223434 User submitted reviews online!!
Conestoga Campground / Smith River Valley was rated 9 out of 10 based on 36 user reviews. Phone: (406) 547-3890
CGID1707

Conestoga Campground / Smith River Valley

Camp Information
Sites
41
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   8   8   9   8   9   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$20
Rate is Passport America. This is one of the best RV parks we have been to. The owners not only try to make it nice they seem to have found the magic formula that most miss. Our pull-through was level, the interior roads are good gravel and wide enough to make it easy to get around and the utilities all worked well. Management and staff were very friendly and personally invited us to an ice cream social where we were told about all there is to do in the area. We had grass and a picnic table at our site but little afternoon shade. The well maintained grounds are beautiful and there is a small stocked pond to watch the sunset/sunrise or fish. Wi-Fi worked well as did our Verizon phones. There was no cable but there were a few local channels that we were able to pick up. Also they had free DVDs to borrow. We enjoyed walking into town more than once and there are a few restaurants and a small well stocked grocery store. There is also a farmer’s market one day a week. The sites were narrow and there is no cable or I would have given them a 10. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$3
The waterfront is the fishing pond. The rate is Coast-to-Coast. The reason I gave it a 9 was that there is no pool. The past reviews are right on. It is located just off US89 (one of the nation's beautiful drives from Glacier NP to Yellowstone). This is a very quiet and safe campground. I wish it was closer to where I live. We strongly recommend it to anyone passing through. The Wi-Fi was very good. Water and electric was strong. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
Level gravel sites, WiFi decent, bathhouse very clean, quiet, in the middle of nowhere (but that can be a good thing). Be sure to visit Castle Town (ghost town). We would stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$19
Great park,but isolated. Access to the Lewis and Clark National Forest. Very clean well kept. We stayed here very early in the season and the only other RV in the park was the workamper. Even though it was early water, sewer, and electric all worked. Good Verizon 4G signal. Beautiful valley setting. Sites are a little narrow for big rigs with slides. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$17
This is a nice campground, and you do not have to belong to a membership club to stay. They accept PA. All sites are open for satellite and Verizon data was excellent. Did not try the park Wi-Fi. All utilities were fine. People were friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$34
After the approach roads, a surprisingly nice campground! Very friendly owner/office staff. Well maintained with good free WiFi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$13
The owners and work campers were very friendly and knew about the area. The sites were level pull throughs and good for big rigs. There were mountain views and beautiful sunsets. The camp is well maintained and the facilities were very clean. Wi-Fi worked well. There was an ice cream social on the weekend. We would recommend this camp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$14
The rate is RPI. This park was a real pleasant surprise. The owner/managers were very friendly, knew the area so well, and were very helpful with directions. Make sure you feed the fish! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$17
If you ever wondered where the middle of nowhere was, well, we found it. Nice park and walking distance to town. Open area with views of the surrounding mountains. The park is expanding, so there won't be any problem finding a spot. Very nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$21
Price is Passport America rate with tax. Friendly and informative staff. Spotlessly clean grounds, laundry room, and shower room. Easy to find with good signage. Sites level, gravel and all pull-throughs. Good Wi-Fi. Good phone signal with T-Mobile. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$19
We like this place - it has everything but shade. Sites are spacious, Wi-Fi worked well, staff was gracious. Nice little store on site, with a DVD lending library. $38 for two nights is an outstanding rate! The nearby Montana Roadhouse serves up a pretty good steak. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$3
We are members of this campground. Their annual dues are only $99, and that includes two weeks of free camping! Our $3 fee was for electricity. This is one of our favorite parks. The owners are wonderful people. The town is friendly and the sunsets are gorgeous. If you want a place to wind down and just relax, this is the place. The campground is clean and quiet. The only negative I could offer is the price of the fish in the pond. I think six dollars is a little pricey. Other than that, I would give this park five stars out of five. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$13
All pull-through sites. 50A costs a little more. Laundry, small clubhouse & clean restrooms. Nice staff held ice cream socials a couple of times a week. Only drawback - Wi-Fi signal was marginal. Hot Springs pool is less than a mile away in town. Several restaurants and a small (and pricey) grocery in town. On the edge of the National Forest, there's access to fishing, hiking, and scenic drives. Also several museums nearby. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$11
They are my home CG for C2C & RPI. First time back in 3 years. Even nicer than before. Wonderful Owners and work camper people. Ice cream outside when the mosquitoes are gone (they seem to leave in August). They have games in the game room once a week but the room is available daily for dominoes, cards (hand-foot, joker rummy, etc. Also, there are a couple places in town that host Texas Hold-em. The surrounding mountains are gorgeous and fun to drive (4-wheel not needed but recommended). Local restaurants are above average. I just wish I had found the area/CG 50 years ago. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$13
This is a very well maintained RV park. Very friendly camp owners and camp hosts. Stayed here 9 days and had a wonderful stay. Highly recommend this park and will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$21
We really enjoyed our stay at this campground in White Sulphur Springs, MT. We really were out in the middle of the wide open west, and it was beautiful. The park owners were so nice and we enjoyed the camaraderie amongst the other guests. We park itself is 40 miles north of I-90 in the Smith River Valley. There were lovely vistas of the Belt Mts to the west and the Castle Mts to the east. We did laundry and the facilities were clean and reasonably priced. The sites are gravel, mostly pull thru. Full hook ups, no cable. They were a little crowded together but not enough to really bother us. The two grocery stores in the little town of White Sulphur Springs left a lot to be desired. We enjoyed a nice loop drive thru the Castle Mts and would highly recommend a visit to the Bair Family Ranch/Museum. We would most certainly return to this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$29
The park is very well laid out and clean. The scenery is great! Check in was fast and efficient and the host was very friendly, as was the owner. The W-IFI was very fast. The park is located on the edge of town, but is far enough off the traveled routes to be one of the quietest places we have stayed. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$13
Review written July 2010 is incorrect regarding long timers. Conestoga Campground is open May through October. The only two sites occupied after the park's season are the Camp Hosts. We are Coast to Coast members and have been a members of this park since 2005. We have always enjoyed the quiet country setting and small town convenience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$15
The friendly staff keeps the grounds well groomed and the facilities (restrooms, showers and laundry) very clean. It is a quiet and peaceful place on the edge of a small town surrounded by ranchland with mountains in the distance. The utilities, including WiFi, were good. AT&T phone service was good but there was no AT&T data service. The rate reflects a Passport America discount for a site with water and 30 amp electric. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$3
This is our second stay here, we love this campground. (The rate reflects our membership.) Lots of room, fabulous workampers and owners, great overall facilities and activities. Lots of great day trips from here: Great Falls, Bozeman, Helena as well as local things to see. Our only issue is that some of the sites are not as level as they could be. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
Very nice! Very clean! The people were very friendly and even gave out coupons with discounts at businesses in the town. When you stay here you really get to experience the "Big Sky" of Montana. The sunset was gorgeous. We would stay there again for sure. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
Their were 3 of us traveling on motorcycles and we each had our own tent. We stayed here 1 night. Staff is very friendly, sites are kept up very nicely. We were able to fit all 3 of our tents easily on the site provided. It appears that there are long timers staying at this park, but all the rigs were in very good condition and there was not stuff laying all around. We usually shy away from campgrounds / RV resorts with apparent long time stay rigs. It wasn't really apparent but with further observation you could tell some rigs were here for sometime. I would recommend this campground to others. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$10
We camped here at the Coast to Coast rate plus $3.00 a night for 50amp. First the many good things about the park. The owners and staff are friendly and very helpful, they take pride in the park. It is very clean and well kept; the store has many wonderful items made in Montana not the cheap Chinese junk that are found in other campgrounds; they have a great book exchange and many free dvd and vhs that you can check out for free; the sites are long, big rig friendly; the laundry rates are reasonable; the scenery is beautiful; has grass sites with tables, gravel and level and free WiFi. Now the few bad things. The sites are close together, WiFi is spotty, and the mosquitos are bad. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$13
Nightly rate was $10 for Coast to Coast members with an additional $3 a night for a 50 amp site. Sites are pull through and level. Campground is clean with a nice view of distant mountains. The mosquitoes were very bad here during our stay, and the electrical power went out several times. We finally were switched to 30 amp to be able to have power, although management did not offer to refund our extra $3 a day back for those 5 days we were without 50 amp service. The campground is located in a very small town and is rather far from any attractions, but it's a nice place to relax. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$10
We loved this campground. We stayed 6 nights. The sites were level gravel and the grounds were meticulously cared for. The management was simply the best: friendly, informative, warm and inviting. We took several day trips from Conestoga, two of which were to Helena and Great Falls. Glacier NP is about a 2 hour+ drive North of the campground. There was a laundry and activity room connected to the exceptionally clean and decorated bathrooms and spacious showers. The town has a history and offers a self guided walking tour as well as shopping, groceries and restaurants all within walking distance. Our view in the morning were the snow capped mountains and a field of black, beef cattle. Big rig friendly, pull through, full service hook ups, WiFi available. We used our Direct TV. 64 miles north on HWY 89 from Exit 340 on I-90 was scenic. Look close to see the Elk grazing in the fields and Richardson ground squirrels frolicking by the roadside. Ice cream socials and community campfire are enjoyed throughout the week. It was more than a pleasant camping experience. Inquire in office/store about their reasonable membership and home park transfer options which a Coast to Coast Deluxe affiliation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$18
This is a nice, clean, well maintained passport and other memberships park. The staff and owners are the friendliest I have ever found. The staff never grew tired of helping us with information. They have an ice cream social and a fire a couple of nights a week. Beautiful sunsets. No problem with your satellite TV reception. The Wi-Fi in my RV was pretty weak. My neighbor and I went outside our rigs to get a signal sometimes. I would happily stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$19
Nice little park in a nice little MT community. Very friendly check in; I had called ahead to make sure of site length and was given a choice of sites after arriving. Sites were long enough, but swing room to get into the sites leaves a little to be desired. I have a 5W and nicely graveled streets are just a little narrow. Sites were fairly adequate, but not any extra room between them. Awning just clears your neighbors slideouts. Very nice clubhouse and Wi-Fi worked well. Verizon also worked very well. Very peaceful and quiet. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$17
What a great little park in a typical small Montana town. Found several good restaurants, even did a Pizza & a Movie at Stageline Pizza on the weekend. Lots to do in the area if you talk to office staff, they were very helpful and friendly. Owners really seem to care and if you are interested in RPI or C2C, you can join here...NO pressure. Loved the ice cream social and even had the local Hutterites come out with fresh produce. Will definitely be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$10
This was one of the nicest small campgrounds that we stayed in during our trip. Booked through Coast-To-Coast, and Although not fancy, the owners were super-friendly, the sites clean and well-maintained and the bathroom and laundry immaculate. A friendly welcome with suggestions on what to see and do, directions, information about restaurants...Thanks Blanche!! One night a wonderful ice cream social was enjoyed by all. Great book sweap, free WiFi as well as free computer access. Pretty and well-stocked gift shop with reasonable prices on the property and a great locals restaurant only 4 blocks away. We look forward to staying there again. They also have a ownership option that is very well-priced with low maintenance fees that we are considering. This ones' a keeper! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$24
The staff was friendly, and the park was clean. The nearby local town is White Sulfur Springs. Office building has a room to socialize and watch TV. There is a very small store and fishing pond. Some nearby horses will come to you across the street, if you don't scare them. This is a very quiet RV park. We would stay there again, if passing through. There is nearby fishing holes and rivers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$10
Nice campground for a stopover, not much to do in the area, (which is why we didn't rate this campground higher) although the view surrounding the campground is nice. Wi-Fi worked well. Access is a couple of blocks on a gravel road from the highway. Gravel road interior. Sites are decent size (could be a little wider) with grass in between sites. Hookups are in the middle of the sites. The owners were friendly and seemed to try real hard. We would overnight here, but due to the lack of things to do in the area that's about all we'd do. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$8
Stayed here with C2C. Excellent clean campground with large pull through sites. Wide open great for Internet dish. Nice owners they has campfires and ice-cream socials. Not much to do in the area, just relax and enjoy... We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$7
Well run park. The owners keep it neat and clean. Wi-fi was free and the best we have run into. Small trout pond license not needed but fee to catch. Best sunsets and friendly small town. Would have given a 10 if they had shade. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$8
We go to this campground every time we are in the area ($8 w/Coast 2 Coast membership), super nice on-site owners, level sites, nice gift shop, wonderful views of the mountains, picnic tables at every site, very interesting town and a great stop on the way to Yellowstone Nat'l Park. This year, there were mosquitos, so bring your OFF. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$30
Great spot. Lots of nearby scenery and sites to visit. Not a metro area and thus, rather easy going. Very nice game room/lounge. Owners are very pleasant and helpful We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$23
Very well laid out park, All pull-thrus. Park is located in city limits, has city water and city sewer. This is probably the friendliest small town I have ever been in. Walk to golf course, and natural hot springs. Owners are as nice as they get and the views are outstanding. We spent 3 days and will definitely be back We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com