214973 User submitted reviews online!!
Whitten Park COE was rated 9 out of 10 based on 21 user reviews. Phone: (662) 862-7070
CGID1543

Whitten Park COE

Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$11



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   7   9   10   10   7   7   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$11
This is a COE park and I have found that the parks are as good as the hosts. The host at this park have been here three years. We stayed on space #42 which was a pull-through near the showers. Electric was very good and stayed in green even with A/C on. No sewer but dump station is near entrance and clean. The only negative is the distance from I-22, but then that's good as there was no road noise. The river sites allow you to watch barge traffic. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$22
Whitten Park has a few nice things going for it. These include, shaded sites, multiple fishing piers, swimming area, playgrounds in various areas, multiple segregated loops, multiple bathhouses with laundry facilities, and an excellent visitor information center. Why you may want to choose another campground include semi-steep drop offs at numerous sites and only TWO sewer hookups. Sites are a close to each other/limited privacy We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$10
We love ACOE campgrounds as they give us the basic services we need but yet we aren't paying for amenities we don't use. We have the National Park Pass which gives us half off COE campgrounds so rather than $20/night we paid only $10. We stayed here 2 nights and had a level paved pull through site. Also had decent Verizon 4G Internet service. The waterfront sites are very nice, but we chose not to stay in those as too shady and wouldn't be able to get satellite TV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$18
We stay at this park regularly and it is really nice. Checked the web site and at this time of the year (Thanksgiving week) we couldn't make a reservation. Assuming there would be plenty of spots open out of 60, we drove there with no concerns. Upon arrival, we saw that only loop one was open. Luckily, there was a spot open big enough for us. The moral is: make sure you call ahead and speak to someone if off-peak season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$10
This was our 2nd time staying in this COE. It is beautiful. We were in site #56, which has an extended patio area with picnic table and backs up to the river. The sites are level and the setting for all are great for peaceful enjoyment of the change of season. The price reflects senior pass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$8
I can never say enough good things about this Corps of Engineers campground. It is clean, interior roads are paved and the camp hosts are courteous. There is plenty of room and trails to walk the dog, even one that walks along the Tom Bigbee Riverfront. Bathrooms are immaculate and the dump site is convenient and very clean. Most of the sites are deep in the trees, but our favorite (#1) has clear sky for satellite reception. This is a popular park and reservations are recommended during the summer and most weekends. This park is open all year and provides electricity and water. The fee reflects the National Senior Park Pass. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$9
We camped here in a 40' motorhome: interior roads were paved and easy to negotiate, pads were concrete. They have three loops and the sites on loop A and B seemed to have more spacing between them than in loop C; lots of trees which made getting satellite signal difficult. Verizon cell phones worked fine, we stayed in site 34. Rate reflects Golden Age discount. CG has laundry facilities. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$9
Overall the campground is very nice. There were several piers to fish and a nice bike path along the river. There are some great sites but ours was not one of them. The driveway was very steep and the turn very sharp. Many site had satellite access but ours was not one of them. Next time we will know which sites to choose. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$18
Very nice park. Sites are large enough with plenty of shade. We camped in the IWAY loop and each site had a patio and fire ring. There was a long pier out over the river and access to a beach in another loop. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$9
Golden Access Passport rate shown. Many sites are tree covered, bring portable satellite TV equipment. The staff was very friendly and helpful, let us choose our site before checking in due to size of our RV. We rented a "WALK-IN" site which could not be reserved. The park fills most weekends during the summer so reservations then are a must unless you are looking for a site midweek. Very nice park along the Tenn-Tom waterway, with a small museum of the canal project on site. Fishing piers are found in each of the three loops. Will stay again if in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$9
Nice wooded campground on the river. Excellent new bike trail along the river just outside of the park. Friendly staff. Price reflects Annual National Park pass (1/2 off). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$9
Very nice park. Good paved roads with level paved sites, each site has a picnic table, grill, fire ring and lantern pole. Rate is for Golden Age Passport. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$9
Very nice COE park. Only negative is that it is a ways off the Hwy to use as an overnight stop. Takes about 10 minutes from the exit. There is a very nice bike / walkway along the river that is available to campers. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$10
We spent one night here, we would like to come back. The price we paid was with the senior pass. When we arrived the camp host showed us a prettier site (there were not many people here in the middle of the week.) Everything was sparkling clean, just like most COE parks are. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$18
We enjoyed our stay here, as we do so many times. However we ran into a situation this time not like any times before. We stayed on site 38 in the second loop. Upon completion of set up we noticed that the grill was leaning very heavily to one side and was about to fall completley off! We notified the host and later they showed up to inspect. They stated that they (the corp) has just replaced several of the grills. The host then told us we should move to another site. I felt this was unacceptable and rather rude. Other than that we had a wonderful stay. Better be on the proactive when it comes to ticks, due to the large amounts of rain this spring, they are out in full force. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$20
Very, very nice campground. Built by Corps of Army Engineers in conjunction with the Tennessee- Tom Bigbee Waterway Project, back in the late 80's I think. Spacious, well laid out, level concrete sites, good roads, ground kept up and very neat. I drove 7 hours to get to this campground and it was worth the drive. The campground honors National Access Pass, for 50% discount. Would definitely stay there again. Many of the premium sites are available for reservations, with the remaining first come basis. Has excellent boat launch facility with lots of local piers close to the camp sites. This was my first time there, and I was very impressed with the campground and stayed for nearly 4 days. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$18
This is a very nice campground located on the Tenn-Tombigbee Waterway. If you choose one of the available waterfront sites you can watch the barge traffic pass by. Most of the sites are in the trees but access to the sites is very good. There are concrete pads to park on at all of the sites. There are a few trails thru the woods and a visitor's center on site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$20
We cannot brag about this park enough. We consider this to be our base camp and most of the time we are camping in this park. They have three beautiful loops, and all are exceptionally maintained. Loop three tends to get a lot of ants in the summer, so just a word of advice, place some type of ant poison down where any contact of your RV and the ground takes place. Staff is exceptionally friendly, rules are enforced, but a wonderful time is to be had by anyone staying here. Close to restaurants and shopping as well. Footnote, off loop three you can walk a trail over to a Midway Marina and eat at the Water Front Restaurant. Delicious. We love this place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$18
Very nice campground. Sites are well spaced, level, and most are well shaded. There are some clustered sites that would be very suitable for small groups of campers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2006
$20
Visited park in 40' motorhome. This is as nice a public park as you will find. We wanted a satellite friendly site and the understanding staff made suggestions and then told us to enter & find a site to our liking. We got a site on the lake that allowed satellite reception. The park was extremely clean. Three cloverleaf configuration with each having clean restrooms and showers as well as a small, but clean laundry. Park has playgrounds for children and tennis courts and basketball courts. Sites are paved and have level gravel area with a table, bbq, light hook and fire ring. We loved this park! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$16
Corp of Engineer park. Set up in cloverleaf design with restrooms, showers & laundry in each cloverleaf. Very clean & well laid out. Lots of trees shading park, but well trimmed to allow tall rigs easy access. Large sites with concrete drives & a table. Many sites right on water. Park host were friendly. This is one of our favorites! We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com