206873 User submitted reviews online!!
Joplin KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 52 user reviews. Phone: (417) 623-2246
CGID1616

Joplin KOA

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$31



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   9   9   5   9   8   7   9   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$31
Sites are fairly level gravel, bathrooms and laundry were clean. However, the park is close to the interstate so there is always traffic noise, which may be a problem for some, depending on which site you are in. Wi-Fi worked okay during the day, but toward evening it bogged down and became unusable. We have a camper van so we reserved water/electric only site. After checking in we asked the owner where the dump station was. He said he didn't have one since it was damaged by a MH; KOA wanted him to repair it but he was refusing. We asked for a discount based on no dump station, but he refused, saying the price he gave us was the lowest he'd give. We have not had positive experiences over the years at KOAs and this one was disappointing. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$44
We stayed here to be near my wife's mother while she was in the final days of her life. We didn't know how long we would need to stay, and the staff at KOA could not have been more understanding and helpful. The campground is clean, and neat, and very easy to get to from I-44. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$37
We loved this park! The staff was helpful. Even though the park is next to a busy truck stop, the park is quiet. The spaces were large in comparison to other parks. We will definitely stop here on all of our cross country treks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2012
$40
Great location for overnight stop. Wi-Fi, cable TV, Verizon card good. Long spots, fuel spots close. Easy on and off Hwy. Water collected after heavy rain between sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$44
A good KOA which we have visited several times. Clean, well-laid out, well-managed. Clean bathrooms. Friendly staff. Easy-in and easy-out for any size rig. The east side of the park, which we prefer, has many mature trees, but they do not hinder maneuverability and they add atmosphere. Sites on the west side of the park have no trees and are close enough to a truck stop to hear the somewhat muted rumble of trucks 24 hours a day, even though a privacy fence provides a barricade. We recommend this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$52
Arrived late - after registration but an envelope with our name on it was clearly left on the office door with everything we needed inside including Wi-Fi pass codes. Sites were long enough for our coach (+towing), didn't even have to unhook. It was a gravel park but well-maintained. Laundry area was clean, nothing fancy but clean and served its purpose. Pool was warm and clean. Kids liked the playground; but they loved the fishing pond. Kids got up extra early the next morning to feed the ducks on the pond. Very easy in-easy out right off I-44. Petro and Pilot truck stops right across street to fuel plus a few restaurants, including Subway which was convenient to pick up some healthy subs to go for later on down the road. Overall a good experience. Staff very friendly and helpful. If you are passing through, don't hesitate to stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$44
Easy entry from I-44. Easy in/out pull through site. Easy hook up for utilities. The ducks and babies were cute. Worked for a overnight stop We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$40
The FHU section is far enough away from the road to not hear a thing. The owners are very nice. The sites are good size and angled with trees. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$33
We stayed here for one weekday night in early November. We had a a FHU, pull-through site with cable TV (40 channels). As has been happening to us a lot lately, we were unable to connect to the Wi-Fi in the evening but were able to do so the next morning. It might be that folks are hopping on the internet earlier as it gets dark earlier. It is too bad that this park got some bad reviews during the summer when the park was primarily used by people staying at the park because of the terrible tornado Joplin experienced earlier in the year. Many sites are in the trees but there are some that are satellite friendly. Most sites are pull-through and there are a variety of hook-up combinations (varying amperage, cable or not, W&E only, etc.). The park could use more laundry and bath facilities for 100 sites. The park is family oriented with a pool, a playground, a duck and fishing pond, and a basketball court. Good park for an overnight or a few days to relax or tour the area. Yes, you can hear the interstate traffic but it is not as close or bad as at some parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$40
I stayed here for 1 day. Campground elevation is 1,019 feet. Maneuvering my 40 footer towing a dinghy was no problem. Roads and sites are gravel, & my patio was concrete with furniture. Site spacing is good. My upgraded site 659 offered 30/50 amp service & full hookups. WI-FI and cable were included in daily rate. I was able to receive AT&T Wireless G3 Internet & Cellular service. I received Dish Network 110/119 Satellite TV from dish on roof of motorhome. Campground is pet friendly. Staff was friendly. Walmart was 6 miles away and Dillons Grocery was 6 miles. I am unable to comment on other amenities due to not using them. Nice open campground. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$42
We have no complaints about this park and, in fact, we commend the owners for their friendly helpfulness. We had transmission trouble and they helped us locate a vehicle dealer for repairs and offered to drive us to a car rental agency. The campground was clean and well-maintained and the bathrooms and showers were clean and odor-free. We have stayed here in prior years, too, and have always been very pleased. In those prior years, the ratings were 7, 8, and 9—that’s why we started using this park. (If you read my reviews of other parks, you will see that we are picky, so if the Joplin KOA were deficient, we would say so.) The 2011 low ratings may have been because of many tornado workers camping at the park. We recommend this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2011
$42
We have stayed here a few times in previous years but this year the park looked especially rough. While improvements have been made to the playground, it seems most of the rest of the park has been used heavily lately. We are not sure how much of the unsightliness is the result of the spring floods of 2011, but this park looked much more like a long timer mobile home park than a family geared camping park. Fine for an overnight but would not stay any longer than necessary. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2011
$31
This park has the worst, most disgusting bathhouse I have ever seen! It smells terrible and is filthy and has no water pressure at all. I was unable to get clean during my entire stay there. If you only use your own bathroom this may not matter. If you need the parks bathroom, BEWARE it is gross! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$42
This park has several nice features, including lighted pedestals at some sites, full cable TV, pizza made on-site, and a good selection of activities and playground equipment for kids. The sites were level and the campground easily accessible from I-44. The pool was large enough and refreshing, with up-scale wicker and iron furniture. It puzzled us that there were so many costly and lovely upgrades, while the restrooms and showers were so in such disgusting condition. How much can it cost to replace moldy vinyl shower curtains? There was also mold on the ceilings and walls, and a nasty smell. Granted, the campground was full at the time with tornado-relief workers, and that may have contributed to the unkempt state of the restrooms in general, but the moldy curtains and ceilings obviously were there regardless of the number of campers. For us, the condition of the restrooms overshadowed the rest of the campground, which is actually quite lovely - as long as you use your own RV bathroom and shower. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
Ok for just passing through. Camped here before the big storm, so really do not know what shape it is in now. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
Large park with long pull throughs. Office staff very helpful and accommodating even after the Joplin tornado. We were well taken care of. Clean park. Good experience. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$35
Nice park. Friendly staff with assistance parking. Easy access from I-44 exit 4 also from US 71 (we came from south along US 71). Location is very close to unique casino at I-44 exit 1, where enter casino grounds in Missouri, parking lot is in Kansas, and casino building is in Oklahoma. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2011
$35
Park was fine, but don't get conned when they try to sell you "nice pizza, delivered to your site". You'll get a very low quality little frozen pizza that will cost you $12. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2010
$42
Had a nice long, level site. WiFi worked pretty good. The lady in the office was not friendly at all. Way over-priced park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$36
Wide sites, friendly people running the place including a friendly owner. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2010
$43
The park and pool at Fisher's KOA, Joplin are well kept. The cable and internet access codes did not work. We were not given a shady site as promised and the staff were rude when asked to relocate us. These folks need to learn some people skills. We will never camp there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$36
Right off the interstate. Long level gravel sites. Shaded. Couldn't get my cable to work but believe that was my problem. Also, had to change internet security settings to access wifi. Good signal once I got it. Plenty of gas stations right next door. Trucker's stopping place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
My wife liked the park, but it is typical KOA (keep on adding). Sites are gravel and not really level. No trash pickup. Over night stop OK. If you use the Oklahoma turnpike remember if you take of $75.00 for fuel you will need two credit cards. Using the same card twice tells them you are using a stolen card. Joplin, would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$42
This is much better than most KOAs: in fact, much better than most RV parks. It is a clean, well laid-out park with many mature trees, but they do not hinder maneuverability of big rigs, easy in and easy out. There is grass and plenty of space between sites. Nice landscaping around the park. The staff is friendly and helpful. The bathrooms are very clean and attractively decorated. There are even baskets with cloth hand towels on the lavatory counter (and an electric hand dryer, if you prefer). The park has a nice pool and playground and bikes to rent. WiFi and cable TV were good. There is some highway noise, but it did not bother us at our site in the rear of the park. We like this park very much and will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$42
This was a nice place to stay. The family who operates the park was extremely friendly and helpful. Our kids loved feeding the fish and turtles in the pond. You have to pay an additional $5 for a fire ring and firewood, but that seems to be a fairly typical price for a bundle of firewood. The picnic table was small, so we ate inside our RV. Overall, we liked this campground and would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2010
$35
The day before we arrived, they had a 12" snowfall, and it had all melted. They had a major water problem and a lot of the sites were under water. The kid that escorted us to the site, put us in one that was under water and we protested. He was unwilling to move us, so we started to move on our own. Eventually an adult allowed us to move where it was drier. Also, it was so close to interstate and a truck stop that the noise was objectionable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$36
Park is really easy access from I-44. If we hadn't listened to our GPS, we wouldn't have missed it. Park host was really nice and informative, Bought our new yearly KOA Kard and also received our discount. Site was long (accommodated our motorhome and toad. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$34
We stayed here 2 nights while visiting relatives. The campground is very nice. Pretty easy access off of I-44 at Exit 4. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$35
We arrived at the campground immediately after a long torrential downpour that left parts of the park looking like lakes, and were pleasantly surprised with how quickly our site dried out. Access is convenient and our site was large enough for our slides and tow vehicle. The fellows in the office certainly did not go to charm school, but the young woman there was very pleasant. Reasonable value. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$38
Fine for a overnight. Lots of trees and lots of trucks next door. We will stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
A great KOA. The hosts were very nice and helpful. It was easy on and off on interstate. The truck stop next door was no problem at all. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
It worked well as an overnight stop, easy on and off the highway. The only warning would be to stay away from the side of the park near the overnight semi parking (next door) if you are sensitive to noise since some truck drivers let their rigs idle all night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
Nice park overall. Very pleasant people working there. Lots of nice touches and delights for children - such as being able to feed the fish and to hand feed the ducks. There was free ice cream and outdoor movie as well. We enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$33
Easy access and exit. Very friendly and caring staff. Gravel drives and level gravel sites. Grass at every site. Free Wifi and good water and electrical levels. Lots of amenities and activities for the kids. You can order pizza and have it delivered to your door. They claim to be "Home of RV Heated Water Hose" so you can extend your camping season. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$36
This park is truly big rig friendly with nice turning radiuses on their roads, and long wide sites. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The highway noise was minimal. We stayed here in a 42 ft. coach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2009
$31
Good level grounds, good power pedestal, staff polite but not overly friendly. Restrooms are dated doors on showers broken or bent no place in shower to change must do it in main area. Ok for a overnight but probably wouldn't stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$33
This is a great Park, well maintained. The side we stayed on had all the trees, and a really nice Pet area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$40
An older park run by a friendly family, situated across from a large truck stop and beside a semi truck repair shop. Better then average signage and direction from the interstate. Sites offer a variety of sizes and amount of shade. Utilities are all up to date and working. The pool is starting to show its age. Only passing through one night and thought $40 was on the high end. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
Owners were very friendly and obviously are working hard to make this a nice campground. Sites were shady. Although the campground is near I-44, the noise from the interstate is negligible; there was some noise from nearby truck stops. Our kids loved the fish pond and duck pond; you can catch and release in the duck pond. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$33
We arrived after dark and thus didn't get a good look at the place, but from what we could see it was neat, clean and well maintained. We had intended to boondock at the nearby Flying J, but a problem with our generator caused us to look for a campground with an electrical hookup. The Joplin KOA was close by but closed. But the owner answered the phone and said he would wait up for us. $32.80 was a lot to pay for an overnight spot but we were very grateful for their hospitality. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2008
$25
Nice, clean, large pull throughs. We were right next to the large woods of oak trees. Surprisingly quiet as it is close to I44. We'll stay on our next trip through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$25
We stayed here on our way to the west coast. We had planned on one night, but due to weather made it two. Staff was very friendly and helpful and due to the time of year, we had our choice of sites. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$29
This is a good place for an overnight stay. The park is close to the interstate, the staff is friendly, the sites are easy to navigate and level. The park is clean and has enough trees to give some shade, but not enough to cause a problem with driving. Cable TV works OK, but wi-fi disappeared after 10:00 during our stay. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$40
Very nice people and the campground was clean and sites were level. It looks like they are adding more sites since there was water lines waiting to go in. For us, we use KOA's as a stop over not a camping destination and this one met our needs very nicely. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$35
Sites included lots of trees, but they did not interfere with RV movement. Pool was aging, but clean. Owners were exceptionally friendly. Easy access near interstate. Noise from interstate not as obtrusive as you might expect. Cable was fuzzy. Owner said, and we confirmed, that using WiFi required disabling personal computer firewall, which we were not willing to do. Great KOA for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$31
The Staff was very friendly. We only camped here one night and would probably camp here again. The site was fairly level, had TV and WIFI. The dumpster is a good walk from most camp sites, but otherwise this KOA okay. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$29
They had two fish ponds where you could feed the fish and ducks. We only visited the small one, and the kids loved it! There were some huge fish in it. The owner was very nice. It was close to the interstate, but not noisy. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2007
$30
Large park, but only appears to have one bathhouse, so quite a walk if you're at the ends of the park. Lots of trees and larger spread out sites. Close to the the interstate, but I didn't notice the noise too much due to privacy fencing. Good cable/wifi coverage. Didn't see much staff, but seemed fairly well run. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$10
Good clean park. Owners very friendly and helpful. Many improvements made while we were there. We were there for 45 days and will return in April for another 30 days. This park will be added to our yearly stay parks. We can call this park home We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$32
A very nice campground with large spaces for big rigs. This was just an overnighter for me so I can't comment on the facilities for those staying longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$28
The campground has been upgraded which includes the roadways, electric and other systems...the new owners are completely redoing the park. Nice park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2003
$23
The roadway within the campground are filled with large potholes that test your rig to get thru..no maintainence has been done on the roadways for the past few years...also the parking spots are muddy, thus causing a mess in the RV.. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com