next to the office there is no signal. They do have tables and chairs set up on a outside patio and inside the office area to use your laptop. Another nuisance was the outer gate. It was only open from 8 AM til 6 PM. You are required to open and close the gate when you leave & re-enter the park outside these hours. So security is only tight if everyone closes it again after they pass through. Which several did not do and got severely reprimanded if caught in the act by the campground hosts. Most campgrounds I've been to if a 'gated' community provide guests with security cards to activate the outer gate after hours. The Negative: It's very noisy starting early in the morning like 7 AM)from a gravel facility directly across the road from the gate. There's gravel excavation & loading equipment plus loud semis/dump trucks coming and going. You could also hear some noise from I-94. Our site was in the eastside of the park, maybe the far westside sites of the park that are located behind a hill would be quieter. Also unfortunately, urban sprawl is encroaching on SPE. A huge apartment complex is being built in the field next-door. The one three-story building they had about finished has all the back patios butt-up against the RV parks South fence. Overall, although an bit pricey, it is a well-run RV park with a great location to use as a base for site-seeing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$36
The people here are what make the campground! They were willing to take time to to give us suggestions about things to do in the surrounding area to make our stay pleasant. The campground was clean and quiet with a very nice pool area. The only drawback was no air conditioning in the bathroom and laundry area. We stayed during the hottest week of the year! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2011
$43
Not a good experience. There are a few campsites in a low area which floods with even a small amount of rain. I explicitly expressed my concern about this area and was told it only floods when there is a considerable amount of rain such as greater than 3 inches. Furthermore, I was told that even when it does flood the water drains quickly. Needless to say it rained 1/10" on a Saturday afternoon and our campsite was already flooded with an inch of standing water. Later that night it rained about 0.5" and we awoke to 18" of water around our camper. We had items outside the camper under the awning which floated away, including some of our kids shoes, which we could not find in the morning. Next to us was an elderly couple. The campground owners gave them a pair of rubber boots to use and said good luck getting your camper out. When expressing displeasure to the campground owners with the site we were given even after I had expressed by concern about it flooding, we were told "we warned you it would flood" and there is nothing that can be done about it. I am an engineer and this problem could easily be fixed with proper drainage or grading of the campsite. Instead the owners choose to utilize a caveat empty approach. Please be aware of the two faced owners. Also, their staff is rather rude to families with children. NOT a very kid friendly place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$50
Excellent campground. A little off the beaten path, but clean, reasonably roomy, LOTS of stuff for the kids, friendly owner, and mostly clean, new rigs. Security is very good. WiFi was very slow, though. A little on the pricey side, but we will probably stay here again if we are in the area. P.S. This is the only campground in nine years of RVing where the owner, when we were leaving, said, “Thanks for staying with us” - usually, it’s just a “thanks, have a safe trip.” We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$45
This is a great campground that's not far from the Twin Cities. Its a great base of operation location if you want a nice quiet campground that's close to tons of attractions. The only thing that prevents me from rating this park a 10 is the Wi-Fi. They have it, but unless you are camped directly behind the office there is no signal beyond that. They do have tables and chairs set up inside the office area for us Wi-Fi'ers and there is plenty of signal in the laundry room area after the office closes, so its really not a problem of a little walk to the office or laundry room. The staff here is very friendly and accommodating. We definitely will be staying here again. Happy camping. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$41
Although an bit pricey, this is a well-run and RV-friendly RV park. Convenient to I-94. Other than a lack of wireless, there were not drawbacks. We stayed here for two nights while visiting relatives enroute to Alaska. Wide sites with paver-stone patios and picnic tables. We will stay here when back in the area! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$41
This is one of the nicest parks we've stayed in in a year of traveling. The park staff are super friendly. Showers and washrooms are well designed, and spotlessly maintained. Lots of trees, well manicured landscaping. We had to extend our stay because of car repair problems, and they generously offered to switch us to the weekly rate. The only minor issue we had was with Wi-Fi. We had asked for a location with good reception, and were placed near the office. The only time we had a reception issue was when a coach pulled into the arrival parking area. However, I have to conclude that if that was enough to interrupt reception this close to the office, more distant sites might experience poorer reception. On balance, we would certainly return here again, and would highly recommend it to others. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$43
The RV park is probably one of the best in the Twin Cities area for location and appearance/attractiveness. It was in a rural setting but within a couple of miles were many stores, a mall, and anything else you would need. It was also not too far from downtown St. Paul. They run a very tight ship with registration, entering and exiting the park, taking you to your site, where and where you could not walk your dog, etc. The staff routinely go through the park (every 30 minutes at least) on a golf cart checking on things. I kind of felt like I was always being watched and would be reprimanded if I did one little thing. We behaved ourselves! The park was full but there was a decent amount of space between the sites. The hook-ups worked fine. The WiFi was available at the office so you could not get a connection at your site. Behind our site, there was another whole section of the park with very nice sites. I don't know about the hook-up situation in these sites. It was in a huge park-like setting. I would definitely stay here again when visiting the Twin Cities and would highly recommend it to others. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$51
This former KOA campground is better than most KOA's we have visited. From the moment we pulled up to the security gate and were greeted by the staff we knew this was going to be a wonderful overnight. If they had free cable TV I would have given it a ten. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
This park is clean and tidy, well managed. I was led to my site in a professional and helpful manner. The laundry room and showers were clean. The office staff was helpful when I needed to find stores nearby. It's expensive, but it's also on the edge of St. Paul and very convenient to the Twin Cities. Most of the sites are pull-throughs, and the roads are easy to navigate. There is some shade on most sites. I stayed here for 4 nights. It is easy to get to, just off Interstate 94. The traffic noise from the freeway is mild. The negatives for me were: Wi-Fi only in the office (or on the picnic table outside the office), and no recycling, which is why I only gave it a 7. With Wi-Fi and recycling it would be a 9. I will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$46
Very unfriendly owners. Wi-Fi only works at the office area, no cable TV, park rules are ridiculously too strict. There was only a small area for a pet walk. We did not feel welcome here. Will not stay here ever again and recommend you do not either. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$41
I liked this park. Very neat and clean. Good security, and quiet. I never was able to get the Wi-Fi going, but I did not ask for help, so was my fault. We were only there for one night and did not use the pool. Went to the mall instead, which is about 20 - 30 minutes away. Easy to get to, just off of I-94, but far enough away so there is no road noise. Close to a Super Wal-Mart. I would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
This park isn't the place to be when it's rainy. As roads and sites bare dirt/gravel. Overall, it is well maintained and has a nice pool. While the shower was clean it was unheated and quite chilly when I used it. The 50A electric was stable. The owner and crew were nice and the park has lots of security controls. It worked okay for our needs on a brief stay. Not sure we would stay here again, but there aren't a lot of options. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
Okay park if you are in the area. The staff was friendly, but too many rules to read, gravel/dirt sites, and too expensive for what you get. Not many RV parks in the area to choose from, so we would stay there again if we had to. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$35
A jewell of a RV park in the St Paul area! Sites were level and a wide variety of sites accommodated many types of RV's. Friendly and professional staff met all of our needs during Memorial Day weekend. We were met when we first pulled in, took care of the registration and then were escorted to our site. This was a very safe place to stay and our kids enjoyed the large pool and playground. Only drawback would be the length to the sewer connection. For those RV's with mid-coach drops, you might an extra section of sewer hose to make the connection. We will come back again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$42
We found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful. The rules are posted everywhere and are fair. The owners obviously have a lot of experience and keep the campground in good shape for their current and future guests. We were in the front row and were able to access the Wi-Fi. The price is a little high, especially if the pool is closed. We were able to use it once before the closing after Labor Day weekend. The sites vary in size and utilities, but seem to be reserved specifically for the size of your unit and needs. The grounds are pleasant and well maintained with lots of mature trees. The bathrooms/showers were very clean as were the laundry facilities. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$36
A very nice park: clean, reasonably priced and a helpful staff. The grounds were pleasing to the eye and the sites are very generous in space. I had the misfortune of my power converter failing and going without 12V the first night: the staff directed me to an RV dealer in the area. The dealer not only took care of my needs, they gave me a very nice discount because the campground referred me. Free coffee and Internet access at the office was a nice opportunity to get some things done. I give this park a (9). I would have liked it better if the Wi-Fi had covered the entire campground. The other thing was the outer gate. I do believe for good security one should close it at night. It seems to me that it looses the point when being unlocked: anyone can enter so it becomes somewhat of a nuisance and a bluff to would be intruders. If the gate is used, provide guests with security cards to activate the outer gate at night electrically. (I work in this business, the cost for such a system is reasonably priced). I think this would be a plus to promoting this campground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2009
$39
Mickey Mouse policies with gestapo-like tactics best describes this park. I echo much of what has already been said. A gate policy that borders on ridiculous with a gate anybody can open, yet campers are required to open and close the gate themselves as they leave the park. No cable TV; no Wi-Fi at your camper; just in the office. Lots of nice trees true, but forget about getting any satellite service. And, when they say get a pass for visitors, they mean it. A couple showed up to meet us for dinner and our motorhome was parked right next to the gate. Did they still need a pass to get in? Yup. And when I made it an issue, I was told by the owner of the campground that if I didn't like the policy, I could hitch up my rig and leave right now. How's that for an attitude? We won't be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$36
The spaces a bit tight but there is nice shade and a dog run on the West side of park. We thought the costs was a bit high but great location with respect to seeing the Twin City area while still being in the "woods". We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$36
The spaces here are small and somewhat uneven. The park is close to the Capital, Mall of America and shopping. We stayed 2 days. No Wi-Fi at our site. Staff was pleasant and helpful, and the bathrooms were clean. Seems very pricey for water and electric only. Probably would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
WE DID NOT STAY AT THIS PARK. I am writing as a warning to others that this campground has a hard and fast gate closing at 8pm. I would recommend that on their confirmation letter at the top in bold they write their gate closing policy. I had reservations at this park for Friday night. I was coming into Minnesota from Medora, ND. After a side trip it was clear we were running later so we called the camp around 5:15 to let them know we would be there about 10:00. I was advised that the gate would be closed, and they would have left for home and that I could not get in until 7am. I was extremely disappointed at the lack of concern for customer service. This was the first campground I have come across that locked the gates at 8 on a Friday night. When I made a reservation I was told 8 pm, but assumed they had late registration - like I said I was so surprised to find out 8 pm gates were locked. I spoke to the owner and no resolution to the issue could be made, such as partial reimbursement, coming in late, etc. Fortunately we found the Minneapolis NW KOA (Maple Grove) more than adequate with some of the friendliest staff that I have encountered. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$43
Very clean campground but the store is closed at 7:00 and the gates are locked at the same time. Seems a bit early to me. The Wi-Fi is only available in the office, not throughout the park. They certainly charge enough money for just average amenities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$38
Very nice campground but they need to spend a few dollars to get a Wi-Fi antenna so that campers don't have to go to the office to read email etc. Lots of trees so be sure and get a satellite friendly site if you use a dish. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$39
Very nice and clean; most of the staff are very friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
This campground is not at all kid-friendly. This campground is elderly folk friendly. There is nothing at all for kids to do and the staff is constantly watching and are rude, rude, rude. Do not stay here with children. We stayed for 3 hours and our kids were yelled at for nonsense at least 3 times. Will never stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
Used this park as overnight stop. Traveling companion wanted to spend the night with a relative in St. Paul, so we pulled in. Nice park. Easy to get to. Easy to get a big rig around in the park. Level sites. Shade trees. Large area to run dog. Nice playground for kids. Very convenient to sites in Twin City area. This park IS in a city, so expect city type noise on occasion. I would stay here again on next family visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$39
Very, very clean restrooms. Awesome showers AND a separate room/sink for washing dishes, which was helpful as we had filled our Grey water tank and needed to wash dishes before pulling out to dump. Great sites, many shaded. We especially liked having a whole row for smaller vehicles, like our Class B, away from the monstrosity Class A's. (Even though a very inconsiderate Class A driver pulled his rig right in front of our picnic table at 7:30 AM as we were having breakfast and spewed his toxic diesel gases all over us without a thought. Just a reminder to all of you who drive these 4 mpg wonders.) Overall excellent facility--free Wi-Fi in the office, where very nice people worked. Negative: VERY VERY noisy in early morning from nearby gravel or some such facility. Loud semis. Also highway noise along the back row. But great location. Close to a Trader Joe's--great for provisioning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$42
Excellent facilities; restrooms & showers were immaculate. There was lots of shade with ample sized sites. Wi-Fi was available but only around the office. We would stay here again. It was close to shopping, restaurants and other points of interest. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$40
Park has level gravel sites. We stayed on a weekend and there were lots of tent campers (soccer or ball teams) which caused traffic and parking issues within the park. Access to the interstate and shopping were convenient, and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$36
We stayed here for three nights while visiting friends. The staff was very helpful, the grounds spotless, the security excellent, and the public rooms were always clean when I used them. The location is a good one as it is close to the I-94, tho you don't hear it, and major shopping - restaurants, groceries, Walmart, etc. They also have a quite large open grassy area in the back which was perfect for walking our two dogs. Plus we took advantage of their pet sitting service one day while we were gone. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$33
Nice quiet park with lots of trees and not really in St. Paul...it's in Woodbury and very close to lots of shopping. Pool was closed for the season. Friendly staff; but don't rely on cab rate information from the office. I asked how much cab fare would be into Minneapolis and was told $20...it was actually $50. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$40
FYI, this campground is Not a KOA now. We stayed at this campground for 12 nights. The owners and the folks who work at the place were so very friendly and helpful, they felt like friends. We were greeted and shown to our site by the owners, who also helped park our trailer in the rear of the park. This campground is very nicely maintained. Clean, neat, and QUIET!! We would definitely return. The location is great - not too far from lots of things to do in the area. One of the best parks we have ever stayed in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$42
I had reservations about this park after reading some of the negative reviews. We went anyway as it was closest to Stillwater, the target of our trip. We found this park to be very neat and clean with a friendly, knowledgeable staff. Very dog fiendly with an attractive dog walk area. The wifi is weak when you get away from the office, other than that I can’t fault this park for anything. It is not as cheap as the county or state parks which is what I suspect is at the root of the negative comments. The staff riding around in golf carts are workers tending to the many flower beds, not spying on campers. This was our first visit to this park and we will definitely return, by the way, I am not a friend of the owners but I was treated like one! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$47
Good park in a great location. Gravel roads :(. Large trees block satellite and they have no cable TV. Antenna reception was poor. WIFI is available at the store, won't reach most RV's in the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$46
This is a wonderful Park. It is no longer a KOA but the service and general Park "look" was exceptional. The only negative is lack of cable TV connection (and I was parked under a tree so satellite didn't work) but proximity to the Twin Cities enabled local TV access. It is located close to St. Paul. I would highly recommend this location as you travel through The Twin Cities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2005
$40
There are four less than satisfied customers and along comes a 10 and an 8. Wonder who they were? So we stayed there anyway. The first 4 raters were accurate. We shall avoid in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$43
I agree with the previous poster in that I am not sure where these other "negative" people stayed. This was a great campground. Very friendly people, fast check-in, escorted to site. Great security. We have a crew cab truck and a 27' travel trailer and had no problems getting around. Most sites are pull-through. Showers and bathrooms were very clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$40
I don't know what campground these other people stayed at, but this was the best campground we've ever camped in! The grounds were kept immaculately clean, the people were very friendly, and the location is great. The price is not higher than the value. Yes, the security is tight, but I like that. I knew my kids were safe and everyone that came in here was checked closely to make sure they were staying here. They even had a security gate! I really appreciate that. One person said that getting to the Mall of America was a nightmare. Well, it was because of the traffic! This is a major city, afterall. It's still the closest KOA to the Twin Cities. Where do you want to stay, Wisconsin? We have a long motorhome, and of course the turns are a little tight, but we even had an escort to take us to our site. No problem there. I mean, how long ago was it built, 20 years or more? There were no 40 foot motorhomes back then. I will be back this year. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2003
$39
I agreed with prior posts. We camped for three days in July '03. The park was very clean and pretty with flowers and landscaping. Everything is an extra charge. The staff rides around in golf carts and passes by all the sites every 30 minutes to check on you and your site. Sites are very small. Did not feel the campground was worth the money. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2003
$35
Registation person took very long time to get it right--then had to come to the site to give me material she "forgot". The access roads have very tight turns, and we had to back up to swing around several turns. We have a 27 Ft. trailer. Long rigs will have problems. We asked for an extension of the 11:00AM checkout time. We were refused and told to go to a mall or Sam's to park. Seemed to us at $70.00 for two nights, we could have expected some consideration. We shall pass on by next time we pass through St. Paul We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2003
$45
This was a nice CG but like the person who reviewed it before me said, it's expensive for what you get and they charge you for EVERYTHING. Some of the workers are nasty and kicked our friends out at 9pm because they weren't paid guests. Very disappointing and we will NOT be staying there again. Tiny space for dog to go to the bathroom and no place to take him to run, it was too small. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2001
$39
For the price this campground is dissappointing. It is a traffic nightmare to drive from the park to Mall of America. The sites are small and they nickle and dime you to the poor house here. $39 was the base price for the full hook-ups, additional for A/C, extra kids, using the modem hook-up etc. Wouldn't stay again. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com