214919 User submitted reviews online!!
Cuivre River State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (636) 528-7247
CGID1650

Cuivre River State Park

Camp Information
Sites
117
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   8   5   9   7   7   6   10   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2013
$20
The camping park is nice , clean, well spaced sites although trees and vegetation between sites is sparse. It has a city park green space appeal to it. I like more woods and privacy but this was fine and we like full hookup so it was a trade off. It is a Basic campground. The river is not actually a river, it's a U shape small lake with lots of cussing, drinking locals yelling at their kids. Seemed like a local hang out. A small fee for use would solve that problem. The lake was filthy, my son looked like he had a 5 o clock shadow on his face. I heard this is unusual and may be due to extreme rain storms that month. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$19
Our first time camping here in many years, and we had a very pleasant midweek stay. Previous reviewers have commented about the steep hills which we also experienced on our way in. However, after talking to a frequent camper to the park, we found out about another route. We decided to go out this way. The park can be entered from Hwy KK from the north, and these hills weren't quite so windy and steep! We'll definitely return next time this way, even though it is longer. The campground has four loops, each with a different flavor. The most woodsy and private are the two loops that have basic sites with no hookups. At the end of each of these is a long staircase (100+ steps) that descends to "Lake Lincoln" and the foot trail that encircles it. If you hike counter clockwise from the campground you come to the beach area. The basic sites area has water spigots throughout and a vault toilet at the end of one of the loops. A third loop has electric only, and these sites are a little less private, but shaded nonetheless. This is where the only shower house is located, and the 3 pull throughs. There is a gate at the end of this loop that separates the general campground from the scout area-- at the end of this loop is a third staircase down to the lake, and the most direct walking route to the beach. The fourth loop is laid out on a grid, the sites are more densely packed, but these sites are full hookup. This area does not have a showerhouse, but does have flush toilets. The dump station is located in this area. The restrooms were cleaned daily, and the hosts showed up to pick up and check sites after people checked out. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our rate reflects a $2/night handicapped discount and was for an electric only site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$24
Getting to park from main road is a nightmare. The signs are all but nonexistent and the roads are steep and winding plus there is a one lane bridge. Nice, quiet park but bare bones except for the 50amp service. Nice lake swimming down the road. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$24
This is a lovely park with nice camping spaces in a park-like setting. We had a drive-through site overlooking the wooded hillside. During our fall mid-week stay there were few other campers and area was quiet and peaceful. On the weekends it fills up. You can fill up your water tank at several spigots in the camping areas. Two complaints - the poor signage for the campsites makes it difficult to locate your site and a rude worker. When we drove on the grass to u-turn to find our site a worker drove across the lawn on his utility vehicle and yelled at us and was rude after we apoligized and asked where to find our site. I guess its OK for him to drive on the grass, but not lost visitors. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$17
This is a nice park in wooded terrain with lots of space between sites. We were there in Oct., and the water and showers were still on; they were shut off when we were there a week later in Nov., but they sill had a couple of sites where you could get water. There are a lot of nice hikes, and deer and turkeys abound. As far as driving on the the grass there are signs all over the place saying not to do that, and there's plenty of room to turn around. The hosts we dealt with were friendly and informative. This place gets packed on the weekends due to its proximity to St. Louis. We were able to get Verizon wi-fi, but it was slow. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$21
This park was a real hassle to get in and out of. It wasn't well marked from the main road as to it's location so had to stop several times and went way out of my way to get there. The park itself was lovely BUT if you have a big rig, be warned: there are some killer steep hills getting back to the campground which seemed to be a long way from the entrance. One set of hills especially did damage to both my truck and 5th wheel going out. It was a 6%+ grade going down with an immediate 6% grade going back up. Coming out was tough at that point because you have to gear down so as not to wrap yourself around the trees on the way down the winding road and then you don't have enough speed at the bottom to get a run going up the next hill which my truck really struggled with. Our campsite was peaceful and nicely shaded. a beautiful spot (#19). It was very secluded and as such had no Internet or TV reception but I can deal with that for one night. Dogs loved it. There was a bard owl in the tree right behind my site which serenaded me for a long time that evening. Windows open, AC off! it was very nice and actually got cold in the wee hours of the morning. A lovely spot, just be prepared for some tricky hills getting in and out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$28
Getting to this campground is a challenge, especially if you've got a fairly big rig. Our fiver is 35' and we managed but it was tight in places just getting to the campground! As previously mentioned, the roads in are very hilly, at times narrow and often very steep. The campground is just okay. It felt more like a private park than a state park because the sites were so close together. Apparently, when you get full hookups in some state parks, you give up the right to have a private or spacious site. The utilities did work well during our two day stay and we had 50amp service. There was a fairly big open green space behind and between the rows of campsites in the full hookup section which was used for playing games and walking dogs. We were in site #90. We rode our bicycles through the other sections of the campground and there are more private sites there but none of them could accommodate a larger rig nor could you negotiate the narrow, winding roads in those sections with a longer rig. I doubt we'll ever return to this campground based on the difficulty getting in and the lack of space or privacy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$21
ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL!!! Very friendly, attentive camp hosts made sure the park was maintained, quiet, orderly. They even informed everyone of a thunderstorm coming and what to do if the weather got severe. Many dogs and kids there, but the dogs were quiet and their waste picked up. It was a very pleasant stay. Campgrounds book up quickly, so make reservations early. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$28
The drive to the campground does require driving up and down some hills. I would not want to drive my trailer to this camping area in the dark as there is no outside lighting other than the restrooms. We camped in the full hookup area. The sites have plenty of room and the hookups are in good condition. The roads to the campground are all paved, the sites are gravel except for handicapped and host sites. You definitely need to make reservations if you want to camp during the weekend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$26
Access to this park is tricky with a steep winding road. The park offers full utilities as well as primitive campsites. Electronic communications are limited; no Wi-Fi or cable TV, weak phone service and very weak aircard (AT&T). The park staff is friendly, the shower/restroom facilities are old but clean and the park itself is a beautiful, forested wilderness. Reservations are very useful at this popular park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2009
$20
Nice drive in to the park. Campground sites close together with a major road behind it. Was not that impressed to go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$24
This is our second visit to the campground at Cuivre River State Park. The first was in October of 2008. We loved it so much we came back already! The name is pronounced "quiver" as in the name of a case used to carry arrows. The park is very large, beautiful and well maintained. The Visitor Center has a short, informative movie about the history of the area and the development of the park, as well as many displays and fun information sheets about local plants and animals. There are miles of trails (hiking, biking and equestrian), a lake with a beach, scenic overlooks, and trees, trees, trees! We are "state park" campers, and we love this one! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
The worst part of this campground is the drive from the main road to the camping area. The road to the campground is up and down hill on curvy roads. Once at the campground the accommodations are great. The sites in the full hook up section are very roomy and have a large grassy area behind your camper. The park offers fishing, a playground, nature trail and other outdoor activities. For a state park this place is great. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$17
This is one of the best State Parks we have visited. The fishing is wonderful as are the trails. The sites are somewhat close but there is a nice open area in the center. The full-hookup area is nice and level for bike riding. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$17
Beautiful state park. Wide campsites with fire rings and picnic tables. This is one of the few state parks with a full hook-up section. Restrooms and showers are very modern and clean. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2005
$15
We had a very different experience at Cuiver River State Park. I'd like to start by saying that I love the State of Missouri Campgrounds. But, this particular instance I fell out of love and may not go back to this one. We usually make reservations for holiday weekends. But this time we forgot and at the last minute just a week before Memorial Day made reservations for Cuiver River, but we did make reservations. There were five campsites open in the State of Missouri when we reserved. We chose this one because it was the only one available with a handicap space as my mother-in-law was going with us and was nearest to home, in case we had problems with our new camper. When we reserved, we knew it was in the equestrian campground. But no where in the state rules or on the site did it say, you could not stay there if you didn't have horses. We would have never booked it if there was something available elsewhere, but there wasn't. When we got there, the campground hosts refused us our space because we didn't have horses. We are two hours from home WITH a reservation and were being refused. We were mad, to say the least. My husband ended up having the hosts, go through the chain of command. The next guy up the chain, the park ranger, said nope, no horses, no stay. They ended up calling the head guy of the state who told them, you can't do that. No where do we say that you HAVE to have horses and these people have a space reserved, give it to them. So, we stayed and the hosts apologized, but it didn't make for a wonderful start to the weekend. The thing I noticed though, the entire weekend, one half of the campers in the equestrian campground did not have horses, it wasn't just us. The ones who did have horses camping near us, when we told them the story said the handicap site is never taken unless the campground is full. It was just an aggravating situation. And with our lesson learned, we now make our reservations earlier. Cuiver River equestrian campsites and bathrooms were clean. We didn't use the showers as we have a self-contained unit. The area is beautiful. It rained and stormed while we were there and we got great images of orange sky rainbows as it was clearing off. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2005
$17
Very nice campground. We stayed in the full hookup area, but even those aren't too packed together like many full hookup areas are. The electric only sites are really spread out and private. Cuivre River is a big park with a nice lake (including swimming beach), lots of hiking and equestrian trails. The Visitors Center has excellent information on the history of area as well as displays on the plant and animal life in the park. Some of structures in the park date back to the Civilian Conservation Corps days, and are well preserved an interesting to see. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$17
Very nice campground. One of the few Missouri State Parks that have full hookup. 30 full hookup sites are available in a section of campground all to itself. Nice setting with the center of the full hookup camp area being very open and grassy, an excellent place for children, as well as adults, to play yard games without disturbing campers. Roadways are mostly level once in the camping area and great for biking, skating and scootering. Easy accessible dump station as well. Only one shower/bath house but seems to be able to handle the entire campground without a problem. Other restrooms, including a vault toilet are available. The restrooms are very clean, and cleaned twice daily during the busy season. There is access to a small lake with a swimming beach and also boat launch; fishing is also an option. You can see Cuivre River from afar from some of the bordering basic campsites. A new playground was put in last year in a convenient area to most campsites. A lovely drive back through the park to the campground, however a word of caution--the road is curvy and very steep in some places and can make towing a challenge the first time or so. The park is about 15 minutes from grocery stores and fast food if wanted. One campground host has become a permanent fixture there and can be credited for keeping the park as nice as it is. A very family friendly, safe environment for all. We always enjoy camping here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com