220137 User submitted reviews online!!
Turkey Swamp Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (732) 462-7286
CGID1824

Turkey Swamp Park

Camp Information
Sites
64
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   10   9   8   10   8   10   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$39
Staff of park rangers were very friendly and accommodating. Park was very clean. Bathhouse was clean. Nice quiet park for a relaxing weekend. Close to the beach. Awesome lake. Walmart was close to get supplies. Very enjoyable time despite evening rain. Even the dog had fun. Didn't get to walk the trails, but we will next time. Monmouth county has a great park system. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$39
This was our second time camping here. It is close to home for us but has a lot to offer. The campsites are spacious, the bathrooms are very clean and showers had plenty of hot water and nice water pressure. There is a nice playground in the campground and a couple of others in the rest of the park. They have a lake for fishing (bait for sale at ranger station: $3.75) Kayaks, row boats, canoes, and paddle boats for rent for $13/hr. The only downside to the site was the electric couldn't handle our fridge (we didn't even try the AC). The circuit breakers tripped when we turned on the fridge. The water hookup was far from where we parked the camper on the site and we didn't have a long enough hose. We plan on coming back again this year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$39
This was a very nice campground. Restrooms are on the old side but very clean. We were there on opening day. Very nice playground and lots of walking trails. We were in a 37 RV and found it a bit difficult to maneuver the roads. We feel a size of 34ft or less would be better. Just a word of advise, the water spigot is located in between sites so you will need a lot of hose (75 feet). We recommend this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
The trails, the fields, and the lake are all beautiful. The park rangers were terrific. Noise levels were well managed after dark. We stayed right after some serious rains, and the roads were a bit bad, but not terrible. We had no problems navigating the roads to get to our site. We don't normally use the public restrooms, but they looked fairly clean. The sites are huge and fairly far apart. One negative is that the water hookups are VERY far from where you'll park. I had to use three hoses to reach the hookup. Cell service was quite good all over the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
We found this park on this website and we are glad we did. This county park is clean, accessible and is a great value for your dollar. There are water hook-ups and electric hook-ups. All the sites are pull through and there is plenty of room to maneuver. Some other reviews may state that the roads are narrow with low clearance. We disagree with the low clearance but even thought the roads are just wide enough, so long as a driver takes their time, there shouldn't be any problem. We choose a site that backed-up to the playground and we were still far enough away from any noise. The showers and bathrooms were very accommodating. The lake is fun with rowboat, kayak and paddle boat rentals but it is cash only. Remember to bring a long water hose, 50' or more, as the electric and water hook-ups are opposite from one another. When entering the dump station, remember to enter it squarely as it is kind of tight. One thing worth mentioning is; there was a fire ban put in place prior to our arrival and the rangers were kind enough to call us to see if we still wanted to camp. We camped in a travel trailer and will be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$37
This is a gorgeous, well maintained campground with something for everyone.  Sites are huge, wooded and very private; all are pull through, and each has a fire ring, a nice picnic table and a lantern pole.  The restrooms, showers and laundry are clean.  In the laundry room there's a stainless dual sink for dish washing with paper towels available nearby.   There are 4 playgrounds,  some with cushioned rubber for the small kids, a lake for fishing, and miles of trails for hiking.  Two adjacent sites share a water spigot, so 50 ft of water hose is necessary.  This early in the season we had the loop to ourselves.  This county-run park puts most private campgrounds and state parks to shame. We loved our stay there and wish we could have stayed longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
Nice Park to stay in, large site and power/water hookups. Not bad for a county park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$36
Let the positive reviews keep coming. Turkey Swamp Park is the real deal. We definitely will be back. The lake is beautiful, where you can rent canoe's, kayaks, and paddle boats. (Cash only). The campground itself is immaculate. The sites are huge, and very wooded and private. Our TT is 35 feet so driving through the park is a bit tight at times but manageable. They offered a free wagon ride around the entire park which is beautiful. Heads up. If you have a big rig, you will want to stay on the E loop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$36
Excellent place! Very clean sites and bathhouses, quiet at night, and good playground for kids. Nice small lake with paddleboats for rent. We really enjoyed this campground, and will be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
We like to stay at Turkey Swamp when we want to go to the shore or visit relatives in the area. They have a lake to take our kayak, but make sure you have a carry partner or small folding trailer because there put in is a short walk with no car access from the parking lot. The sites that I saw had hookups for trailers, but we camp in tents although its nice to have water and electric at the site. It can get crowded when it gets warmer with Great Adventure being near by and the proximity to the Jersey Shore. Several stores nearby so if you forget something you're covered. It is a no frills state park so there are no planned activities, but there is fishing and boat rentals and a playground. They also have a group area for rent. The bathrooms were cleaned everyday by the Park Rangers and there is a laundry facility with snack machines. Very clean campground and will always camp there. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$33
Let me tell you a few more things my rookie eyeballs observed about Turkey Swamp Park . The overarching word to describe this campground is CLEAN. The staff at this park does a better job of cleaning that Six Flags Great Adventure where the staff walks around with litter claws all day. The restrooms and shower area were TOP NOTCH clean. They were so clean a bloodhound couldn't find them. All of the expected items were well stocked and ready for a days' use. I even took a shower barefoot because I was stupid enough to pack my shower shoes. A staff member was using a backpack blower AFTER 9:00 to blow clean the playground area of sand off of the rubber matting. Another staff member was busy raking the fallen leaves around the shower room. @ 9:30, two other staff members drove through to collect the trash from the trashcan located at each site. Later, the recycle bin was picked up. In our campsite, there were fresh steel rake marks indicating that the utmost attempt is made to keep sites lump free for the tent community. The camper pads were as close to level as I have seen. I saw not ONE unit with leveling blocks under wheel. Sure, everyone had boards under stabilizer, but it's SAND. By far the SMARTEST policy I saw was the Ranger who patrolled approximately every hour. The best part of his rig was the fact that it was itself a first responder level firetruck ready to answer the call to a minor fire. Talk about putting safety first. I made a point of thanking the staff members on duty for the exceptional maintenance of their campground and promised them a link to this report. You couldn't go wrong picking this campground for an outing with friends and family. Sites can handle just about any sized rig. I saw one that was probably about 2 1/2 feet short of being labeled a PARK model. He slipped out in the early hours and no trees were felled. At $33/night, this was money well spent and I recommend that if you're headed to the area to give this COUNTY park a try. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
We stayed for 13 nights in our RV and enjoyed the natural beauty of the NJ forest immensely. I am originally a NJ girl now living in Florida and this setting is what everyone needs to be reminded of about NJ. There was a fabulous small friendly Italian restaurant nearby on the corner of Chandler Rd and Jackson Mills Rd called MONA LISA which even catered a party for me. We had dinner there on 3 occasions it was so good. The rangers at the park were storybook nice and I would give this park a 10 if it had full hookups since dump stations for a long stay are a bit of a drag. This one was easy, however. We stayed on the E Loop which is one of 2 outer loops and had a deer outside the camper one morning. The lake and playground facilities are ideal with all kinds of boats to rent and soft playground surfaces. Each site has a trash and recycling bin and these were impeccably clean and emptied often. I give this park an A plus for any state but especially for NJ, the Garden State. Come here if you want to be close to nature and in the forest. It is a quiet and serene place even when crowded. Weekdays in summer are wonderful! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
This is a county park. It is set up and run similar to state parks. The roads are dirt/gravel so plan on needing to wash your vehicle/RV after staying here. The roads are also pretty winding, not sure how accessable for big rigs. Saw some here, but it must be a tight fit. Also, the water hookups are far from the sites, so bring at least 50 ft of water hose. They also had a wagon ride through the park on Saturday night. Had very shaded sites. Would stay again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$33
We stayed two nights and were not there during the daytime. This review addresses two issues: use of satellite dishes and ease of traveling through the park. First, if you have a satellite dish, leave it home. There are no clear views of the sky available. Second, if you have a large rig, ours is a 31' Airstream TT, and do not like narrow tree lined roadways, you might be a candidate for medical treatment. Other than that, Turkey Swamp Park looks to be a wonderful location to camp, especially for those who wish to use the camping experience as a "home base" for outside the park activities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$31
My boyfriend and I decided to borrow my parents' fifth wheel and camp the night before going to Six Flags. This was our first time camping together and we had a really good time at this park. We didn't pull in until after 9:00 pm and didn't have any trouble getting a spot. The ranger was very helpful in pointing us in the right direction. Our site B-6 was very big and includes a fire pit/grill grate, picnic table, 30 amp electric and shared water. The only problem we had was that we realized we didn't have enough water hose to reach our site until we hooked up our electric and put out our slide. So we had to move everything back in to back up and fill our fresh water tank. Overall this is a very nice park. The bath house was clean when I used it, as was the rest of the park. We plan on going back for a couple of night in two weeks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$31
This was a very nice park to stay in! We had a great site which was level. This park would be a good anchor point. It was 15 minutes from 6 Flags, you got free beach access with your camping permit at a beach whose distance I can't remember. I also think you could get to NYC very easily! Lots of kids playing at the playground. When quiet hours it, it was quiet! Also very quiet in the mornings. Had only 3 complaints and in the grand scheme of things, didn't really matter. First was the distance the water was from the site. Take a VERY long hose. Second was that we had enough pressure to run toilet and sinks but not the shower which leads to the third issue, the bathhouse has next to no hot water in the showers. I am fairly sure we would go back there! And everything previous reviews have said is true! Thanks to Monmouth County for providing a great place! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
We have stayed at this campground a couple times and plan on going back in the future. The sites are nicely spaced out and very level. Electric is at every site and water is shared between two sites, so bring extra hose. Each site has a garbage can and a recycle can which are emptied every day. The bathrooms are modern and fairly clean. There was always a lot of sand on the floor, but that is probably unavoidable. The bathroom has 4 showers which were warm but not very private. The large playground is great! The equipment is new and safe. There is also a lake for fishing and boating. Paddle boats, kayaks and canoes are all rented at a very reasonable rates. Although there is no camp store, the office sells bagged firewood for $6 and bundle and large bags of ice for $1.50. Anything you need can be found a couple of miles away on the very busy route 9. Quite hours are enforced: the campground was very quiet at 10pm. Campers also get free passes to the beach (seven presidents to Long Branch, NJ, about 40 mins away). We choose to go to a nice beach in Sea Girt, NJ which was closer but $8.00 for adults and free for kids under 12. The rangers are very friendly and pleasant but never make you feel like you are being watched over. This park is a gem. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$31
Large sites and lots of trees. All sites are pull-in types and spacious. We did encounter many mosquitoes. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$31
The sites are fairly level. The roads are a little tight for RVs. The Rangers are very helpful and friendly. Easy access in an out and central to that part of New Jersey. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$31
Shaded, large, mostly level sites with privacy between sites. Very clean with friendly Rangers. Only problem is the water hookups are shared between sites so you need a very long hose. There is a nice playground for the kids, hiking trails and fishing but no other activities so it's nice for some hanging around the campfire time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$31
We just returned from a stay at Turkey Swamp and would have given it a 10 out of 10 except for the showers. The sites are large, wooded, and private (and all pull-thru). The rangers are friendly and helpful and keep an eye on the activities in the campground. The hiking trails around the park are well marked and nicely maintained. The campsite has nice playgrounds for kids. The campsite is very convenient to many activities (Henry Hudson bike trail is really nice, 15 minutes from Six Flags, 30 mins from Trenton, etc.). The only complaint is that the showers aren't very private; i.e. you emerge from your shower into a common area. My wife and daughter did not like this. Otherwise, an excellent campsite that we will return to in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$30
I went to this campground based on other reviews on this site, and it was really nice. The ranger was very helpful with directions on the phone to the camp, and then he also helped me with a map for the Henry Hudson rail trail in Freehold - worth doing! As it is fall, the camp was empty but very clean. The sites are large and wooded. I would definitely come back here if I was in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
This is a great place to camp and relax. The rangers are friendly and keep a constant eye on the campground and any visitors. The sites are one of the largest we have been in! The water is located a distance from the other utilities. The lake is stocked with plenty of fish and there are numorous hiking and biking trails. The only fault is that tents can occupy any site leaving travel trailers without a site to occupy because they cannot fit in a tent site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
We stayed at Turkey Swamp several times this year. It is a state run campground in Turkey Swamp State Park. The sites here are beautiful. The entire area is wooded with very large oak trees. Deer and turkeys were seen everywhere and there were many children there for my children to play with. There are vending machines and a laundry area. There aren't any planned activities for the kids, so you have to make your own fun but the atmosphere and scenery more than make up for it. For the price, this is a wonderful place to stay with your family. I will go back for sure. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2007
$30
Very well maintained. We were there in November so it was very quiet. Looking forward to going back again this year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$30
Of the many campgrounds in New Jersey and Pennsylvania, this place had more tenters then RV'ers! It is truly a hidden gem in NJ. This is camping the way it was meant to be. Reminds me of tent/pop-up camping many years ago. Sites were extremely spacious, level, far from your neighbor, with quite a bit of privacy, and well shaded. Hard packed sandy interior roads and sites (which we do not mind - always travel with a rug). The bathrooms were pretty clean. Only draw back was the shower, not enough privacy, only a plastic curtain, no hard door to latch! But I was willing to wear a bathing suit to get clean. We rode our bikes around the beautiful lake. You can fish, or rent paddle boats and canoes. They have other trails here too. Plenty of really nice playgrounds for the kids. The office - manned by rangers - stocks wood and ice. No store here. I saw the park rangers riding through the campground many times. If using water, be forewarned that all the spigots are a good distance from your RV. From past experience we always have extra hose on board, even then we had to back up a bit and use a total of 60 feet of hose. Hence my rating of a 9. This was our first time to Turkey Swamp Park. We will definitely be returning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
Nice campground for the price. Very tight roads. All campsites are pull thrus. Water tree is very far away, bring 50 ft of hose. We would stay here again only in a small RV. Tree clearance is low. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$28
Turkey Swamp Park Campground is part of the Monmouth County N.J. park system. We arrived midweek and the campground was virtually empty. The non-resident rate of $28 included; pull through site, fire ring and picnic table, electric, water, dump station, swimming pool, showers and laundry, hiking trails, archery range, lake with boat rentals and fishing. All sites are “pull through” and appear fully shaded. We stayed in “E” loop, in a very large, level and private site. I thought our site was big, but to my amazement the site next to ours was gigantic. Besides the pull through lane the area behind the fire ring could easily accommodate at least 3 or 4 additional tents. We had heavy thunder storms each evening and the drainage at this campground was excellent. Park Rangers were very pleasant and helpful, they also patrolled the grounds throughout the day and afternoon hours. There are no Rangers or CG hosts on site after 11:00 PM and the campground gate is locked down (w/combination lock). So be aware any emergencies or noisy / disruptive neighbors must be handled by contacting the local police dept. Restroom / shower and laundry areas are clean and well lit but I did not notice any pathways from the outside camping loops through to the restrooms. So it’s either cut through someone’s site or take a 5 minute walk completely around the loop. The only thing I saw as a negative was sand. I felt like I was at the beach. Being located in central Jersey the ground is all course sand. All of the roads are sand and none of the sites paved, just hard packed sand. With all the rain we had sand kept being tracked into the camper no matter how careful we were. So bring your door mats and wisk brooms. The campground is located only a few miles from Great Adventure Amusement Park so during the summer I feel the campground should be full of families with kids. Overall a very nice campground, close to home that we will be using on a regular basis. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2005
$2.
It is a wonderful family oriented campground. All the sites are very spacious. There is a lake with boat rental, many hiking trails, an archery range, and at least two playgrounds. There is not a pool on site, but while camping there, you have access to a pool which is about a mile away. This is a county park and they allow dogs. State parks in New Jersey do not allow dogs. Shopping and dining is close by. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2005
$20
Went to New Jersey and needed a cg to stay in while visiting family. The Turkey Swamp county park was a real challenge for us to get in there. A pre-arrival call to the cg office revealed that there would be no problems for us to fit our 35" motorhome into anyone of their sites. Upon arrival, and after checking in, we were directed to area "B" which was their best pull thru section. The roads to get to the office, Section "B", and the assigned site were very close with very low overhead branches. It appears that the county just went through with a bulldozer and dropped just enough trees to make the road. I had to stop, reverse and then go forward several times to maneuver around a tree-lined bend in the road. Nice place but very low overhead and tight roads. Be skeptical if your rig is longer than 35' and taller than 12'. We came out with several scratches from branches on the sides and top of the rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2005
$25
Nice, wooded, campground in county park. Level gravel sites are pull-thru with a fire ring and grate and picnic table. Water hookup is only available April 15 - November 15. Free dumpstation. Laundry facilities. Large lake for fishing. There are many hiking trails and 4 playgrounds. Rangers were very friendly and helpful. Since we stayed in early April, we had the campground nearly to ourselves so we do not know what it is like during the summer months. We enjoyed our stay very much and will definitely go back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$26
Don't let the name of the park deter you...this is within the Mommouth County Park System and is a state park. It is $24 for NJ residents and $26 for non res. per night. All the sites are wooded and seem to be pull through. There is a dump station but no sewer hook ups. There is a nice large lake area too. The roads are paved-"ish" but have some pot holes, so drive carefully. They also have an archery range. Rangers patrol frequently. The signs to the campground are not very well displayed. Once you get off the the exit (#22 off of 195) there is a sign to tell you which direction to go, but then you are on your own. Turn at the First Assembly Church. The road to Turkey Swamp is on the same side as the Church. Hope this helps you find it! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com