220137 User submitted reviews online!!
Mc Gavin's RV Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (520) 463-2300
CGID178

Mc Gavin's RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
20
Date of Stay
October 2012
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   7   8   5   10   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$20
This is a large park with mostly park Models. It’s nice if that is what you’re looking for—I’m not sure why it is called an RV resort. We stayed under the Passport America rate for three nights and it was advertised as having Wi-Fi and cable, but these amenities are only for long-term and monthly residents. I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2010
$20
This place is no longer an RV Resort. It is an exceptional, well maintained and appealing, Park Model Resort. Sites available to overnighters or those seeking a week stay have become fewer in number. We were originally placed in a site without power and had to relocate. Not an easy task to accomplish with a Motorhome and a tow. We ended up with a partial shaded, spacious back-in site. The site though was not level and this caused some leveling problems and holding tank dumping problems. We were staying in a residential area and it would be difficult to do otherwise here. Felt has if we were intruding and as strangers each day. The surrounding residents kept a close eye on us. The Park Model folks have little or nothing in common with RVers. The resort has raised the overnight fee and dropped the cable TV access for RVers. For the Passport America discount they now charge an extra $3.00 per day. There was just one pull-through site available. The others are clearly taken up by long term residents. Still we like the place and the local area. They have one of the best clubhouses and libraries we have seen. The outdoor pool and hot spas are open during the winter and well maintained. The bottom line is that we will likely not be returning because of the increase in the overnight rate and the manner of charging us extra for electric. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$20
Typical, small snowbird park, out in the boonies. Very friendly staff and residents. Very clean, neat park. Sites are level gravel with concrete patio, but no table. Shopping is quite some distance away. Rate is PA. This is not our cup of tea, so we would probably not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$16
This was a return visit for us to this RV Park. It is isolated in the Saguaro foothills in a quiet, attractive community and well east of Mesa. Once again, we enjoyed our visit here because of its proximity to open space hiking, great desert views and friendly staff. We arrived after the office closed and found our envelope taped to the door. It was obvious the staff made every attempt to ensure we had a pleasant visit. Our assigned RV site was a pull through with a flowering Palo Verde tree, which provided sufficient shade. This RV Park has perhaps the best library we have seen and used. The clubhouse is one of the best. I talked to one of the managers. This RV Park will continue to maintain and offer RV sites to overnight guests. From January through March they do not expect to have sites available for overnight RVers. Our rate reflects the Passport America rate. We will return to this RV Park when we are in the Phoenix area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
We used our Passport American discount for 1/2 price so park was worth that. It has a nice pool, jacuzzis and clubhouse/laundry. What we didn't like was that there are only a few RV sites available. This park is going to Park Models so it has lost it's RV charm. The RV sites are intermixed withing the Park Model sites and not all will be available for use, depending on if the lot becomes another Park Model lot. It is out in the boonies but nice mountain surroundings. There is no Verizon cell service but the Wifi worked from our RV. We will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$28
The prior reviews are accurate so I will not duplicate too much. Very quiet and friendly 55+ community. Many activities throughout a week stay. Finding the road to the Park is easier to find if you follow the QV Resort signs, then the Railroad signs. The entrance road is near the railroad crossing and is 4 miles from the Park. Cell service is possible if you drive back the 4 miles. The facilities available are: laundry, library, pool/jacuzzi, sauna, showers, billiard/card room with darts and an activity hall. The Park is planning to only allow quarterly or greater stays beginning September 1, 2010. So hurry for a visit! We plan to experience a long term stay for now. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2009
$16
No longer an Encore resort and now named MacGavin's Queen Valley RV Resort. This is primarily a mobile home resort with about 50 RV sites intermixed with the residents. There are five pull through sites and we had number 114. A secluded RV resort surrounded by rugged saquaro hills. Its well away from the metro area of Phoenix, friendly helpful staff, and very quiet. To locate the resort its important to follow the QV signs or otherwise it would be difficult to find in Queen Valley. Nothing special about the RV site itself since its a just a gravel pad with sufficient spacing, full hook-ups and fast speed wifi. There is no cell phone service at the resort. The resort has a large library. In comparison to the tight space, urban style RV resort of the Phoenix metro area this place is a gem. Our price reflects the PA rate. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2007
$30
Very nice park in a beautiful setting. Most sites have some view of surrounding hills, some views better than others. The area is very quiet, no traffic noise. While walking at night the only thing I could hear were the coyotes and an owl. Much of the area around the park is state land with good trails that will keep you out of the cactus. I hiked in shorts and sneakers and had no problem. The park staff and guests were very helpful and friendly. All the park facilities were clean and worked well. Great view from the pool. The only down side is Queen Valley is pretty far away from any big stores. Also, there is still no cell phone reception in Queen Valley. Great park, I'll be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$25
Excellent park with very friendly staff and long term renters. Pool and rec facilities are outstanding. Only negative is that cell phones will not work in park, must drive few miles from town to get service.Will go again. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com