220584 User submitted reviews online!!
Great Escape RV Park & Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 37 user reviews. Phone: (660) 584-2649
CGID1612

Great Escape RV Park & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
52
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   9   9   10   4   6   7   5   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$28
Pleasantly surprised to find this park. Easy on and off location from I70, quiet, great Wi-Fi. Beautiful new pool, 2 large fishing lakes. Clean and very nice eye appeal. Large sites with fenced dog park. And nice managers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$28
We rely on these reviews when choosing where to stay and can't understand why anyone would have a problem with this park. I can only assume that you can't please everyone. We stayed at this park several years ago and the new owners have made a lot of improvements since then. We pulled in last night, set up, took a walk around the park and then went down to the new pool. Wow! Beautiful pool area with a nice deck. They also have 2 fishing ponds and a nice sized dog run. Wi-Fi was fast and consistent. We had no problems with electric at all, and the sites are relatively level. Restroom/shower rooms were some of the cleanest I've ever seen, as was the laundry in the same building. They have put in some new, spacious sites in the back of the park (which is pretty quiet considering the park is close to I-70) and we have been told they are going to upgrade the older sites in front making them a lot wider (they are a little snug if you have multiple slides). The owners are really nice people who make sure you are comfortable. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$28
GPS had us make a wrong turn (campground is on west side of Highway 13 (Exit 49 off I-70) so don't make that left turn towards Super 8 Motel). Glad we stopped. Despite being close to I-70 it was surprisingly quiet. Our site was level and hook-ups were perfectly situated. WI-FI reception was excellent. Campground staff was very friendly and helpful. The park is well maintained and the view of the ponds in the back is beautiful. The pool area is large with a beautiful composite wood deck area with a pergola. They just put in a large fenced dog park too. Even though the park is a little farther away from Kansas City than some other parks, we will definitely stay here again. It was worth the drive. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$28
This is a great campground close to the highway easy on and off with long and level sites great satellite reception and pet friendly (they even have a dogie park. The bathrooms are very clean and showers are spacious. The new addition from the last time we were here is the pool with a large deck. Oh, and I almost forgot about the ponds with great fishing. This is a great park to spend the weekend or longer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$28
This is the first stop on our trip. Easy on & off the highway location. Very friendly staff. We requested an open site for our satellite. They have a section with no trees for that reason. Our site was perfectly level, as were all the sites I saw on my walk through the park. My husband was happy to get out and fish. They have two good sized stocked ponds and we had a great fresh fish dinner that night. The new pool is awesome with a beautiful deck off of it. If you have a dog they have a new fenced dog park which was great for our pooch. The showers were so neat & clean and had great water pressure and abundant hot water. There are newer washers/dryers in the laundry room, which was also very clean. The WiFi was lightning fast, which is unusual at parks in my experience. We really enjoyed our stop at this park and plan to stop here on our way back home and stay a few days. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2014
$28
Be extremely careful when locating this RV Park, which is located right off the interstate. Our GPS told us to turn left, when we really should have turned to the right. That, of course, is no fault of the establishment. This campground has very little shade and most of the sites are not level. There is a swimming pool and a dog park. A small pond exists near the dog park, however, it is not clear as to whether or not it is part of the park. The electric is unstable and keeps tripping our breaker. The showers need the curtains replaced. There are four washers and four dryers, though one of the dryers is out of order. If you need a place to park for the night, this will do in a pinch. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$31
Overpriced, in my opinion, for the cramped conditions. Road noise very evident from I-70. Easy on and off the interstate. Many permanent road/utility workers. Only good for an overnight on the way to somewhere else. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$28
Clean restrooms, plenty of washers and dryers. Pool was closed Would stay here again, it was easy on and off the interstate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$28
Crowded sites. Highway noise. Lots of transient workers. Would not stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$28
Great campground. Park staff is friendly, pool is very clean (they even have pool toys available), bathrooms are the cleanest I have ever seen at a campground and it's great to have individual bathrooms w/showers. Although I didn't use the laundry, the room is kept very clean. Good water pressure and electric is spot on. It's nice to find a campground that doesn't discriminate against dog breeds too. Nice playground. I was surprised that there wasn't much highway noise. We didn't notice it at all. I will definitely come back to this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2013
$36
Very dusty, no rules for speed, empty beer cans at site, uncut grass. We had to unhook for the pull-through. No way a 45' motorhome can fit with it's toad attached. Mostly work campers. The 50 amp power was weak on one leg. Mature untrimmed tree's make it big rig unfriendly. I was here 5 years ago and it was really bad, but new ownership appeared to be improving the campground so that's why we gave it another chance. Won't return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$31
We stayed here a year ago, and the owners have made a lot of improvements since then. They finished the sites they were working on last year, have done some cleanup of the grounds (which look beautiful!), and are putting in additional sites in the lower level that will be close to 80' long. They are in the process of installing a swimming pool, which should be open before much longer. The only downside (for traveling folks like ourselves) is that, starting a week from now, they will only have 3-4 overnight sites due to pipeline workers moving in. Don't take me wrong, I think it's great for both the park owners and the pipeline workers. We just may not be able to get in next time we drive through this area, which is a bummer! This is just the type of rural campground/RV park we look for. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$28
Good park for an overnight. Easy on/off I-70, we couldn't hear any road noise. Looks like they are trying to re-do and improve some of the sites. Long, narrow pull-through sites, OK for Big Rigs, no shade. Good Wi-Fi at our site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$28
Good park for overnight, close to I-70. Level gravel sites, pull through sites long enough for big rig and toad. Lots of areas to walk dogs. Two ponds on park and some trees. Some sites are being redone, park needs a little TLC. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
We had a narrow and short FHU pull through site and parked the truck in another site. Spent 1 night here while traveling, easy on & off I-70. It was hot so we had the AC on and windows closed so XWAY traffic didn't bother us. Sprint cell & hotspot were very poor. Could not get CG Wi-Fi at our site. Laundry was very good & clean, $1.25 wash or dry, worked good. They are adding or improving several sites, sod is down, no pavement or gravel at those sites yet. A bit expensive otherwise OK for an overnight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$28
This campground is near our oldest daughter and her husband. There was reconstruction in process with the owner systematically taking out old concrete parking pads and removing gravel and rock to replace the old pads with concrete and plant grass. They have a great place to walk the dogs and a catch and release fishing pond, although we didn't take advantage. It is near the interstate but we never noticed any noise. They have a great Wi-Fi connection and we didn't miss the cable since we have a satellite. The owners were friendly and we definitely plan on staying here again when we visit family. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
This was a handy park right off the I-70. It was OK as an overnight park, but general impression was 'shabby'. The owners are trying to do right by it, but first impressions stick. Sites were weedy. In the past they had concrete 'strips' to park on. Now they are mostly broken making the sites uneven. Wi-Fi was good. In a pinch we would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$31
OK for an overnight stay but it would not be a destination. Some trees, lots of interstate noise however. As per most campgrounds in the lower 48, no privacy between sites. Wi-Fi was sketchy since they reportedly lost their transmitter during a storm a few days ago. No cable tv and no antenna reception. I don't know about satellite since ours is not connected. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$27
O.K. for overnight, but upper camp area very noisy from right by interstate. A sound barrier fence might help. Friendly lady owner says has had campground 3 years and are slowly fixing it up. Indeed the bathhouse and laundry are very clean and have all new fixtures. The sites are dirt-gravel, no grass, and some old concrete drive strips at some sites. The 30 amp at my site didn't work, but the 50 amp did and a 50/30 amp adapter worked for me. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$22
Good place for stop over while on I-70. Watch the turn off as it is right next to the East Bound I-70 exit (If your going west) ramp, you miss it, you'll drive 18 miles to turn around. Cleanest restrooms we've seen on our trip. Good laundry. RV pads are still a little broken up but they are ok. 30 amp breaker tripped when I ran the microwave; had to shut A/C off to do that. Owners were very friendly. This is a small park. If you stay for an extended period, ask about staying down on lower section behind laundry/shower building. Good Sam Discount on price. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
I intended to stay at a different park some distance away, but it was full. I was very happy to see the sign for this park. It's right off I-70, but the noise wasn't bad inside. My spot was fairly level. Lady in the office was nice. WiFi worked good in my spot. No cable TV, but I got several stations with a cable box. Nice park for a stop-over. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$28
What a great place to stay. The owners are wonderful people. We had a problem with an electric short in our rig and they sent their maintenance guy over. He found a loose wire in the panel and fixed it for us: no charge. We only stayed for 1 night on our way west but plan to spend a few days relaxing here on our way home. Bath/Shower rooms were so clean and I was impressed with the new laundry equipment. They are getting rid of all the concrete strips on the pull-through sites which is good because they are starting to break up. My husband caught several large bass in the pond. He had a good time fishing. The Wi-Fi reception was very good at our site. Hope the pool is in by the time we return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
Not bad for being right on the interstate. The sites below the brown house were farther away from the interstate and quieter. The Wi-Fi was free but flakey. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
This is an adequate overnight stop. Be wary of the crumbling concrete pads in several of the sites. These are spaced at wheel width but they are disintegrating and can interfere with leveling. On the positive side, the park is quiet and has a little lake that is available for fishing. Do buy gas at the truck stop across the highway, but be careful of the crumbling concrete in the entrance to the diesel pumps. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2009
$26
This park is under new ownership. The owners live in a house at the front of the property. Already there are new facilities being built and more land being bought to expand the park. There are some permanent, older trailers which you may find unattractive. I enjoyed my stay here. It is convenient, just off I-70 exit 49. I must emphasize that the park is quiet. If you pass through Higginsville from the north, buy gas in town as it is much less expensive than the stations at the Interstate, as of October of 2009. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2009
$25
This is strictly a stop-over park. We stayed here on our way west. Although we did not use the laundry or bathrooms they could of been cleaner. It was obvious that the toilets had not been cleaned in awhile since there was pink lines where the water ran down the bowl. The showers however looked clean. The washing machines hadn't been cleaned in awhile either. Granted we were here during a cold spell, the grounds really need some TLC. The sewer connection is about 6" above the ground making dumping a little difficult. We would only stay here again if we were in the area and only for the night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
On I-70 just east of Kansas City. Some highway noise. Very friendly owners. Nice long spaces. Fishing Ponds. Good WIFI. Nicest restrooms that I have seen in 13 years of full timing. Full rooms with toilet, shower, and sink. Pilot truck stop nearby. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$24
Nice small park with easy access to interstate. Not too much road noise considering it's location. Sites fairly level, owners friendly and helpful. We stopped on our way to SD and on the return trip. Higginsville has a nice little country restaurant as well as fast food. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$28
New owners purchased this park in August 2008. They plan to complete major improvements. They have completed an on-site meeting room, game room and club house. Very friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful scenic surroundings with two ponds, densely populated trees and grass areas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
This stop was not planned in advance...we consulted our Trailer Life book and found this park was in the vicinity of where we wanted to stop. How lucky for us. We were in a flat site right behind the bath house which had toilet/shower/sink units. They were clean and uncrowded. Laundry was nice but we didn't use it. There was a very large pond in which our older grandson could fish--a definite positive. It was quiet for us with our A/C running even thought the Interstate was close by. We would stop here again. More improvements are planned for this park to make it even more enjoyable. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2008
$25
A very easy in and out park. Great place for an overnight stop along I-70. The recent new owner is making progress on upgrading. I would definitely stay here again. (800) 690-2267 We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$28
Owners very friendly and attentive. Seems that they purchased the campground only 2 weeks ago. Great potential, and I saw a lot of activity around the grounds showing upgrades and improvements. I talked with the lady owner, who stated that they were putting in a swimming pool and Many upgrades. I found the experience all in all very pleasant. Good luck to the new owners and thank you for a great trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2007
$28
When we arrived the office was closed and was closed when we left, never saw management. NO WIFI, not much of anything:looks like it is going downhill fast. I would pass on this one! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$24
This camp has potential. A little clean up and it will be fine. Managers very hard to contact and don't return calls. No WiFi. Our site was level and on concrete strips. Lots of spaces and we were here on Labor Day weekend. Easy on and off of I70, a little freeway noise but over all I was OK with the camp. I would use this camp in the future, makes good base camp for north western Missouri attractions. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2007
$26
This park is in definite need of some maintenance. It is like it is on autopilot with no one manning the office or seen anywhere. You just fill out a form and drop your money in a slot. Some people didn't have the exact change. Power at a few sites not working at all and no one to help fixing it. I stole power from the empty site next to me. It doesn't look like any time is spent on the upkeep and the showers\bathrooms look like they hadn't been cleaned in a few days. Too much money for what you got. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$20
Excellent park for short stay while traveling I-70 between KC and St Louis. Close to truck stop and groceries. Easy in and easy out traffic pattern. Good big rig sites and pull thru sites. Allows rig washing for $5 on all gravel sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2002
$22
Nice overnight park. Easy on/off interstate. Family owned - well kept We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com