223611 User submitted reviews online!!
Fort Robinson State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (308) 665-2900
CGID1711

Fort Robinson State Park

Camp Information
Sites
160
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   7   8   9   10   10   8   10   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2014
$26
This is a wonderful state park. We liked it so much we extended our stay. Many historic buildings to tour and a natural history museum. Sites were generous; one campground has full hookups. Staff was friendly. Saw bison, prong horns and deer. Great place for hiking and trial riding. Lots of activities in the summer but we enjoyed the quiet in the fall. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$31
Rate is actually $31 because they attach a daily access fee of $5 for each day you elect to stay. Red Cloud full hook-up power for the first two night spiked to 138 volts several times each night and my EMS disconnected us each time, until voltage returned to a normal range. The CG is clean and okay, nearest restroom and/or showers about 1/4 mile away in another section. Red Cloud is the only section with full hook-ups. Parking an RV at the park office to check in is a little dicey, on the street, not a parking lot. The Fort is historic and well maintained with wagon rides, plays and shows at Post Theatre, horse back rides and lots or room to walk, or ride bicycles. Knowing what to expect in Red Cloud we likely would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$26
We camped in the Soldier Creek loop, with electric only. With the big trees, we had trouble getting satellite reception. Staff was friendly and helpful. The next time we would stay in Red Cloud section. Fort Robinson itself was very interesting with lots to do and wonderful walking areas. Would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$26
$26 per night was for a full hookup site on a level asphalt pad in the Red Cloud campground. We purchased the annual park permit for $25 and a duplicate park permit for our tow vehicle for an additional $12.50, as we will be at least two weeks in NE State Parks. There was a picnic table with a pedestal BBQ unit on the site. What other reviewers had to say about the park is correct; so much to see and do in and around the park, especially if you’re staying in-season. If you like walking/hiking/biking there are trails and roadways inside and outside the park. The night sky is gorgeous as are the sunsets. The park was very quiet during a portion of our stay but I can imagine that during the summer months the noise level goes up. The campground is a 3-mile drive into town where there are a few restaurants and grocery stores. Cell phone service on AT&T is 4G but out-of-network. Verizon data coverage was 4G LTE so we used our Millenicom jetpack for Wi-Fi access in the park. There was no OTA TV that we could tune in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$24
Price reflects full hook up. This is a great place for families and kids. Park is clean, sites are level, plenty of activities to do. The only down side is really not over air TV to speak of. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
Fort Robinson State Park's campground offers shady, electrical hookup sites plus primitive sites. Conveniently located are modern restrooms, showers, water, dump station, picnic tables and a shelter. Fort Robinson offers a nice campground for the horse lovers. Put your horse up for the night in one of the newly remodeled horse barns. With many miles of trails to ride through the beautiful Pine Ridge, this makes a great place to camp and enjoy the outdoors. Fort Robinson campground offers group camping with equestrian facilities. The campground is open year round with electricity. Showers and water will be shut down during the winter months. Fort Robinson, west of Crawford, has it all -- with more than 22,000 acres of exquisite Pine Ridge scenery, compelling old west history, exceptional lodging, loads of fun-time activities, scenic camping and the park's own buffalo and longhorn herds. What a centrally located park in the USA that would be perfect for a huge family gathering! I have NEVER enjoyed a state park more. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
Interesting place to visit with a lot of history to offer. We camped with full hook-ups. There is not much around the Fort so the TV antenna only received 3 stations (PBS of course). Our Verizon air card worked well but the AT&T smart phones did not. The Fort has a lot to offer; history, horse back riding, tubing down the river and numerous of things to keep you busy. The sites are well maintained and had no issues with the facilities or staff. It is a little tricky to find the camp ground as it is not well marked. Worth a visit if you like historical areas. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
This is a State Historic Site, with lots of activities available, including horseback riding, entertainment, stage coach rides, restaurant, museums and much more. It is a very difficult approach, as the RV parking is not well marked, and neither is the check in. Go to the main brick building just inside the main entrance for RV check in, then they will direct you to the campsites. We love the location and would highly recommend this park. The only thing I didn't like was having to buy a daily park use pass in addition to the RV fee, but this certainly isn't the only state that does this. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$32
Nice place to stop for a few days with plenty on offer. Historic sites, an indoor pool which costs 5 dollars (which we didn't use), stagecoach rides and cookouts. Would recommend to anyone the jeep ride which went off-road up in to the buttes and was fantastic value at 10 dollars for an hour. Also wanted to try tubing but the river was too low. There is a restaurant and theatre on site also if you want it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$26
We stayed at the Red Cloud campground (full hookups) at Fort Robinson for 3 nights. We would have preferred Soldier Creek (electric only) because they have shade trees and the temperatures were in excess of 100 degrees during our visit, as it was in most of the eastern half the the United States. Both campgrounds are nice. The restrooms are dated but clean. We did not use the showers. Fort Robinson is a wonderful place to explore with lots of activities and lodging options. We will return at a time when the temperatures are more moderate. Don't miss the Fort Playhouse...excellent performance. All the staff were great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$18
Beautiful rustic state park campground. Very family friendly with a lot to do and see. Went horseback riding, biking, hiking, and swimming. They have a fun free rodeo on Thursday nights,and even have their own summer theater troupe! Very clean bathrooms and nice warm showers. Only one washing machine and dryer, but the city of Crawford is only 3 miles away with a coin laundromat. Loved it there and will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$24
We have not stayed at many state parks, but Nebraska has done a wonderful job with designing excellent accommodations. Ft. Robinson (Red Cloud CG) has very spacious sites, asphalt paved roads and sites and they are easy to back into! The park itself is a treasure trove with two historical museums, riding stables, jeep tours, wagon and stagecoach rides, swimming pool and a restaurant. We stayed for six nights and never had to leave the park as there was always something we could do there. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful; the grounds were well maintained. For all this we were able to ignore the throngs of grasshoppers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$31
This is one of our favorite parks. We have stayed here for several days over the past couple of years. We have always parked in the Red Cloud section which is open and dish friendly. Everything is well maintained and if you are a history buff, you will be in Hog Heaven. We will make this a yearly stop. No negatives on this campground. All roads and sites are paved. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$21
We were very disappointed in this State Park. Granted, we were here out of season; however the state of the washrooms at Soldier's Creek (and the lack of washrooms at Red Cloud) would have put us off at anytime. There were also ants' nests everywhere, making it so difficult to safely walk the dogs that we pulled out a day ahead of time. I was also a mite put off by the extremely one-sided view of history presented in the historical hand-outs. For example, "Crazy Horse was killed while resisting arrest." Come on guys, Crazy Horse was stabbed in the back by a trooper!! I am not a native American, but this Park echoed with sorrow. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$22
This is a very nice state park. Lots of things to do from Memorial Day until Labor Day. After Labor days most activities are not available. If you are going to stay any length of time, purchase an annual vehicle pass for Nebraska State Parks. $20.00 will save you real money in daily entrance fees. Lots of history with numerous historical markers. We will stay here again and take part in the activities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
Very nice and quite state park. Many activities to do for the family. Full hookups. Would highly recommend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$21
It is very nice park, with alot to see and alot of history. The only problem is when you want to look around. There are tours 2 days a week for $10 a person. We were here 3 days and should have made it 2. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2009
$33
This is a cute park but one that discriminates against motorhomes towing. Get this if you are in a fifth wheel or travel trailer only the vehicle pulling your trailer needs a park pass, they tell me because the fifth wheel or travel trailer isn't going anywhere till you leave, now if you are in a motorhome with a tow vehicle both vehicles need park passes even though the motorhome will be parked till you leave they still make you pay for an additional park pass to the tune of four dollars a night! Also no drop in price after labor day even though none of the buildings are open including the store and restaurant. The two that were open were additional fees! it is quite obvious to us that the state of Nebraska doesn't want motorhomes or visitors to the state parks. We wouldn't bother coming back as it's not worth the ride way out in the corner of nowhere to be discriminated against. Just my opinion. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$16
This great state park has three campgrounds, Soldiers Creek, Red Cloud, and Equestrian Center. Soldiers Creek is pretty, shady, and has a small overused bathroom. Red Cloud is an open field with no bathroom but larger sites for big rigs. The Equestrian Center seems to be a secret. It is new with small trees, a nice bathroom, and laundry facilities. When we camped here in June 2009, Red Cloud and Soldiers Creek were full, while Equestrian had two rigs. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$27
Nice clean park with full hook-ups. No pull-thru's, but pads are positioned well for backing in. Check-in at the main building is a bit of a hassle if you get there at a busy time. Price includes daily park entry fee. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$23
Price reflects mandatory daily entrance fee. Ft. Robinson was a delightful find. Campground not nearly as great as the park. We stayed in the Red Cloud section which has full hook-ups but no shower/restroom facilities and little shade. The park office said all sites were the same length. This is not true. We needed a longer site and this was easily remedied. We did not disconnect and visited the entire park on bicycles including riding to the nearby town of Crawford on the White River Rail Trail. Highly recommend both museums, especially the historical one. This place ozzes history and the scenery makes you think you couldn't possibly be in Nebraska. We were told the park was pretty much a Memorial Day to Labor Day operation, but campgrounds stay open to about October 1. We would most definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
For a state park this is great. We love the history and love to walk. We stayed in the red cloud area that is relatively new pavement and full hook ups. Sites are level and nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$21
This park contains two separate campgrounds: Soldier Creek and Red Cloud. Soldier Creek sites have electric sites only and sites that are both shaded and non-shaded while Red Cloud, the newer of the two, has FHU and is completely out in the open. We stayed at Solder Creek. The sites in Soldier Creek varied in length, width, shade and non-shade. The park is on property that was once a military base and the state has made good use of the property. Some of the restored and reconstructed buildings are open on the weekend. There are also two museums on site. This is a good park for families as there are many planned activities such as hayrides, breakfasts, boating, games, fishing, etc (although some of the events were rather pricy in my opinion). This area is also great for bicycling. In addition to the RV campsite fee, you must purchase a daily park pass. We got Broadband access on our Verizon air card and our Verizon cell phone also worked fine. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$19
We enjoyed this park. We like to walk and you can walk here. There is a lot of history and a lot of things going on including hay rides, horse back riding, rafting, camp fire dinners, a theater(which was not open yet for the season but the shows are put on by Chadron State, a restaurant, and a couple of museums. The sites were level in the section we stayed. (recently repaved) They included sewer, water and 50 amp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2007
$19
The park has two campgrounds, one of which is closed for repaving. We stayed at the north campground, which also has paved roads and sites. Only four of these 24 sites had water and sewer, the others had electric only. Young trees, so no shade, but view of area is superb. Quiet, with rare train noise (track is two miles away). Some attractions nearby, including Fort and museum. Crawford is small, but has a nice city park. Very enjoyable for the three days we were there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$23
Extensive updating roads and campsite surfaces were being done. Must see museums. We rode our bikes around the Fort area and it took almost 2 hours. Really great place for horse people. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$19
We were here soon after Labor Day and did not know the main campgrounds, pool and restaurant were all closed. The out of the way, small Mare Barn cg was the only one open. It has been renovated,with paved sites (not level), and the bathroom was ok although there are coin showers. Only one washer and dryer in the laundry room. Seems like they could reduce the fees in the off season. What makes this place worthwhile is the history. The 2 Museums are fascinating, and it's fun to ride a bike around the park. Saw a horse club going on a trail ride so that seems to be a big deal here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$27
We had booked for the Red Cloud site but it is stark and barren - think Walmart parking lot with grass. The park staff happily accommodated our request for a move to the Soldier Creek site - beautifully tree covered with a creek running through. We took the jeep ride to the top of the buttes - excellent views. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$24
Great place to stay and visit for Western history and WW II history buffs. The sites were clean and had plenty of room. Shopping for groceries and small cafe just a few miles away. Great sunsets and sunrises. There are some small fishing lakes in the park. We enjoyed our visit at the park. Would stay there again if we ever get back in the area. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2005
$17
We really liked this campground. The Red Cloud Loop is in an open field with open space all around. The sites are not landscaped - more natural. It is very quiet with beautiful views. You stay right on the Fort grounds. Great place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$18
There are two separate campgrounds: Soldier Creek (electricity and tent only + shower house/restroom) and Red Cloud (s/w/e). Bring a longer water hose and/or sewer line for Red Cloud because there is a fair distance between the hydrant and the sewer at each site. Plenty of space between sites at either campground. Soldier Creek is older with established trees. Our favorite site at Soldier Creek is across the bridge; there have been times when we have had that entire area to ourselves. Red Cloud is newer, therefore there is no shade, however it is further from the highway with less traffic noise than Soldier Creek. Conversely, there is more dust at Red Cloud since the loop roads through Soldier Creek are paved. Visitors who don't have an annual state park permit will need a daily park permit ($3.00) in addition to the camping fee. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2000
$12
Fort Robinson State Park is the site of a Calvary outpost from the days of the "Indian Wars" and is worth exploring. Several scenic drives nearby that allow viewing of a fair sized Buffalo herd. Sites are arranged differently, sort of interspresed through out grassy areas with no real defined camping spots -- only the presence of electric facilities lets you know where a site is. Park has children's play area's, swim pool, fishing ponds, laundry facilities, showers and a dump station. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com