217661 User submitted reviews online!!
Mark Twain Landing was rated 7 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (573) 735-9422
CGID1625

Mark Twain Landing

Camp Information
Sites
232
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$46



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   5   6   1   5   7   8   10   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$46
This park has new management and a new attitude! A lot of the problems mentioned on older reviews are gone. The Wi-Fiis great - and the only Internet in town. Our Verizon hot spot didn't work very well here. The cable TV is great! The pools and play areas are very nice and activities are away from the RVs. The back-in spaces are wide and roomy with a cement slab to park on and a wide cement patio for entertaining. My only complaint is that 2 spaces share a water spigot using a plastic Y joint-- some of which are stripped and hard to get to not leak. If you're the RV on the wrong side of the spigot, it means dragging a hose under your RV across your patio. This is the only reason I didn't give the park a 10. Water spigots seems like a strange thing to economize on. The staff is friendly and helpful. The pull-through spots in the back of the park are isolated. I'd recommend the cheaper back-ins which are more centrally located. There are many long term residents in the park but their campsites are neat. The feel of the park is that of a short term, amusement type of park with lots of water activities around it. There are only 2 showers in the bathroom - they could use more for this size of a park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$45
Decent park with adequately paved sites, some shade, swimming pool and a waterpark. The location is close to launch ramps for the lake, and park has some overnight storage area for our boat. However, the management that is currently operating this park appears to only be interested in revenue and not guest satisfaction, making up policy changes to serve their interests. I think the site we had along the main drag was nice; it was shady and decent size. There was a playground down the road but our kids (over 11) were told not to enter as they were too old to climb, swing, and slide down the 3 story monster play place. The bathrooms were functional and appeared clean, but lacked shelving, benches, fans, and only had one small mirror above the sink. Free Wi-Fi was sporadic and slow at best. No Sprint service on our cell phones. We tried the food in the restaurant, and we equally disappointed. They really don't have a menu, just Hunt Brothers pizza and wings, coupled with sodas and milk shakes. So much potential to be a great park, but they need to have more interest in guest satisfaction to deserve a higher rating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$37
We camped here four nights. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They did seem to be somewhat inexperienced and there was some confusion at the desk. I do not agree with the previous review which was unfair to the current staff. While the staff are welcoming, the check-in procedures are not. Upon registration you are presented with a list of twenty-four rules and regulations and the dire consequences of failing to follow them. The campground is visually cluttered with signs about "No's and Don'ts". The operation appears to be geared to a large population of seasonal campers and cabins. The transient sites are along the road by the pool. They can be very noisy. You will need to share a water hook-up with your neighbor and will need a very long hose. They did not tell us this upon making the reservation or checking in. While in a beautiful setting, this park has some significant flaws. There is no trash pickup. The only dumpster is at the entrance, which is very far from some of the sites. There are no receptacles for dog waste. The Cable is snowy and the Wi-Fi is not functional. If you travel with a Verizon hot spot, it will not work there. The county roads to the area are very adequate for a 44,000 lb. motorhome. Your GPS may try to tell you differently. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2012
$55
This park is not pet or family friendly. You can not find any managers that could be any less unprofessional, rude, and extremely disrespectfully to campers and that includes all the staff at Mark Twain Landing. The rules only pertain to certain people; the rules change daily and are not posted. The food in the restaurant is poor and overpriced. The "posted" activities for kids are now activities that must be paid for. This park has a water park across the street that they manage, and they close the park many times due to electric problems or water leaks in the pools, and they will not refund your money or give you a rain check. The rules are not family friendly which means if you have kids you can't take in any food or drinks for your little ones into the water park. They no longer have bumper cars or mini golf. If you are staying for even more than one day and have any visitors come to Mark Twain Landing, then they charge $5.00 per person to visit you in this park. During high peak like Memorial Day or 4th of July, the electricity will go out. They blow the transformers every year and your camper could be without electric for hours. They have karaoke on Saturday nights by the pool right in front of the campers. If you are one of those who does not like loud, screaming, drunk people singing off key you will not like that, and if you have kids that are trying to sleep, good luck with that also. If you want to come to a camp ground for peace and some relaxing down time, this is not the camping spot for you. Also, no tents are allowed. How many families do you know whose kids don't like to sleep in a tent at night! Well not here: no tents. All in all this park is not recommended. I hope you will find this review helpful and informative. Thanks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$34
This is a very good park. The staff are nice and helpful. The sites are paved and well kept. The only bad thing is the rules are not for everyone. Some let their dogs out and do NOT put a leash on them.The speed limit is for cars only. If you have a golf cart you may speed. Will go here again just not on a weekend. They need to enforce the leash law on the dogs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$37
This is a nice enough park which would be good for families. The Park is mostly seasonals but all were clean and in good shape. The sites were level on a cement pad with good space in between. The cable TV was snowy so we went to the antenna and the reception was great, of course not as many channels. The WiFi was good most of the time, but during the weekend it slowed down. The people were friendly. There was a tremendous amount of golf carts, which made it noisy and busy during the weekend. You share the water hook up with the neighbor so bring a long hose. We would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$21
The dominant note at this park is cheerful competence. The staff is friendly and helpful. The grounds are well maintained and the facilities are clean and neat. Paved interior roads lead to spacious sites with concrete pads. A lot of amusements are available making this a good destination park for families. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$13
This is a very nice park that is off of the beaten path. The sites have 20, 30, and 50 amp service. Free 24 channel cable TV and Wi-Fi at the sites. The roads are well cared for and no over hanging tree limbs. The staff was very friendly upon check in. Our rate is based on Passport America's price. We visited in the off season so park was very quiet, but with the water park in the summer months this park could be very busy. We would use this park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$24
If you like being out of the way, it's a great place! We wanted to see most of Hannibal, so it was a bit of a drive. The people were friendly, had Wi-Fi, cable TV and nice bathrooms/showers. It was a quiet park, with well spaced sites and a view of what they call a lake! It appears they have 'seasonal rigs' but it didn't bother us. The time of year that it was for us visiting they also had shutdown a lot of their activities, that also didn't bother us as we probably wouldn't have used them and we didn't have children with us, but I can see it would be a fun park to stay at with children. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
Our family loves Mark Twain Landing. This was our third year of going to the park. The staff is always friendly and accommodating. Staff member took the time to help us get backed into our site. The adjacent water park offered a pass for 2 days for a family of four for $49. The facilities are well maintained and clean. The playground is second to none. If you are looking for a great family park this is it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
Nice campground. Just spent one night but would return if in the area. Staff was accommodating with directions and such. Showers were clean. A lot of semi-permanent RV'S, but all were well kept. Looked more like a RV timeshare park than a regular RV Park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$33
We stayed at this park previously and loved it. We have older children, but there is an activity available for all ages. Usually, on week-ends, they will have some type of activity in the evenings which is fun. There is a nice waterpark and The Landing offers a special rate of $54 for 4 people for 2 days at the park for anyone staying at The Landing. I highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$33
We loved the campground. It had a great playground, with a netted in jungle gym, with slides and a glider. The camp store had "fun bikes" to rent ($9 - 1 hour). There was also go-carts ($5), bumper boats ($4), water wars ($5) and miniature golf ($2). The park was clean, including the bathrooms, laundry and pool. Even what I considered the 'ickier bathrooms' were nicer than most campgrounds nice bathrooms. The water park is close enough to walk and we bought 3 day passes for $35 each, that allowed us to come and go all day. All the slides were fun except one. It boasted going underground. What I didn't like about it was that the bottom of it was like a slip-n-slide and the water hit you so hard it flushed your insides out. It is very unsanitary and I would not allow anyone with us to go on it again. The water park was nice except for that purple slide. It was not real crowded and small enough to keep an eye on the kids. The food was not over-priced like most places either. It also had a very nice "small childrens area". We drove into Hannibal 3 days in a row, to Mark Twain Cave, Mark Twain River Boat and to walk around town, checking out all the museums. We also checked out Lover's Leap. Its a bit of a drive but not too bad. We thought about how it would be nice to have a seasonal site but it's a little bit farther than what we want to drive and we still like going around to different campgrounds. It also had a nice little lake for fishing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2006
$28
It was very nice with concrete pads, however being there on a holiday weekend with a water park across the street made boating a nightmare. If you are looking for a place to take the kids without boating this is it. If you plan on going out on the water a lot and mainly fishing and skiing you may want to try somewhere else. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2002
$22
This place has become very run down. The campground is also populated with some older, unkept cabins. Garbage pickup was spotty. Had a very bad time with the owner over their failure to return money spent for amusements on site that did not work. They lied about what worked and what didn't then acted very abrupt when we asked for a small refund. We were told just to use something that did work and forget about getting a refund. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com