214620 User submitted reviews online!!
St. Louis West / Historic Route 66 KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 60 user reviews. Phone: (636) 257-3018
CGID1608

St. Louis West / Historic Route 66 KOA

Camp Information
Sites
82
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$52



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   9   7   8   8   7   7   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$52
Park is easy to get into and out of. Spaces are small and close together. This is the second time we have used the part for an overnight stay, and we will stay here again. Wi-Fi and cable TV worked well. Price was for full hookups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$47
Very good access to I-44. Cable and WiFi worked well. Sites very close together. Even with KOA discount, it's expensive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$31
This RV park is right on Route 66. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The campground had lots of activities for all. They had a movie, ice cream social and tie dying t-shirts. This seemed to be a very family friendly park. Our site was level and was quiet even being close to the highway. You do hear the trains at night. It rained while we were there and it drained well. The staff gave us some great tips for what to see on Route 66. They also had a very nice gift shop with a nice variety of gifts and things you may need. We would stay here again. Our rate showed the KOA discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$43
Very pricey for what you get (30 amp), rate included their discount. Very noisy with traffic and trains (every 15 min). Staff were friendly, escorted to site, site is not level. Hook ups were fine. Wi-Fi worked well. Most sites are shady, so satellite was not an option, but lots of channels using the antenna. Because of the noise, we probably will not camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$42
Park is close to I-44/Hwy 66 and highway noise seems to be an issue as traffic noise is loud. Staff was efficient and friendly during check in. The escort to our site was very helpful and offered suggestions for setting up our big rig. Some sites are gravel and other black top. Park is divided into 3 sections and roads are easy to navigate. Family friendly activities were scheduled for the weekend, and the pool is large and clean. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$45
Very convenient for our trip. Clean, nice sites and camp store. We enjoyed the green space, pet friendly and helpful staff. Lots to do in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$49
Entrance is paved. Gravel for roads and sites. Undergoing new ownership during our stay, so camp store had a few items. Staff friendly. Grounds maintained. Pool was fenced in with chairs, tables and umbrellas. Playground was newer and surrounded by a split rail fence. They do have a pavilion near the back. We had good WiFi, because we were close to the office. We were in site A-19, which is on the end directly across from the playground. Be aware that this site is approximately 300' from the two lane road with the train that travels directly next to that. The traffic can be loud at times, even into the night. The train does not blow their horn at this location, however, in the middle of the night you may hear it, at its previous intersection. The first night we were exhausted and didn't hear much. The next two nights were fairly calm with road traffic; however, the train was running every 30 minutes, on the dot, between the hours of 0100 and 0300. Uncertain if this is usual. If in the area again, we would definitely stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$43
Very tidy park with long pull-throughs. Escort toed your site. We had a 50 amp site and did have some problems with the A/C tripping the breakers; it was hot and everyone had all their units running. Easy to get to downtown St. Louis and Six Flags Park is just on the north side of the Interstate. We would here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$42
GPS would not accept the campgrounds address, but we knew it was in the area so we watched for the KOA signs on I-44. Found it easy enough. Managers were very nice and guided us right to our site which was very long and accommodated our 34ft Class A and toad with room to spare. There is no cable TV but with our antenna we found 17 local stations. WiFi is excellent. Six Flags is almost straight across the interstate and very accessible. Lots of authentic train sounds, almost too much. Level gravel sites. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$45
Very helpful staff made our stay very memorable. Will stay here again and recommend it to anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$42
We had a nice wide level pull-through. Good width for slides. Bathrooms were clean. Nice employees, very helpful with info on area. Good Wi-Fi reception. Train noise at night, but shouldn't be too bad with windows closed. Would stay here again when traveling. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$42
Good sized spaces for big rigs, friendly owners. Location is actually in Pacific, not Eureka, and address is I44 Business Loop. We found this out when we had to call after our GPS would not accept the posted address. Restaurants and businesses nearby on Historic Route 66. Facility close to Six Flags. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$50
Typical KOA: large overpriced campground, nice pool, friendly staff, sites close together, older campground needing some maintenance. Close to Six Flags. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$38
The staff at this KOA RV park was extremely friendly and helpful. When we told them we were having generator problems, they recommended a mechanic who was able to look at it the very next morning. The sites were wooded, roomy, and long enough for our RV and toad. The power was good. There was a shallow creek running along the lower end of the park as well as a nice looking kids’ playground. The restrooms and showers were large and clean. The only negative were the trains. They were close enough to vibrate our RV scaring our Shih Tzu throughout our stay. Also, the train horn at 3am didn’t thrill us. We would definitely stay here again, but would ask for a site away from the railroad tracks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$47
Nice campground but no cable and price was way too high for a one night stay. Staff was helpful but had take it or leave it attitude. Probably will NOT stay here again due to price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
I used this as an overnight stop, so I did not spend much time there. My site was easy to get in and out of and although the park is convenient to the Interstate, it was quiet. Staff was very pleasant. I would definitely consider staying here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$52
We stayed at this RV park because it is 3/4 mile from Six Flags, allowing us to easily come and go from Six Flags during our stay. If you don't want/need that convenience, then the price probably isn't justified. It is one of the more expensive KOA's, and does not have cable TV (which most of the costly ones have). On the plus side, the Wi-Fi is fast and reliable, the sites level and shaded, and there is easy access to I-44. The showers/restrooms are clean, the on-site store is reasonably stocked with groceries and such, and the pool looks nice (although we didn't use it, as we were at Six Flags all day/evening). There is a train track next to the park, but with the doors closed and fan/air running, train noise is hardly noticeable. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$47
Going to a KOA is like going to McDonalds. It is expensive for what you get but it is predictable. This KOA is around the corner from 6-Flags and it is in the outskirts of a major city. So you expect to pay a bit more. This KOA is in a rural setting; some roads paved, some not. The sites are grass and gravel, but because of all the rains they were a bit muddy. That's not the CG's fault, though. My biggest complaint about this KOA is that its 50A sites appear to have been added late in its development. They are small and tightly clustered together. If I hadn't wanted to run 2-A/C's it might have been better to have taken a 30A site. Many of the E&W sites are larger than what we had. Most sites are shady; we were able to use our roof-top satellite, but I suspect many other folks couldn't. The WiFi is free but I couldn't get my router to connect to it; my Verizon card worked fine. This is not a destination CG; it is a CG to use when going to 6 Flags. For that purpose it is acceptable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$42
We were very pleased with this RV park. Water/electric/sewer was all easy hook-up. It was easy on/off access to I-44 and a reasonable distance to St. Louis proper where the Arch, Grant's Farm, Bud Brewery etc are. Six Flags was within minutes and also a Wal-Mart and shopping center at Eureka and close to Festus where a very large new shopping area with Super Wal-Mart and many other popular stores are located. They had very nice clean showers and laundry facilities were great. We would definitely recommend this place and were very happy with our stay here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2011
$45
We stayed at this campground on our way from Arizona to Michigan. Most of the campgrounds in this area weren't open yet because it was too early in the season, so our options were limited. We pulled in after dark, and it was very difficult to find our site. Once we got there, the site wasn't very level. The highway and train noise was pretty steady throughout the night. There was no cable. We felt for the price we paid, we didn't get our money's worth. Will find a different place to stay next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$38
The campground is just off I-44, and you can hear the traffic pretty good from the park, but the train all night long was the noise maker. There was no horn to be heard, but the train sounds like it does about 100 mph during the night. This is not the park's fault though!! It was a clean area; the pool was closed this time of year, but the area seemed nice. It is 5 minutes to 6 flags park and a 30 minute drive to downtown St Louis. Bathrooms were nice, and showers had lots of hot water!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$38
We really like this campground. The staff is very efficient at check-in. We found the pull through sites to be long and roomy and relatively flat, which explains why there were so many big rigs. The road and train noise were not bothersome, but I do enjoy listening to trains. Cable TV would have earned this place a 10. The location near St. Louis and Six Flags explains the higher rate. We have stayed here before and will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$38
I went online to RVparkreviews.com before I reserved at this campground. Good thing I am one who takes other comments with a "grain of salt"! I found this KOA to be clean, friendly and to have helpful staff. Also convenient to St. Louis. The road traffic was barely noticeable from within my unit and the trains, though frequent, seldom used their horn. The advantage I may have over some others is that the foliage and surrounding vegetation was fully set on this time of year. It played a significant role in diminishing the external sounds. If you view available aerial pictures, as I did, online; the park in full foliage is beautiful in real life. Do not let any of this keep you from trying it. I would not hesitate to stay again. I stayed 5 days this time. As far as price, it is a good value for what you get, especially with VK discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2010
$50
This park is way over priced, the rates are higher on weekends. They are not that full this time of year. The sites are close together and small. It's impossible to get a good night sleep because of the road noise and the trains that seems to run all night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2010
$48
Low rate mainly because of high price. We stayed the next night at a much nicer park at half the price. We found dirt roads, mud, and few amenities. I would look for another location when we come this way again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2009
$39
Easy on and off I-44. Workers were very nice and showed us to the site. There are few long and level ones available. Interior roads are mostly dirt and got muddy in the rain. The train does not blow a whistle so was not a problem. Restrooms and laundry were both clean. There are a few air TV stations, and Wi-Fi worked well. We thought it was pricey. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$41
A small but nice park. Sites close together. We were near a horse pasture and cemetery. Shutting down for season so not much going on. Probably one of the closest parks to downtown St. Louis but still a 25 mile drive. Easy freeway access but somewhat noisy because of this. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
Older park, with some really nice sites, and some you wouldn't want. We had a short pull through in the older, original part of the park. Slightly unlevel, but no real problems. Restrooms and showers were clean. Trains no problem. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2009
$40
First of all, this is a nice campground with roomy spots. The trains are not a big deal. Six-flags could be walked to! And it doesn't take half an hour to get downtown...unless you are driving 40! However, I am a bit concerned about the care of the facility. For two days there was no toilet paper in the men's room and we told them both days! I used the same shower for three days and the same "left behind" bar of soap was in there all three days. So I question how "clean" the showers are. This appears to be run by a little old man and lady and perhaps a family, but there does not appear to be quality checks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
Beautiful campground in Eureka, MO. It is only about 2 miles to Six Flags. The staff was friendly and courteous. The park was clean and well maintained with spacious sites. There is a well kept playground and sparkling pool. We never had time to swim in the pool, but lots of people were enjoying it as we passed. The restrooms were clean, spacious, with divided individual showers and toilets. Good connection on the Wi-Fi and good cell service. We had originally tried to stay at Jellystone without much luck. However, when we took the time to drive through it later we were soooo glad that we stayed at the KOA instead. I am not sure that we could have gotten our rig into and out of Jellystones small hillside spaces. We highly recommend the Anheuser-Busch Brewing tour! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$43
We camped here for 4 nights. The campground was easy to find and a great place to stay. Very close to Six Flags (about 5 minutes) and within a half an hour of downtown St. Louis. We loved it. The WiFi was down, but we were able to hook up to someone's. The bathrooms were clean although the water leaves a funny-lingering smell throughout the building. It's very close to a railroad track, but the trains just seem to add to the quaint ambiance. Nice and shady, run by nice people - we would stay here again! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$55
We spent 3 nights here in June, as a base to tour around St. Louis. Very nice, clean, quiet campground, except that trains go by often. But we like trains, so didn't bother us a bit! The campsite was pretty level, had shade, and not too close to the neighbors. Best camp store of the RV parks we visited in Missouri. Good pool. I don't recall the playground or mini-golf. The WiFi was a little spotty. Lost connection occasionally. It is on a pretty creek. The final morning we went there and explored, which was great with my kids. Minnows, tadpoles, and an old Osage flint hide-scraper were all found. GPS found it easily (Garmin). All-in-all, I would definitely camp here again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$43
Location was easy to access, close to Six Flags, but about 30 minutes from St. Louis attractions when the traffic was light. Very noisy due to freight trains passing nearby, especially at night. Showers in need of renovation. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
Very friendly staff! When we arrived the staff was very helpful and courteous. The sites were very large and we were not crammed together. Although the pool was closed the rest of the campground exceeded our expectations. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$25
This campground is very clean and has nice areas to walk. However, since it is located near train tracks, the trains woke us up several times during the night blowing their whistles. Also, it's near a busy roadway and the traffic was also loud. There is a nice pool and play area for the kids. We may stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$35
We loved this campground. We spent the night en route to Disney World, and this was also a chance for us to "try out" a commercial site for the first time as relatively new RVers. The sites are gravel, and that is the only drawback to this campground (actually, we don't mind gravel at all). The Wi-Fi worked wonderfully, the staff was unbelievably friendly, and everything worked just as we expect it to work. However, please note that we were here on a very quiet weekend, and we stayed in a pull through site. However, it appeared that they had a variety of configurations for any camping need. It is in close proximity to Six Flags and St. Louis. For us, we plan to utilize it for occasional visits to St. Louis for weekends, and we will definitely be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$34
VERY tight turns for big rig to get to the back where the 50 amp sites were (lowest point of the park). Both train and interstate noise made for a restless night of sleeping. Nothing exceptional except proximity to six flags. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$32
We stayed here for an overnight and found it to be a nice campground. The sites are mostly gravel/dirt, although some are paved. Most sites appeared fairly level. The sites were about average in size. They had a nice pool and small playground area. The restrooms/showers were clean. They had good Wi-Fi, but we weren't too far from the antenna, so I can't comment on the rest of the park. The only negative I can think of is the camp store was not too well stocked. The park is a short distance away from Six Flags. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$34
We stayed here to be close to St. Louis. It is a bit of a drive to the city. It is very close to Six Flags and Rt. 66 attractions. It was clean and mainly level with full hook ups. There was a clean pool and play area for the kids. It is very near to the highway and a major cargo train so it is a bit noisy at night. The bathrooms in the busy part of the morning could have used a bit more attention. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$40
Nice size lots with mature trees. Friendly staff upon arrival. Easy access from the interstate. We only stayed overnight and unfortunately it rained hard during most of our visit so we couldn't evaluate the park objectively. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2008
$42
I have stayed at this park for a length of time, and though it is beautiful with the trees and the creek running behind it, it is very expensive for what you get. The Wi-Fi connection even with a range booster is poor. There is no cable TV, and you pick up a few local channels. Satellite is dependent on whether you get under or around some of these beautiful trees. Great for a short stay but not for the long haul. Oh yes, there are no paved sites. On the plus side, the pool is nice, and the restrooms are clean. Great for a Six Flags stay, but a long way from St. Louis. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$42
Typical KOA park. Well maintained grounds with many shaded areas. Downside is sites are tight, but usable for our 36' fifth wheel. Also, the rate seemed excessive considering the limited amenities. Would camp here again if in the Saint Louis area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
Not satellite friendly. Park was clean and employees very helpful and friendly. Close to 6 Flags. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
CG is easy to find, staff was nice, and site was fairly level with easy hookups. We stayed in site A12. As other posters have mentioned there is the noise from the train (which does not bother us), but there is also a small horse farm at the other end of the cg and an old cemetery just 2 rows back up on the hill from our site. All in all though, it's fine for a 1 night stay and we'd easily stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$40
Kind of pricey for what you get. Trains are noisy, but the park itself is beautiful. A bit far from St. Louis, but worth the drive to walk around Forest Park. Would recommend for a short stay, or if you are going to Six Flags, which is practically around the corner. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$45
The place was clean, hostess was helpful and pleasant. We arrived after dark and had to make the loop twice to find our spot. The place is on historic RT 66, and was relatively easy to find. There is a train track not far away and the thundering sound of a freight train going through every now and then could be heard. We stayed here one night just passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2007
$41
This was an ok park, fine for an overnight stay if you don't mind the sound of trains through out the night. It seems they were pretty frequent and I am a light sleeper. Not all sites were level. Some sites were somewhat close. The park was clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$40
Perfect if you want to stay by the amusement park. There is one right around the corner. The campground was clean. We only used this for an overnight stop which is what we use most KOA's for. It was clean and the Internet was great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$31
Level sites with trees, nice pool area, friendly and helpful staff. Where we were placed was near bus.I-44 and some trains were near by but the noise was not that bad. We stayed at both RV parks in Eureka and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$31
This is a very nice campground near st. Louis but not too near. It's about 25 miles away, it's in a beautiful town called Eureka. The campground people are very very nice and very very helpful and friendly. We had a great pull through site that was big and roomy and we didn't feel like we were right against someone else. it had a picnic table on the site and lots of shade. It was very near the front of the park which is on a fairly busy highway, with the interstate behind it a little ways, but we didn't have any trouble with the traffic noise. The bathrooms were clean in the mornings, but not so much before checkout time. they were very roomy and nice, but once a day cleaning wasn't enough. The park was pretty full, we got one of the better more expensive sites and was definitely glad we did. Did not use the pool or any other amenities, we used it strictly to do things in St. Louis and be away from the city with the noise and people. The sites are dirt which got on the bottom of everything that we sat outside, including our feet, there wasn't much grass anywhere. There is a problem with train noise, the tracks must be very close, but I only heard the train one time late at night and I wasn't asleep yet. I will definitely stay here again when I'm in St. Louis, although the cemetery behind it can be pretty creepy walking to the bathroom late at night. it was clean for the most part, friendly nice hosts and a good location to see and do things in St. Louis without staying downtown. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$40
Very family oriented. Extremely quiet after 10pm. Most noise was other campers driving in late. There is a train but it does not lay on the horn. Barely heard it. We had a spot in the back and it was very isolated and very flat. A little tight getting in and out. Only problem was our water spout leaked and I mentioned it to them but no one fixed it and we ended up with a puddle every day. I 44 runs right into downtown and only about a 25 min drive. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$50
Ask for a site at the end (bottom of the hill). It is lovely down there. The Wifi is central and wasn't working when we were there. No one seemed to know how to fix it, so we went to the nearby Holiday Inn to retrieve our e-mail. If you like peace and quiet, this place is a wonderful place to be. Don't even consider the Yogi Bear across the street. Yogi Bear has a prettier entrance, but beyond that is a world of difference. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$32
Nice campground, but the sites are a bit close to each other. We stayed here while visiting Six Flags. The site has a swimming pool, playground, barbecue grills, full hookups, store, shower house, etc. Very clean park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2006
$40
The park was easy to find (very close to 6 Flags) but the site we were assigned was hard to get into. The sites were too close together. The man behind us in a motorhome was concerned he would not be able to get out because the road between our site and his site was so narrow. We had a problem with our water hydrant. It got colder than expected and the hydrant froze. Not knowing what to do, we ran up to talk to the office about it and the elderly man in the office was mean and rude to us. He told us there were signs posted all over the campground about turning the hydrants off at night and that we would be fined if there was any damage. He also told us he would come down to take a look at the problem. An hour later he still had not shown up so we used a hair dryer to defrost the hydrant. There was no damage and we were glad we did not have to deal with him at our site. We looked all over the campground for the signs he was referring to (we stayed there for 3 days) and never did find them. The office was a disaster. It looked like a tornado went through it--in complete disarray and unorganized. There is also a lot of traffic and train noise all night long. We won't stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$35
Not a bad place, but a "little out of town" from St. Louis. Pool, toilets & showers were clean and well kept; and the staff very helpful. The wi-fi signal was weak, the water hookup a little old fashioned and we did have some problems with flys...could have been because of the recent wet weather; but it's worth the stop when visiting St. Louis. Dang, we missed the nearby cemetary. It would have been a nice history lesson. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$40
Our vacation was revolved around Six Flags and touring St. Louis. I had visited the CG's website and seen other reviews and made my choice based on that. Overall, we were pleased with the campground, but the pool could be cleaner, the train got annoying after a while, and it was odd having a cemetery in the campground (that was a first!). Once we got used to the cemetery being there, we checked it out and it was interesting to see tombstones dating back to the 1800's. There was a man that died in the battle of Ft. Donelson, so we got a bit of a history lesson out of it. The CG staff was very friendly and helpful. We were able to buy discounted Six Flags tickets there and saved quite a bit by doing so. The CG was shaded and had lots of level, pull through sites. They were close to each other, but we had quiet neighbors on either side. We would stay there again if doing another Six Flags vacation. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2005
$45
This graveyard is convenient to I-44 and near Six Flags. We really didn't plan on staying in St. Louis and found we had some time and this was the only game in town that wasn't full. I say that because they TOLD us they only had one site left, and it wasn't a full hookup (no sewer). When we arrived (Friday afternoon) the campground was nearly empty. Graveyard. I thought "well, tonight it will fill up". Well, that never happened, so I'm not sure WHY they insisted they were full unless it's some sort of marketing ploy to extract you from your money. There's a graveyard. The campground itself is typical KOA, paved roads, gravel sites with hookups, graveyard, and Kamping Kabins. Did I mention the graveyard? Yeah, we'll it's right next to the campground. You can step out of your camper door and reach right out and touch someone. Creepy. It's a noisy place too. We were camped by the Kabins and there was a rowdy bunch of teenagers laughing and playing some stupid harmonica until well into the night. The management never put a stop to that. It's DARK too. The second night I walked out of the door to walk the dog, went to the dark side of my motorhome and ran right into a guy in a golf cart parked there watching something. It must have been management creeping around looking for something. The place sits right across the road from a MAJOR rail line that has trains running all night, so it's not very quiet. The graveyard IS quite though, eerily so. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2005
$35
This was absolutely the most horrific experience we have ever had camping. 1)The roads are treacherously winding roads, with low overhanging branches that scratch your roof, making it extremely difficult to get to your site. 2)Dusty sites. 3)Much further from Six Flags than they would have you believe: stay at the one next door instead. 4)Bathrooms are simply filthy, also poorly marked: I walked into the women's room, and my daughter walked into the men's room. 5)Our site had a sewer connection, for which of course we paid extra. As we were about to empty our black water, I noticed that there was water in the ground drain. I warned my spouse to be careful when releasing the valve, thank God, because the discharge immediately began backing up out of the ground like a volcano! I screamed to shut the valve, but the pressure had built up in the extra heavy duty sewer hose and caused it to split up the middle, spouting black water waste everywhere! Thankfully, we both jumped out of the way, but we both still got a little sprayed. It was very early AM, and the office was not open yet. When I called to let the manager know, and to ask for a refund, plus the cost of a sewer hose, he had the nerve to yell at me. He said there is always water in the drain, (which I had never seen in years of RVing) and that I was making it up so I wouldn't have to pay. When I told him I would report it on online forums, he hung up on me. I would rather sleep at a rest area than stay here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$28
Clean campground with lots of trees and level sites. The game room, for the kids, was lacking. The campground is well kept and picturesque. Don't expect peace and quiet. The park sits between the interstate (it can be seen from the park) and railroad tracks (300 yards across the street). Prices seemed a bit high for being the off season for Six Flags (1 mile away). We paid $27.50 for water and elec. plus an additional $2.50 for an 8 year old child. Full hook- ups were $30 base rate. The staff was friendly and escorted us to our site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$27
Our daughter had a soccer tournament in St. Charles, so we tried to find a campsite nearby. It took us 40 minutes to get from the campsite to the soccer fields. We were within 2 miles of Six Flags although we didn't go there. The sites for the most part were a little crowded. We ended up with a pull through that was right next to an old cemetary. (Did I say right next to?) The tent campers had their own section and there were cabins also. The air-conditioned bathrooms were very clean! It was pretty quiet at night except for an occasional train. The people at the counter were very friendly. We had accidentally dialed the wrong KOA phone number and had made reservations at another KOA, 30 miles farther away. The lady at the counter went out of her way to call them for us and asked that they not charge us the cancellation fee. There was a pool and a little arcade inside the office, but not much grassy area for kids to play. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com