218844 User submitted reviews online!!
Lewis & Clark Caverns State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (406) 287-3541
CGID1664

Lewis & Clark Caverns State Park

Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   6   9   7   7   8   7   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$25
Loved this campground! Really large sites with lots of room. We were in E loop with electric and thank goodness because it was HOT! We were super close to a very nice, large playground. Perfect for the kids. The nightly ranger programs were great! The caverns were amazing to tour although I recommend going early if it's hot.the hike to the entrance is pretty steep. Only downsides to this park were in level sites and shower costs - $2 for 4 minutes. Sidenote - 7 miles past the campground take a right for a fishing access road that has a rocky beach for swimming. Would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$32
Rate reflects non-resident and reservation fee. Several state parks in the area. This was the best of the bunch for a place to stay after seeing the others. Headwaters was very interesting as was Buffalo Jump. Sites were very roomy and level and electric worked well. Host were friendly. Dump station not very level so unable to get empty. Pull-through sites do not have electric hookups and reservations required for electric sites. Plenty of sites for walk-in as park is a bit out of the way. Caverns were interesting for additional $10. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$28
This is a lovely SP in a great location with easy to get into sites. Plenty large and well spaced. NO cell service to speak of. Located at the base of the caverns. The only bad thing is the price. For a SP $29 is way too high. Seems they give MT residents a break but with such a low population it sure doesn't cost them very much to do so. I highly recommend the cave tour. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$28
I really enjoyed this campground. The park is located in a valley with mountains on three sides. Roads are paved and sites have gravel pads. Campground is mostly open, but there are some mature trees. Only a handful of sites have electric so you need to make a reservation for those. About the only thing to do is visit the caverns, which are a 3.5 mile drive up a steep road, but I had no problems driving it and really found the caves interesting. Good parking at the top and terrific views. Tour is a bit strenuous, so I would not recommend for small children or elderly. I will come back here again. Price is for electric site. Also, state park lists its address as Whitehall, so I am not sure why it is listed under Cardwell. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$28
This is a camping campground, not an amenities RV resort. We enjoy camping and enjoyed this park. Very nice playground for the kids. The best caverns we have seen on our cavern/spelunking summer vacation. Wonderful place. You can reserve a power site more than 2 days out, but will roll the dice if you pull up unannounced. They have 2 sites with power that are first come first serve. We got one! No, we didn't win the lottery the next day. Not much shade, so having power for us was a must, we have pets that stayed inside while we went to the caverns. They have a nightly bat and wildlife walking tour at the RV park. Pull through was not level, but we did fine with blocks and levelers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$20
LOVE the Lewis and Clark Caverns! This campground is across from the visitor center. Nice park with clean, modern bathrooms. Playground for the kids. Stayed one night on our way home so we could visit the Caverns. Very convenient. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$28
Great place to visit. Limited electric hook up sites, (only 12) most require reservation in summer. We snagged one of two non-reserved electric sites when we arrived on a week day. $28 rate is non-resident, electric hook up. Non electric sites and Montana residents cost less. Our pull through site was huge with plenty of room left over even with our 40' fiver/three slides and truck. Most sites are back in. Minor leveling needed. Campground has no buffer/plantings between sites, but roomy enough for privacy. Some shade but mostly open. Web site says barbecues at sites: not true, but each site does have fire ring. One tipi site and a couple of cabins also for rent. Very kid friendly: good playground, great biking for kids. Evening ranger programs. At&T cell marginal, Verizon air card slow, but doable. No problem for satellite. $2.00 for 4 minute showers. A handful of water spigots in each loop: bring a full tank with, or fill at dump station or bring LOTS of hose. Be sure to take the cavern tour. Outstanding and very reasonable: $10 adults. Clean, quiet, very dark at night. Would definitely return if passing through again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
This is a nice clean State Park campground. Sites are pretty much level and very roomy. Some have electric for a few $ more, ours did not. While it is mostly dry camping, there is a dump station with good fresh water available. The kids enjoyed a clean playground. Some sites are pull through, others are back in. Pay showers are clean. The big draw, of course, is the cavern tour. It cost about $50 for our family of 6. We were with a group of about 30 other folks, following a guide through chambers of beautiful underground formations. This tour requires some physical strength, as there are some 600 stairs to climb/descend if I recall correctly, and there are lots of places to bonk your head on. It's kind of out of the way, but if I come through here again, I'd consider staying here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
Very beautiful location. We stayed in a pull through site with electricity. The price is cheaper without electricity and for Montana residents. There is drinking water near the dump station for filling water tanks. AT&T works well for tendering here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
Most sites are back in. Only 9 sites have electric. Very scenic location. In addition to guided tours of the caverns, other activities include fishing in the Jefferson River, hiking and a kids playground. Picnic tables and fire pit/barbecue at all sites. Rate includes $5 per night for electric. Fresh water is available to refill your water tanks. Dump station. Loved our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$22
This is a very nice campsite, with very spacious sites, and the whole campground is very clean. We did have Verizon reception for our Mi-Fi but no AT&T phone reception. The one mayor downside to this campground are the mosquito's, and there are lots of them. This is not a complaint, but a warning, if you stay here go prepared with bug spray. We did not fish in the nearby river, but we did see some of the catches made by others, and they were impressive, so if you like fishing it is an ideal spot. We did visit the Caverns, but they were so busy, with a 2 hour wait we gave them a wide berth. Due to the mosquito's, we would probably not stay here a second time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
Great campground!!! Very quiet, sites are very open and apart from each other. Even though alot of kids were in the park, they are hardly noticed. My wife and I have been in caverns on three continents, and go to everyone we see. These were by far the best so far, well worth the trip!!!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$8
This campground is situated in a beautiful open area with views of mountains. The sites have a lot of room between your neighbor. Our 40' motorhome and car fit easily. There are no hookups but there is a water spigot and dump station. The bathrooms were older but kept clean. There is a playground and hiking trails. The cave tour cost $10 for seniors and was well worth it. Be advised that at the beginning of the tour you will need to walk a steep hill to the cave entrance. It was hot today and people had problems. Inside there will be many down steps which are narrow. There is also one small area of 4' that you will need to sit down and scoot to get through. Older folks, like us, seemed to do the negotiating well. We enjoyed our stay here and would return. It's not far from either Bozeman or Butte and is just off I-90. Our rate reflects that we are Montana residents. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$15
We enjoyed this park very much. The campsites were spaced out enough that there was some privacy. The campground is grass with gravel aprons. Trees are at most sites so you can enjoy sitting under them. We had no problems getting our dome satellite in but the only way to get my Verizon Aircard and cell phone to work was by using our antennas booster, otherwise the signal was too weak. From what I understand, this park has shower facilities somewhere in the park. I also noticed that there's a water spigot located in each loop. No lights in the park to spoil star gazing at night, it was amazing! When driving through the park we noticed a very large T-pee and found out later you can rent it. This is a nice campground, especially after spending a few nights just off the I-90. Peaceful... We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$15
Campground lacks most of the amenities but makes up for it with its overall appearance and surrounding mountain scenery. No on site utilites but does have a dump and fresh water tap where you can fill your fresh water tank. Quiet, off the I-90 noise. Modest fee. If you enjoy cave tours, don't miss the Lewis and Clark Caverns tour located near by. I live in Montana and have visited many campgrounds. This is one of my favorites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$15
Very nice park, no hookups but they do have a dump station and a place to fill you freshwater tank. Easy access with our 42' MH towing. The cave tour was nice, and was easy for our 5 & 8 year old kids. There is a park ranger that lives on-site, but the park only had about 3 other campers when the night we stopped in. Very nice, new playground that my kids really liked. We had a site with a great view of the playground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$15
Lewis and Clark State Park is very primative, but that is what we like about it. You can watch the wild life come down out of the hills in the evening. It is usally very peacfull and quite. Usually not very busy. The Caverns are very intereting and we think worth a tour of them although there is a fair amount of walking and some crawling to be done. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2003
$15
Nice State Park campground on a loop 8-10 miles from I-90. Unfortunately, we had already set up before we discovered the charge was $15 or would have boondocked instead. Caves cost $10 per person to tour, we decided it was too spendy. Overall, it could turn out to be an expensive place to stay and visit for a family. Camphost on site, but saw neither hide nor hair of him/her. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com