206628 User submitted reviews online!!
The Campus RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 69 user reviews. Phone: (816) 254-1815
CGID1614

The Campus RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
November 2013
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   7   8   6   5   6   6   9   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$28
This is a very nice park in Independence within walking distance to the old Truman district. Lots to see and do. Good Wi-Fi, no cable, but there are lots of local stations. Very nice staff. It is not fancy, but there is not much around. Lots of places to run the dog as well. We will definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
Nice park. Kind of out of the way if you're traveling the Interstate, but close to Truman Library. Good Wi-Fi and TV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$30
Our time here was okay. It is small, no frills, but clean. Nice that campground was close to KC attractions and family. The only thing not great about it was the trains. It is about one block from Amtrak train station and all night and day trains blow their horns. I had to wear earplugs at night. Staff was friendly. Laundry room only had 3 washers and 2 dryers so had to wait to use them sometimes. They cost $1 per load. We had a level concrete pad for our 36 foot RV. We put the tow dolly in front of unit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
Place is clean. Spots on concrete and level. No cable but you get several stations over the air on antenna. They just installed new Wi-Fi system which works at least as far as spot 22. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
The rate is a weekly rate per day. The pros are: it is close to the Truman Center and to KC. Nice concrete level sites. Cons. No cable TV as advertised on web site. Wi-Fi is spotty at best. Trains come by about every 20 minutes day and night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$28
We have stayed at this park before and always liked it. However, we were very disappointed this time. There was a sign in the office that they no longer had cable available, but they made no adjustment in the price. We could not get Wi-Fi connection either. I think that varies with how close you are to the office. The trains were very noisy and seemed to come more than once an hour all night long. The location is great, but we probably will try to find another park in the KC area next time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$28
We're an Australian family of 2 parents and 4 kids, RVing for the first time. We spent 2 nights at the Campus RV park in a 28' class C. The major pluses: Short walk to central Independence, and hourly buses from there to Kansas City (route 24); every thing worked well, and there were no hassles. The major minuses: The general feel was quite austere, with most sites being reverse in, in close side-by-side proximity; shower stalls difficult to attain privacy as curtains often blowing around; toilet/shower building a little basic, but not dirty as such. Overall, quite bleak and basic; but its walking proximity to attractions and public transit meant that we did not spend much time in the RV park anyway. Given the inexpensive price, we would stay again if we were needing a site in the Kansas City area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$27
Park is OK but nothing special. Voltage was good, but water pressure fluctuated. It was hot and dry which is not their fault but they do not water any of the grass at the RV sites. It is close to all the Truman attractions which was the reason we were here for a week. We would probably look elsewhere if back in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
Close to everything. Spotless grounds. Wide open spaces. An outdoor fitness "garden." Level, concrete pads. Clean restrooms and laundry. Would give it a 10, but had poor Wi-Fi reception. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$31
Bathrooms in need of remodeling. For example, one toilet in Men's bathroom was leveled using wooden shims. Laundry room acceptable with 3 washers/3 dryers. Some train whistle noise at night. Most sites in one long line. Sites a little narrow when slideouts and awnings are used. Sites are level. Very poor cable TV, but it is going to be discontinued. Wi-Fi poor - kept dropping off for basic email. Did feel safe here and owners were friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
We stayed here for 3 nights. The website instructions for coming from I-435 uses Truman Rd, (Hwy 12), which has some low clearances of 12’ 9” on the route. The instructions for access from I-70 take you through a downtown like area, which although tedious with stop signs every block, gets you there without any low obstructions or difficult turns. I would recommend always approaching from I-70. The sites are almost all back-ins, but the roadway is very wide giving you an easy approach and set-up to back in. The sites are 45’ long concrete pads, which are nice, but it was a slight problem with our 41’ 5th wheel, having to park our tow vehicle across the front of the rig on the roadway. The staff are very helpful. Our site had a bad electrical breaker on the 50 amp circuit which they fixed right away. The RV park is right beside a city sports park with baseball and soccer fields, which make for a nice walking area. The website lists a dog run, but it is really nothing but a large dog pen, with no room for anything other than a miniature dog to exercise. There is an excellent HyVee grocery store a few miles south on Noland Rd, just south of I-70. The internet is unreliable; major problems connecting and no guarantee of staying connected. When you are connected, it is pitifully slow. For the 3 days of our stay, it worked a couple of hours. There are several train tracks running through town,with trains blowing their horns with great abandon, although none of the tracks are close by. The rate reflects the Escapee Discounted rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$27
Campground is located in a working class residential area which involves narrow streets and many turns. Layout is unusual but does not feel overly crowded. Our site had a level cement pad and adequate space between trailers. Free cable worked fine. Wi-fi was free, but I could not get it to work. The fellow in the office was friendly and helpful. We paid about $27 with Good Sam discount. There was some noise from passing trains, but we slept well. Satisfactory for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$26
A spacious campground . All back in sites and sewer location at very back of site can make sewer hook-up a "stretch". Cable TV is erratic and at times useless. Directions recommended by managers can result in troublesome turns and "low bridge" issues for longer and higher motor homes/fifth wheels . If we visit the campground again we'll take Noland Road off I-70 ,approach the campground off Walnut and Pleasant Streets and enter the campground off Pleasant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$26
Good Sam rate reflected. In the city, but not really hard at all to get to. Nice park, and it's right downtown. Walking distance to some attractions, short drive to any store you can imagine from Wal-Mart to huge mall shopping. 15 minutes to Arrowhead and Royals stadiums. Only a couple pull through that the management is presently installing, but the back in sites have tons of room to get you square before you even get into the site. Hookups all in good repair. Would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
Staff was friendly however, when we checked in the man said the site you are assigned has never had a rig your size in it. Our space was short and we had to park our car somewhat in the road. Water pressure was horrible. Hookups were placed correctly and everything else worked fine. No fire pits and campsites are extremely close. This campground is very close to the Truman sites in Independence. Trains, trains and more trains all day and night. I want to give this CG a better review but there were to many negatives. I would not use this park for more than an overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$26
Very nice RV park for sight-seeing in this vicinity. GPS and Escapee's Book have bad directions. If you come here, ask manager best way to come. Escapees price was $26.70/night. Clean and very quiet park. Every now and then you can hear a train horn in the distance, but it is not very loud - just background noise. You have to drive through some fairly narrow streets from interstate but it is doable. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
We had a great site with a big shade tree. Sites are level, but a little too close together. The people were very friendly and we would definitely stay there again. Restrooms are clean and handy and the area is beautiful and historic. Most of the area attractions are within easy bicycling distance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$27
We've stayed here before. It is the perfect place if you want to park your RV in an easily accessible location with level, paved sites and full hook-ups. The facilities are clean and well-kept, the staff is friendly and helpful. Access to the greater community is easy. This is not a place to come if you are looking for a beautiful view, but if you want to park for a few days and travel into the greater KC area for a convention or to see some of the local sites, this RV Park is perfect. If we need to be in the KC area again, we will stay here. It's a great RV Park. By the way, late afternoon/evening shade in almost all sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
Located 10 miles east of Kansas City, Mo. In historical town of Independence, Mo. Full hook-ups with cable and free WiFi. The WiFi was rather weak where we were but became stronger near the office. We loved the area for it’s small town atmosphere and convenience to attractions. Sites were level and asphalt with small grassy area. The restrooms and showers were clean. Laundry room rather small and hot. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$29
WI-FI 4.3 down, 4.7 up. No codes to connect. Water connection tight, electric (30 amp for me) steady, nicely engineered dump receiver. No leveling needed. Sites are close together so slide of 5th wheeler beside me would have extended to my site picnic table if table sited differently. Very clean, groomed park. Surface is good pavement for trucks and RV's, thick grass between sites. Mostly 5th wheelers and up. This campground is part of a park with public activities ongoing, a PAR course, outdoor auditorium and significant camper storage. Management very pleasant and efficient. My rate is Good Sam discount. For touring Independence and KC, exceptional location. Laundry nicely done and marked. Noise was not an issue. I down rated for two of three men's shower heads were not working well and next site sewer connection was within 8 feet of my site picnic table. Up rate for the only campground in 11 this year that has a practical, usable recycling container (aluminum can). Net 10-2+1=9. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$26
This is a great park if you're sightseeing in Independence; everything you want to see is close by. Even though it is "in the city" the park itself seems rather isolated from the city once you are inside. As for getting inside, it is important to note that the park entrance is on Pacific NOT on South Pleasant (that's the exit). Pay attention to the directions on the park's website; the streets in the area are narrow and the turns are tight. The train noise does go on all night, but with the heat outside we had the windows closed, the A/C's on and didn't find it objectionable. The sites are fairly tight, but plenty long enough. The roads, parking pads and picnic table areas are concrete and the areas between are thick, and nicely mowed, grass. Our price reflects an Escapees Club rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
All hookups worked fine and there was good phone service. Sites are close but when used as a base for sight seeing it is not a problem. The biggest issue here is the train noise. The tracks are close to the campground and the trains run all night. The train horn noise is loud. Would be a 9 if not for the trains. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$29
Great level sites and quiet park right near historic downtown Independence. Easy to get to tourist activities in the Kansas City area. Lots of grass for walking the dog and a storm shelter was available. Satellite service was good, as well as Verizon cell service and air card. There is a bit of train noise but it's at a distance, so it wasn't a problem. We would definitely stay here again if we wanted to visit Kansas City. We paid the Good Sam rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$28
Small and well kept park in the heart of Independence, MO, which is a history buffs bonanza. Great hook-ups and nice pads surrounded by lawn. There is a softball field and walking track. Nice folks run the place and because it is a small park I would suggest reservations as it seems to be full at all times. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$29
Showers are moldy around the bottom. Quiet location, great dogwalking, level concrete pads. Recommend the mule drawn wagon tour of Independence very highly. We would overnight here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$28
This is very nice campground. It is very quiet. You can walk to downtown Independence and several historic sites. The staff is very courteous. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
Very convenient access to historic sites at Independence. Coming from North, manager's directions take you through town along route 24 ( Truman Ave.). There's a low bridge ( 13' 10") on this route, and for big rigs, a right turn that requires you to take up the whole street you're turning onto. Overall a pleasant older park with lots of dog walk space, good level of services and a park we'll visit again. Much easier access from I-70. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
This is a nice place near downtown. Level, fairly wide concrete pads with some grassy yard. Easy full hook ups with cable. Owners very friendly and helpful. We stayed there for 10 days to see the San A Calogon days fair, hit the spa-about 40 minute drive and just general site seeing. Showers and laundry were excellent. Will stay there when ever in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$28
There are so many great things about this site. First, the staff - always friendly smiles and a warm welcome. Second, it's close enough to walk to a lot of interesting historic attractions. And if you don't feel like walking, you can take the trolley for $1 Monday through Saturday for a tour around historic Independence, MO. The trolley comes by right outside the RV park about every 20-30 minutes, and it's as convenient as it is entertaining. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$27
This is a great park for touring Independence. It is located within walking distance of downtown. The people are very nice and helpful and have coupons for discounts at all the attractions. The restrooms and showers were very clean, but need updating. You can do a load of laundry for a dollar for the wash and a dollar for drying. Follow the directions on the web site, not how your GPS will take you. All site are paved with picnic tables. This is just s very good basic campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$28
Great hosts who helped me out with an air compressor. Our site was a very shaded back-in which helped during a hot spell. I agree with the other reviews, as it being centrally located and within walking distance to all of the major Truman sites. Unfortunately the Wi-Fi was out during the entire time, digital TV reception was okay. We would definitely return to this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$29
Very clean park in the middle of a wonderful historic town. Huge lawn area. Friendly staff. Excellent Wi-Fi. Train was barely noticeable at all, even outside. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$28
Clean, neat RV park in a park. Good full hook-ups, Wi-Fi and TV. Level sites on concrete pads with grass between sites. Trees at rear of site. Very convenient to attractions and the "Truman Trolley" stops nearby so you can do them without a car. Lots of restaurants nearby. Helpful staff offered lots of coupons. Suggest a reservation in summer - very full. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$27
Very accommodating owners. Park is very well kept and is located in the heart of the site-seeing are of Independence. Strong free WiFi signal at the site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$27
We stayed 6 nights here to visit the sites in Independence and Kansas City. The Truman home and museum and the National Trails Museum were within walking distance but not when the temps are 95 - so we drove. Level cement pads, picnic tables on each site, The campground along with the showers, bathrooms and laundry room were clean and well maintained and the office management was friendly and helpful. Yes, there are trains but after the first night I did not hear them. Would we stay here again? Yes, absolutely. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$29
I stayed here 3 days. Park has very friendly hosts and it's clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$28
This park is in the city, therefore there is railroad and police noise during the evening. Otherwise the campground itself is nice and quiet. You need to back into a site as there are no pull through's. You do park on concrete which is very level, with a small patch of grass between sites. Convenient to local attractions: you can even walk to some. Laundry was clean, but had a musty odor. Has FHUs with 50 amps and cable TV. Verizon air card and cell worked fine. Has very friendly staff. There is not much for children to do on site: no clubhouse or activities. We would stay again if touring the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2010
$29
This RV park is open year round. A place to stop on our way south and again on our way north. Entrance is a little difficult, a turn and up hill. Sites are concrete slab, back-in sites. Some long term residents live in this RV park. The staff when we checked in did not know how to apply a Good Sam's discount to our registration. No recreation, but a place to stop for an overnight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$25
A convenient place to park near the center of Independence and that's about it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$26
Good spot to do sightseeing in Independence and Kansas City - convenient to all. Fair price, nice laundry ($1.00 for wash or dry), iffy free Wi-Fi. Close but long spots to fit any rig, car in front. Not for recreational opportunities at the campground or long stays for vacation, but perfect for sightseeing base to local areas. Safe area right in the middle of the historic district of Independence. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$25
Nice quiet campground in a good location. Very large, long sites. Plenty of sites good for satellite. Convenient to historic features and shopping. Pleasant folks in the office. We also used it as a base to visit Kansas City, especially BBQ restaurants. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2009
$28
An expensive cement slab in a tightly packed parking lot. Convenient to Independence and Kansas City tourist sites. Nothing for kids on-site. Hosts are nice enough, but not especially friendly. Ask for clarification of extra charges at check-in so to not be surprised afterward. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$24
This is a great campground for visiting all the sites and attractions in the area. All sites and roads are paved, good hook-ups, nice clean bath and laundry rooms. Sites are back in but big enough for any rig. If you use your GPS it will bring you in some small narrow side streets, call the park and they will give you directions that keep you on the larger streets. If in the area again this is where we will stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2009
$25
This campground is in the middle of the city and the city roads are narrow and hard to maneuver. All sites are back in with concrete pads. I would not recommend this park to anyone unless they needed to stay close to downtown Independence, Missouri. There are no activities or pool. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$29
This is a small Campground that is in the downtown section of Independence. It is close to the Truman Library and Museum and that is why we chose to stay here. The office staff is friendly and helpful both in checking-in and parking. They have cement parking areas that are adequate to handle bigger units without putting you on top of each other. The doggy run is a nice walk from the parking areas. You do get train noise and sirens but the convenience of location is offset by those. The directions in Trailer Life need to be followed to the letter to find your way in from the freeway. We stayed for two days and by the time we left, we found our own way out and back to I-70. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$27
This park is convenient to the historic sites in Independence and Kansas City. Although there are no pull-through sites, there are adequate, level, paved back-in sites with a comfortable distance between the sites. A freight train, blowing its whistle at several crossings nearby, is a common occurrence and may be bothersome to light sleepers. The park was clean and the staff was friendly. We stayed here five nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$28
Very convenient to the Truman Library and Independence. The folks who run the CG are very nice. All sites are back-in and you have about 4 miles of city driving to get to the CG but worth it for the price and convenience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$26
Good clean metro park with limited facilities. The restrooms and showers are very clean. The campground is located on church property and therefore security seems okay. The park's location is within walking distance for many of the Independence attractions. When in the KC area, we will stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$36
We stay at this park two or three times a year and, in our opinion, it is the best park for visiting Kansas City. It is clean and well managed. Do make reservations or you may end up in an upper overflow area which is far less desirable. The hook-ups are conveniently located for most RVs in the regular sites. I think the train problem is overstated by other reviewers. The WiFi is weak, so we used a USB WiFi device with it's own antenna instead of the internal laptop WiFi card. We like this park pretty well and consider it reasonable accommodations, but not a destination. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$25
This campground is only a short walk from historic Independence, less than a mile from Truman's home and about 2 miles from the library/museum. The Community of Christ's big temple is right nearby, although the park is affiliated with another church. The bath houses were older but very clean. There's a laundry. We heard trains well into the night. The sites are open with grass in between. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2008
$25
This is a no frills campground conveniently located in Independence. We visited the Truman museum and home. All sites are back-in and close to the adjoining space. It is clean and well maintained. There are picnic tables, but I'd be hesitant to grill as smoke would surely drift into the next rig. It is owned and operated by the large church at the entrance. The dogs were easily walked around the property. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$25
We could have given this nice campground a better rating except for the TRAINS. 2:00am, 3:00am you name it. Keep your conductor hat and overheat air conditioner on all night and you can survive. Very convenient to charming Independence. Worth the stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$24
No frills park; friendly staff and locals; paved sites but grass in between is sparse and can be muddy if it rains; Wi-Fi gets weak as you move away from the office; trains run all hours and are blow horns. We stayed a week to see Truman and pioneer sites; also near Liberty and Jesse James Farm. Kansas City is a drive but not inconvenient. We have been here before and will come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$27
We stayed here overnight on our way. It is a good park owned by a church. Nothing fancy but we don't need fancy. Good voltage and water pressure. Good park to use when exploring the attractions of the area. We would stay here whenback in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$23
We enjoyed staying at this park. The staff was friendly and accommodating. We had to change our reservation dates a couple of times due to a family illness, and the lady that handled the reservations was most gracious and helpful. We will stay here again when we are in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2007
$25
Nice park with comfortable sized sites. The lady in the office is the friendliest and most informative of any we've run across. Easy access to see the sights in the neighborhood and in Kansas City. The rate is good and discounts are given for Good Sam and Escapees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
We made reservations over 1 year in advance for the Nascar race weekend. We called again to double check reservations and were told they have us in spot number 4 which is the first lot at the entrance. After the first night stay we took our motorhome with us to the race then returned to find another camper parked and set up in our number 4 lot. After I spoke to the ladie at office, they moved us to lot 3. This was a surprise at 9:00pm. The Campground has small lots and I counted 6 trains blowing their whistles about every 2 hours, waking us up. I could not get Wi-Fi at campsite 3 or 4. If noise bothers you while you sleep: DONT STAY HERE. Otherwise it was clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
This was a strange but nice rv park. It appears to have been part of a city park which has seen better days. The majority of the sites are back-ins with picnic tables and concrete pads. They are fairly level, but some are only 30 amp. There are some pull-thru spaces on an asphalt parking lot, but they have no sewer. The host was very nice and helpful. This is a convenient location for visiting the Truman Library and home. It would also be close to Kansas City baseball or football games. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$26
The managers are outstanding! I had phoned ahead, and the owner was waiting for me at my site number to assist in any way. Everything there was very clean. We visited with the owners to find out about the local area. They were very helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$29
Nice place for a 1 or 2 night stay. Not kid friendly. Office staff was nice and helpful with directions to restaurants and to the park. The only complaint we had was the distance from the interstate for our short stay. Sites were level and easy to get into. Not much to do in Independence. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$24
This is a small, extremely well maintained campground within the city. Individual concreted parking areas. The staff were friendly and responsive. This is also an ideal location if visiting the Truman Library and home. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$25
A little hard to get to. Must follow wed-site instructions because of the one-ways and dead end streets. It is right in the middle of historic downtown independence. A great place to stay when in Independence, MO. The staff was excellent. We were in site #1, cement pad, WI-FI was great. All sites are back-in's. I would recommend staying here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$25
Really nice campground. Staff very friendly. Excellent WIFI (free). Be sure to follow campground directions to park GPS will get you in trouble... Best place to stay to tour President Truman sites.. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$25
Sites could be a wider. Not much room between sites to enjoy your evening outdoors without looking in on your neighbors rig. Overall this is a great Rv Park. Staff is very friendly and will do anything to make your stay enjoyable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$17
We had water and electric only. No shade, but a staff member guided us in and the lady in the office had answers to all our questions, maps to everywhere and really knew her town and local sites. We would enjoy staying there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$24
A delightful small park almost in the heart of historic Independence. Cheerful, friendly on-site management, very few long-term sites. Sites very level, but not especially wide. Good proximity to all the historic and religious attractions. Before we checked in, park manager called us during a severe thunderstorm to make sure we were ok, and to assure us that the storm was blowing over and not affecting the park - nice touch. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$16
The full-hook up sites were full so we had to park in the over flow area. Had only W&E - no cable and the wi-fi did not reach there. Owners were very friendly and helpful. A little hard to get into because of some dead end streets. Very quiet. Close to the historic area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$23
This park is very nice, most sites are cement and are very clean. Park has a very large pool that has a bad leak. Pool will be removed from service. Staff is very nice, you have a large ball field on grounds. Park is full most of the time. Some noise from train. Park is a great place to see Independence and Kansas City from. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$20
This park was a great place to spend time. The staff was very nice and a lot of help. Park has a very large pool, large play grounds, nice pads to park on, and green grass around each site. Park is close to down town part of Independence. We plan to return in the future. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com