223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Gothenburg KOA was rated 5 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (308) 537-7387
CGID1715

Gothenburg KOA

Camp Information
Sites
62
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   2   4   4   4   8   5   6   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
We've trusted KOA and visited more than 10 on this two month cross country trip. This KOA is by far the worst we've found. The shower heads were clogged, the dumpster was open and full, the pool was green and dirty, and we saw no KOA staff in the campground during our visit. The office is really a convenience store associated with a gas station, and the KOA tag doesn't seem warranted or appropriate. I would avoid this campground and will not camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2013
$43
This park left much to be desired and is in need of some serious renovations: The pool water was green on one side, 1 of 2 filters was not working and debris was strewn all over the surface. The internet was non existent or so slow (less than 0.2 meg/sec) that it was unusable. If a service offered is unusable, then it should not be offered. The playground was old and rusty with a wooden teeter-totter and a rusted slide from the 1970's. The fence had just been repainted in the bright KOA colours. We were not escorted to our site. This seemed unusual to us as most KOA campsites offer this service and upon arrival can immediately address any concerns. The check-in staff was friendly but the front desk was so far from the campsites and we only stayed overnight that we simply packed up ASAP in the morning and departed hastily. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
The park is old, swimming pool was drained, no info given about wifi, very tight pull through sites. Ground is dirt/gravel with standing water in places. Old swing set with slide and wooden teeter-totter. Bathrooms need serious updating. Railroad tracks nearby and trains were going through during the night. The number one reason we would never stay here again is the people in this town are rude, from the teenager doing donuts and almost sliding into us, to the people blocking the entry ways as they stop to talk to each other in their cars. Way over priced and not welcoming by the town or the campground management. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2012
$38
Very overpriced and the facilities are old. While the bathrooms were clean, they need updating really badly. The sites are tight, and there is nothing but dirt around the grounds. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2012
$33
Typical KOA. Sites pretty close together. Wi-Fi went down and could not get AT&T signal and poor Verizon so out of luck for being online. No help to fix from the front desk. Location close to the highway so you do get highway noise. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$36
Nice little park under the trees. Rate if for a 50 amp and water site, no sewer, with a KOA card. Site was plenty long for my 39' coach with toad, and very,very wide, grass on both sides of gravel. Several wild turkeys wandered through the site. English hosts are very friendly and accommodating. The store is stocked with many British items and my British Bride spent a small fortune there. We transit this area often,and this will be our stopping point. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$40
We stayed here as an overnighter both ways on our trip. Got the same site both times. The park has a decent store and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I liked the staff better than the park though. There is a pool but it was not open and looked bad. The WiFi did not work at all. The bathroom was in poor condition with out of order toilets. The sites were typical size and were level. The hookups were ok and the cable worked. There was a lot of traffic noise and a train horn every 3 minutes or so it seemed. Ok for an overnight if the location is convenient to you. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$45
An adequate campground for an overnight stay. The pool is not operational and the internet was erratic the night we stayed there. Maneuvering a large rig could be a challenge but doable. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$41
What a missed opportunity and overpriced facility. First, the missed opportunity: This is a nicely laid out property with older trees for shade. However it looks like it has been totally ignored for the past few years. It looks like whoever owns it now has decided to do the bare minimum as far as upkeep and the grounds. The swimming pool is closed (89 degrees while we were here) and weeds are the flower of choice. This is one of those places where you think to yourself "what if" and wonder why anyone would let it deteriorate. Now, for the overpriced: We paid $41 for full hookups (which are only 30 amp) and at best this is only a $25/night facility. But, for a one night stop it works - just not for $41. We probably won't stay here again. P.S. KOA needs to check this place over and see if it meets their criteria. Doubt it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$33
This campground just re-opened recently after being affected by the severe flooding this summer in the area. Yes, the pool was not open but that is not what the owners have been concentrating on at this time. Installing a new bridge to the campground was. They are continually working to improve their campground. They have new picnic tables on the sites. They have nice cabins and a playground for children. I assume that they are under considerable financial pressure without the usual income from campers during the period in which they were closed. We stayed in the campground for 5 nights. Others we spoke with in the campground stayed several nights as well and they enjoyed it too. The bathrooms and laundry were very clean and well kept. The owners were very accommodating and we would not hesitate at all in going back to this campground. In fact the next time we are in the area we will stay here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2011
$27
This place is dirty! When you walk the grounds and enter your travel unit you bring the muck on your feet left from a flood this summer. There is slime and rotting smell hanging over the campground. The pool is FILTHY. I would say they opened too soon after the flood but from previous posts it was bad before and now is only worse. I would suggest avoiding this one! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
This park should be condemned. What a swamp, and I'm surprised that the bridge to the sites didn't collapse as we went across. Good people that are running the place. But I would not stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$36
Typical KOA, near the interstate, so you get lots of highway noise at night. Also, near major east-west train route and they honk their horns at every crossing in Gothenburg, about every fifteen minutes or so. Very noisy. This campground had been hit by a bad windstorm the day before so many sites had big limbs down in them and piles of branches all over the place. It had not been cleaned up yet. Maybe the seasonal KOA workers had already gone home, so the owner had to do it himself/herself. No specific pet walk area, just pick up after your dog. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$45
We stayed here for one night on our way out west. The staff was nice. The office is an old gas station. You then enter the campground by driving down a gravel road and over a one lane bridge. The campground has a pool (dirty), playground and nature trail. The bathrooms are average. Some shady lots. The campground has highway and train noise. OK for an overnight spot but not great. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
This is a good place for an overnight stop. Kids seemed to enjoy the playground, but the pool was closed. It appears the management is working to get it open for the summer months, however. The site was level, the traffic noise low, and the bathrooms clean, but dated. Note that there are lots of wonderful tall trees (which may block satellite reception) and no cable TV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
Pretty location in a grove of cottonwood trees, with nature trails along some streams. Older playground, but kids were sure enjoying it when we were here. Sites were gravel and level. Although close to I-80, it was very quiet. Great stopover location when heading across Nebraska. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$27
It's rather "rustic" by KOA standards. It looked like they may have just opened for the season, pool was empty, landscaping in poor condition. The check in staff was very friendly. This is perhaps the best stocked KOA store I have every seen. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
Very friendly owner, with a well-stocked store. It is nice to also purchase fuel by the office area. There are good areas for walking pets. The negative point is not having cable access. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$24
Very outdated looking KOA: below KOA standards I'm sure. The pool was not heated and full of cottonwood leaves. Bugs were bad because the entire campground was surrounded by swamps. The trees were full of screaming frogs, or bugs until sunset. A group of boy scouts came in late, 2 AM and were banging around trying to set up their swiss army cotts, right behind our tent: they slept outside with no tents! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$37
Convenient campground to the interstate, okay for an overnight. Kids enjoyed the playground and pool although neither were anything special. Restroom/shower were adequate. Go slowly over the bridge at the entrance. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$28
Nice staff. Park has beautiful trees. Quiet, away from the interstate. Somewhat tight spaces. Needs some TLC. If you like British candy you can buy some at their store!! The downside is the TV reception is nothing!! The flier lists several stations but we could not even get static! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2008
$30
This place is below KOA standard; I feel. The park needs a face lift to be more like other KOAs we stay in. WIFI worked fine. Very similar park to other parks along the Interstate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$32
A pretty typical Interstate highway campground. Some spaces were pretty close together, but the management did a good job of spreading people out rather than packing everyone into adjacent sites. Road noise and train noise was about average. The noise from the steel bridge on the entry road was very loud at the sites at the front of the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$26
It's a KOA. The paved part(asphalt) of the site is just wide enough for the RV. Your walk way is dirt or grass. Spacing of the sites is good. Parts of the road in currently have pot holes. Would stay again but might try the city park. Wi-Fi is weak for our spot; don't know about others. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2007
$31
The campground itself is OK, maybe a tad below average for a KOA. It was probably bad luck, but there were apparently several long term campers in the park, and they were rude and noisy. To have your neighbor start his diesel right next to your open bedroom window, and laugh and joke with his buddies at 5:00 AM will spoil an experience. To be fair, when we complained to the manager on departure, he said he'd take care of it, but that couldn't salvage a lost overnight. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$33
Nice big shade trees and well maintained with nice landscaping. The pool was nice, but there are not as many activities here as at the bigger KOA campgrounds. This is a good place for an overnight stop. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$28
Good for them, they are holding their prices. Grass a little shabby but with all those trees it can't get much sun. Pool is large and very clean. It works for me. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$28
At first we were concerned with this park. You can only see the office and gas pumps from the road. You enter the park via a steel bridge that is behind the park. As it turns out the sites are nice and clean and very level. The site we were in was level enough that we did not have to un-hook. The rest rooms and showers were very clean. This was an overnight stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$28
Clean campground, friendly staff. Used this campground for overnight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$28
Not a bad little park. Small sites. Staff friendly. Grounds could use a bit of cleaning or raking. Pool usable but also could be better looked after. Good for stop over. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2004
$28
This was a nice campground but the turns are a little tight for larger rigs. The manager was very friendly and pointed out various interests around town. The laundry facilities were very clean as were the restrooms & showers. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2003
$31
We found this to be a pleasant campground, quite a few large trees, owner was very friendly and gave me a shaded spot on my request, we didn't have a reservation. Kids enjoyed the pool and playground, though I would say the playground could have used some repairs. At night there was some interstate noise from I-80 and train noise also, but we have a hybrid camper so we get more outside noise. This place was OK for an overnight stop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com