223371 User submitted reviews online!!
Thousand Trails / Chestnut Lake was rated 6 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (609) 652-1005
CGID1833

Thousand Trails / Chestnut Lake

Camp Information
Sites
190
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   5   6   7   7   2   10   8   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$10
Thousand Trails - NACO - Encore RV park. Paved main road and gravel site roads. All sites grass, wide, long and level. Have both back-in and pull-through sites. Many pull-through sites are full hookups and a few trees for shade but most open for good sat signal. Only 30 amp. OK TV signals, free cable, Wi-Fi at sites through outside service ($). Next to and access to lake, park has pool, small rec room, playground and mini golf. Good Verizon voice & 4G signals. The staff was friendly and helpful. 10 miles from Atlantic City. Would stay there again. Rate is for RPI members. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2014
$3
We stayed here in a 42' fifth wheel. There were some sites available with sewer but we didn't have one of those. Staff was very friendly and accommodating of our size rig. The area where we parked was quite open when we got there and the geese and accompanying mess covered the area. We scooped our site clear so that we didn't drag any inside. Mosquitoes were in abundance all day and all night long. The traffic noise from I-95 was quite loud. Although by appearances the park is very nice, we wouldn't stay there again because of the goose poop, mosquitoes, and interstate noise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2014
$1
Rate is based on TT membership. The park is in need of mowing and management but the location to Atlantic City is great. The lack of maintenance wouldn't keep me from staying here being it was just a place to park while we explored the area. Atlantic City is just over a half hour away. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$10
Nothing fancy, but this was a nice, quiet campground and a good value for the money (the daily rate is based on our RPI membership). The interior roads were gravel and smooth, with trees clipped back enough to avoid scratching large rigs. Sites were close together, consisted of gravel and varied in levelness - it took some effort to get level in site #218. However, that site probably had the best lake view of any in the park. The 30-amp power and water were adequate. Cable, sewer and tables were provided at the sites, there was a charge for the wireless internet. Our amplified Verizon internet signal and cell phones were strong. Bathrooms and showers were nice and clean, and the showers at the office building had benches and shelves - I much preferred them. The laundry room consisted of 3 washers, 3 dryers and a small folding table. Although closed for the season, there was a nice pool and playground for the kids. Access to grocery stores and other services was about 15 minutes away, Atlantic City was just a short drive as well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$10
Bill and I are retired full-time RVers from S. CA traveling the USA in a 24' travel trailer. We reserved our 7-night stay through our RPI membership. It's an old park and the mgmt is trying to give it some curb appeal. Our space was in the middle of an open field at the rear of the park nearer to the pretty pond. We didn't go outside much because the bugs were just awful! We enjoyed the plentiful wandering Canadian Geese. The laundry room is small but reasonable ($1.25). The pool looked nice but we didn't use it (because of the bugs). The staff is nice. There were no activities during our stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2012
$3
It's too late for me! Turn back and save yourself! Like most campers, I love experiencing nature, but in this town, Mother Nature has expressed her mean streak. Mosquitoes rule this campground! I asked a staff member if it was due to the recent heavy rains and she informed me that it is this way all the time. Being from Florida, I'm no stranger to mosquitoes, but these are really out of control. We've started turning on the fan full blast pointed at the door before exiting the rig, otherwise 5 or 6 make it inside with every door opening. We would have left after day one, but foolishly ordered a package the day before getting here. It arrives today and we are out of here. Grounds are otherwise fine, but nothing special. "Lake" is really a pond covered in algae. On the plus side: internet is good at the lodge, and the staff, bless their hearts, are wonderful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$1
We were on the waterfront, and this was the most exquisitely beautiful campground we've stayed at after 50 days on the road across the US. The lake was the reason: we watched Canadian Geese every day on the lake. Also the park has 20MB Wi-Fi at the office, blazing fast. It is a flat park with easy access to Atlantic City, Philadelphia and New York. We stayed here nearly 10 days. We are members of Thousand Trails, so our stay was free. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$1
2nd time here. You can't beat the location. Pool, Crystal clear. Bathhouses and bathroom, very clean. Water, Electric (30amp) and sewer, Easy to reach. First night there the bugs weren't a problem. They got bad after that. Unlike the last time there, they weren't bad at all during the day, just at night. Some of the transient sites might be a bit tough for a big rig, but accessible. As the others have said, they are moving forward with this campground. The owners/management are very friendly,along with the seasonal. A very good restaurant, near by, is the Oyster Creek Inn. It is right by the Smithville Inn, off of RT 9, on Moss Creek Road. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$1
We absolutely love this Thousand Trails campground. What they lack in amenities they make up for in proximity to many destination and the best staff ever. We first camped here 2 years ago and we couldn't wait to come back and visit all the friends we made here. This stay has been no different. We are super surprised this campground is not more heavily used due to it's location. We were happy to see the always ongoing improvements -- new bathhouse being built, beautiful new equine grade fencing along the road, and always clean facilities. It's so nice to see a park where the staff is so dedicated to maintaining a clean and family oriented environment -- it's obvious they all love their park. There is a nice pool, a playground, a lake with catch and release fishing and group bonfire area. I think because the park is not always full, there are not always planned activities; however the ones that they did have were thoughtfully planned and a lot of fun! We also love that the on site camp store is competitively priced and well stocked with all essentials... it saved us from going back out to the grocery store for that one forgotten item more than once. Sites are well maintained with good power, they are level, graveled and mowed. Our Verizon Mi-Fi card worked well here and our AT&T cell phones also got good service. We can't wait to come back here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$0
We stayed here for 3 weeks using our Thousand Trails membership. Our pull-through site had plenty of room for our 40 foot 5th wheel. We had to park our semi truck tow vehicle in the storage area, which is not unusual for us at other campgrounds. There were some overgrown trees that could be pruned. There were plenty of mosquitoes. We talked to the manager and she said by law that they can not fog for mosquitoes - the county has to do this. Once the county fogged, the mosquitoes weren’t bad. There were plenty of full hook-up sites; however, they only have 30 amp power available. Water pressure was excellent. Our Verizon air card worked fine. If you are looking for a seafood market, Maxwells is less than a mile away on the way to Smithville. Their items include sushi grade tuna, clams, mussels. and canned lump meat crab. We left on a Saturday morning, and cars were lined up for miles to get to Atlantic City. We were 1/2 hour from Atlantic City and stayed for no charge under our membership. For us it was a real bargain. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$1
The previous reviews weren't to good, so we didn't expect much, We were not disappointed. I don't believe they had any activities there. We used it for a base camp to see the area. For that it was perfect, right in the middle of everything. They have made improvements. Looks like a new office and meeting room, with the lounge in the same building. Showers were also in there. The sites were all pull thru, big enough for larger motor homes and trailers. Water, electric and sewer were easily accessible. A few branches could have been pruned. No fire ring, no table. The office personnel were very friendly and helpful. When we asked for a table they said when the help comes in they would take care of it or we could just take one off an unused site. We used ROD and would come back again just for the location. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2009
$1
This park is 30 minutes from Atlantic City, Ocean City and Long Beach Island, 1 hour from Philadelphia and Cape May and just under 2 hours from NYC. We visited all of these locations from here. Which is a good thing since this park has nothing to offer. The pool was not clean, the kiddie pool was full of sand, the mini golf is falling apart and the ceiling of the clubhouse has fallen in - BUT, the clubhouse was still open! The full hookup sites barely fit a 40 foot coach and are overgrown with weeds and for the most part unlevel. Sites towards the front of the park are either without sewer or taken up by long term residents. Other than at check in we never again saw any park staff or maintenance workers. One last note, during our 2 week stay I did laundry 4 times. The same piece of garbage was on the floor everytime and I am sure it is still there! This park needs a new manager as well as a new maintenance crew - with everything that is available in the area this park could be a jewel in the TTN system with very little effort. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2008
$1
This is a VERY TIRED NACO facility. Grounds (lawns and gravel roads) are maintained ,but clubhouse is a disaster. Everything needs some TLC to get it in shape. WiFi only available in clubhouse. Only nice thing was the washing machines and dryers. Thousand Trails needs to spend some money for maintenance. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2008
$32
The only positive aspect of this park is that it is located very close to the Jersey Shore and not very far from the Brigantine National Wildlife preserve. Otherwise it is unattractive, unkempt and the sites are extremely difficult to get into with bushes and trees impinging on the access roads. The park appears to be a haven for long term rentals and is an embarrassing member of the Thousand Trails organization. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$1
We have been here many times over the past 5 years, always very nice and friendly staff. Very close to A/C and other attractions. Some sites are unlevel, but not bad. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$1
I stayed here as a ROD member. I wish they were staying open longer, so I could see more of the area but they closed on 10-15. I found a level site after trying a few. It is my pet peeve about RV parks. It shouldn't be rocket science to level these things out. Otherwise it was a very nice park with nice, helpful staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2007
$5
This has to be one of the most disappointing parks in the Thousand Trails/NACO system we have visited. We've been here frequently over the past 7 years because we needed to be in the area for business and it still ranks near the bottom of the barrel of TT parks we have visited. The majority of sites are taken up by seasonals. Although the transient sites are not equipped with fire rings, all the seasonals seem to be allowed to have campfires as they have firewood stacked and individual fire pits/rings, chimineas. There are very few 50 amp sites, and over the years, most of those have been taken over by permanent seasonal park models and/or rental cabins. The units that the managers live in are among the most decrepit in the entire park. Just recently one of them near the back of the park was replaced with a fairly decent-looking unit and apparently the other one near the entrance way is also being moved aside. The sites are terribly close together and rather unlevel both side to side and front to back especially for a longer rig. There were 8 sites near the pond at the far end of the first two rows that were very level and quite nice for transients. Guess what! Those have now been set aside for seasonal use only, and even if they are empty the transients may not use them. The exercise room/modem room used to be in the main building and was a rather large airy room. Now they turned that room into the "store" and have relegated the guests who wish to use the exercise equipment or the WIFI to the little building near the main building which used to hold the store. That building is small, dank, dark and smelly. I'd be afraid to breathe the air in that horrible little smelly building for any period of time. Apparently the managers or workers smoke as the main building frequently smells of cigarette smoke. Although the old building behind the lake near the storage area has finally been torn down and removed, that area still is not attractive. The entire campground is infested with mosquitos making being outside miserable. Although it is not the campground's fault that mosquitos abound, arrangements should be made with the proper authorities to spray frequently. The possibility of West Nile Virus and other mosquito-borne diseases are nothing to be made light of. The self-standing bathhouse is very dated and badly in need of updating or totally refurbished. Although I am sure the seasonals probably really like the place, for a traveling Thousand Trails member, it is considered a real DUMP! Believe me, if this was the park that prospective members were to tour, no one would ever buy a Thousand Trails membership. Every time we pull in we are reminded why we said we would never return. But since we have paid for our membership, we keep hoping things will improve and we won't be embarrassed to have our friends come and visit us there. Sadly, I don't see this happening. Spray for mosquitos, enlarge and level the sites, clean up the decrepit rigs, update the buildings, and then TT members will be proud to rate this place higher. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2004
$33
Convenient to Atlantic City but no casino shuttle available. Many "permanents" living on property which is a turn off. We wonder how they can sell high-priced memberships for a "family campground" environment. Sites are quite narrow on a grassy field. The "permanent" next to us had several cats that left waste on the ground so I had to preview the walking path before walking my dog. If you walk to the edge of the pond, you can see the "lake" which is hidden by growth. When we were here, it appeared that indigenous "staff" average age 16, were doing the minimum work possible. When I asked if there was a problem with the dialup modem, the young man just called out from the adjacent room that "it must be broken again" and didn't bother to get up off the couch and assist. Sigh: is Customer Service Dead? Would we go back? It appears that we have few choices in the vicinity but would not stay any longer than necessary. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$29
This is a NACO park. Sites were mostly gravel and level but too close together. Easy on & off of the Garden State Parkway, Exit 48. A town, Smithville is nearby and is full of shops, etc. The Lennox glass factory is within easy driving distance also. Park was clean and well maintained. Lake was small. We would go back. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com