221664 User submitted reviews online!!
Shamrock RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 34 user reviews. Phone: (775) 329-5222
CGID1762

Shamrock RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
121
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   5   7   8   10   7   9   6   2   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2014
$37
A parking lot atmosphere. Pet unfriendly: Has a basic dog area but animals are limited to where they can go. $60 deposit was required to get cable. Will not stay here again. Worst place we stayed on whole trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2014
$34
The good; Very clean, well maintained fairly quiet some nice views and friendly people. Every site is paved with with parking beside your rig. Water pressure was a tad low at 30 PSI, power was solid never got an error code. The not so good; While clean and paved the park has an almost sterile feel to it. Sites are very narrow and our 40' 5th wheel barely fit lengthwise and some longer 43-45' rigs barely and I do mean barely fit. The site all slope downward some more than others and due to the length of our rig we used every foot of hose and elevated it to get a good drain. Not a big deal but if you have a long rig with a mid-point drain, you'll need to elevate the hose and plan on a 25' run give or take. The bad; This place is NOT pet friendly in any way, shape or form. Yes you can have pets and there but, there is no pet run (other than a poop pit) and the tar would be murder on there feet. There is a very large dog park a couple of miles away though. The rate reflects a Good Sam discount. $238.00 / 7 days. We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
Very narrow streets to maneuver through. Hard to get into and out of sites but once in sites were adequate, although slightly slanted to one side. Friendly staff. We followed the golf cart to our site and thankfully the guy stood there to make sure I didn't bang something. Very small gravel pet area and it smelled. Propane was $2.10 a gallon, I've never got it that cheap before. Was charged $2.00 extra for cable that brought the bill to $35.30 but the tax at 13% was mind boggling bringing the total bill to $39.89 and that was with the Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
Clean and kept neat. Office staff is friendly and park maintenance is is very helpful and friendly, too. Restrooms are clean and showers roomy and water pressure quite adequate. Would be nice if the restrooms were air conditioned during hot weather as it gets to be a sauna in there when showering. Office has bags of ice on hand at good price and the laundry is neat and clean and coins available in the office. Many long term residents in this park as evidenced by the many large propane tanks hooked up. Not much shade, really. Trees need to get bigger, but many are not going to get any larger. This is a good park to stay in while visiting Reno. Easy freeway access and close to the Hwy 80 and 395 interchange. Downtown and casinos minutes away. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$17
This is a very well managed RV park. The park is mostly paved with grass dividers between each site. Sites are mostly the same size. Ours was long enough to park our 36' motorhome with plenty to spare, and plenty of width to open your awning and park your car. Cable is Charter cablevision and basic is included. Wi-Fi is good (extra charge), but we called Charter and got internet through the cable using our own cable modem the same day. This park does have many monthly visitors, but the management here does not allow clutter or unsightly RVs, we did not have any problems or issues. Bathrooms are spacious and have handicap size facilities and spotless; you could eat off the floor. Pool is small, but well maintained. Park was nearly full during our stays, but was quiet. Staff was very friendly and efficient. Park provides propane service where they deliver a large tank to your site and connect it to your RV with metered delivery, very convenient. We stayed for two months while in Reno and would definitely book at this park again. Very, very satisfied. You can REALLY tell that the folks that own this place care about it staying nice. Rate is based on monthly rate plus electric. Electric is seperate for monthly, but very reasonable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
This park is OK and is probably doing the best it can with the space it has to work with. It was very clean and quiet. There is a slope to many of the sites and a need for leveling. The check in lady was very nice and went beyond our expectations. The interior streets are narrow but doable with even big rigs. Caution, and someone to spot for you when turning into your site would be called for if driving a big rig. The negatives are some residents think rules only apply to other people and park out side of their sites markings. With the narrow streets it can be very tight. The staff does not seem to monitor this at all. The office closes at 5 PM and lots of folks do not stop that early in the day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
From Australia on our first RVing trip. The general park environment was very tidy. No litter was seen at all. Many long-term residents, but all sites looked well-maintained. Very quiet. It on the edge of town. Other than a small convenience store there is nothing in walking distance, but there are buses to central Reno every 60 minutes. Some traffic noise in the evening. No funny smells. Sites are smooth tarmac, as were the internal roads. Most sites are double width, with a small garden bed containing small trees or shrubs between sites. Easy access and pull-through. Some of the adjacent shrubs and small trees rub on the RV, but no large branches. Our site was level. There are a few scattered small areas of clean, vigorously green lawn with picnic tables. The toilet facilities need a code to access them. These are the cleanest, most spacious, and generally most pleasant to use public facilities I have seen in years. Fantastically clean and warm pool. No common area or recreation room. Small gym that closes at 5pm. Good AT&T reception. Laundry open 24 hour - $1 wash, $1 dry. Staff: Very friendly and good humored. Willing to come and have a look at some problems I was having with my RV. I would not hesitate to come back the next time I am in Reno. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$38
The staff was really nice. Our biggest complaint is we have 2 small dogs. The dog run was all gravel, to me it looked like a over sized litter box and especially smelled like it! There were 3 areas that had grass, but dogs were not allowed on grass and there is a $25.00 ticket fee if your dog is caught on the grass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2012
$32
Interior roads are in terrible condition. Pull through sites are not long--we had to unhook even though we paid for a pull through--narrow roads and short sites will not accommodate many combinations. Utilities are adequate--cable costs extra. The staff was concerned and helpful-the owner is putting band aids on a park that requires major surgery! Vets will tell you that tiny exercise areas breed disease and this park supports that--small, dirty, smelly, pet area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
Nice park, easy access to downtown Reno. At entrance to park, the pavement has a rise, with a low-clearance RV, the entrance needs to be taken slow to not drag. Most sites have 2 trees and shrubs between sites. The sites do not seem any closer together than other RV parks. The corners can be tight, but my 55' of truck and trailer did fine, just watch the mirrors. I could stay hooked-up, so my site was at least 55'. All hook-ups are in the middle of the site. There are signs of family, but I haven't seen any children playing. All the long-term residents have clean sites. Laundry is 24 hours. The park is between Highway 395 and Reno's main street, but the hills block much of the traffic noise. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$36
This park is OK, but has very tight interior roads almost to tight for big rigs. Very hot for summer camping and about ten dollars to high for this type of park. If weather permitting i would boon dock in a casino parking lot and skip this place. They also charge for everything, cable, 50amp, dog, you name it. The price reflects 30 amp, no cable and no dog. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
Level black-topped spaces with good Wi-Fi and cable ($). Staff was very friendly, but every patch of grass was posted with "No Pets on Grass" and one said "$25 fine". Since almost everything is covered with black-top, and with the sun's boiling heat, my small dogs hated walking across the park to the one, smelly pet area. Pet friendly only to the point that they allow pets. The park was clean and neat and the price was just a little high. I would stay her again if I didn't like my dogs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
Wheelchair access in newer showers/bath couldn't be better. Clean,neat, organized, lovely hosts. exercise room, hairdressers on grounds (probably by appointment) small pool w/chairs & some shade, $1 washers/dryers. only neg. is $2/day for 50amp & $2/day for lousy TV channels, tax. I would go return if Reno had more. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$38
Very nice bathroom and showers and small store. We stayed overnight but most here were long term. Located about 3 miles north of I-80. Asphalt level pads with not much grass. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$37
I was a little baffled by the higher rating for this park. It is a paint striped parking lot with a few cut out for bushes. Out of the 121 sites in the park about 90 were filled. Out of those I counted 7 that were not permanent or long term residents. Some are very old and worn. I stayed in late June, but because most of the park is all asphalt walking a dog during the mid afternoon is impossible. The dog yard itself is very small. The pool looked to be in decent shape but a little small. There is no visually pleasing parts of the park, and our site had a view of the storage area for old RV's. The staff was friendly if you don't ask too many questions. We stayed here to attend the Rodeo in Reno and for that it worked alright. A decent overnight stop, but not much more. I stayed 3 days. If I were in the area I would look around for a park with a little more character. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$37
Only problem is that the sites are close together and it is a little difficult to get in and out. Other than that it is an excellent park. Very courteous staff. It is pavement and rock with a few shade trees and I would imagine it would be hot in July and August. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$44
We choose this park because of its proximity to our daughter’s home. Getting into the park will be easier when the construction on Parr Blvd. is completed. Check in was quick and efficient. The clerk directed us to our site by way of the easiest turns. I expected tighter turns because of previous reviews. Our coach is 42’ with 30” slides on both sides. I had to position the coach on the site in a way that limited parking of my towed. As other reviews say the park is paved with trees and other landscaping bushes. The park is quiet and well maintained. There are a lot of longtime residents but they keep their sites tidy and uncluttered. No washing or service is allowed on site. I did ask about our grandchildren using the pool. It was alright with one of us present. We stayed three nights. Rates were higher than other posters because of three in our party, (I hate it when they charge extra for a third adult but not for children), the Reno Balloon Festival and taxes. Because of the location I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$36
We traveled with a group of four RVs and had made our reservations in February. We arrived at 5:45 pm to find the office closed. The sign on the door stated that they would be open until 6 pm. The paper work was waiting for us, but none of us had been given the shower or Wi-Fi codes. Even with early reservations, we did not have the four spaces together. The park is all paved with narrow lanes and sites. A novice may have a difficult time. We barely fit in our site. They did have a very nice dog walk. We would definitely not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$38
Paved, well maintained, clean, and good location. This is a good and safe place to stay. Washrooms/showers are in great shape. W-IFI pretty good; water, cable, etc. no problems. We don't have a bad word to say about this place or the staff. But it is basic parking RVing, with some decent facilities, not a "park" setting. We would stay here again if visiting Reno. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$38
Park was clean. The hook-ups were good. Sites are asphalt and very level. Sites are very close together and tight quarters. What I call a CITY RV Park. It was fairly quiet and the staff was friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$36
We stayed here for 4 nights and this is a very nice RV Park. It's in a good part of town that feels very safe and secure. Some prior posts have complained about the paved lots: that's a bonus for me since we have stayed at dusty gravel parks on our trip. There is a bit of grass and a few trees. The restrooms and laundry are in great shape. One note about the bathrooms, there is a huge handicapped shower and this park would be ideal for someone in a wheelchair. The pool is small but not opened right now. I wish they had a petwalk in the front of the park, it's in the far back. Overall I would totally recommend this place. There is an awesome city park nearby which has the biggest dog park I have ever seen. If you have a social dog don't miss Rancho San Rafael city park just down VA street. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$34
This is one of the cleanest parks we have stayed in since we began RVing several years ago. The bathrooms are spacious and modern. The staff is friendly, helpful and professional. We have recommended this park over and over again. The sites was more than adequate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$34
This park is just a big blacktopped parking lot. There are a lot of full time residents in trailers. The pet area is tiny. The trees at the sites are mostly evergreens and don't provide any shade. I thought I reserved a site with cable tv and 50 amp service but when I arrived I was told I could have one or the other (there were no 50 amp sites available with cable tv). It was so hot, I wished I had opted for the 50 amp service so I could have run both air conditioners. I won't come back here again. For that matter, I probably won't visit Reno again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
This RV park was very clean, bathrooms and showers were great. We camped in a pull through site with a 30amp service. The pull through site was about 6 inches short if we left our tow car on. We have a 35' RV. The lady at the registration desk was very friendly and helpful. We will surely camp again there if the opportunity presents itself. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2008
$38
The sites in this campground are very close together. It is very hard to get both the RV and vehicle, into the site. They advertise cable TV, but not all sites have cable and they failed to inform me of this when my site was assigned. After unhitching my RV and hooking up the sewer, electric and water I discovered my site didn't have cable. They did find a back-in site with cable connections that I could move to, however to add insult to injury they charged me $2.00/night extra for the cable. The wifi and cable signal were good. I wouldn't stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
This park has a great feel to it. A previous poster stated that it is nothing more than a big parking lot, which made me realize that that phrase is used way too often in the reviews I have been reading. I would say this park is way more than just a parking lot. Yes, the entire park is paved/blacktopped, but there are plenty of trees and grass islands to give it a nice appearance. The sites are double-wide, meaning you have a ton of room curbside to set up tables, chairs, awning, park vehicles, etc. I was able to use the Wi-Fi with no problems at all, it was very fast. I did not see any motorhomes or trailers in the park that were in bad shape. I have stayed in this park multiple times and do not even think about staying anywhere else whenever I am in Reno. I especially like that the park is a 2-minute walk to the Bonanza Casino (site of the Cactus Creek Steakhouse, a MUST for steak lovers). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
Shamrock was one of the nicest parks that we've visited. It had exceptionally clean grounds and restrooms. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It was quiet and close proximity to center of town, yet pretty mountain view setting. Also, it was 5 minute walk to one casino. We would highly recommend it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2008
$35
A very clean park, but not much space between sites. They don't like truck campers but will grudgingly allow one if you promise not to unload it (they're afraid it will tip over). Park management is not very friendly either, at least the grumpy old woman I dealt with wasn't. The place is okay for a night or two, plus it's centrally-located so that's nice as well. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$30
We are renting monthly here. The staff works hard on the property and the park shows it. Very quiet yet still convenient to the highway. Minutes from downtown Reno. True there is not a large pet area, but there is an off leash dog park 2 minutes down the road. Bathrooms are clean, park is clean, the staff is very helpful. We weren't sure if we would stay here until we actually got here and also looked around at the other parks in town. We will stay here for 3 months. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2006
$23
This is a nice clean park for a brief stay. It's located in a warehousing district and is basically a paved parking lot. Sites are small with no grass or tables. There are a few small shaded common areas on grass with a single picnic table. The pool is small but clean and pleasant. The bathrooms were new and very clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2006
$39
Park was clean. Close together sites but double wide. There is a phone jack available in the laundry room but I was told to use local or 800 number to my ISP. That does not sound like free internet access as listed on their web site. OK park for being in a metro area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$35
Really nice clean park, large sites but mostly pavement, very little grass and what there is you are not allowed to walk your dog on. They did have a small enclosed pet area, but because it was very small and kind of like kitty litter inside it was quite odorous. My dog would not go anywhere near it. Easy access from freeways and only a 5 minute drive from downtown area. Would recommend park to most, but will probably not stay again myself because of my dog. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$35
Campground is in a quiet area north of downtown Reno, easy access to Hwy 395. Very popular with monthly site renters, but all sites were kept clean & tidy. Most sites are pull throughs, double width, all paved and looked level (ours was level). Restrooms/showers were very large and spotless. Small trees and shrubs between sites, not large enough for shade but offered some visual privacy. Modem hookup in laundry room worked fine. We camped here for 3 nights, would come back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
1998
$22
Campground is not too bad, but the sites are pretty close together, but for being close to Reno is not too bad. Park is kept up nice, and pretty busy. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com