214403 User submitted reviews online!!
Buena Vista Recreation Destination was rated 3 out of 10 based on 33 user reviews. Phone: (856) 697-5555
CGID1814

Buena Vista Recreation Destination

Camp Information
Sites
700
Date of Stay
May 2012
Latest Rate
$55



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   1   2   1   1   1   1   1   1   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  no  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2012
$55
This park is more of a permanent trailer park than campground. The place is quite scary. Beat up dirty campers where I believe people live year round. The bathrooms were horrific. Bumpy dirt roads throughout. This place was probably once a nice place to camp as I heard so much about it. However, it is currently owned by one of those massive companies that are buying up campgrounds and running them in to the dirt. We left after one night. As I said the place was scary and we did not feel safe there at all. Not for children or families. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2012
$60
Beware. My family and I stayed there Memorial Day weekend. We arrived on Friday and we were so unhappy we left Saturday even though we were supposed to stay until Monday.The park is in very poor shape with most seasonals who don't maintain their sites. Our electric kept going out to the point where we couldn't really use the A/C. The facilities where very dirty and the camp store was empty for the most part. I guess there's no quiet time as the radios where blaring late into the night and complaining didn't help. We will never stay there again. Guess I should have looked at reviews here first. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2012
$60
Tired and neglected. Looks like this could have been a great camp ground decades ago. Water slide, mini golf, lake...all of which looked forgotten. Most sites were over grown. A good deal of seasonal campers; a few of their sites were nice, but most weren't. It wouldn't be a place we I'll return to or recommend to others. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2011
$47
Arrived Sept. 2. Our schedules departure date was Sept.6, we left on Sept.4th. The roads in and out were terrible,did not appreciate driving over those. We parked across from the bathrooms,which had no hot water and the toilets in the mens room didn't work, but they did put up a sign saying use other bathroom. Our picnic table was falling apart so we took one from another site (there was a lot of empty sites). The tiny beach was a mess,sloppy looking,a lot of grass growing through the sand. The store was a joke,they were out of gas for your grill.At the arcade,the change machine was out of change. There was no entertainment at night and it was a holiday weekend. Campers were rude,they would drive through your site with their golf carts. You couldn't pay me to go back. I would rather go camping at Camp Crystal Lake with Jason! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2011
$47
Read & heed the reviews! We went anyway because it was the only place central for a family gathering-BIG mistake. This park is ABYSMAL. Let me be more specific-if I had to pick a place in that area again, I'd boon dock at the county landfill first. I do have to say the staff was kind & very friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2011
$55
Sorry folks take warning! This place has outlived its usefulness. Dirty rundown, mismanaged. A place with a lot of squatters. Sorry I can't call them seasonals. Back in the day with former owners this was a good CG. I know I used to rent and operate the Camp store there. Seems Morgan finds Bad CGs and makes them worse. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
Roads are terrible, lots of bumps and potholes. Difficult to get into sites, trees are in inconvenient spots. Could not open our awning. We had to hunt down a firepit and a picnic table, as there were none on our site. There was a beer bottle in what appeared to have been the firepit which was here at one time. Guest fees are exorbitant considering this park isn't that great. Would not camp here again. We have Morgan 'Moola' and not sure if we will even use it. Hopefully all of their parks aren't in this bad of shape. Inconvenient breaker box. When the power went out we had to go up to the end of the lane and find it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2011
$54
This is a deplorable facility. Filthy registration area with an overhang across the road causing us to back our fifth wheel out of the registration area onto a side road marked DO NOT ENTER! We were taken to our site which had a 15 amp outlet and a 30 amp burned out outlet. Taken to another site that looked like seasonals had just departed and filthy with many trees prohibiting safe parking! Long story short we called the NJ State police to help us get our money back so we could leave! After 2 and 1/2 hours in the campground we left with a credit! If you are considering this campground, DON'T! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2011
$52
The poster of Aug 2010 must have been at a different location. All the other posters are right on. This place is terrible! Roadways were horrible, toilets stink, debris and trash all over, fire pits loaded with trash and beer cans. If there was a rating lower than 1, this place gets it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2011
$52
The main roads are terrible, no question. The secondary roads are not significantly better, but an improvement over the main roads (or maybe we were used to the pot holes by the time we reached our spot). We were here pre-season, so 90+ percent of campers were long term. No issues with the long term folks. Park requires long term residents to meet certain aesthetic standards which keeps up a reasonable appearance for the site. Many pads are natural, hard pack sand/dirt; some are gravel. It was a bit below my expectations for a Morgan Resort; but it worked for the one night we were here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$23
I camped at this site with my RV on 10/8/10 through 10/11/10. I started not to go because of the poor reviews. Boy am I glad my husband and I along with our 3 grandchildren decided to go. The campground was beautiful and clean even during what you may call "off-season". he restrooms/bathhouses were very clean and the staff was very accommodating. I gave the campsite an "8" - only because there was no cable - but our dvd's did just fine. I will definitely go back to this campsite. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
This park is a disaster! The interior roads have been strafed by enemy aircraft causing bomb craters designed to swallow your motorhome. Many of the campers are run down travel trailers and the sites look like junk yards. The park staff has no clue when asked the simplest of questions. Everything is old and dirty. The camp store smells and has nothing worth buying, but if you do buy wood for roasting marshmellows, you get it in an old plastic milk crate and the wood isn't even dried out. TV, forget it, the trees limit reception to 2 or 3 local channels. Throw your cell phone away because it can't be used here. Oh yes, throw out your computer too. I wouldn't stay here again if it were for free or even if they wanted to pay me. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
The water slide was not running at the time, a big disappointment. Facilities are OK, a bit old and outdated. he past few years we have seen a decline in this place. New management/owners and the place has seen better days. We will probably look for somewhere else to camp. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
This is a great place to camp if you like to be over charged for everything and like to hear latino music blasting away all hours of the day and night. If your in the area, try Indian Branch Park or Country Oaks instead. A Wal-Mart parking lot is better than this. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$99
My husband, 2 year old son and I stayed in their "Deluxe log cabin" for one week in July 2010. The price per night was $130. We expected to get a decent vacation cottage as they call it on their website especially for the price! We most certainly did not. The cabin had old, dirty, outdated furnishings. The molding was falling off, there were nails poking up out of the floor, the tub was small and sinking in. There was a crack in the roof which must have housed a wasp's nest because there were one or two wasps that would come in through the hole occasionally. It was dirty and smelly, and not at all what we expected. The pool opened for one day, most likely to accommodate a cancer bike-a-thon they had there and then closed the next day for cleaning which means they opened it without chemicals, etc. in my opinion. The pool is no where near Olympic sized. They charge for most everything else which is a total rip off especially considering the price per night. There is a middle part to the lake with two platforms to jump from, but you can't go there without paying $3 a person. The staff are all teenagers and very young at that. It rained a few mornings, and they would send their lifeguards home because of it so by the afternoon when the sun is out there is no one there to open the water slides, etc. The water slide was open 2 days, and the jumpy thing was open 1 although they wouldn't allow my 2 year old to go in saying he was too small even though he would have been the only one in it at the time. My parents also came in a 5th wheeler and after getting set up they had them move to another site. To compensate for that they said they would give us free passes for 2 days to use the park. However, the days they chose happen to be a day where they made everything free for the bike-a-thon. The putt- putt course is old and dingy. The country store is tiny with not much in it. The movie theater is not open due to no air conditioning; however, the AC is just the same as was in our cabin, a wall unit! Overall this was a bad experience; unacceptable cabin, dirty outdated campground, and clueless staff. We will NEVER return. Don't waste your money!!!! We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$57
Where do I start? We will NEVER stay at this campground again! This was the second most expensive place we have camped, and by far the worst. The staff was mostly teenagers who bickered about everything they were told to do, and one of the lifeguards, after having to blow the whistle at someone was telling guests how much she hated kids! There was Latino music blasting morning to night. The music across from my site was so loud many people complained to the management. Quiet time is 11:00 and all three nights we were here, music was blasting until 1:30 AM (I'm talking DJ at a wedding, loud). The pool was in the process of being rebuilt so obviously it was closed. With a little planning maybe there would have been a pool for 4th of July. Some of the bathhouses were locked shut, and the open ones were deplorable. Another problem was SUV's speeding around the place for something to do. They were doing laps just cruising around with their stereos cranked up and drinking! One of them even crashed and had to have it towed! If it wouldn't have been upsetting to our children, we would have left after the first couple of hours (maybe we should have). I would not recommend this campground to anyone, and wish I found this website before staying here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2010
$45
We camped here the 2nd weekend in June. It was very hot, but the pool was not completed for season. This was very disappointing, they didn't even tell us the pool wasn't opened. They have a waterslide that wasn't open either. There bath house is not cleaned often enough, and they lack activities for children. My kids did enjoy the large game room. However, will not be going back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2010
$47
We figured we would give this campground one more try and boy were we sorry! First of all, there is NO pool! That's right, Memorial Day weekend and they did not have a pool. Management said they hope to have a pool by mid-July, but cannot make any guarantees! The next complaint is that it is a poorly run campground. Sites are not kept tidy (old trash was left in the fire pit when we pulled in), bathrooms are a mess, the water slide is old and dangerous, I could go on and on! "Security" only hassles the kids but the party people driving drunk in golf carts and worse yet, in vehicles with cans of beer, are not hassled! Long story short, avoid this place! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$99
Unfortunately, I will never return to this campground. I would go here as a kid: I think I remember the lady that used to run it, and it was great. So, I decided to take my children here one summer for a week. I rented one of the "cabins", which is actually a trailer with faux cabin siding. The bed is actually a futon, and there was duct tape holding our fridge together. I booked about 3 weeks in advance, and mid-week into our trip, they asked us to move cabins! We said OK, and started moving our things. To make a long story short: the "manager" called me to the front office, saying one of my children had urinated on one of the chairs (my child was in diapers at this time), and that we bent the futon frame, (which had already been bent), and they knew this because there was a piece of plywood underneath the futon mattress to (I guess) prevent further bending, instead of just going to Wal-Mart, spending $100 on a new futon. That was the last straw, to be accused of breaking things, and letting my children urinate on furniture as if they were animals. The furniture by the way, is all really old, dumpster diving, furniture. The park attractions are dead. The mini-golf is useless, and scary to the children, as the statues look they were yanked from an abandoned amusement park. The arcade is out-dated, and barely working, the pond is DIRTY. (I know, its a pond but there was trash in it.) The staff was extremely rude. I could go on and on. Try Jellystone if you want a family-friendly vacation. Buena Vista should be crossed off the list for good. They also extort a nice amount of money from you for the water slide, as well. Not to mention that 16 year olds are the ones running the front office, and water slide. I have honestly, never been so insulted, and embarrassed in all my life. Not worth it. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2009
$45
We stayed at this campground with the NJ Good Sam Samboree. Samboree was great with our friends and NJ puts on a first class Samboree. Our issue is with the campground and the dump it has become. We have stayed here before and it was cleaner and better maintained back then. The bathrooms were disgusting, no fans (they had sided over them) so they were hot and disgusting and smelling; showers barely worked. The electric was so erratic and kept going out. It was deplorable. The pool was tired and the paint was flaking off of it. They nickel and dime you for the waterpark and other items. This park has taken a turn for the worse under Morgan Resorts. This is one of three Morgan resorts we have stayed at and the story is the same at all of them; no upkeep, rude and under staffed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$47
I have camped here before and find that the major problem is the restrooms. They never seem to be kept clean. The campground is large and they have made many improvements. The lake is nice and so is the pool. There are organized activities for kids and a very large place for a long bike ride. However, unless they get a handle on keeping those bathrooms clean, we won't be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2008
$49
We decided to book a week based on the website and not reviews from others and what a mistake. This place has seen better days. The pool needs work, the pond is not great and the video games are outdated and i lost as quarters on every game trying to play. There is no mini zoo and all the attractions are shutdown or removed. Morgan does not maintain this campground very well. Some of the staff are nice (Sandy) but most are disgruntled and appear miserable. There are very few activities for the kids and they were bored until some seasonals came in for the weekend. We will not be back ever and take your own chances if you want to stay here. We doubt we will book anything with Morgan again, too bad because this campground has a lot of potential due to its location, size and layout of the sites. We did get a seasonal site, big and shady but thats about it, sorry Morgan, you don't impress us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2008
$57
When we pulled up it looked like a flea market. It was overcrowded with tents. we almost turned right around and left, but the kids wouldn't let us.. The Water slides were just that 2 slides, they were over priced, by the half hour..the pool was falling apart (the concrete was breaking off) the lake was disgusting and smelled.. The lifeguard told me he would Never swim in that water !! I think the dump station drained into the lake.. Nothing opened before 12:00 the playground was dangerous and from the seventies.. I hated everything except the actual site.. it was shady and roomy, and the people near us couldn't have been nicer... We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$39
We camped here with Good Sam Rally. We were out in the Rally field. Unfortunately they were not adequately able to provide ample electric service to a group this large in 90+ heat. We kept losing power and having to have the breaker reset. The campground was responsive each time the electric went off. Hopefully they can get this problem resolved. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$37
We camp here every year off season. Because of that the campground usually has nothing going on, the park is empty and the waterpark is still closed. However we go there for these very reasons. We camp with a large group, and the staff there lets us do just that have a good time with our group. It looked as if they where getting ready for the season because they where cleaning up parts of the park over the weekend. I am sure this place is fun in the summer. The camp store has next to nothing, but there is a liquor store directly outside the gates and a wawa down the street. We will be back as always We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2006
$35
We only live an hour from this Camping Park and this is the first place we ever camped at. The campground has a large swimming pool, a lake that you can swim in as well as a water slide and mini golf. It also has a trailer that was converted into a movie theater on site so that you can watch movies. The only downfall to this campground are the bathrooms which they just can't seem to keep clean due to the size of the campground and the constant use. The staff when we have camped there has always been very nice and goes out of their way to make your stay an enjoyable one. This campground is only an hour away from Atlantic City which is also a plus if you like to go gambling and to site see. We would advice anyone to stay at this campground because our kids have always had a good time going there and there is so much for them to do and we have never heard them say they were bored which is a plus when you have three children. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$45
New owner is making progress on cleaning up this park. Amazing what some paint and TLC can do. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2006
$43
I've been camping at this location for 5 years..This year was the worst ever. Went for Mem Day weekend as I always do. Paid full price..however the place was a disaster. Bathrooms over flowing and faulty Pool closed and broken down Kiddie rides closed and broken down Carnival games closed and broken down. Wires hanging down from the utility poles It was like the Mgt and employees had no clue... Things like... The Grass in my site was knee high, picnic tables were not out (the finally got them to all site by the end of Memorial day, Fire rings were not out. again were out by the end of Monday. It's not like Memorial day weekend snuck up on them! I gave them the benefit of the doubt before I posted this review...Called their corp headquarters twices sent 3 emails no response they don't care. Hate to say but after camping here for 5 + years the best advise would be to avoid this place like the plague!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$40
They are under new management and are trying to rebuild the campground. Although the pool wasn't open Memorial Day weekend, we still enjoyed ourselves. The staff was great. They supplied us with everything we needed. The water slide was great and free this weekend because the pool wasn't open. If you camp here make sure you ask for a site in the back. The sites in the front are in a open field and very close together. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2006
$44
Do not belive their brouchre!!!. Went for the memorial day weekend.pool was not in service,lake swimming not in service,(hottest weekend of the year)no petting zoo,no museum.bathrooms were the dirtiest,nastiest I have ever seen in the 18yrs of camping. Ii asked for them to be cleaned as others have done and they said they were working on it. The list of rules that they have are long. Even if almost all are not followed. Would not recommed this campground to anyone at all. Bypass this one beware!!! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2004
$44
This was the worst campground I have ever seen. There were chunks of concrete in the pool because the pool was falling apart. There were family parties there with hundreds of people not camping and using the pool. The owners of this place should stop being so cheap and spend some money on improvements. Dirty nasty place. I wouldn't even let my dogs stay there again!! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2003
$?
Our experience here was most disappointing. The sites were very close together (tents were compelled to camp in an open and unshaded field), the facilities were crowded, post-curfew hours were extremely noisy, and security in the evening ws largely non-existent. While there are abundant, planned recreational opportunities, such as pony rides, movies and waterslides, virtually everything involves an added cost, which can be a significant factor to those of us with large families. Our stay here ranks among our worst camping experiences, and we would be most unlikely to return. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2003
$35
This place is unbelieveable! If your not a seasonal camper your treated like a second grade citizen. We were staying there for a week, I made reservations a month in advance. They said that I could not get a sewer hook up cause I wasn't a seasonal camper. The office staff were very rude & no help at all. They have a whole page of rules & regulations in fine print that would take you a day to read. If you have guest coming to see you they charge them $6.00 to get in & $7.00 on holidays. They have to leave at 10 o'clock & they come over the PA & tell them to leave. They do have a lot of things for kids, but charge for most of them. It rained while we were there & the dirt site turned into mug (black mud). One good thing I can say is that they are close to Atlantic City . Oh by the way you have to re-cycle your trash too. No we won't be back here!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com