217856 User submitted reviews online!!
Delaware River Family Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (908) 475-4517
CGID1822

Delaware River Family Campground

Camp Information
Sites
171
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   6   7   4   1   7   3   9   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$40
This is a very nice place to stay. The Delaware River is nearby, and the rural setting is quiet and restful.The staff is friendly with the exception of the younger girl who checked us in. Sites are grass, but we found a level area in ours with little effort. The place has a ridiculous number of speed bumps. Pets are supposed to be kept quiet but the owner's dogs could often be heard barking. There are a LOT of picnic tables which people keep moving around while you're out for the day, so we had to move them to get back into our campsite. My biggest negative would be that the gate will not work when the office is closed (5 PM), so you have to buy tokens for $1 each or you can't get in. It just seems like a really cheap thing to do. Why not just GIVE clients one token for every night they book? In spite of that, the place is well run and well organized, and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$45
We checked in on Friday afternoon around 1 PM, since we booked weeks ago we paid in full and thought we could drive to the site. Not so lucky, we were greeted at the entrance gate where a staff member asked us our name and wrote some information and then were told to go the the office to check in. So to the office we go, were asked how many kids and adults, I informed them three adults and no kids. Another $24 for your guest please (then accidentally charged us $92). Really? OK, with that done they informed me that the 30 amp service is for lights only. No electric heaters, water heaters or air conditioning. Everything is extra. Check in took about 30 min before we went to our site. Once at the site we hooked up our electric and water, the utilities worked fine over the entire weekend. There are over 50% seasonal campers here. Sites are tight, almost rally like where your awning comes close to touching your neighbors slide. Fire wood is $6 per bundle (6 pieces) you are not allowed to bring your own in, you must buy it from them. The Delaware River is so nice looking there. Oh, make sure you do not get a site up by the road, there are lots of loud motorcycles that drive along Route 46. Sorry but we did not use the bathhouses or showers over the weekend. We were on Oak 57. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$45
We didn't have high expectations, as this place gets mixed reviews. I'm guessing they don't write their own. We had a large group (some were from the north Jersey area which is why we selected this park), and all were set up together. The sites were not very level, but they were clean. The kids had an amazing time playing games and they actually kept themselves occupied! The staff was fine and we didn't require their attention except for checking in. Since we were all self contained and it was pretty chilly, we all used our own bathrooms and showers. I didn't even bother to look at theirs. We did have a good stay, but probably won't return especially in season. I'm sure it gets really crowded. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$43
Just returned from a weekend stay. We stayed here several years ago and enjoyed this campground so decided to go back with our new RV. The staff was great upon check in and offered us a variety of sites. Since we had a lot of rain, I walked down to look at the sites and the site we reserved was wet and muddy. The staff told me to pick from several other available sites and just let her know. We found a nice site by the river. We also liked all the free activities for the kids. They had a great Halloween party for the kids including pumpkin painting and hayrides which were all free. I don't understand some of the comments on this site about the staff. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2009
$40
Sites in the "Oak" area are way too tight. They seem to have signs posted everywhere you look with big NO's on them. I felt like I was visiting the department of motor vehicles office. Then there is the rule book as thick as the Webster's Dictionary, containing just common sense NO's. (NO ASSEMBLY OF NUCLEAR WEAPONS ALLOWED.) In my opinion, they aren't very customer focused. They should spend some money on paint instead of all the "NO" signs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
Extremely crowded! Very expensive for what it is. Arrogant, unhelpful and unprofessional staff. Police activity on the grounds. Other guests were uncontrollable, rude and loud and almost nothing was done about it. Inconsistent application of rules. The campgrounds are old, unattractive and the whole place literally looks like either a concert is about to take place with tents and rvs all over the place haphazardly and NO privacy, or like a refugee camp. This is HANDS DOWN the WORST campgrounds I have ever been on. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$37
Great location along the Delaware River. Boat ramp and shore access for fishing, canoeing, etc. Basketball and Volley Ball courts and a large open playground field. Helpful friendly staff. There are a number of seasonally rented sites and a large number of tent sites. RV sites are nice size, with picnic table and shade trees. There is a free dump station and also honey wagon service ($10). On Saturday night there is a free movie on the campground TV channel. The equipment in the laundry room was clean but aging. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2006
$40
Stes: Way to tight. Barely enough room to open awning. Store: Poorly stocked. Rates: way to high for no sewer hook-up. Charged extra for each child. (We had no kids.) Experience: Very loud evenings. Alot of partying going on here. Would we stay again: No We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$35
This is nice park with canoe rentals for the Delaware River. We had a site by the playground which was fantastic for our grandson to play and easy for us to watch him. I didn't notice any planned activities for children but that didn't matter he enjoyed himself and got lots exercise and fresh air. Some sites are tight we just fit in ours with the awning extended out. As tight as it was we still had our privacy. Small problem with neighbors negligence with their dog (barking all day). Campground owners took care of that promptly. Their pamphlet says it will not allow pitbulls, dobermans, or rotties. There is a boat ramp if you want to bring your boat. We had no problems at night with noise or during the day considering the playground right behind us. They were very well organized in getting you into the grounds and out of the grounds. Always someone there to help you especially at the end of our visit with the dump station. We all had a great time. We plan on returning in a few weeks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2005
$40
Nice campground I didn't use the showers as I use the one in my parents camper. The beach on the river is a nice touch. The pool is nice too. Just not really a lot to do there, but a lot to do in the area. A bit pricey, but what ain't these days. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2003
$31
The place has potential, but I am shocked to hear that it is family run. They have changed staff completely 2 times in the past few years. I recently met one of the past staff members and was told they just fired everyone both times. Is that how they treat family? There are times the place is really noisy due to it being so close to a main road. It is quaint, and the sites are not very large. It's a shame cause with the right owner and manager the place could really be special. It was nice years ago when you would go and see the same faces behind the desk, but unfortunately things must change. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$15
My husband and I have been camping here for 3 years and our families actually started coming here about 20 years ago. The staff is family so the atmosphere is friendly and warm every time we go. They accommodate us to any site was ask for as long as it is available and are very fast to respond to any comments or concerns we may have. They keep the grounds clean and are always around when you need them. The sites that we have stayed on have always been close to the river- EXCELLENT PLACE TO GO! We camped here in a Tent.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$31
My husband and I have been camping there in July for two years in a row and will continue to do so. Each time we have enjoyed our visits and will go again each year at least one time during the year and if time permits we will be there more often. The staff are helpful, friendly, courteous and they are very family oriented. It is a truly a beautiful campground with what I call "three levels of beauty." The Delaware River runs behind the campground and they have great raft and canoe trips that can be taken and are great fun. They have a FULL array of activities that we can choose to be active in or just sit and relax. Their website is wonderful, up to date, user friendly and they have a full activities schedule shown by a monthly basis. We registered on line with them and when we arrived they had our "check in package" ready and waiting on us, complete with a full site map and a drawing showing our site location, our wrist bands and information was given to us on the gate cards that were available to us. It could not have been easier or more complete. That weekend they had a magician (very good) and a clown, also a petting zoo. Bingo, arts and crafts and other activities as well. All were excellent and those activities only added to our camping pleasure. They have wrist bands for campers and this makes us feel safe as I feel they do have control over security of the campgrounds. I truly can't say enough good things about this campground and we will be loyal campers there for many years to come. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$31
This is an excellent family campground with many well-planned activities throughout the camping season. The large support staff is helpful, friendly, and knowledgeable. The campground is easy to get to, is located in a beautiful setting with many large trees and is located along the Delaware river. The boat launch area makes it easy to access the river with boats, rafts, canoes or kayaks. I have camped here with my family for over 15 years and have always had very pleasant experiences, even on the bustling holiday weekends. Without hesitation I recommend this campground to anyone seeking a beautiful, relaxing, enjoyable camping experience of any length. After reading the negative review above, as one who has enjoyed this campground for years, I felt compelled to give a fairer, more accurate view of this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$31
I am troubled by the very negative write up about Delaware River Family Campground. There was a mix up on their reservation - we're all human and so are the good folks at Delaware River Family Campground. They may have made a mistake and yet they accommodated them anyway. The person on duty calls the manager to fix the reservation in the system, evidently this person wasn't trained on this more complicated change in the computer system. A young kid fixes the reservation - kids are whizes at computers, it's understandable that one could help outhere. It makes sense that the gate cards are distributed with a deposit to avoid people keeping them as souvenirs but the campground always gladly returns the deposit for the gate card when you return the card. I've always been pleased with the security consciousness of Delaware River Family Campground and the card system is part of it. One thing I love about camping is that it is so safe, it's generally GOOD people all around you and, still, this gate card system just adds to all of our safety just a bit more. I've never had a problem with the map and directions but I can imagine if you take a wrong turn, you may become more and more irritated. We have a tent trailer and have always found the various sites to have plenty of room for not only pulling out both beds but to also open our awning. The sites are just not sold to have sewers and they do have tables and fire rings. Maybe the camper that wrote the negative write-up was experiencing one of those 'what can go wrong will go wrong" days. Some of the sites are on the edge of a hill so it feels very open and pretty. Many tent sites are RIGHT BY THE RIVER... the sites are beautiful but if you don't have a tent, you can still walk around this lovely campground by the river. There's several places you can perch and watch the river even if you are not physically camping by the river. I've been camping here since about 1997 and have always enjoyed it. A few years ago, we brought our neice to the Halloween Weekend festivities with the haunted hayride (great for all ages!!); kids trick or treating from camper to camper; and the costume competition. Since we started going to this campground they've added more and more activities throughout the season. It's always been fun and the campgrounds well maintained. They added a big pavillion this year so they can still offer activities even when the rain tries to mess the weekend up. If you miss camping here because of the note above, you will be missing out on one of the best campgrounds in the area, in our opinion. Do yourselves a favor, don't miss this great campground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$31
We have camped at this park for quite a few years and our son with his friends for many years before us. You will not find another park as beautiful as this. The location is great, located directly on Rt. 46, within a short distance to stores and other recreation. The staff is always helpful, management tries very hard to keep this park a "Family Campground" for ALL to enjoy. Located on the Delaware River, easy access for tubing, boating and canoeing. We get to talk to many weekenders and they are always as happy with the park as we are. This is a "Must See" park in the Fall with the leaves turning colors and the beauty of the mountains in the foreground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$31
My family and I have camped at this campground many times over the years. We have stayed in a rental trailer on site as well several tent sites. It is by far one of the most beautifully kept campgrounds I have seen. It is located on the scenic Delaware River. The staff are always friendly and helpful, even on their busiest weekends. Now that we have small children it is the perfect place to camp. They are very family oriented, offering lots of themed activites throughout the weekends. Overall, I would highly recommend this campground to any family who wishes to have a pleasant camping experience in a very beautifully kept campground. We camped here in a Tent.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2003
$30
Delaware River Family Campground: BEWARE! Stay very far away! When plans to camp at another campground fell through, my husband called the DRFC to see if they had any full hookup sites available on such short notice. The campgrounds reply was "We have plenty of full hookup sites available. Just come on in, no need for reservations." That should have been a warning in itself. This was the first non-rainy weekend since April (we went on the last weekend in June). We decided to make a reservation just in case. We show up on a Friday. Our reservation is marked as a no-show and has been cancelled. The clerk who was helping me says the clerk who took the reservation, put in the wrong dates. They had me arriving on Thursday (a day early) and leaving on Saturday, not Sunday. The clerk then laughs and proceeds to tell me that she was the one who took the reservation. She doesn't know how to change the system to correct the dates and proceeds to call a manager via a walkie talkie. A young kid, no more than 11 or 12 comes into the office and fixes the reservation in the computer. She then asks me if we want to buy gate tokens for $2.00 each. (Yes, it could cost you $2.00 every time you want to leave and return to the campground!) Another option is to give them a $10.00 deposit for a gate card. This is what we did. The clerk then gives me a map of the campground and draws a path to our site on it. She tells me to go down a hill and make a right turn to get to my site. We proceed to go down the hill and make the right. We ended up in a tenting section not the RV section. After some tight turns on some unmarked roads, we ended up on the road we needed to be one. Looking for site 72, here's site 58, 60, 84? Where is 72? Instead of driving around again, I jump out of the car and walk back to where the site might be. The site number was written on an electric box that was hidden behind a bush. The site was between two other RV's. A tree blocked the entrance to the site. We had to get the people on the site next to us to move their car so we could squeeze between the tree and their camper. A very tight squeeze it was. I couldn't believe my husband was able to maneuver into the spot. After getting in the spot we realized we would not be able to slide out our dinette without it landing on the deck of the seasonal camper behind us and we could not open our awning because of the other seasonal in front of us. They claim every site has a picnic table and a fire ring. There was no picnic table at our site. The grass at the site was 8" high. It hadn't been mowed in quite a while. Also, there was no sewer hookup. There was a PVC pipe in the ground with the grass growing out of it. The seasonal people at the camper behind us said they use to have sewers, but they don't work anymore. We could use that PVC pipe for grey water if we wanted to, they wouldn't tell on us! How scary is that! My husband walked back to the office to tell them that we disliked the site. The owner told him, and quite rudely, "Move or be gone." When my husband brought up the lack of a sewer hookup, they said, "We've never had sewer hookups here." Yeah, sure! Finally, we were so disgusted by the whole thing we decided to move on. They refused to refund our money. We're in the process now of disputing the charges with our credit card company. Do yourself a favor. Avoid this campground like the plague!! You'll be glad you did! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$30
We were a seasonal camper at this campground. The staff was very friendly and planned events for the campers throughout the year such as wine tasting, halloween haunted forest, water wars and other events for the kids and adults. The water rafting trips are alot of fun. They take you 8 miles upstream and leave you in a canoe or raft and let you paddle downstream to your campground. There is a beach on the river and a nice boat ramp for jet skis and small boats. It was one of the most enjoyable summers we have had and we would love to return at a later date even just for a weekend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com