223434 User submitted reviews online!!
Bennett Springs State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 22 user reviews. Phone: (417) 532-4338
CGID1622

Bennett Springs State Park

Camp Information
Sites
189
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   6   8   10   9   10   8   9   10   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2014
$26
Too bad we are only staying here one night. This is an absolutely beautiful park and campground. We stayed in the full hookup CG near the entrance. The camp site was paved with concrete and pretty level. We could leave our toad hooked up since we had a pull through. The utilities were more than adequate. You will want to use a water pressure regulator here. The only thing that was a problem was the confusing signs directing us to the campground. Sorry we had no time to try out the trout fishing that brings most people here. We would certainly return here if we are ever in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2014
$22
Nice, large park, ton's of fishing going on. Stayed in campground #2 and yes as past have said it is a large hill going up from #1. Overall had a nice stay. Weekenders were a little loud, but expected. Sites were spread out nicely. Was surprised though how trashy the sites were. Spent a good half hour picking up bottle caps,wrappers and cigarette butts 6" from the fire ring,really :< (I smoked for 34 years and at least could make the ring and burn them.) The dump area is very poorly designed it runs downhill and left to right (even using blocks), so didn't get a good dump and had to re-flush at Loves on the way home. All in all,yes, we would stay there again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$21
Trout fishing is the big draw here. It is an extremely popular park and people come from all over the midwest to stay here. We don't fish, but really enjoyed hiking the trails, and watching the fishermen. It is one of the few parks in Missouri where the restaurant is open during the week during the fishing season-- March 1- Oct 31, so that was a bonus for us. As other reviewers have pointed out, Loop 1 is near the river, with Loops 2 and 3 further up a large hill, and Loops 4 and 5 even higher and further up the hill. The full hookups are in loop 1, and are reserved well in advance. We stayed in loop 5, which is all first come, first served. It had some nice, private sites, but the restroom in this loop had not been remodeled, as had the ones in the other loops. In our loop wi-fi was available but so slow we abandoned trying to use it. The park is immaculately maintained, and the nature center was interesting. The dining lodge was built by the Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC), along with some of the pavilions and the river gauge. Bennett Spring itself was beautiful, with a flow of over 100 million gallons a day. Our rate reflects electric only hookup, and a $2 resident disability discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$26
This is a gem of a place! The campsites are level and quiet. It is a beautiful location and lodge has a great restaurant. The campground hosts were friendly and helpful. We will be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$17
This is our first time here, and we were very surprised that it was as nice as it is. Beautiful area, very clean, and well laid out. We have a 39ft. motorhome and there is a very narrow and scary bridge coming in, but there is another entrance up the hill on Hwy 64. We were here in November so the water was turned off, but everything was there. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$26
I have stayed at Bennett Springs State Park campground for years now and have always enjoyed the place. There are 5 different campgrounds but we stayed in campground 1 where all sites are full hookups with concrete pads. Campgrounds 2 thru 5 are located on top of a steep hill and sit in the trees. They are nice campgrounds as well, but only offer 30 amp service with no water or sewer. There are places to fill your holding tanks and the dump station in nicely located and easily accessible. If you wish to stay in campground one I would advise you to plan ahead and make a reservation since this campground stays pretty full during the summer. The trout fishing is excellent as are the play grounds, hiking trails and pool. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$26
We camped here for the weekend. We came for the trout fishing and stayed at Campground 4. The campground is very nice and clean. All facilities are in excellent working order and very clean. The sites are a little bit on the small side and somewhat cramped together. We were a little disappointed that campground 4 was so far away from the fishing area. We had to drive to the spring as it was too far to walk. Campground 1 seems like a better choice for those interested in fishing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$24
Beautiful park: we come here twice a year, spring and fall. On of my favorites. The sites are big and almost always level. Very clean. Great lodge for breakfast but I haven't had any other meals here. Also, I have used the rental cabins here too. Those were very nice but rather pricey. The trout hatchery is very neat. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$27
This is a wonderful campground if you like trout fishing. Excellent restaurant, with fast service. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2010
$19
This review is for Campground 4. It is up a steep hill and in the woods. Roads and sites are asphalt. There are both level and unlevel sites. Sites are electric only. It is a very rustic area. We hadn't made reservations and couldn't get a site in Campground 1 which is full hookups and where most big rigs stay. It is more park like with paved sites, grass and a few trees. I would give Campground 1 a considerably higher rating than Campground 4. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$26
Spent only one night, but from our observations this is a great, clean park. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our corner site was a level concrete pad surrounded by grass. Plan to return in future to explore further. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$24
The pads are concrete and very level. There was plenty of room to park a motorhome, dolly and car. The staff was very helpful. They spent considerable time trying to find us a site to extend our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$22
The only reason that we did not give this park an excellent rating is because of the park hosts. There are to many of them. They visit only with each other. They are snippy if you ask a question or request printed material. I asked for the location of a coin laundry and no one could tell me or offer where I could get the information. The host in site 117 across from us had a tail gate party several evenings and was very loud. I asked them after 10:30 to please adhere to the quite hour rules and was met with blank stares. They continued to party another hour after my request. It is difficult to get a reservation in area 1 and we counted over 8 host spots being occupied. They fished and visited with each other but we could see no other results of having so many hosts in one area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$20
I agree. There are way to many host that do nothing but get in your face for every small thing. I am no longer going back and have gone for many years. The staff is really bad and unhappy. They treat the guest like they are a bother and they are the only ones there. I guess they get free camping for the summer so why do they care? i would go to roaring river if you have kids. Better trails and much nicer staff. The dinning lodge has terrible food and the trout you catch taste really bad. A really picture perfect place but not worth going too because of the staff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2009
$17
We enjoyed a peaceful if not wet long weekend at Bennett Springs. The park was much larger than I thought it would be. We camped in loop number 1 in site 124. We made our reservations online and really thought the website indicated water would be on March 1. Although water in the campground was on, the individual sites didn't have water available until April 15. The volunteer at the front was a little snippy about that, so he must have heard more complaints other than ours. Sites in loop 1 are within walking distance of the river. They are the only full hook up sites so there is only one restroom in that area. Not one restroom building, but actually one restroom. Campsites in 2-5 are not within walking distance of the river and are up a pretty large hill. Those sites are wooded and more private. Sites in loop 1 are more open, but there were still several trees. Wireless is now available in the restaurant and they have a table set up in the "shop" area that will make it comfortable. I tried using the laptop from the car in the parking lot but didn't get a strong enough signal. The fishing was good, the kids had a blast and the campground was fun! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$17
Very nice campground. If you love to fish this is the place to be. We enjoyed the quietness of the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$22
The new RV campsites were perfectly level, spacious, and had the best full hookup facilities we have ever used. Missouri State Parks do things right. Beautiful setting with trout fishing, hiking trails and a huge, well-maintained, well-staffed swimming pool. Fun, fun park store. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$22
Great park! You need reservations. This place is busy during the summer and is full. If you have big rig stay in campground one. It has been rebuilt and opens for 2008. Usually the men go fly fishing while the ladies and kids go swimming. If you don't have big rig, the other campgrounds are nice too, but are not as level. Staff is friendly, restrooms and showers are clean. I would have given it a ten except it was very dry and dusty due to the dry weather. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$20
We'd rate this a "10" if the 35-ft lots had been 40 feet. (Some lots are larger). It's in a beautiful river valley in the Ozarks with a crystal clear, spring-fed stream running through it. There is a state-operated fish hatchery on-site and they release trout into the stream. Fishing is the main activity with many families catching their limit every day. There is a large camp store, educational nature center, playground, and 2-4 mile hiking trails. The full-hookup campground is brand new, on a meadow near the stream. The electric-only sites are on a mature forest hilltop nearby. Canoe trips are offered by the park. Access roads are paved and sites are concrete with table and fire ring. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$14
A nice campground centered around trout fishing. Only one campground is withing walking distance to the streams...this one has full hook-ups (#1) which is currently undergoing rennovations. The other campgrounds are up a sttep and long hill. No real playground equipment at the campgrounds themselves but a nice one down by the stream. Nice restaurant but the food is not good and service awful. Best of the Missouri trout parks to catch fish. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$14
Nice campgrounds. Campground #1 is all RV pull-thru sites. We stayed in Campground #3 which shares a showerhouse/restroom with CG #2. SH & RR were older, but clean. The sites were nice and shady and situated in a way that you had a feeling of privacy from your neighbor. Paved pad, graveled picnic area and firepit. Was a little dusty around the table and firepit, but generally grassy. Campground #4 had newer more modern SH/RR and next time we want to stay in that one. Campground #5 appeared to be much more wooded. The spring and trout hatchery were neat places to visit and the pool was really refreshing ( clean, although in need of a facelift) on a hot July day. Although neither of these attractions are within walking distance from the campgrounds. They were refurbishing and remodeling the cabins and lodging area while we were there. They have a restaurant which we saw, but did not dine in. They also have a nice park store with many staples, souvenirs, fishing accessories along with ice cream treats, snacks and fountain soda. Lots of fishing going on here, most campsites were vacated by 7:00 am until late in the aftenoon due to so many fisher-families there! One of the better Missouri State parks in our experience, very family-oriented and safe. These campgrounds go back quite some time, though they have updated and maintained them. I camped there 40 years ago as a child. We camped here in a Tent.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$17
It was a typical state park. It needed some tree trimming, but I was able to navigate the park in a 12' high rig. Sites were clean, but not all were very level. Park only had 5 motorhomes--most were tents, tent trailers & trailers. Not a bad stopover. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com