206663 User submitted reviews online!!
Cathedral Gorge State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (775) 728-4460
CGID1759

Cathedral Gorge State Park

Camp Information
Sites
22
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$17



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   10   9   10   9   9   10   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$17
$17 gets you a few threaded faucets, flush toilets, showers, well-spaced sites, a few trees here and there, and a rather nice view. There is also a dump station on the way out on the access road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$17
Stayed here one night on our way home from Moab. The campground is OK. Sites were on the small side, but we got a pull through which was one of the few left. National Parks were closed at this time so maybe more folks went to the state parks. The campground was pretty dusty, no hook ups, and pay showers which seems to be the norm in Nevada. There were some beautiful formations across the street which were very interesting. Very quiet area. It was fine for one night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$17
Beautiful state park. Best view around. Clean and tidy. The bathrooms were clean, and the showers were free. Hard to find the entrance coming from the north. We found the southern entrance and drove back in, but it wasn't far and worth the trouble. Lots of tenting sites. Most sites plenty big for our 31' fifth wheel. Covered ramada over the picnic tables. Water and sewer dump close by. Good place to stop on the way to Las Vegas. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$15
Rate reflects Nevada resident discount. Not all spaces were friendly for larger rigs. A clean, well kept, place to stay. Very quiet. Lots of hiking available in an area that is a geologic wonder. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$17
Great park. Easy access, friendly staff, cell and MiFi and pet friendly. Beautiful 4 mile hike through the gorge and nice places to visit nearby (in the toad, Pioche, Echo Canyon, Spring Valley). There's a nice accessible dump on the access road into the park. Generators OK. (Probably remember us as ours started up automatically at 4 AM!) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$10
Our rate reflects the Nevada State Park yearly passholder rate. This is our second stay at Cathedral Gorge and it remains one of our favorites. Fantastic landscape and night sky. Convenient to highway. Nice place to stop if you prefer a short first days drive when heading north out of Vegas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$17
Great park. Don't miss the great short hikes available in the park. Very quiet here, and the sites are very clean. Big rigs: Watch the tree branches going in and out. I had to stop and get on the roof of my fifth wheel with my loppers to get clearance as I left. Eastern Nevada State Parks are sure nice though! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$17
Almost empty campground. Beautiful and clean. Pink spires and canyons and caves everywhere. I don't know why this campground isn't full! Quiet and serene. 34' fifth wheel, we had no trouble backing in. Great hikes and biking in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$17
My Verizon card worked well. The park is located in a beautiful box canyon. Excellent, very easy hiking trail. Nice level sites. Water available throughout campground. Excellent preview before Bryce Canyon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$17
While the park generally is not "Big Rig" accessible there are two sites that would handle 40 foot RVs. Sites are level, wide and have picnic tables, fire rings, lantern posts and cabanas also, water spigots are located throughout the park. Main attraction is the spires and buff colored cliffs with "caves" to explore. Restrooms are always clean. There is a dump station with potable water available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$14
There is only one pull-through. The sites are mainly medium size, although our 40' motorhome fit in one and would have fit in three. It is very quiet at night. There is a nice 4-mile trail and some slot canyons (they call them caves) to explore. A nice stop-over but not a destination park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$14
I stayed here for longer than intended because I got one of the pull through sites. There are two but one is across the road near the group camping area and reserved for handicapped. It has a concrete pad but not the shade that the one in the regular campground offers. Great spot and in no hurry to move because finding another spot as well kept as this one will be difficult. I stayed here in a big rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$14
There are not too many places to stop between Las Vegas, NV and Jackpot, NV. This is a very nice State Park and a pleasant surprise. Great views and the sites give you room to breath. They also sell firewood – Just a couple of bucks for an arm load of pinion wood. One of the best smelling fires we’ve ever had! We would have loved to spend more time here but just passing through this time. We will keep this place in mind for a future extended visit. Not too many spots for big rigs. The campground was about ¾ full but several big rigs drove through and then had to leave because the could not find a space big enough. Restrooms and showers were nice. Did not try the Verizon internet card because laptop battery was dead. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$14
This has to one of the cleanest parks we been in. most of the sites were level, raked, and with shade. They also include fire pit, table, a hook for your lantern and a gazebo for shade. Water faucets are located around the campground. The dump station, which can handle two rigs at one time, is in the park between the campground and the main road. The restrooms are nice and the showers are clean and warm with a lot of hot water. Cell service is good , no wi-fi, we didn't check for TV reception and radio station comes from Cedar City, UT. Dry camping at its best We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$14
This is quite possibly the nicest State Park we have ever stayed in. All sites have a picnic table, fire pit, ramada & shepherds hook for your lantern. The sites are raked after they are vacated and they are located in an oasis of trees. There is only one pull thru but we had no problems finding a site to fit our coach ( 38 feet ) and tow vehicle. We arrived planning on spending just one night but enjoyed this park and the surrounding area so much we stayed for 3 nights. Another bonus for us was that our cell phones & internet worked while camped here which came as quite a surprise since it is literally in the middle of nowhere! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2005
$14
This park is spectacular. The restrooms are clean and the shower is quite nice. There are beautiful, well-marked nature trails that begin within the campground. Bicycles are allowed on them, but must yield to pedestrians. The park is peaceful and quiet at night. When we camped, there was not a pull-through available, but we parked in the group camping lot (which was totally empty), which worked out fine for us. This was a great place to stop for the night and we would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$12
If the idea of no hookups appeals to you this is a great spot. Park gets its name from the shape of the gorge, it's a natural amphtheater. Also home to some "Hoodoos", that demand exploring. Another plus is that it's a good stop over while traveling through Eastern Nevada (long way from anywhere, which is typical of Nevada). Sites are level, wide and fairly deep, some may be suitable for larger rigs, and have fire rings, picnic tables and cabanas. Water is available as is a dump station. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com