214264 User submitted reviews online!!
Campgrounds of the South was rated 7 out of 10 based on 30 user reviews. Phone: (228) 539-2922
CGID1546

Campgrounds of the South

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$21



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   7   9   9   8   9   8   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$21
A no frills CG convenient to I-10. Pull-thru concrete pads with room for a 42 RV with tow. Great CG host and assistants. 10-15 min drive to the beaches. 20-30 min to the casinos. Will stop here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2013
$25
This campground is good for an over night stop-over, or as a base for visiting the Biloxi-Gulfport area, but I wouldn't want to spend a lot of time just hanging around the campground. The grounds are clean and uncluttered, but there's no privacy and the I-10 noise is always noticeable inside, and downright loud outside. We stayed here over night on a trip west and would use this park again for the same purpose. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$25
Nice park. Cash or check only. Some monthlies but very neat. Nice and quiet. Took a hike along the lake. Would definitely stay here again. Easy access. This is a city run park not a resort, so no cable, laundry, or Internet. So if you need these amenities, this would not be your park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$25
Good sites and clean restrooms and laundry. Close to interstate, but the highway noise was not too loud. Friendly owner and well informed about the area. Close to grocery shopping. Stayed there for over a week and enjoyed ourselves. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$22
This is a good spot for an overnight stay. We were greeted by the friendly camp host and promptly checked in. Sites have concrete pads. We saw several pads that were broken and unlevel, but most looked okay. There are no tables or fire rings on the grass between the sites. Sites are just wide enough for large rigs. There seem to be many permanent residents here, but we neither saw nor heard them, and as we walked around we noticed all sites were clean and neat. The bathrooms and showers were clean. The Wi-Fi signal at our site was strong and reliable. This is the PPA rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$25
The RV sites are level and cement. It has easy access to I-10. The hosts were friendly. How ironic that we have paid almost twice as much in other campgrounds with sites composed of gravel and dirt. There is plenty of space for the tow vehicle and the RV. We would stay here again. We paid $25 cash only. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$21
Rate is passport. I needed a park in Gulfport and there are many to choose from. I saw a great review from 2013 with much older reviews with lower numbers. I thought it might be a fake review but I needed a late arrival and they took PA. What a pleasant surprise. Nice park with flat cement pads. New hook ups and all is included. Don't pass this one up when going to Gulfport. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$20
I can’t believe no one has reviewed this campground since last year! We were a little hesitant to stop here for just that reason but after talking to the manager on the phone, his friendliness put us at ease. And a very nice campground it is. They honor camping club memberships so our rate is a Passport America rate. Long level paved lots with drainage slopes at each end (pull-throughs). Had absolutely no trouble with our 40' fiver. Back-ins were also long with the slopes at the end. Restroom are dated but very clean; laundry also very clean. Grass is mowed. Not much in the line of shade, courtesy of Katrina, but the trees are trying to make a comeback. Close to shopping and a great choice of restaurants. Yes, there is considerable noise from the interstate but when you’re inside with the AC running, you barely hear it and it quieted down at night. There is also an airport and train tracks nearby but few trains and fewer planes. We did joke that we felt we were in the middle of “trains, planes, and automobiles”, though. Great cable and Wi-Fi. Easy drive to the Gulf where you’ll find plenty of places to park to enjoy the beach. No pool, but who needs one when the Gulf is about 4 miles away? No picnic tables or grills or playground; just a clean, well-kept campground with easy access to I-10, food, entertainment. Would definitely recommend this to others. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2012
$25
Good park for an overnight. The Interstate is close but if your windows are closed it is not noticeable. Roadway is a little narrow but not a problem if you are patient. You get a discount for a second visit. Lots of restaurants and shopping nearby. We would stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
Extremely friendly owner and a very nice campground. As others said, some sites are tight or have an incline entering or leaving, but if you take it slow, it is not a problem. We had a long pull through, concrete pad and we did not have to un-hook the toad. Nice grassy area between sites and hookups are nice. There is a small fee to wash the RV, but it is worth it and a lot cheaper than a truck wash. Some road noise, but with A/C going, it was not a problem. Good cable TV and Wi-Fi, and nice areas to walk pets. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
Small neat but very oudated c/g with lots of permanent residents, full hook ups, 50amp, paved road, narrow un-level and cracked concrete pads, pull thrus, much too tight for big rigs we had to back out and drive over the grass to leave and then hitch our towed up in the road, a lot of noise from the freeway as it runs along the side of the c/g, bathrooms poor and very basic, WiFi did not work. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$21
Excellent CG with friendly owner and other. Had an air problem on diesel and they found me a superb service which quickly fixed our problem. Passport, good sam, etc. Excellent cable and WiFi. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$20
Our RV Group camped here for a rally. The owner was very nice and helpful. The campground was near the interstate so there was some noise which didn't bother us. The sites we had were all pull through with FHU 30/50 amp and included was Wi-Fi and Cable TV. The electricity was good. Both Verizon and AT&T Cell Service good. We would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$25
We stayed 1 night in this park during a cross country drive. We do not understand the issues that others have posted about the incline/decline. There is a very small slope in and out of each individual site, which was no problem at all for our 35' class A with toad. The advantage of the small slope is that when it rains, water does not pool in the grass around your site! Everything was very clean, and worked great. Did not try the Wi-Fi or cable or amenities. Office staff was great! We came in after hours and she came out immediately when we pulled in to greet us and sign us in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$30
Nice overnight park - easy access to I-10. Clean restrooms and showers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
Basic stop over campground. If you have a tow vehicle, there is a lot of restaurants and shopping nearby. Stable power. Large cable selection. Unfortunately, it is right on the I-10, a lot of traffic noise, as well as plane noise. Would stay again if driving through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2011
$25
Very nice woman checked us in from her trailer. Suggested a pull-thru site for us and showed it on map. As previously explained, you need to go up a ramp to get to the level concrete site and down a lopsided ramp to get out. We managed with a 44 foot motorhome and toad, but very slowly. Okay place for overnight, but wouldn't stay here longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$25
Nice campgrounds, paved pull-through sites. Good Wi-Fi and cable. Everything you want. Gave it an 8 because of road noise. Its next to the freeway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2010
$22
We drove in by mistake as we were headed next door to Southern Oaks a PA park. Owner came out and told us where we were, but also said he would give us a discount for being PA and said $21.50 for FHU with cable TV and Wi-Fi. We had a site assigned at Southern Oaks as it was Sunday morning so we headed there, that site had serious tree problems for a MH with slides so we went back to CG of the S. OK for short stays, good hookups and as mentioned just watch the ramp into and out of the site as they are fairly sharp. The Laundry room was very nice and the owner great. We would stop again if passing by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2010
$25
Difficult to find on 2-lane road off I-10. Street winds back around to beside I-10 with constant traffic noise. Shut the doors and turn on the TV: the noise will be less noticable. Clean park, level concrete pads, be aware you will need to go up ramp to pad and back down again: tricky with toad and 38' rig, but made it slowly. Cable TV was great, Wi-Fi was a little bit of a challenge to access but once on, no problem. CASH ONLY! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
We stayed for Cruisin the Coast, and the park was very accommodating for all the car trailers that were here. Park is very clean and well manicured. Pet friendly but did not have a designated walking area. Office help got us parked but we did not need to interact with them the rest of our 10 night stay. We will be back next year. Some I-10 traffic noise but tolerable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
Positive: Clean bathrooms and close to downtown Gulfport. Other than that there isn't much good to say about the park. It rained the weekend we were there and there was standing water everywhere. Just a concrete lot that seems a little seedy. Office isn't open regular hours, but the guy who worked there was very helpful when we could catch him in. Nothing for kids to do there. I probably would not go back there. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2008
$25
It was the worst welcome we ever had, and we have traveled throughout the 48 continental states and 9 out of 10 Canadian provinces. Nobody is at the office. We wait and a lady was coming from her 5th wheel trailer. We had made a reservation the day before with a gentleman and had said we were to had a pull through. Well, the lady said there was none, just a back up and it was very just barely long enough for our motor home. After insisting a lot, she finally gave us a pull through. I asked her if I can access Internet Wi-Fi at the site and she said yes. I tried it once we were there, and I it asked me for a member name and password. Why didn't she tell me? I go to her RV and a gentleman is sat on the porch. He says: "What do you want", on a very impolite tone. I explain I was needing member name & password for internet access. He goes inside and after waiting a very long time, he comes out with the instructions on a paper. I had my internet at last. An other thing: she accepted cash only and never agree to give me any receipt. I had rented for 2 days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
Mostly full-time people living there. Sites are long. Office is rarely open. Stray cats will welcome you. Bathrooms and showers were pretty clean. Right along Interstate. Grass overgrown in some areas. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
Cash or check only - no credit cards. Fairly well maintained park with many long term. Pull thru sites are extra long, and can handle 45' without problem. Corners are a bit snug with poorly placed sign poles that intrude when turning some corners. In view of I-10 traffic and it is constant noise. Was able to shut it out somewhat with closing windows but it still intruded on the sleep. Flying J is only about 5 miles west. Will definitely consider as a future stopover. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2007
$25
Good place for an overnight. Very accessible from I-10 and large shopping mall close. Traffic noise may bother some. Grounds well kept and pull-throughs concrete. WiFi and cable TV worked well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2006
$25
Since Hurricane Katrina most RV parks in the area that survived the hurricane were overcrowded and messy due to FEMA trailers. However, this RV Park is maintaining order and cleanliness. Kudos to the management for operating successfully under difficult situations. The sites are a little close together but satisfactory. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2004
$23
It's true that campers come in all shapes, sizes, and preferences, but I have to say I'm not sure why anyone would give this place a "9." There are a few anemic trees that by no stretch of the imagination could be called "shade." There is a small patch of grass between sites, but not a picnic table to be had. The bathrooms and showers are ok, but I didn't plan on spending much time there, so that didn't make up for the lack of facilities. There is constant noise from the highway at night, and from the airport during the day. And it's one of the very few campgrounds I have been to that does not take credit cards. If a campground with trees, landscaping, trash pickup, swimming pool, playground, propane, picnic tables, grills, etc. is a "9", then I would say giving this one a "5" is very generous. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$23
Spent over two months on site and rate it high for service and feeling welcome. Camp Hosts very helpful and always available. Close to shopping center, and down town area. Only down side would be occasional low flying jet traffic. Surveyed the other campgrounds in the area and found this to be the best and most secure of them all. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$20
Excellent new park, very good access and friendly helpful owners. Within short walk to shopping and restaurants. Would definitely stay again. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com