224217 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Pleasant Regional Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 37 user reviews. Phone: (928) 501-1710
CGID173

Lake Pleasant Regional Park

Camp Information
Sites
150
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   8   6   7   9   8   8   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$25
We stayed in one of the partial hookup sites in the Roadrunner Campground. Most of them have a covered picnic table, which makes it tight to back in. However, our site was a pull-through, making in and out very easy. Some leveling equipment was needed. Hookups were fine. Very strong Verizon signal; our MiFi worked excellent. There are several campgrounds within the park and dry camping (10$/night) is allowed in many areas along the shoreline of the lake. However, most of the dry camping spots are better suited for smaller RVs. If your rig is larger, go to the paved boat launch area just half a mile from Roadrunner. Some dry camping is also offered at the north end of the park. You have to check in and pay at the main entrance first, though. Pretty quiet location, just the burros can be heard. Best bet to see some is going to the north entrance in the late afternoon. Maricopa County plans to increase all fees by about 20% within the next months. We would come back anyway, but fetch a dry camp site next time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$28
We really enjoyed our time here. We booked far in advance for a site along the lake and it was amazing. All campsites come with a fire pit and picnic table which is covered by a metal awning. Sites are large and have good distance from other campers. Campsites only have water and electric but a dump station is available. We moved to another site a week later and discovered the desert views were just as amazing. Boat ramps and hiking trails are available around the park. We liked the restaurant (Scorpion Bay) which is located within the park. Freeway access is about 20 minutes away. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$25
Nightly rate was $25, plus there was a fee of $8 for online reservations. Park is easy in/out. We had reserved site 22 online, but upon arriving and seeing the site we didn't think we (in a 40' RV) could get into it without scraping our jacks. There was a large incline at the entrance to the site, so we changed sites. There was a $5 fee for that change. It was obvious that many RVs had scraped while entering/exiting site 22. There is no mention of the large incline online and it isn't visible from the online images of the site. Site 13 has a bit of an incline also. There are pull-throughs and back-ins and there is good spacing between sites. There are trails for hiking/pet walking. There was, however, a lot of horse poop around the park, even in the kids' sand box. Verizon 4G worked well. There were no benches in the men's shower area to place clothes, towels, etc. There were benches in the women's shower area, but no mirror. We stayed 5 nights and enjoyed our time here, and will return if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2013
$25
We stayed here for a total of three days with partial hookups. Both water and electric (50amp) were offered, but sewage would need to be dumped on our way out. The new spot was near the top of a hill overlooking the lake and surrounding area. We were also just below a cell tower which meant we had full coverage while here. The sites are large with a covered picnic area and fire pit. We enjoyed staying here. There was a little play area for the girls and plenty of land to explore as a family. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
As previously noted, sites don't have sewer, at least in our site #25. Sites aren't mowed as not enough help, but that's OK. Our site doesn't have a view of the lake, but that's OK as we are only staying for a couple of days. Our site doesn't have a cover for the table but it is 125 feet long. Pretty far out from Phoenix, but if you have a boat, it is a good deal. Probably won't stay here again because to far out for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$25
We REALLY enjoyed this park. The only thing we did not like was no sewer at the sites and a 2-holer dump station on the exit road. Spaces 7-23 have great views of the lake, are paved and are reasonably level. No problem with our 40' motorhome. Sitting right under a Verizon tower so 4G was 5 bars. Electric (50 amp) and water were A+. Many people were swimming in the lake, but we did not try it. Wild burros are occasionally in the campground. Fantastically dark at night and very quiet when we were there. All sites have a covered picnic table and the sites are well spaced. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$25
Very scenic campground with views of the lake. Paved sites with fire pits and covered picnic tables. Our site was spacious and level. However, as others have posted, some can be a challenge for larger rigs. The showers could use some more attention and cleaning. No benches or mirrors for shaving. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$33
Expensive for a county park (and $8 reservation fee!), but very nicely maintained park. Nice trails, pretty lake views, ranger-led programs, level and clean sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$25
Spent 2 weeks here and loved it. The lake is beautiful, and the campground has large, level sites on pavement. The marina has a great bar and casual restaurant. We were able to pick up Wi-Fi at the marina, and the marina allowed us to use their laundry facilities. We saw wild burros on a hike. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$25
We spent 9 nights here and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. I imagine that in the summer it's a totally different experience with day-use boaters, but it was quiet and relaxing in February. Beautiful views. Shopping in Peoria is about 20 minutes away. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2012
$25
This is a great CG. There are no amenities other than the great outdoors but that's all we need. The staff are also really great to work with. We have a 40' rig and the campsite we were assigned was impossibly unlevel and super tight. The staff helped us find a suitable site for our stay in fact, the one we ended up with was much, much better and we will request this one on future visits. This though is a lesson to readers with big rigs-- caution many sites are very unlevel and tight--others though are certainly capable of hosting the biggest rigs. An added nice touch is the double dump station so you can get away faster than if there was only one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$25
Have been coming to Lake Pleasant for over ten years and it only gets better. Most of the sites in the Roadrunner camping area overlook the lake, what a view. The park Hosts are great and many of them have been coming here for years. Years ago there was only 30 amp service but now there is 50 amp at all sites and I have never had an electrical problem. New since April of this year is the reservation system and I think it's a great idea. You never knew with the old first come first served system if you could get a site during busy holidays. You can make a reservation six months in advance. There is also a new marina on this side of the lake with a fantastic restaurant right on the lake. This is the best COUNTY or STATE camping facility I have stayed at. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$25
Great staff, beautiful views. Two issues: water and electric outlets can be far from RV position (we had to use two water hoses to reach the bib); many sites are far from level. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$25
Nice park with great views of Lake Pleasant. The dump station was real nice, better than most. The electricity was spot on. Our 38 ft. motorhome had no problems fitting into the site we had. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$25
Great park in the winter. We live in Phoenix and will camp here during the winter months for a weekend. The park is not crowded in the winter and is quiet. Sites are spacious and have a covered picinic table. Summer time can be crowded and loud with parties not to mention hot. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$35
Excellent RV park! Three-way sites are a bit small in the "compound area" but the 2-way sites that look out over the lake are much bigger (and cheaper!). Very clean bathrooms and showers, beautiful heated pool. We also made use of the free morning yoga classes at the recreation center. Check with the park to avoid some of the large fishing contests and rallies that are held here. Unless that's why you are going! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2009
$20
A beautiful desert campground. Well maintained and a great value. Close to the lake there will be more flying gnats at dusk. Minor inconvenience considering the view. At this time of year the campground was nearly empty. The camping rates were going up the next day to $25 per night. Still a great value. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$15
We have stayed at the Lake Pleasant campground many times in the cool seasons. We have always had a positive experience. The park rangers are very helpful and maintain a beautiful lake front campground. Great boat launching ramp with plenty of parking. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$20
Decent sites with easy access to input kayaks. Beautiful views. If you have a powerboat this seems to be the place to go. Water is cold and refreshing. Very hot in the summer months. Great getaway from the snow in the winter months. We will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$20
Located north of Phoenix, this county park is another gem in the Maricopa County system. There are multiple loops some with hookups, some without. It’s a well run park that was virtually sold out every night in January, but the winds from the north were a problem 3 of the 5 nights we were there. Serious winds enough to keep boats off the water and seriously rock RVs are enough to figure out whether certain times of the year are worse than others. I would not return here in January even though the views are unbelievably beautiful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2008
$20
We diverted here from the Cave Creek park because it was full over the Thanksgiving weekend. The only available hook up spaces were at the Roadrunner section which is somewhat remote from the lake itself - no big deal this late in the season and the lake level was at perhaps 50% full anyway. Very nice views from a perimeter back in site that was clean,level and provided with table,fire ring, barbeque and shade cover. Best of all was a ferocious thunder and lightning storm (the kind only a desert environment can provide) that made it ever so cozy to hunker down in the trailer and watch nature! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2008
$20
We camped in Roadrunner, which has no sites that are on the water. About half of the sites in Roadrunner have lake views, the other half have mountain views. We found that Desert Tortoise, the other campground with a portion of sites with hookups, to be very tight to park a 34' coach. The camp sites were decent. This campground has several levels, which helps promote better views and more privacy. The ranger station personnel both by phone and in person were unfriendly and completely not helpful and would not even answer and perhaps really didn't know how many hookup sites were available at the time of the call. There were three camp hosts per campground loop, which seemed excessive. They seemed to do very little and had their "campground host off duty" signs on display while we were here. There is one walking trail accessible by foot from Roadrunner, which was a disappointment given that the entire park is reported to have hundreds of miles of trails. Also, at this time of year (water level was down 54%) you could not walk to the lake edge to launch a kayak, but would need to drive to the boat launch. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$20
We loved this park. There were plenty of spots available, and we chose one right near the playground. The proximity to the play equipment, the cleanliness of the facilities, and the views of the lake were all big positives. We will definitely come back and hopefully stay at one of the pull throughs overlooking the lake.The only negatives are the lack of sewer hookups and more play equipment (no slides, no swings). All in all a nice play to go close to Phoenix. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$20
We camp here all the time at the Roadrunner campground. We take the boat and dogs for a weekend (or more) of fun. You have stunning views of the lake, mountains, and absolutely beautiful sunsets. The evenings are generally 10 degrees cooler than in Phoenix, and you get a breeze most nights. The park is very well maintained, and Dick, the camp host, is always helpful, keeps the place clean, and is always driving around on his cart to see if there is anything he can do to make your stay better. We can walk down to the lake in 5 minutes to let our dogs swim in the morning before taking them on the boat in the afternoon. We only have 3 reasons this place won't get a 10. There are no sewer hookups anywhere in the park, although there is a dump station on the way out. Second reason is there are many sites that can be difficult to get into, even so much as bottoming out with your rear jacks. Third is, for a state park, many of the sites are really close to your neighbors. If you get a pull through, this is not an issue, as your patio/awning faces lakefront, but in some of the back in sites, you are looking right at your neighbor. None of these things will stop us from coming back to this park. It just stops us from giving it a 10. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$20
This is a very nice park for a county park. The sites tend to be a little small to back into, but are nicely situated with cabanas and picnic tables, as well as fire pits and grills. The lake is within view of most sites and fishing or swimming from the shore is a 5 minute walk down to the lake. There is a free dump station available near the exit to the park when you leave. A boat ramp and marina are also close by. It is a desert, so it is hot in the summer, but there are 50 amp service available to run your A/C. It does cool off at night. We stay here several times a year. ATV trails are also near by. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$20
Many very nice sites, especially those with a lake view. Paved throughout. Great camp hosts. We are fans of these Maricopa County campgrounds. Enjoyed hiking here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$20
Nice park a little off the beaten path, so plan accordingly. They do not take reservations so we called ahead, and were told they had lots of sites available. We arrived on a Sunday, and had no problems finding a spot for our 40 foot coach. The campground filled up on Tuesday as it was spring break, and was still full when we left on the following Sunday. We attended several spring training baseball games in Surprise from here. The drive is about 25 miles. It made a good 'base' camp. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$20
A beautiful park, as others have noted. Many sites have views of the lake, great mountain views as well. They have two large and well-maintained boat ramps. There are some nice hiking trails. The only problem is that the park is first-come, first-serve - when you pay at the gate, you then have to drive around to find a site. The park was pretty full when we pulled in, so we grabbed the first site we saw open (which was very nice). A little later, we saw several folks driving around looking for sites. I assume they do not let in more people than they have sites available, but it could be a little nerve wracking having to drive all over the various roads looking for the one or two sites that are left. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2008
$21
This park is just beautiful, no other way to describe it. Very clean and almost perfect. We are going back there when we leave the park we are in now. The park Host's are very friendly and informative. Great place to camp. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2007
$36
Loved this place!!!! Awesome fishing too! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$18
Excellent park, very well maintained! Clean restroom and a very peaceful setting. Nice views of the lake, picnic tables and fire rings, however we were not allowed to start a fire this time. Will camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$20
Beautiful park. The views of the lake are amazing. It is a great oasis in the desert. Be sure to make a stop at the visitor center to learn more about the area. The sites are paved and level. We had no problems getting into our site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2006
$30
Located within walking distance of Lake Pleasant. We had a very large pull through site (#15) and were very pleased. Very clean and security patrolled consistently. Wi-Fi was spotty but inexpensive ($5 for a week). Propane delivered Wednesday and Saturday. Sign up at the office. Many full timers but the sites were nicely maintained and a nice touch were the Christmas decorations. (We could vote on the one we liked best.) Scottsdale was a half hour away (we were here for a family reunion) and a large grocery store and gas were just down the road (10 minutes). Would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2006
$18
Beautiful, well-maintained, loved it. Very friendly, helpful staff and camp hosts. If this park had laundry and wifi I'd never leave. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2005
$18
Nice desert campground. Weather in March was good, about 80 degrees likely too hot in the summer. Both lake-side and lake-view sites are available. Also, you can dry-dock camp at various locations around the lake. Clean showers / restrooms within easy walking of most sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2005
$18
Lake view site very pleasant, quiet. No complaints We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2000
$15
County campground that can take large rigs. Great view of the lake although not accessible by foot [easy drive to waters edge]. Very clean and well maintained. Each site has a covered picnic table. No dump station in the area. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com