206673 User submitted reviews online!!
Liberty Harbor RV Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 97 user reviews. Phone: (201) 516-7500
CGID1827

Liberty Harbor RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$74



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   7   5   8   6   4   1   1   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$74
The park is nothing more than a large gravel parking lot behind a marina on the Hudson River. Sites are narrow, amenities are few. However, just a 1/2 mile walk away is a PATH station where you can catch a train right to Mid-town Manhattan. Or for a bit more money, you can take a ferry to Manhattan from the marina right on site. The park was full every night during the week we were there, so if you want to see New York City, make reservations well in advance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$86
For $86 per night I think it's reasonable to expect a lot, and that's what you get - a parking lot. You also get excellent access to NYC. This is the only campground game around, and the owner knows it. That said, this was a safe and decent place to park our coach while we checked out the City. Access is via paved roads, and the tightly-packed sites are gravel and level. The 50-amp power and water were strong. Sewer should be included at the sites, but isn't - a dump station is available. Tables are located at most sites. Internet is available - for a fee! Fortunately, we had our own Internet access via Verizon, and it was excellent as was our cell phone signal. The large bathrooms and showers were clean and set up nicely. The laundry room consisted of 6 washers, 6 dryers and a large folding table. The office staff was friendly and helpful with transportation issues. As if the noise of the city weren't enough, the construction of a large building right next door took up the slack nicely during the week. Hopefully, that project will be completed in a couple of months. If for some reason we ever had a desire to come back to NYC in our RV again, we would stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$85
I know this park had a lot of bad reviews, but hey...let's be realistic here. Did you really come to this area to "enjoy" the campground experience or to see the sights the city has to offer? Yes, the price is high...everything here is. But it's convenient and safe. You can walk to the metro to get downtown without any problems. It was well lit and we never felt in any danger. Crowded and close together? You bet! But for us, it was worth it to be that close to the city sights for a lot less money than a hotel would have cost us. We had full hookups. The people in the office were very helpful and provided a folder with information on the marina and attractions nearby. They made it clear that they would be willing to help in anyway to find our way around. We only stayed two days because of the high cost in the area...we got in and saw what we wanted to see, took in a play and then skeedaddled out of there. We live in our RV with two cats and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$85
Close to NYC with level gravel sites. The sites are too tight to allow awnings to be used, but wide enough without them. The showers are dirty, but the water is hot and has good pressure. The area is not scary and we walked around the Jersey City square area without any concerns. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$85
With this park it is all about location, there is no ambiance. The park is really just a parking lot with electric and water hook ups, but the view and convenience more than make up for any thing else. Bringing a big rig in is a little hairy, I checked GPS directions with staff, who emailed the best route. One thing that would have been good to know is distance to the exit, we had a moment of panic thinking we were going to have to find a place to turn around. Getting to the subway, train or ferry into NYC is very easy. There is a good, casual restaurant steps away and an upscale restaurant within walking distance. I felt this was a very safe area. There are also several places that deliver to the park. If you want to take a tour of the city, they will pick you up. Showers and restrooms were clean. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$75
The main amenities we expect from a campground are a decent place to park the camper and the utilities we need for that particular stay. In terms of location, there is no park better for visiting New York City. The ferry (expensive) is just a short walk away, or one can walk only five blocks to take the NJ PATH subway (inexpensive) right into Manhattan. The park also has ample security as it is part of a harbor with lots of expensive boats. The main issue we had, and the reason for the low rating, was the electrical voltage. The first evening it was 102.5V, until we switched fridge to gas, an then it only went up to 104V. That was only from one air conditioner.  Throughout the week the voltage tended to be around 106V with the fridge plugged into the extra 20 amp outlet on the box. We had to rig things to get by. There is also a large building under construction right behind the park. They get going pretty early. Not sure if we would camp here again or try to stay farther out.  Luckily, the bathroom was clean - since the park has no sewage hookups.  We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$70
The rate reflects stay 6 nights get 7th night free. I cannot rate this park based on accessibility to New York City, therefore, my rating of 4. The campground was not as bad as I feared or had been led to believe by former reviews. The sites were wider than expected. The bathrooms were not as bad as expected although a few little repairs would have improved them tremendously. It is obvious this is just a money maker for the owners with no desire to improve. The trash was picked up fairly regularly but the campground was in need of a good trash pickup day. The electricity was reliable even though the campground was full and a heat wave was gripping the entire area. We never had any power outages. The office staff would answer questions but were far from what I would call friendly or forthcoming with information. Their hours were satisfactory for our needs. We found it very easy to travel into NYC and was worth the poor quality of the campground itself for this convenience. We would stay there again if visiting NYC. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2013
$85
If location is all you're concerned about, this park is OK; convenient to New York City by rail, car, or ferry. There are relatively nice views of NYC at night. The campground itself is rundown with lots of junk stored around the property. Restrooms and other buildings are in terrible shape. The staff is not helpful nor friendly. Fortunately, it does have full time security. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2013
$80
The location is top: a few steps to the ferry that goes to Manhattan South, or on foot about 10 minutes, and the "path" runs about 15 minutes to the subway "World Trade Center". It is not a campground, but a parking lot with water and electricity, and no sewer. There is a central dump station. It is relatively quiet, although a construction site behind the parking lot. But at night, they do not work. From the harbor, 100 yards away, there is a beautiful view of the lights at night. That was the positive side. And now the bad points: The showers and toilets are absolutely filthy. Should not use it ... The staff that we have encountered during the day, are very rude. Unlike the night watchman. He was very nice and helpful. There is internet, but very, very slow - sometimes not. Overall, the place was $80, is way too expensive. But it's close to Manhattan. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2013
$80
This is nothing more the bare minimum but provides easy access to NYC. Be aware of refund policy even in case of extreme emergency. Consider this poor management policy! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2013
$80
The online reservation system is much improved. It is great that you can reserve a site online now, pick a site, and pay online. Alas the site we reserved was not available when we showed up, it was given away to someone else who showed up before us. The $80 is the base rate without taxes and fees included, WiFi is not included, WiFi is extra charge. We used our own Virgin Mobile WiFi card instead. The guard who checked us in was super nice. He even gave us a plastic Statue of Liberty as a check-in gift. Check-out is at 11AM, or else you pay $40. If you checkout at 5PM, you pay $80. The sites are level enough for levelers with blocks, we had to use blocks under our rear levelers, but it worked fine. The park served its purpose as being convenient to NYC. No Good Sams discount, no FMCA discount anymore. Thus it deserves a fair rating of 5, not excellent, but not terrible. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2013
$80
It's a very good place to visit NYC. Only a short walk to PATH-Station, also to the Jersey City waterfront around Goldman Sachs Tower, with a spectacular view to Manhattan. But on the other hand we found there the worst restrooms ever seen in the US: old and very dirty with water which seemed to be not clean. The staff was nice and helpful. We think, in spite of the spectacular location, the price-quality ratio is bad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$68
This is just a parking lot with electric and water hook up (they have a dump station). However, you can not get any closer to NY. Just a ferry boat ride {right across from the park} or walk 5 blocks to the subway. TIP - if you stay at one of the RV parks that are about an hour away from NY, you will have to pay each time you get on one of their toll roads, bridge fees or tunnel fees. Add to that the cost of gas to and from that RV park for 4 or 5 days and what you pay to stay in this park is well worth it. Especially if you have a pet dog that you don't want to leave at home all day long. We left the park at noon and came back by 5 many days and our dog was just fine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$75
If a family is looking for a "Campground" to ride bikes, swing on swings', this is (not) for this type family. This is a place to park your RV and be able to afford to visit one of America's greatest cities. We only hope that this little section of pavement with water and electric hook ups will never be bull dozed down, and high rise buildings built on top of it. We were with a Rally so the park was full, but it did seem that spaces became available throughout the week we were there. You cannot ask for nicer staff. They help people from distant states feel welcome to New Jersey and NYC. We will definitely visit Liberty Harbor again, and hope this park will always be available for RV'ers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$75
The sites are so close, if your neighbor gets off center, your slides almost touch. The bath house is old. But it earns a 10 for the view of Lady Liberty and the NYC skyline right out your window. The staff is so nice. They are very pet friendly. We enjoyed watching the yachts come in and out of the harbor. There is a wonderful diner within walking distance that was featured on Diners, Dives and Drive-ins. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2012
$75
This is a hard campground to rate. It is the only campground close to New York. Office people are helpful with directions for getting around. There is a restaurant/bar next door that has a beautiful view of Manhattan. BUT, the campground is nothing more than a poorly maintained gravel parking lot. Electricity is unpredictable if people need to use their air conditioners. There is supposed to be 50 amp service, but you can't use it because "the system is old". We were in C36. There are 4 sites in this area (C30, 32, 34, and 36). Do not book these sites if it's going to be hot as you can barely run one air conditioner before it blows the electricity. Other areas had electricity problems too, but I don't know the numbers. Laundry had 6 sets of machines (3 sets were out of order). Resort it's not; location it has. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$80
First off we read the reviews so we knew what to expect. Second, we stayed at a similar "type" park in St. Louis and all I can say is, location, location, location. We were thrilled with this park. Had no problems with our 50 amp service. We fell in love with the views sitting at the on site restaurant. We could see the Statue of Liberty from our site. Quick inexpensive transportation into NYC. The staff was friendly and very, very helpful. Be sure to ask them for directions to the park, do not rely on your GPS! We will definitely be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$80
This is a real "gem" of a campsite. We are a family of 5, and our grown up children were very keen to see New York. Just a $2 ride on the "Path train" to Grand central station or a $7 ferry ride (catching views of the Statue of Liberty on your way ) to the financial district. As previous reviews stated, it is an RV "parking lot" with incredibly friendly and helpful staff and security. Showers were well used but OK . Laundry was excellent with lots of new machines. Very safe campsite with a few bars/restaurants within walking distance. Long cues develop around the free dump station. Follow the directions given by the campsite, and it is no problem to drive there. You get very close to the entrance to Holland Tunnel at one point. We would definitely stay here again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$53
Location unbeatable! Short (safe) walk to underground, then few minutes to Manhattan. We took an overflow spot in the back and paid $53. There's always room between the boats that are parked for repair or storage. Bathrooms and showers clean, washer and dryer cheap @ $1.75 and $1.50. Hosts and guards friendly (enough;) and everybody I met was happy to be there and pay $75+ for water and elec or $53 for a dry spot. Make sure you have enough water because there's only one 'dirty' hose at the dump station. Stayed during the weekend with wife and three kids and we had a great time visiting New York. Will use this camp ground again and recommend it to everybody. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$82
Just what we were looking for. A safe place to park & leave the RV while we toured NYC and for sleeping. Access was easy enough and not far off Interstate. Access to NYC is excellent. Staff is helpful in giving directions. A casual restaurant & bar three minute walk from RV had beautiful NYC skyline view, outdoor seating, good food at good prices. Spaces were plenty wide for slide outs on both sides. Just expect a good RV parking lot and you'll be happy with this. Not a resort style RV park. Be careful of one thing. The website says they will charge you $40 if you forget to check out with them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$80
As another reviewer mentioned, it's ok. It's a parking lot, by the marina. There's no view of NYC, but it is the closest RV campground to NYC. The NJ Path station is about 5 blocks walking and for $2.50 it takes you direct to Manhattan within 20-30 minutes. This is the cheapest and most convenient way into the city. Since there is no sewer on the sites, there is a dump site, but we quickly noticed most people either used the shower facilities daily or they let their RVs drip the shower water on the gravel all day. The spaces were a little tight. The bathrooms were not very clean. With so many people taking showers on a daily basis, they really need to have someone regularly cleaning. They do have laundry facilities and they were clean with fairly new machines. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$70
Great location for seeing NYC for sure. It was VERY safe and we walked to and from the subway at midnight with our young children, so this is not an issue at all. This is really an RV parking lot with hook ups, so keep that in mind. It does have laundry, bathrooms and wireless (for an extra fee of $5/day), but that is it. They advertise they are closer to the city than they are. There is a ferry, but it doesn't run on the weekends. The ferry, if you walked up at the perfect time to catch a boat, would take you 15 minutes. The subway from 30-45 minutes, depending on how long you wait for a train. I still thought it was the perfect location and it gave us the opportunity to see NYC with little hassle. The walk to the subway is around 15 minutes, so we sure to be prepared for that, but you have no reason to feel unsafe, as it's really a very safe neighborhood. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$85
For what it is, it's OK, but the shower curtains had lots and lots of mold on them that a toss in the washing machine would fix. That is pretty much my only complaint about the campground. It is a large gravel parking lot with a paved road running through it. The sites are close, we were within 10' of 4 other RVs. Our awning was within 2' of the RV next door and our slide was within 1' of the RV on the other side. Our back end was about 4' from the RV behind us and then there were RV on the other side of the road, about 10' from us. All of that said, it is easy access to NYC, the PATH into the World Trade Center or Times Square. It had water, sewer and Wi-Fi ($5 per day or $25 for the week). Getting into the park and marina was pretty awful since they are working on the road. Potholes, speed bumps, and patches made for a rough 4-5 blocks and then you had to leave by way of an access road. Although I have complained, it was an OK place to stay and the other RVers that were there were nice. I would recommend it, but I would also warn about the roads. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$81
Rate is stated rate for W/E. No sites have S. We showed up with no reservations and place full so we paid $53 to dry camp (same rate as tents, but they have electric). Security staff knows how to get into NYC and is very visible and available. Hand out materials and instructions very good. If Liberty Harbor were not near Liberty Park and public transit, it would fail. That is the only reason to camp here. The "grounds" are trashy. Overflowing trash was not picked up for a day. Bathroom not serviced enough. The dump station, something every one has to use, is poorly designed and maintained. (Fresh water tanks are filled from dump station hose.) Access to Liberty is exciting for a first timer. We will not return. From 10, -1 Trash pick up, -1 Trashy grounds, -1 fresh water not separated from dump, -1 dump grade accumulates water around dump rather than away, -1 Bathroom not serviced. +1 quality of area information and local knowledge. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$75
This park is in a excellent location for visiting New York City, Ellis Island & Statue of Liberty. You can see the Statue from the lot. It is only 15 minutes to NYC via subway or ferry, one which leaves from the dock beside the park. This is an asphalt parking lot and spots are tight with no sewer but they have a dump station. Still great for where you are. Area around is either redeveloped or being redeveloped. The employees and the 24 hour security, are very helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$80
Well, if you need to stay in a RV park near New York: its the only one around. But we were impressed with the park. We were right on the Hudson River across from the Statue of Liberty. Could see her from our site. Was able to catch a water taxi at the dock to go to New York. Felt very safe. Very friendly crew working at site 24/7. The laundry room was great. Will use it again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$75
The location of this park is great. Once you walk 5 blocks or so to the subway, you can be in New York in 30 minutes. The staff at the park was very friendly and accommodating with info and some office services. Very nice people. In this park you are stacked on one another and on black gravel, which could get hot in the summer. The laundry room and prices were good, and the showers and bathrooms were clean. The price to stay here was pretty steep, but it's the only game in town that's close to the Big Apple. I based my rating on the total of the experiences at this park, the proximity to NY, and the high park fee. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2012
$75
The best thing about this park is that it is walking distance to the PATH train, so convenient to get to NYC. Rate is $75 with no FMCA discount anymore. Cannot make reservation online, only request. Office hours are short, no one available in office in the evenings. Every time you call, you are placed on hold, and there is a very long time for call backs. Seems like only one person answers the phone. Making a reservation is a process, not easy. Entire deposit is non-refundable no matter what. No sewer hookups, only dump station. Like a parking lot, no grass. Come here only if here to visit NYC. Park itself is the ugliest of all parks I have ever reviewed. Because of this fact, and the rate, this park deserves a fair rating of ONE. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2012
$80
This campground is basically a parking lot situated next to a marina with water and electric hookups. At $80 a night it would be considered outrageously overpriced anywhere else. It is an easy 7 block walk to the Path train which whisks you to 33St and Broadway in NYC, so the campground couldn’t be more convenient. The area is semi-residential and I felt safe walking from the train back to the campground at 1130pm after a Broadway play. There is a dump station and all sites have electricity and water, but no picnic table, BBQ or fire pit. When making a reservation make sure that you indicate the total length of your vehicles. Otherwise, if they do not fit on your assigned site, you may be assessed an additional $20/day parking fee. And don’t forget to check out as you are leaving, otherwise your CC will be charged an additional $40. Wi-Fi is available at $5 per day but only reaches sites close to the office. No recycling is available. My rating of 4 is an average of 10 for location and 2 for campground appeal, amenities, etc. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2011
$64
We were quite reluctant about staying here, as we'd never been there, and worried about accessibility in the RV, as well as safety. All of our worries went away the first hour we were there. The drive in was easy, with the help of our GPS. It took us straight to the park, and the streets were easy to get through. The park is not fancy, has no pool, which is the only reason I didn't give the rating a 10. The amenities were basic, but nice, and the staff was wonderful. The guard is there all night, and we felt very safe walking the block to the Path train, as well as walking back - sometimes at midnight. There was no feelings of being in danger, etc. The trip to NYC was about 15 minutes, and $4 each way. I was thoroughly impressed with LHP, and I will definitely be staying there when we return to NYC. Only thing that would make this park better would be a hot tub for sore muscles, caused by walking all over the city! This is the only reason we didn't give it a rating of 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2011
$75
This is only an RV park in name; there are no amenities, no sewer hookups, and you're basically staying in a parking lot for the marina with a water spigot and an electrical outlet. The only two things this place has going for it are that it's very safe and incredibly convenient to get into Manhattan, but the fact that they don't have a monthly rate and when you pay the daily rate you're shelling out $1500 a month for your stay makes this officially the most expensive place we've ever stayed, anywhere. And here's something they don't tell you when you check in. If you stay there during the winter, you'll be paying that $1500 a month for just electric and no water because they apparently cut the water off when it gets cold so their pipes don't freeze (and in our case, it was with no notice as we were in the middle of washing dishes, and there was no reduction of our rent to compensate for the fact that we were without half the utilities we had been promised). Horrible customer service, good luck getting the manager to respond to a complaint -- the cleaning staff is incredibly rude, and they rent what used to be the game room out to a bunch of welders who start cutting metal girders at 6AM every day about 20 feet from your trailer window. Unfortunately, they've got a monopoly. If you want to stay this close to NYC, there are no other options. Maybe okay for a night or two, but definitely not full-timer friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2011
$65
This is our fourth time staying here. The only reason we continue to visit here is that this park has easy access to NYC via public transportation. The park itself is basically a gravel parking lot, ugly, old, and sooty. The customer service is ok, they changed our site 2 times before we arrived, simply don't expect to have a site assigned until you arrive. The $65 rate includes a $5 charge for Wi-Fi internet which was so awful we were not able to use it. (The router signal is strong, but the internet itself was spotty, can't find out until after you pay and get online.). Will not add the internet next time. They require 50% of the entire stay in order to make a reservation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$62
Getting to the park was just a little hairy. You have to drive downtown Jersey City, but take it slow, and you won't have many problems. When you drive down the access road, you will see a sign on the left for Liberty Harbour/RV, and an entrance to a lot. Keep going straight. The RV park is all the way at the end of the road. The staff were friendly, and the WI-FI service was pretty good. The sites are tight, and they have no sewer hook up. There is a dump station though. We had no problems with the water or electricity. There is not much else at this campground. There is a bathroom with showers, but we used the one in the trailer, so I can't comment on theirs. We were there during the late October snow storm, and the roads in the campground were plowed by the time we got up the next morning. Before going, you should pull up the web site. It does explain everything, including the fact that they do not have sewer hook up, but a dump station. They will pump your tank out for a $20 fee, however. The access to the NYC is great. You can take the ferry, or the Path train. We used the train ($2), and were in the city in no time at all. We will certainly return again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2011
$60
The only positive thing I can say about Liberty Harbor RV Park is that it has close and easy access to NYC. The negatives are many. The day we arrived I went to do laundry and only two of the five washers were working. That is very inconvenient when you have four loads. We have been here 5 nights and I wanted to do a load before we leave. There are now no washers working. Seems to me they could be more concerned about facilities for their guests. Most people I talked to, weren't aware there was no sewer hookup. For the price they charge there should be. Be prepared to move at their whim. It's like musical chairs here, they are constantly telling people to change spots. Have spoken to a few of the guests and there are lots of complaints about staff attitude and treatment. Would not recommend this place to anyone. Guess when you're the only game in town you can treat people poorly, charge lots and think its okay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$62
First of all, let me say that this park would probably not receive a 7 from me except for the location. If you want to visit NYC, and you want a convenient place to do it from: stay here. We made reservations about a month in advance. Getting there was a bit hairy, but we had no problems with our site. The person on duty (Labor Day) guided us to our site, and helped us with the back in. The sites are small, but the park has "big rig access". It was full of big rigs. We got our 35' HitchHiker and our truck on the site. Visiting the city on weekdays was easy, as you can take the NY Waterway ferry to pier 11 virtually from the parking lot. If you want to take the PATH train to Penn Station, it's about a .7 mile walk to the Grove St. station. The park isn't that great, and the drive in can be a bit scary, but if I go back to NYC for another visit, I will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2011
$62
We would not recommend this place unless you are desperate to visit NYC with no where else to stay. We are convinced they double book and then bump customers or force them to the dry storage area. We made a reservation 2 weeks ahead for a 30 amp site. We got a call late in the day prior to our arrival telling us there was a problem and our site was given away by an inept employee who has been fired and they said they could give us a 20 amp site instead. We told them that was not acceptable so they said they had another site but it would be tight. When we arrived our site was so tight we were literally inches from the other unit. We were also told that there was no room for our vehicle. When we got to the site there was no water and the electricity didn't work. At this time there were at least 10 other sites open but they refused to allow us one of those sites. They then told us they would refund our money and we could leave if we didn't like our site. That was not possible for us since we had already traveled 200 miles and spent $100 on gas and also had purchased theater tickets. We asked if they would also reimburse us for those as well and they said we would just have to sue them. After a heated exchange of words they finally agreed to get us water hose extension and finally got the power to work so we had no alternative but to stay. We had camped at this place for years and never had a problem with the old owners. Now that it is under new management the customer service is horrendous. They don't care about their customers since they have no competition in the area. At first we thought maybe we just had a bad day or it was a fluke but after talking to some other campers who had complaints and reading many negative reviews on other sites we realized this seemed to par for the course at this place now. If you do go there be prepared to find another place to stay if need be and bring a generator and water in as you get bumped or moved to the dry storage area as some have been forced to do. We will never return to this place again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2011
$64
This has had to be one of the worst camping experiences we have ever had. We had heard from friends who had stayed there last year that this place is nice because it's close to the city. However I have to say that these are the most ignorant people we have ever met. They have absolutely NO customer service whatsoever. After making reservations we were told when we arrived that our site had to be moved. We were Ok with that however when we saw our site it was so small we could hardly maneuver into it. My husband has been parking our RV for many many years and it was difficult for him. Then when we complained they told us that we could move to an area they called the dry storage and pay the same amount until a bigger site opened up probably the next day. We had a slight argument over this with them and they abruptly told us they would refund our money and we could leave if we were not happy. So luckily we had a generator with us so we moved to the other area hoping that a site would open the next day as we were told. That night we were approached by a security guard telling us that we could not have our generator on because it was too loud. So we had to spend the night in 80 degree weather with no AC. The next day we asked for a refund and said we would be leaving due to the conditions and were told that they could not refund our money because we already stayed one of the nights of our stay. We immediately packed up and left and went to a local Wal-Mart where we stayed free and were able to run our generator. What a nightmare this place is. I don't care how close to New York city it is I won't ever stay there again nor will I recommend it to anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2011
$60
Packed gravel sites and some asphalt. Basically a parkiing lot side by side. Enough room for slides and maybe awning. No shade and not particularly friendly staff. Only positive for this place is location and that's great. We were here during Hurricane Irene and they would not refund any fees unless a mandatory evacuation was ordered. This would be a very dangerous place in a hurricane. Had to pay additional $20 to park toad! Per night! Would not stay here again. We stayed in a motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2011
$64
I would NOT recommend this park to ANYONE! To begin our reservation (which I made 4 months in advance) was recorded with the wrong dates (we stayed 4 nights) and NO space was available. We were put in boat storage for 1st night, had to purchase a heavy duty extension cord in order to run our air and then moved to a site which was much too small. The dirty bathroom toilets could not even accommodate toilet tissue so a bucket was provided. Customer service was non-existent! We had to pay same price for all nights We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$60
Great place to stay while visiting NYC. If you want a camping experience, stay at a state park. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$60
We stopped there for 1 night. It is perfect for this kind of purpose. You are one step from the ferry to New York. Tthat is great for a visit without the traffic. But you have to reserve at least 2 months in advance if you want to have a good place with service like electricity and water, if not you may have a place but no service. There is bathroom, but it's not very clean nor for the shower. Now we know to get a reservation in advance. We will do so if we do want to go into NY city to visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2011
$65
The location is incredible. Rving in a parking lot is not a problem if you stay outside visiting NY. But, the sites dont have sewer so the most of the people have to use the public bathrooms. Mens bathroom only has 2 toilets that are in bad shape and are for home use rather than for comercial use. It is cleaned once a day, so you have to check when it is cleaned so you can use it. Few hours laters it is a nightmare. This RV park is full all the time, so I doubt the owner will improve the bathrooms. If I return to New york I will look for an affordable hotel and stay half of the time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2011
$60
If this park was anywhere else nobody would stay here. Their sites are small. We were parked by the staff the evening we checked in and the next morning we were told that we were backed in too far and would have to move our rig. This left no room to park our tow vehicle and were told we had to pay an extra $20 a night for parking it. After much argument they agreed to not charge for parking the tow vehicle. The attitude of the park is not good. They know they have the location and do not care about the customer. We will not be staying at this park again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$65
We were traveling with our 4 children (8-16), my brother and his wife. This "campground" is basically a parking lot for your RV/camper. The one thing is has going for it is it's location. It is a 10 minute PATH train ride to NYC. You have three convenient options for heading into NYC from the campground. You can take the Water Taxi ($6.75 each way), walk 2 blocks to the light rail system ($1.75 each way) which takes you to a PATH station or walk about 5 blocks up to the PATH station at Grove St. and head to the city. We choose to walk the 5 blocks to the PATH train. We arrived at the campground about 9:00 pm our first night and we were greeted by the security guard who checked us in, had us pay for the first night and took us to our spot. He told us to stop in at the office the next day to pay the balance of our reservation. What he neglected to tell us is that the restrooms have a coded entry. Thankfully, some other campers were willing to give us the code to get in when we went to the restroom. The bathrooms started out clean enough at the beginning of the week. The showers had ample hot water and were large enough, but the shower curtains were full of mold and mildew. The bathrooms continued to decline in cleanliness the rest of our stay. In both bathrooms, one of the toilets became clogged and another ran out of toilet paper. When we mentioned this to security, they said they couldn't do anything about it. The cleaning lady finally arrived on Sunday morning as we were heading home. She removed all of the shower curtains at this time and hung clean ones. Not sure how often they do that, but they could stand to do it more often. Our purpose in staying here was because of it's proximity to NYC. We headed to the city by 8:30 each morning and did not return until after dark. Because the office is only open 9/9:30-5:30/6:00, we did not get any of the helpful information they have available in the office and we were unable to pay our balance until the morning we were leaving. We did end up having a small issue with our reservation. I had booked it for 6 nights. Apparently, they only had us booked for 5 nights. Another camper came and they had him booked into our site. We were still here. When we finally talked to the office about this (the morning we were leaving), they asked if I had received a confirmation email. When we left home on the 12th, I had not received one at that point. When I got home, there was one waiting in my emailbox. They had sent it on the 14th of June: I had already been in their campground for one night. As far as customer service, cleanliness and amenities, this campground could use some improvement. However, if you are looking for a convenient place to stay near NYC, they have the corner market. It certainly was easy to get back and forth to the city from here. You also do have a nice view of the Statue of Liberty from the campground. I would stay here again, only for it's location and cost effectiveness. There was no way we could have stayed anywhere else with 8 people as inexpensively with the benefits of having breakfast and packing a lunch before we headed to NYC. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$45
We stayed here because it was the only RV park close to the Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island. This is a run-down, no-frills place & it is always full. There is NO SEWER.Be prepared for bare minimum in exchange for location! If you go, do not expect anything else! BUT everything imaginable is there in Jersey Cit, plus the light-rail train is a block away. The ferry to Liberty Park/Ellis Island & New York is close by as well. Yes, we could actually see Miss Liberty from the park! This campground appears to be a cement parking lot turned into sites for RVs. Liberty Harbor Marina is adjacent & there are many other vacant cement lots that may be used for storing boats. However, we felt perfectly safe there & had absolutely no problems for the 2 days we stayed! If we visit again we would reserve here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$55
LOCATION, Location, Location. Have been coming here for 10 years. Each year I wonder if it will still be open. Not any more. The place is being cleaned and sites are being assigned. There were between 17 and 25 camper parked in the parking lot in boondocking at $50 a night with use of restroom. Stay the week and enjoy the location. Path train one mile north at Grove Station, or use ferry right across parking lot. Statue of Liberty can be viewed from south end sites. Holland Tunnel is two miles north on Marin. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$65
I agree with all recent reviews. This "campground" is all about location, location, location. It is a parking lot with loose gravel sites, mostly level. You get 50amp and water. I understand they do not have room for a pond, pool or trees for that matter and that's OK... my only complaint is the shower floors were downright filthy. We knew this going in and all wore flip flops while showering. The water ferry does not run on Sundays, so we took the PATH train into the city. We arrived 6pm Saturday and just walked around the downtown area. It was nice and had some decent outdoor dining options. If you're going to NYC, this is where you stay. I would stay here again, and I would bring my old flip flops. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$52
What is the bare minimum of amenities and facilities you can get away with if you have a convenient location, and no competition? The answer is this place. Add a staff that is inflexible, and/or software that is poorly designed. (They had us all playing musical chairs with our sites rather than move the data around on their system.) Of course, never reply to your email, and there you have it. Face it- the place is a parking lot, but the ferry to Manhattan stops right here, and it's a short walk to the train and a nice downtown district. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$65
This was our third time at this campground. It is THE SPOT for a visit to NYC. Sites are gravel and a bit tight, showers were OK - dirty after a lot of use but they are cleaned daily. Laundry facility was OK. PATH train to the City is within walking distance and ferry service is at the campground. Grocery store is about 1 mile from campground. 50 amp electric was good. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2011
$65
This park is not terrible, it's not excellent, it's OK. The only thing excellent about this park is the location. 10 minute walk to the Grove Street PATH station which takes you right into NYC. The site we had was almost level. All sites are loose gravel. Only water and 50 amp electricity, no sewer connection, just a dump station No water during February though. We took showers in the bathhouse which had muddy floors, but clean and warm enough to use. Negatives: can only book by phone. Phone is not always answered and there is no answer machine. Office closed on weekends. Weekday hours are only 8:30AM-5PM, but sometimes there is nobody there even during these hours. There is a FMCA discount of 10% but you have to ask for it. The campground is not always guarded even though there is a guard tower. Long story short, this park is the best for camping near NYC because there really is no other choice. Basically just a big gravel parking lot with no trees and no grass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$60
This campground is here for one purpose. It is for people visiting nearby New York City. The $60 price pays for the desirable and convenient location. Once you step outside the campsite you have access to NJ light rail (300 feet) and the PATH train system (about half mile away) giving you fast access to New York city and all its tourist attractions. There is also a ferry boat service from the nearby car park to New York which operates during weekday rush hours only. The place seems to be reasonably quiet and safe. Picnic tables are provided for people who prefer not to use the 1000's of restaurants available in nearby New York City. If you don't like the spartan campsite then try staying in one of the NY hotels for $400 per night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$52
You come here for one reason, to see NYC, so before you put yourself through the tolls, possibly getting lost a couple of times make sure that's what you're coming for. We liked this parking lot; it's close to the subway (short walk) and you feel safe!? Look, had we not had a recession this place would be high rise condos or apartments so enjoy for a mere 60 dollars a night. There is a couple of things they don't tell you; if you stay 6 nights you get the seventh free and if you are a FMCA member you get 10% off so all that taken in account it comes to about 52 dollars a night. As soon as the economy turns around this place will be gone forever, so enjoy! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$60
Have to endorse the comments of the last reviewer. This is basically a car park with power and water but the reason you come here is because it is the closest RV park to NYC. The transport to NYC is very close and an easy walk. The area seems fairly nice with modern buildings and clean streets. It is pricey but I guess that is what happens when there is a monopoly. I was very surprised that there is not another campground within 50 miles of NYC. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2010
$60
This park is not quite as bad as some of the reviews would indicate. However, realize what this park is. It is a place to park your RV to go to New York or New Jersey. Don't bring the kids and their scooters and expect to lay by the pool. This place obviously gets tons of business so they are not overly wrapped up over each guest. We called 3 times the week before we got in. When we did they took no credit card info or contact info. Just a name and gave us a reservation number. A large group had cancelled so there was no problem with a site. The biggest issue for us was getting here. The roads are bad, and the signs are worse. If you are driving a van it would probably be no problem, but a 35' rig with a tow car was a big problem. Take your time, get good maps (even our GPS had problems) and be prepared to make U turns if necessary. It is pricey for what you get, but you will get nothing cheaper within an hour of the city. And by the way, we could see the Statue of Liberty from our site! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$60
This is one of the poorest campgrounds we have ever stayed at. The bathrooms were filthy and lots of transients could be seen entering the area and using the bathroom for who knows what. This park is connected to the marina so the camping sites look like a parking lot: no space, no grass, no shade. The staff was unfriendly and unhelpful. The only thing going for this park is the location. It is the closest access to NYC. I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$60
Park is poorly managed with poor office hours. The power failed and we had to reset the main breaker on our own 3 times while we were there. They would not cash a travelers check. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$60
A real dump but you have little choice if you want to be close to NYC. They say you can see the Statue of Liberty; maybe if you climb on your roof and are willing to blow up a few buildings. For $60 you get no sewer, no Internet, washers & showers outside the park proper & a dirt strip. Had number one reservation for 2010 and when you get there you find out sites are on a first come, first choice to a site and not all sites will fit a big rig like ours. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$60
Stayed 2 nights. Made my reservation 6 months prior, and confirmed it 2 months prior, but they couldn't find my reservation!! Luckily, they had a cancellation, and had a site for us. Level gravel site, but not big enough to open our awning. Dump station only. Bathrooms are large, with 6 showers / stalls, but could have used a mopping. Laundry had 5 commercial washers, and 3 combination units. No Wi-Fi, but 100% connection with Sprint air card. Good satellite pick-up. Staff said they have recently changed management (not ownership). Too costly for what it was, but clearly they charge more because they're the only game in town, and close to all transit to NYC. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$65
Well, if you want to stay near NYC, they gotcha. The negatives: The campground is basically a parking lot (complete with huge potholes), the bathrooms are old and filthy. The positives: you can see the Statue of Liberty from the campground/parking lot, it's about 6 blocks to the PATH train that will take you into NYC for a couple bucks and there is a ferry that will take you directly from the adjacent marina to NYC. If you are coming to this park or planning on heading through the city, please note: you cannot drive an RV through the Holland Tunnel if you have propane on board and if you are going to cross the George Washington Bridge with propane on board, you must use the upper level, so plan your trip accordingly. If we were going to take our RV near Manhattan in the future, we would stay here again simply because there are no other options. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$60
If your purpose to stay is to visit New York City then look no further.It is a big parking lot but you are a 15 minute ferry ride to manhatten.It is well lite,safe and staff pleasant. Nothing to look at, no sewer hook-up but @ 60 dollars a night it beats any hotel in New York City. My daughter and mother in law stayed in the city @ 290 a night. Do the math! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$65
Stayed here one weekend to attend an event at the State Park. Easy access to mass transit to NJ and into NYC. Called at least 6 times beforehand to try and get a site and was told none available until end of July. Called two days out (got someone different) and got a site, no problem. Go figure. When we got in there were plenty of sites open, and they never filled up all weekend. In fact, we were able to get a site with no one next to us so it gave us a little more elbow room. Travel to/from the park in a 43' motorhome is 'interesting' to say the least...narrow streets, low wires, overhanging trees and a tight right turn - I wouldn't suggest this during busy times like rush hour. Mid-day wasn't too bad. Only other real problem we experienced was periodic power outages - it was a hot weekend and I am sure everyone's A/C was running at max. The whole park didn't lose power, only one set of breakers. After a couple times losing electricity and having to reset the breakers (it got to the point where the maintenance guy just showed us where it was and we did it ourselves) we moved our adapter to a different outlet at an empty site and didn't have a problem again. Park works for its proximity and access to NYC...I would only go again for that. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$60
This place is a perfect way to see NYC inexpensively using the comfort of your camper/motorhome. This place is what it is - a base to see the city. I was concerned with safety before coming because I have two small children, but there was around the clock security checking the grounds. The walk to the PATH to get into the city was only 10 min. and was safe as well. The office is a little laid back. They will find a way to get you a spot and they were nice about giving information - but they are not up for chit-chat. We ended up finding some great spots to visit in Jersey City. I would use this campground again to visit NYC - $60/night was worth it. I did like seeing Lady Liberty from my site (although small). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$60
This is a parking lot in a GREAT location if you are visiting New York City. I was a bit apprehensive about staying here in a tent trailer, but we felt very safe and would return here without hesitation. The front office staff was very helpful and the restrooms were cleaned each day. It would have been nice for them to be cleaned twice a day, but they were pretty nice overall. There is also a nice laundry facility, but no Internet access. Conveniently located near the New Jersey Path trains into New York City (about 6 blocks which we walked at night without any issues). We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$60
This campground is nothing but a big parking lot with electric and water hookups, nothing more. Getting to the campground was very easy, and once in there is plenty of room to maneuver. The great part is how easy it is to get into and out of New York City. The Path is very simple and cheap to use to get into and out of the city. If you want to visit New York City this is the place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2010
$60
I'll try not to repeat other comments, both positive and negative, but the negative aspects to this CG definitely outweigh the positive. There are two big advantages: accesability to everything in the NYC area, with NJ light rail, PATH and ferry and water taxi's close at hand; and it is the only CG near the city. That said: the roads in and out of the Jersey City area are in terrible shape. Prepare for a very slow last 3 or 4 miles because the main road in is also the main road for the Holland Tunnel with its mile long backups. Marin Ave is the last possible turn before the toll booths. As to the CG itself, the gal who manned the front desk always seemed to be in a hurry and answers to questions were incomplete. That caused some unanticipated problems when going to, or arriving at my destination ( unexpected delays, etc). Showers stalls were the largest I've seen at a CG, and cleaned daily. The showers themselves were in disrepair: broken shower heads, handles off their splines and poor drainage (that caused water and dirt to be tracked into the toilet stalls). I said no to the question of WiFi. The CG had none of their own. I thought for the price, they should have had it for free. There were several connections detected, most were secure. At least one was a pay as you go, and two other unsecure sites that wouldn't connect. Lastly, there is about a 2-3 degree drop from the back of the park to the front, with no attempt to level the individual sites, so bring leveling jacks or plates. Overall, as others have said, this park is convenient to all of the metro NY area, but not a great park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$60
Stayed here for a few days while visiting friends in the NYC area. Great location as it is only a few minutes walk to the Grove Street PATH train (goes to 33rd St in midtown and the World Trade Center Station in downtown Manhattan). All sites are Blue stone gravel. We had to level our motorhome while there. There is a common dump for black and gray water, but no site dump connections. The shower stalls (men) were mostly clean. However there was walked-in mud/dirt in many areas later in the morning because of careless or disrespectful shower users. The bath infrastructure is seriously in need of renovation. Just because the campground is located so close to the country's largest city, doesn't mean that you can buy the things you need nearby. It's quite a walk to the nearest grocery store/pharmacy (Shop Rite), and there's only a small, expensive bodega close by. The campground office has NO items for purchase -- RV or otherwise. As a location convenience, this campground rates a 10, but because of the sewer hookup, and other issues I have to give it only a 6. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$60
Location. Location. Location. You are only a short boat ride, or train ride away from downtown NYC!!! Amenities: had water, electric, you are in the marina parking lot. Nice laundry, bathrooms and showers. We have stayed here before and knew what to expect. We wanted to be close to the City. Employees are friendly, and there is night security. We will stay here when we are in the area again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$60
I gave this park a 9 rating because of location. It's basically a parking lot with 50 back in sites on gravel. There is a laundry, bathhouse and dump station. If you want to visit NYC, this is the place to stay. We took the ferry for 6.00 ow to pier 11. The metro is about 5 blocks away. No problem taking the metro. Worked great. Only 1.75 per trip. We also learned how to take metro into the city then the subway 2.25 per trip. We could go anywhere we wanted. We never had to use our truck the entire time. If visiting NYC, we would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$60
The best thing about this park, is its location. If it were anywhere else, we would have rated it lower, because it really is just a big parking lot in Jersey City, but it has a spectacular view of lower Manhattan and the Statue of Liberty. Also, it is the only RV park anywhere near New York City, so it's great if you plan to just sleep here and then take the PATH train or ferry into lower Manhattan to explore the city. This is exactly what we did and found it to be very convenient for that purpose. Not a whole lot to do here in terms of being a family place, etc., but it's a good option for an RV vacation that includes a trip to New York City. Will definitely stay here again if we will be visiting the Big Apple during an RV trip! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$59
I am giving this park an 8, because for our needs, it was just fine. We've staying in parks priced from $10 to $100 a night, from nowhere to the Florida Keys. Sure, if this were in any location away from this huge tourist destination where land is indeed at a premium, the price would be steep for what was provided: but this is by far the closest RV park to New York City and frankly, the only one we could find that was less than an hour's train ride away. We moved here from Croton-on-Hudson. (A very nice park, not a lot cheaper, but an hour train's ride from New York City. Croton is a very pretty area, but there are no large department stores within a fifteen to twenty minute drive, which can be inconvenient if you need to replenish, as we did). The spots here at Liberty Harbor, were fairly level; the office was polite and helpful when we had questions; but most importantly, you had several options to go almost anywhere in the NYC area inexpensively and quickly. We rode the light rail, the Path, and the ferry and each served it's purpose well. You literally could exit the park and get on the light rail, and then transfer to anywhere you needed to go, or you could walk a few blocks to the Path station, which took you straight into New York, or even get on the ferry right at the park, for a nice ride across the bay to New York. About the only thing we could complain about was the fact that getting to the park was a challenge for us: due to road construction and heavy enough traffic for someone who was not familiar with the area, causing a certain stress level we don't like to experience. We were here Monday through Wednesday evenings: missing the loud noise that is supposed to come from the bar nearby, so we can't comment on that. It was very quiet the nights we were here. We did spend 1/2 day in downtown Jersey City getting some really, really cheap deals on clothing and sundries for the motorhome. Also were able to pick up fresh veggies and fruit at the open market downtown. All in all, we wouldn't hesitate to come back and will likely book here in advance, the next time we plan on visiting New York. Although we stayed here in a Class C, we saw what had to be a 45' Prevost Bus parked here too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$65
There is no campground closer or more convenient to NYC. We did not hear the Friday night music others have complained of, but then we kept the A/C on all night and parked as far away from the outdoor light night bar. Expect no amenities at this campground, just asphalt and little stubbles of grass here and there. No trees of course. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$60
It's all about location, location, location. It's a great and convenient place to park your trailer at a reasonable cost and spend time in the big city. The Path (train) is ten minutes walking distance away and you are in the city in about 15 minutes. I visited with family who live in Jersey City. The area is being built up. Seeing the older section with it's neat little park and brown stone houses is worth taking a walk around the area. We have been here before and plan to return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2009
$60
This campground isn't really much in the way of a campground, but for visiting NYC it was great. We had friends coming up from TX and wanted to show them the city. The camp itself is just a paved section right next to a marina with very few amenities or comforts, but we weren't really there to camp. It is right by the Liberty State Park and near a train station that is only $2 to get into Manhattan. It was definitely worth the rather steep over night fee to not have to rent a hotel room near New York. I felt the area was pretty safe too. We spent most of our time seeing the sights and very little time actually in the campground but that is what we expected. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2009
$40
The campground itself is nothing more than a parking lot, but you can't beat it's proximity to New York. When driving there, keep an eye on the road signs as well as the GPS because it can be somewhat overwhelming. The PATH train is a short and SAFE walk, and it only costs $1.75 to get into New York. Although the PATH tickets and the Subway tickets look the same, they are not interchangeable. The tour bus will come to your campsite. There is no water during the off season, but there is water available. Also, if you pay for six nights, you get the seventh free. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2009
$30
We were planning on camping here because it's so close to New York and it's open in the winter. Eventually we didn't stay here because it's just a parking lot with some hookups and not a pretty one. While walking around we didn't feel really safe and comfortable. That said, the owner would have charged us 30 dollars a day for this mess. We advise you to avoid this place. "We did not stay at this park". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2008
$52
This camp consists of an open parking lot in a marina. Sites are long but narrow, just wide enough for slide-outs. It attracts a lot of higher end rigs. The price is steep at $60 but the 7th night is free. They still do not have wifi and only a phone modem hookup is available in the office. The 50-amp service worked well. There’s no sewer but there is a dump station. The code-locked restrooms have large showers & there is a laundry room. Although you can see plenty of Jersey City high-rises from your site, only a couple of sites have views of the buildings on the southern tip of Manhattan. Many have views of Statue of Liberty and the Ellis Island buildings though, with the Verezano Narrows Bridge beyond. The camp is not on the banks of the Hudson as the ads would make it seem, but rather behind a marina and a large park. Since it is also a marina and ferry terminal they have 24-hour security. Jersey City has much improved over the years with redevelopment, but having security is still nice to have. The camp-host in the office was helpful with directions and logistics on getting into Manhattan. Passenger commuter ferries depart from the marina on weekdays only in the mornings and afternoons and sail to South Street Seaport near Chinatown, Little Italy, Soho, etc.. That is the most pleasant way into Manhattan, but expensive at $6 each way. The crowded PATH subway train, open 24/7, is the most sensible option at $1.75 each way, and drops you off conveniently at 33rd Street in Manhattan. The Grove Street station is a brisk 12-minute walk from the camp up Marin Blvd. It seems like a safe area, but if you feel uncomfortable walking in the area at night, taxis are $5. The worthwhile ferry to Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island leaves from Liberty State Park, 1.5 miles away from the camp (Cost $12 each plus parking $7) and is much less crowded here than leaving from Manhattan. Reserve in advance (on line or phone) for a specific departure to avoid waiting on crowded days and make sure to get a ticket that includes the limited number of Monument Passes to be able to access the statue’s pedestal and museum (prepare for thorough security screening). The audio tour is very worthwhile for Ellis Island, but not for Liberty Island. The camp office has vouchers with codes for discounted Broadway play tickets that you can then buy by phone, but beware of the $7+ each convenience charges doing it that way. It was nice to purchase in advance without having to wait in lines in the City. To get a discount for the most popular plays is difficult but you can try being the first in line at a TKTS booth at Times Square or South Street Seaport. If you go to Broadway, discount vouchers are handed out on the streets to many plays that need to fill seats. To get around Manhattan we purchased the $25 Metro pass valid for one week (cannot be shared or used on PATH), which was very convenient on all buses and subways. We also drove into Manhattan a couple of days, and the Holland Tunnel is just a few minutes up Marin Blvd. All in all, both RV parties had a fantastic week in NYC using this camp as our home base. Note that another more scenic option for camping in the region is Croton Point Park on the Hudson River in Westchester County, which is near the Metro North commuter rail line. It is half the price but only open seasonally and it may take you over a half hour longer to get into Manhattan. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2008
$60
Very convenient to NYC. Difficult to get to, due to traffic. Best way in is I-78 from I-95. The lady in the office is totally unfriendly, unwelcoming and will not return calls or emails requesting information on reservations or driving instructions. The area is in a run down area and other than convenience to NYC, does not warrant $60.00 per night, with no sewer hookup. Would I stay here again? ONLY for the convenience and if I had to. Good luck getting anybody to answer the phone other than a recording. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$60
For a parking lot, this place is OK. You can't beat the proximity to NYC. When you check in, they tell you to pick any open spot. Pick a spot way away from the office. They have a dog that barks all night long. If you are there over the weekend, it will be noisy till 3:00A.M. from the party at the Sand Bar next door. They were going to have Wi-Fi but I think they gave up. It is not available now. If we go back that way, we would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$60
This place is essentially a gravel parking lot. The draw is that it is close to Manhattan and New York City which is accessible from the campground via a ferry boat or the New Jersey subway which is a fifteen minute walk away. The biggest drawback is that access to the restroom and shower facilities could be made by anyone outside the campground. The area housing the restroom facilities was gated, and all campers were given a key to open the bathroom doors. The problem is that the gates were frequently left unlocked and open, and the bathroom doors were often propped open. I would not allow my children to go to the bathroom alone. On our first night here we were approached by someone who was asking for money. There is a security tower overlooking the campground and marina, but there were times when no guard was present. There is a night club at the marina that was very loud on Friday night. The noise kept us up until 4:00 am. Exercise caution if you stay here, particularly if you use the public facilities. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2008
$60
Convenient to New York City but no more than a parking lot with electricity and water for each site. Did have dump station. Sites extremely close with no privacy whatsoever. No store. Would not stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$60
This was a basic place to park an RV, no extra room on a crushed stone pad, no grass, no playground, etc. Picnic tables were scarce but then almost no one sat outside anyway. When slideouts were extended they left only a few feet between units. Office staff did not offer help or directions unless asked for and even then they were only somewhat helpful. They have limited office hours and are difficult to reach by phone. If you leave a message do not expect a call back. Follow the driving directions from their Web Site carefully - if you do not you will find yourself in narrow city streets with heavy traffic which is ok for a car but difficult to navigate a large RV or trailer. I would definitely stay here again, great location, clean, safe, and acceptable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$40
This is very convenient to the city via the tunnel, path train, or ferry. It is a gravel parking lot and has a guard on duty after dark. Great view of the statue of Liberty and it is a marina also. Be sure to ask about the night club being open on the weekends, if it is you will not sleep much. This is our third stay and would do it again because of the location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$65
The best part of this park is how easy and close it is to NYC. A few blocks walk in a very safe area, a cheap PATH ride over to WTC or 33rd Ave...the park is quiet and full each night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$50
I would have normally given this RV park a much lower score, but it is all about location. It is basically a parking lot with gravel spots for RV's. The sites are not very level, which amazes me. The office staff was not very friendly, but they were adequate. There was construction on the main road into the park. I was very impressed with the bathrooms and laundry room, mostly because I expected much worse. BUT - you can walk 5 blocks and catch a subway right into the World Trade Center site, take a boat from the parking lot into NYC, and see the Statue of Liberty almost from your RV. If you are there to visit NYC - I don't see how it could be any more convenient. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$60
If you want to visit Manhattan and the other boroughs, this is the place to stop. This place is spendid, but you get what you pay for - location, location, location. As described, it's a large parking lot, but the sites are wide enough and long enough for big rigs, plus there's overflow parking that they don't charge for. Nor do they charge extra for more than two people. This industry is a racket, charging up to $5 or more per "extra" person, even when dry camping. We even found a park who charges differently for immediately family, versus friends and extended family in your party. We were pleasantly surprised to find this park didn't charge extra. Restrooms were fairly clean considering the park also shares bathrooms with the marina, and folks working in the boatyard. The men's room wasn't well monitored, though, with paper often out and soap being out for several days. If you say something to the management, they usually take care of it right away. The place is quiet except on weekends when a tent turns into a club on Friday and Saturday. It's noisy until 3 am, but there's plenty of police at the club, and there's a security guard at the park. We walked to and from Manhattan using the PATH train till wee hours of the morning several times and never felt unsafe. Staff was friendly and helpful, and the neighbors were also friendly. We'll definitely stay here again, because it's so convenient. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$60
We stayed here over the 4th of July holiday to watch the fireworks and it is a perfect site. Reiterating what previous posters have said it is not your conventional campground, but it does have it's own "personality" so to speak. The staff leaves a lot to be desired, not very friendly or helpful but we did not have to have much interaction with them, thank goodness. One thing that really ticked us off was that they stressed time and time again that they do not "reserve" spots, it's first come first serve as far as particular sites go as long as you have a reservation. Well to our dismay when we arrived half of the park had "reserved" signs posted and we had to choose the last spot left. When I inquired about this in the office they said "oh well we have a caravan coming". Well we felt that they should abide by their first come first serve rule for EVERYONE. What's good for one should be good for another. If they only take reservations for as many sites as they have then the caravan should have enough spots, they don't need to have the best spots in the center of the park reserved for them. If you are one of the caravan then I'm sorry if you are offended but it's not fair to the other paying customers to have to take the "leftovers" when we made our reservations early. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$60
We knew this was a "parking lot" type base from which to visit NYC so were not surprised by the lack of asthetics. We traveled with my daughter and 5 year old granddaughter who wanted to see the Statue of Liberty. The excitement on her face to actually see the statue clearly from the campsite made it all worth while. Staff was friendly and helpful. They gave us excellent directions and looked information up for us. Sites are fairly close together, but no one was really "camping", so it didn't matter. Electric & Water hookups were a little confusing and some had to run their connections under their RV's. There was no picnic table available, so the meals we had there, we ate inside. It was too warm to eat outside anyways. We never even lowered our awning, but I never missed it because we were too busy. The closeness lent itself to friendly conversations with others at the park and sharing experiences. We stayed in a Motorhome, and there were pop-ups there as well as a tent set up. I really can't imagine staying there without my own bath and shower. Because of the lack of sewers, my daughter and granddaughter used their showers and said they were OK. Not 5 star hotel quality, but adequate. It was a 5 minute easy drive over to Liberty State Park to catch the ferry that takes you to both Ellis Island and Liberty Island. For a night-time Yankee game, we took the Jersey Light Rail (a block away)to Port Imperial and then rode The Yankee Clipper to and from the Stadium. After the game we reversed back, and walked the easy block back to our campsite at 1 o'clock in the morning. We felt very safe. The area is currently undergoing a great deal of renovation and will be much more up scale in the future. It would be nice if the RV Park could do some 'face lifting' too. But for right now the park provides an alternative, easy, and economical way to see New York City. We have more grandchildren who want to go, so we will be returning soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$60
Yes, its just a parking lot. But its 4 blocks from the PATH train into NYC and you can't find another park that close. Its not a destination park, its a base for visiting Manhattan and the surrounding area. The bathrooms and laundry were clean and well kept. The night club was closed for construction while we were there. We camped here with small children and would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$60
This is just a big lot and you are one on top of the other but the reason I gave this such high ratings is there location and how clean and safe it is and the location. There is a security guard on duty every night. You don't stay here to camp so being in close quarters really doesn't matter. It is just a place to park and rest your head after a long day in NYC. You can catch the ferry or take a short walk to the subway. It was perfect. We spent 3 nights here and each day ventured into the city both by ferry and subway. The ferry was a nice ride but expensive. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$60
As previous review stated this is not a "campground" as we all know and love campgrounds. It is a parking lot with hookups but it does have picnic tables and a dumpstation. The location is great although Jersey City leaves a lot to be desired with way too much construction and bad roads. The road into the has to be one of the worst in the country. We really though we lost part of our trailer on some of the bumps. The office staff are friendly but not very helpful. They take your information and tell you to pick your own site and to be sure the electrical outlets work. It definitely could use some shade but I guess you can't plant trees in a parking lot. The restrooms were clean as were the laundry facilities. We had no problem with noise from the nearby club. The train & subway station were within walking distance and it was a 5 minute drive into Manhattan via the Holland Tunnel. However parking in Manhattan cost us $30 for 2 hours. If you want to visit NYC it is a great place to park your rig but it definitely is not "camping". I would go back there again just because of the location and actually have been to much worse places. We would give it a "thumbs up" for convenience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2006
$60
It is basicly a commuter parking lot and they have a marina there too. We camp on gravel sites and back in but it is convenient to the water taxi and you can see the Statue from almost all the sites if no one is in front of you that is. It is what it is though. It is very convenient to NYC and to the Jersey cities too. We use it as a base camp not as a resort. They have a canvas building on the weekends that they turn into a night club. We did not hear them but others did hear the music. I liked to look at the people but they were out there all night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2005
$40
I posted the August 2005 review, above. Winter accommodations were the same, except that the water hookups had to be turned off due to cold. Dump station was open. Significant off-season discount, and very low occupancy. Restrooms were clean but in need of minor repairs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$60
On two summer week nights, the campground was quiet. This isn't surprising, since with so little usable space, there's nobody sitting around outside, or even cooking out on a grill; there's about one picnic table per 4 sites. The laundry, restrooms and showers were clean, with no dirt, trash or litter in evidence. Staff were friendly and patient, with photocopied maps and directions; plenty of 24-hour security (at least partly for the marina's fancy boats). The location is handy to ferry and PATH subway to Manhattan (still just $1.50), but funky in a businesslike way -- the office hasn't been redecorated in decades and there's some small industry in the area, in addition to the marina. There's plenty of on-site entertainment, especially watching neighbors trying to maneuver big rigs in the tight spaces, and it's fun to watch guys in suits running to catch the commuter trains in the morning. But mostly this place is about access to NYC, not about on-site activities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2005
$70
If you want safe, easy, & fast access into Manhattan, this is the place. If you're looking for clean, complete facilities, friendly staff, beautiful grounds, go elsewhere. It's sad because it wouldn't take much for them to upgrade. They are in an excellent location across from Lady Liberty in an area that is obviously becoming upscale, but the "park" itself has the look of low-rent. And the onsite bar has got to go (weekend partiers are obnoxious until 3 a.m.). Or at least they could consider making the place into a nice restaurant that is open during the day for campers and marina boaters. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2005
$60
This is an RV park, not a campground. It is basically a parking lot for RV's, each about 15 feet wide, no space between sites. Roads are paved, sites are gravel. No grass, no green, no recreation. Our big complaint was with the cleanliness of the bathhouses. We stayed at this facility 3 nights, the bathhouses were cleaned the day of our 3rd night. We were looking at the same litter in the toilet stalls and the same used band-aids on the shower floors during the time we were there. There are many street lights on all night in the vacinity, making for bright nights in a tent camper. Most sites were filled with big rigs, light most likely won't be a problem in that situation. On the plus side, very convenient to New York City. The Statue of Liberty is visible from your campsite. A ferry docks right at the marina associated with the RV park, it was within sight distance and easy walking distance. Cost is $4.00 per person per one way trip. The ferry will deliver you to a dock at Wall St. on Manhattan. A PATH station is available about 5 blocks away. Cost is $1.50 per one way trip. Cost savings would be significant over multiple days and for families with children. The PATH train has different trains that would take you to WTC ground zero or as far as 33rd St. at Broadway. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2004
$60
It is basically a parking lot but this campground is all about location. It is located only 5 blocks from the New Jersey PATH train that takes you right into New York City. The staff was very helpful and nice. We stayed here with our 4 children and felt very safe. We will definitely be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2002
$55
This campground is a big gravel lot. There is very little room between campers. Of course, you are in the middle of town next to the Hudson River. You can walk down to the dock and see the Manhattan skyline and the Statue of Liberty. There is good access to public transportation, by ferry to Manhattan. There is a club next door with very loud music that goes on most of the night. Didn't keep us up but we were aware of it. There is a laundry there, and a grocery store not too far away. It is pricey, but concidering where it is I guess it's not bad. There is no other campgrounds around. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com