219086 User submitted reviews online!!
Little Black Creek Water Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (601) 794-2957
CGID1554

Little Black Creek Water Park

Camp Information
Sites
126
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   8   8   8   8   9   9   9   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2014
$28
This place just reopened under new management. All the trees have been cut down. Private sites are no longer private. The owners promote drinking and the smell of liquor is prevalent. I guess because this is a dry county. Beer cans and bottles were abundant everywhere! We looked at the cabins for future use. No real improvements were made to the cabins except expensive granite counter tops were added to plywood cabinets, but the bed bug ridden mattresses that are at least 10 yrs old are still there. They did buy some log furniture. Everything there smells of mold and mildew. Daylight can be seen through the walls. The park is in need of a cleanup....badly. the campsites are horrid. We paid a $3 fee or "mandatory donation" each and time we left the park and drove back in to the site we had rented there for several weeks. We paid a 3.25% fee for using our debit card to pay. They were charging $8 for each fish caught in addition to the license and fishing fee, so we declined. Golf cart rentals were $70 per day. Boats were also unreasonably priced. The camp store was ill equipped and extremely overpriced. The elderly store clerk was extremely rude and ill mannered. Several drunken parties kept us up for three nights. The park would not give a refund if we left so we were stuck. All in all, not a good way to spend our vacation dollars. Would not go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$28
Little Black Creek Water Park is BACK! We have loved this park from the beginning and were so sad to see it close. But it is definitely back and going strong. The park is prettier than ever with the extra clean-up the new managers are doing. The only downside at all for us was that some of the sites still only have the asphalt pad, which is really quite narrow and there were some major "drop-offs" from the asphalt to the ground on two of our sites and caused someone in our group to twist their ankle. I think that maybe they need to add the wooden decking around all sites to make them safer. However, I would go back in a heartbeat and highly recommend it. The camp store is very nice and includes just about everything you could want to purchase (including fresh meat) without having to drive to town. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$28
This park is under new management. It is a beautiful campground and park with lakefront sites available. The new management has made improvements to individual sites (wooden decking, clearing of underbrush) and the park as a whole (new fishing piers, addition of a camp store, restocking of fishing lake). They have many more improvements planned and also plan activities (upcoming Crawfish Festival, fishing tournaments, etc). WiFi is available for extra fee. Unfortunately no cable. This park is very family friendly and my kids loved it though the playgrounds need improvement (new management says he plans to upgrade along with beach area). Will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$28
The park has reopened but under a private lease. The Pat Harrison Waterway District no longer runs the park. The new operator is doing a lot to clean up the park. They are renting boats and golf carts. Not much on the golf carts but that's just me. Beautiful lake with site on and off the lake. They have big plans for this park. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$21
A nice campground, trees, lake front sites, quiet. Older facilities, some paved pads. No TV. Our Verizon phone and data service worked OK. Rate included a senior discount. Pleasant and helpful staff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$24
Excellent state park on a 650 acre lake. While just passing through, we enjoyed the peace and quiet. Most sites were asphalt & level and most had built in decks. The rangers were very hospitable and helpful. We had an sugar ant problem when we awoke in the morning so make sure to treat all the ground touch-points on your camper. No ants in our tow vehicle. Each site had a trash can, we must not have secured ours since the racoons got into it overnight. Would definitely return to this campground. It's about 15 miles off the highway. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$21
Nice, clean and well kept park. The lake and swimming areas are very nice. Sites all have a lot of shade and are fairly level. Store is well stocked and they rent canoes and boats out. Only negative was we had a lot of ants; mostly our fault because the kids left some food out. Overall, a very nice RV park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$18
This is an excellent campground. This was the first trip with our new RV and we couldn't have made a better choice for a campground. The bathhouses could use some updating, but they were clean and well stocked. The lake is gorgeous and the staff is friendly and helpful. All of our experiences with Pat Harrison Waterway District parks has been very favorable. We will be coming back here a lot. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$24
If you want to get away from it all, this is the place to go! Our spot next to the lake was gorgeous, and the stargazing was outstanding. But, there was no Wi-Fi, no AirCard signal, and only sporadic cell phone coverage. The roads inside the park were quite rough, and the dirt road that led to our campsite really looked more like a shortcut through the trees than a road. But, once we got to our lakefront site, it was spacious and lovely with a beautiful deck. One of the boards on the deck was loose and the sewer wouldn’t drain, but the maintenance staff fixed both problems immediately. We couldn’t find the restrooms or showers, although other campers claim to have seen them. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$19
One of our new favorites. Lucky enough to get site 107 overlooking lake on Thanksgiving weekend. Most sites have wooden decks with railings. Sites 102-107 are close to front office and far from main campground. The sunsets from the new sites are spectacular. We even had about 2 dozen Canadian Geese pose for us. The main campground is hilly which we love but the best sites in the main area along the lake are not reservable ahead of time but first come, first serve. We drove by the cabins and they were awesome on another private smaller lake. My biggest complaint is the restrooms. They could use an upgrade. Some had prison type toilets with no actual toilet seat, while most (men and womens) had no toilet paper and could use a paint job. None of the restrooms we visited (and we stopped by them all) had more than one shower and 2 toilets in each. For such a nice and large campground, these left much to be desired. Beware of spotty phone service, we have AT&T and had to drive out the park to get service. Office staff very friendly. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$22
Stayed in site 104, large lawn, great view of sun set over lake. Quite, great staff, is third time staying here. Will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$20
Was in site 105, had pier directly in front of site. Was able to watch sun set every evening over lake. Highly recommend for quit get away. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2008
$19
This has the potential to be the perfect RV park. If a little time and money was put into bringing this park up to date it would be great. The sites in the main CG area are blacktop and the roads are good. However, the road to the pull-through sites, by the lake, is dirt and rutted due to recent rains. These are the sites that will attract the larger rigs and at some point the access will be tenuous at best. Now, with this said, I love this park and will return time and time again. I think that this was my first time to camp here and that the deficiencies were due to it being off-season. Those camping here be sure to tell the staff how big your rig is. There are some of the patio pull-through sites that are not pull-throughs and will not accommodate larger rigs. The views of the lake from the patio pull-through sites are spectacular. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$18
This park is one of the best RV parks I have been to. The sites are large and wooded. Good privacy. The roads were recently resurfaced and are very smooth for walking and bike riding. The only negative I can think of is the number of dead trees in the camping area. They need to be taken down for safety. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2007
$18
If you desire a very quiet campground with plenty of room between sites, this is a good choice. The facilities were very dated and only usable in a must need situation. The overwhelming problem/concern we had was the phenomenal ANT problem. Not the fire variety, the sugar ant/hospital ant. The campground is completely infested with them and this will require plenty of attention from you in the form of spray. Our camper was crawling within 18 hours of arrival. Once we went to the hardware store, the problem was at least manageable after spraying 2-cans inside and out. We would stay again armed with plenty of pesticide. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2005
$18
This is the type of RV park that we look for. Plenty of room between sites and shade trees. It was very quiet. There are two beach areas for swimming. The lake is beautiful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2003
$14
Hilly and Woods, the restrooms and showers were old and not as clean as could be. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com