220250 User submitted reviews online!!
Davis Lake Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (662) 285-3264
CGID1549

Davis Lake Campground

Camp Information
Sites
28
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   9   9   10   8   8   10   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$10
This Campground was just what we wanted. We had a nice spot right on the lake. Sight was level, showers and bathrooms were clean. Laundry facility available. View was nice and the campground was quiet. We will be back here at some point to spend a few relaxing days. Great spot when traveling on the Natchez Trace Parkway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$20
What a nice surprise, we were traveling north on the Natchez Trace, and stopped here for the night. Very nice sites, asphalt pads mostly level, some were short, but there were plenty for our 36' rig. Sites were large gravel patio areas, with fire rings, picnic tables, lantern hook, and grills. Only one concern: The way we came in just before the left turn into the campground is a bridge with a 19,000 lbs weight limit. We went across both coming and going, but if there is another way to get in I would take it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$13
The $13 charge is with a Golden Age Pass. I also spent $9 to reserve the campsite. We stayed here for a week in late March on site #16. The pad was paved and level, a little short, with the back of our 31 foot motor home up in the air. There was a nice concrete "patio" for the picnic table with a fire pit, a waist level grill, and a camping lantern pole/hook for night-time activities. On the other side of the "patio," away from the motor home, was a marked off tent site. We were on the lake shore. Good campground hosts. We rode our bikes on the new Tanglefoot Trail, about 5 miles west, in New Houlka. Lots of history on the Natchez Trace Parkway, about 4 miles to the east. You can visit Elvis's birthplace in Tupelo, about 25 miles away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$13
This beautiful gem of a campground is run by the Forest Service. It is located just 4 miles off the Natchez Trace Parkway with its own exit at MP 243.1 and well-marked signage to get to it. The shaded campsites are dotted among the trees along the banks of Davis Lake. Most of them are right on the water, all of them have great lake views. Though you can see other campers, the sites are spaced apart and feel private. Most of the sites are very level, though a few have sloped driveways to get to the pad. They have electricity and water, nice picnic tables, a grill and table next to the grill (a nice touch), and a fire pit. Our price reflects the America the Beautiful Senior Pass discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2013
$20
This campsite was an unexpected find after missing the turnoff for Tombigbee State Park from the Natchez Trace Parkway! Only opened year round from March 2013, this is a wonderful spot to camp just 4 miles from the Parkway. Great lake views, tall pine trees, good roads, and camping sites. The restroom buildings looked newer; although, we didn't use them. This campsite is unmanned and you place your camping fee in the collection box. The camp host did visit us later and check our receipt. We had phone service even tho we were off the beaten track! Will definitely return to this campsite in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$13
Rate reflects Golden Age Pass. Very nice National Forest campground. We were right on the lake with a very long, paved, level campsite. The campground host was very helpful. Really close to the Natchez Trace. The showers were individual lockable rooms, very private but kind of dirty with leaves and bugs etc. Not a big deal. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
This is a well maintained camp ground on a fishing lake. The Camp ground is close to the Natchez Trace Parkway. The pads are level asphalt with a spacious area in crushed rock for use around the picnic table. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$13
This campground is located four miles off the Natchez Trace, 21 miles below Tupelo, MS. All sites have lake view but the majority are right on the lake and if you have a boat it can be tied up right next to your site. There are fishing piers, boat ramp, landing piers for water skiing and a swimming beach. Bird watching is very popular here. The sites are a good size but they are not private. There are tall trees all through the campground and it is really pretty and very peaceful. One of the most relaxing campgrounds that we have stayed at on this trip. We only stayed for one night and arrived on a Sunday so we were able to get a great site but reservations start at the end of April and then it becomes more difficult to get a site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$20
About half of the sites can be reserved, the rest are first come, first served. At first glance, this is everything a campground should be. A gorgeous campground located on a small reservoir, about half of the sites are on the water and all have water views. Typically generous Forest Service site separation. Good paved interior roads, and mostly level paved pads. All weather water spigots, and 50 amp power at all sites. Nice tables, fire rings, and BBQ grills. Well maintained. The very nice bathhouse has men’s and lady’s rooms on one end and 4 private shower rooms on the other end. Lots of birds and bird songs. Frogs sing at night. Fee is $20 and, oddly, $13 with Golden Age Passport. After 4 days, some flaws appeared. A nearby Air Force Base uses the airspace for some kind of training Monday through Friday daytime, sounds like turboprop crop dusters diving and climbing. Many parks on a lake this size would allow oars, paddles, or sails only. This park allows ski boats Friday to Sunday, noon to sunset. The bathhouse has six 500 watt halogen floodlights mounted under the eaves. They emit an intense white light which attracts huge swarms of bugs which then find their way into the rooms so that interior floors and counters are covered with dead bugs; in addition to the bugs and being a grand waste of energy, it lights up the campground like the sun. A couple of 40 watt yellow fluorescent tubes would be a lot better. All in all, we would stay here again, but we can’t give it the 10 rating that it deserves. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$13
Davis Lake Campground is a NFS facility and is just off the Natchez Trace Parkway, about 20 miles south of Tupelo. Great place to "Home Base" while exploring that portion of "The Trace". Sites are level, deep and well seperated and 8 sites are situated along the lake. Access road is a bit narrow and pads are gravel aggregate. Power boats are disallowed on the lake which makes for some peaceful fishing/swimming. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com