223426 User submitted reviews online!!
Happy Trails RV Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 27 user reviews. Phone: (417) 532-3422
CGID1623

Happy Trails RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   3   8   5   4   8   6   3   4   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$32
We enjoyed staying in this campground. The managers were very helpful and led us to our site. The sites are all shaded with large trees. The park is kept very clean. There is an enjoyable walking trail to a beautiful lake. There is road noise because the park is located along the highway, but earplugs worked well at night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2013
$27
Rate reflects Good Sam discount. This is a very tired, old KOA in desperate need of repairs. Although the showers were clean, they were in dire need of updating. The exhaust vent(s) had not been cleaned in quite awhile. No place to set toiletries and the shower controls were difficult to operate. My wife almost burned herself in the handicap shower. Sites were not level and the roads inside the campground had washed out due to recent rains. When the office closed at 6 PM, the Wi-Fi went off! Road noise was very bad as the campground is close to the interstate. If I had a choice, I'd look for another campground before coming back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$29
The only downside of this campground is its proximity to the Interstate, otherwise it is quite pretty, with playground, lots of trees, and a large pond/small lake with picnic tables. We were allowed to run our dog through the "dog walk" area on an electronic leash, rather than hand-held, which was a pleasant relief from most campgrounds where we have stayed. Very friendly and helpful owners. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2011
$28
This is an okay park for overnight stop. It's an old KOA. Sites are tight and not leveled. Very closed to I-44 and very noisy. There are a few long term residents with very old equipment. We would probably stay again for an overnight stay only. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2011
$26
This is a beautiful park. However, sites are not level. Although the park has nothing to do with this, the road noise is the worst we have ever experienced with semis hitting the rumble strips. Only used the restrooms once and they were in terrible shape. The park is located on a stretch of the original Route 66 We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$24
Easy access off I-44. While the park is near the Highway the road noise was not bad. Nice pull thrus with tall trees through out the park. The trees did not interfere with pulling the trailer to the site. We would definitely stop here again. Wi-Fi worked great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$28
Rate reflects Good Sam discount. Unlevel, non-paved sites. Interior roads slightly narrow, saw one big rig with tow having trouble getting into a site. Spent one night while driving through. Advertised as having "cleanest restrooms in Missouri" (may be due to hostess only giving code to restroom if you ask for it). Would stay again for one night only since we don't tow and are not within walking distance of anything. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2011
$30
Campground staff was friendly. A cell phone was necessary to check in as the "working in campground" sign was always on door through most of our stay. Sites not particularly level but still usable. Road noise was quite bad with trucks hitting the rumble strip every minute or so. The second night, while using a white noise machine on a Saturday night (less truck traffic), was better but was still bad. We will not stay here again if there is another alternative. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2011
$28
The park is owned by the RV Dealership next door. On site management, very nice. Our stay was a travel day stay, easy on/off, hook-ups and a shower. This fit the bill. The highway runs right next to the park and is slightly elevated. We spent the entire time listening to the semi's hit the rumble strip. Check-in was efficient, directed you into the sight. Bathrooms, old but clean, one trough drain for the showers, reminded me of a state park bathroom. Tried to find the laundry, couldn't, office closes at 6pm. Lots are very close together. No cable, Wi-Fi good. I don't think I would stay here again. $28/night and listening to the rumble strip, not a good combo. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2010
$25
This park is probably OK for a one-night stop-over but the interior streets are narrow, the sites aren't really level and all roads and sites are gravel. It is only a couple hundred yards from I-40 so truck traffic noise is quite loud. The free Wi-Fi signal is satisfactory. The host was helpful and guided us to our site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$27
Our reservations were in order. The hosts were welcoming and escorted us to our site. Interior roads and camp sites were gravel and dirt. Some of the turns were tight for our 29 footer yet no worse than we’ve experienced in other RV parks. Our site was level and the services we used worked fine (30 amp electric, water, sewer, WiFi). The bathrooms by the office were old yet spotless and a newer bathhouse on the grounds was also very clean. The grounds are heavily treed and have a nice walking trail. The RV park is not right by retail and restaurants. We drove the short distance to Lebanon for dinner at one of our favorite catfish/barbeque places at Exit 227 off Interstate 44. In terms of road noise, we were aware of trucks and cars running over the rumble strips on Interstate 44 more than just straight road noise. The rumble strips seem to be particularly close to the edges of the driving lanes. We did not need our air conditioner on this stay. We’re thinking the road noise will be less noticeable when we do have the white noise from the air conditioner. We often travel across Interstate 44 and have added Happy Trails RV Park to our list of RV parks that are convenient overnight stops for us. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$28
This park is next door to a RV service facility by the same name. The sites are gravel, and the narrow site we had was not close to level. There are many trees and no cable. Choose your site wisely. The staff was nice. This is a good over night stop. The highway is just across the street. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$28
Stayed a month after a very bad experience at a non level campground near Bennett Springs Park. Very pretty. Has a lake with 3 cabins over looking it. Great place for pets. You can walk them on the trail that goes all the way around lake. Camp managers are extremely nice and helpful. They take you to your site and make sure your set up. Bathrooms, shower house and laundry rooms are very clean. Being a single woman on the road alone, safety is an issue. And definitely feel that at this place. Very easy to get to from highway, with no worries of low hanging branches. The grounds are well cared for. This place was such a pleasure after my previous campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$28
This park could be very nice but needs a bunch of work. Owners were here to check us in and admitted that they were still working on the conversion from being a KOA park. Site was in the trees and quiet enough. We stayed here overnight on the way south. Has tight turns on the roads. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2009
$27
Stopped in just for an overnight after a long day of travel. The host were friendly and helpful, guided me to my site by golf cart. I was giving a long pull thru all the way in the back site was fine fairly level. The restrooms/showers were small but very clean. The roads thru the park are narrow and have a lot of trees close to the edge be careful after dark. The Wi-Fi works well all the way in the back, as stated by others road noise could be a problem, but that's the price you have to pay for the convince of being close to the interstate, i would recommend this place for overnight stays. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2009
$26
This was the lowest cost park in our 26 day journey. We stayed here five years previously when it was a KOA. Little has changed. New owners are struggling with switch from KOA to Good Sam. Bathrooms and showers were fine. Our site was tough to negotiate. We had to disconnect our tow vehicle to leave. Our friends stayed in site next to us, and they had no such problems so it varies by site. The pond is nice, and the dog run is really a dog run - NICE change of pace from the doggie stand-and-messes we've had everywhere else. Highway noise is relentless, but August in Missouri you are running your A/C full blast anyway so for an overnighter, it was passable. Trailer next to ours was a wreck and kept his sewer hose loosely placed in the cleanout just poorly enough to make our picnic area smell like his black tank. The owners of this park will have a challenge turning this into something desirable with those kinds of loose rules and low rates. This park is a stop, not a destination. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
The roads are narrow and in need of repair, turns are tight even for a 35 footer, the campground is clean, but the I-44 noise is overwhelming. The people operators were nice. The campground needs some work, but they are in the process of repairing. Nice overnight area to stay, but noisy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$33
First time at this Koa, and I'm not sure we will stay there again. It was tight getting to site. Sites not well marked. There are lot of trees. Staff was very friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2007
$45
Not sure about the price. Nice park but a little close to the highway and all the noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$27
Interior roads narrow and rutted. Had severe weather the night we were there. Could not get satellite to work. Needed to cut the grass/weeds around the sites. Drainage could use some work. Just off the interstate on the access road which dead ends into the campground. Some road noise. Probably would not go back here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2007
$32
This KOA is located directly next to the interstate. It was very noisy the entire night due to the truck traffic. The sites were shaded but access to them was tricky. It was hard to find our site in the dark because they were not clearly marked. The staff was friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2006
$27
We stayed one night at this park. Truthfully I didn't stay long enough to review it thoroughly. I just know that I wanted to find something "friendlier" and left the next day during bad weather. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$31
Park is cleaned and well maintained. The Wi-Fi is available at a cost: $4 p/hr. Other than the cost of the Wi-Fi, the campground is a nice place. A little on the noisy side with I-44 near, but not unbearable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2005
$27
The only negative is highway noise, but it wasn't that bad. They had a great hiking trail around the campground and a terrific pet area. The owners were very nice. I had left my 2 way radio at the desk at check in and they golf carted it to my site! They were planning to get WIFI soon. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$26
Shady with good sized sites. Fishing pond and friendly ducks. Nice staff. Good camp store. Close to highway, but we didn't find it too noisy. Camping cabins available. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$26
Nice, very wooded park. Sites are uniquely arranged. Was concerned because of no cable TV, very rural area-but surprisingly picked up 4 stations quite well with coach antenna. Owners very nice and helpful. Only negative is the highway noise, locaterd very close to I-40. Would definitely overnight again! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$26
A little pricey, but a nice campground...it is close to I-44 therefore it is rather noisy...other than that the staff was friendly and also a staff member led you to a your site..I like this because of all the trees...Good site..will stay there again We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com