224149 User submitted reviews online!!
Sunflower Resort (55+ park) was rated 7 out of 10 based on 38 user reviews. Phone: (623) 583-0100
CGID185

Sunflower Resort (55+ park)

Camp Information
Sites
1150
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   7   9   5   9   9   8   9   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$28
Price is Monthly Rate. Great place to spend the winter. Lots of Amenities, from lighted Pickle Ball courts to 2 heated pools, several hot tubs. Nightly music during week. You can either join the fun or relax. They offer a Sept to Dec promo on RV sites mixed in with resident guests. Love this place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$55
This is a resort with all the amenities you can think of. They have pools, hot tubs, tennis, horseshoes, shuffle board, sewing, hiking, biking, live entertainment, food, etc. The sites do not have any grass, only pea gravel. The regular sites have all hook ups at the rear so you will need extra long hoses. They do have regular pull through sites where the hook ups are centrally located. The sites are level, but are close to each other. The WiFi is not all that great, and regular sites need to pay for cable, but antenna works just fine. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$51
Beautiful campground. Mostly park models for owners. Transient area is located in southeast back of park. As previously stated, sites are opposing pull throughs. Very clean with good power and water. Lots of activities to keep you busy. Transient guests can partake as much or as little as they wish. Very clean laundry room with many washers/ dryers. Surprise is a great place with lots to do and places to see. Restaurants abound. We were here for Spring Training. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2014
$61
Noisy! Park is located under the training path for F16 jets. Road construction in front of the park entrance made tough entering and exiting. Nice dog walking area but no play area. I thought it was a little pricey for overnighters. We stayed a week. $305 plus 12%tax. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$20
Rate paid is an approximate average for our stay of a couple of months here. Great place, great people, great staff and guests. (age trend would be north of 70). I figure almost all northern snowbirds. Just incredible facilities and activities. As noted it is mostly park models, but a lot of those occupants are current or former RVers. Experienced long term and transient sites and both are fine. As you might imagine, the long term sites are somewhat nicer arranged for more privacy but aren't as easy to get into and out of. Transients are easy-in easy-out and includes cable and electric. They are close to one of the dog walk areas and dumpsters. Only have 2 negatives worth writing about. The dog walk areas are pretty sad and a looong way from most of the sites. Facilities don't include a library; which, I gather was done away with to upgrade the fitness center (which like everything else is very very nice). But there is an excellent public library a few miles away (free card on showing local address). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$55
This is a massive resort comprised of mostly park model units. There is a small area for short term stays. The spaces are gravel with concrete patios. The area is designed to have opposite entry pull thrus. We pulled all the way into ours, but the RV next to us did not. Our slide outs were almost touching. This was the only negative to this resort. It is beautiful. While this is still the off season they have many activities for their residents in-season. The pool area was one of the nicest we have seen. The water was perfect and the pool area was large and very nice. We would be very happy to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$28
We have stayed here, because we have friends in the area. It is a very large park with the majority being permanent owners. They do have an area for transient customers which is okay. We don't participate in the activities, but they do have a lot going on in the season. We stayed overnight in the summer, and it was fine for an overnighter. We definitely would sty here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$31
This is a nice park with great facilities. Lots of activities if you want to get involved. Pools, hot tubs, steam room, exercise room. You name it and they probably have it. Nice pickle ball courts, also. If you are traveling to the area for medical reasons it is close to the Del Webb hospital and medical facilities. The amount paid per night is the Passport America rate which is 1/2 price. We would stay here again. The draw back to this park is there is only a small strip at the back of the park to walk dogs. No fenced area to let them off leash and there are lots of dogs in this park. A lot of park models, also. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2013
$27
We stayed here for a month and loved it. They call themselves "the friendly park" and it's true. We were made to feel welcome by all and encouraged to participate in all of the activities. There are tons of activities to pick from. It's an over "55" park, so it's not for children unless they are visiting. Everything about this park is great. If you are just staying for a few days you will get a spot in the back, which is fine. Otherwise you are mixed in with the park models. That's fine too unless you are a big rig and you are being placed between two park models. They have someone help you but it's still tight until you get in. The rate reflected is for a monthly stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$28
Great +55 park for a week, month, or longer. Monthly pull through sites on dirt with large concrete slabs. Cable TV , Wi-fi strong. Resort type pools, and everything you want or need. Live music and dancing by pool. Pickleball, tennis, lawn bowling, chip and putt golf. Real friendly atmosphere. Price shows 3 month rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$55
We had a 3 nights free pass from The Rally, and stayed longer. Regular rate is ridiculous $55. They gave us 10% GS rate and then PA rate kicked in for 50% on April 1st. As nice as the amenities are here, it's too pricey. We liked the "transient" area in the back because it has cable tv hookups. Road noise wasn't that bad, but you get jets flying over. As mentioned before, they have the stupid rip-off card system in the laundryroom. Giving this park a high score for the very nice pools, spa and fitness room, plus free cable, which is hard to find in Phoenix. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$1
Public areas are well maintained, however some park models are showing their age, a few look not maintained at all. Sites are large, level with concrete pads. Residents very friendly, lots of activities. All utilities worked well. We were given a "3 free night" coupon at Good Sam Rally, so not sure what their rates really are. Have "no pet" areas which is very nice, however we were told the owners may change this in the near future. Surprise is a very high density area, and traffic was bad. We stayed in middle of park, but still heard traffic. Laundry was very nice and clean, but they have a pre-paid card system to pay for both wash and dry. Pre-paid card costs $2, and the minimum purchase is $5, all nonrefundable. Washer and dryers cost $1.25 each, so if you are only doing one load, you are donating $2.50 to the pre-paid card company: quite outrageous. I suppose most residents have their own washers/dryers, so this is just a rip off to short stay people. We would not stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$45
This is an older park with mostly park models and an older population. They fit us in between park models but would have liked to have one of the RV sites closer to the fence and wash in the back just for RVer company. Good off leash in the dry wash but it seems few pick up after their pets so be careful till you get further out. The Wi-Fi is horrible and even going to the office area does not help. Neither does the "computer club" who kept insisting I pay $10 to join but still could not help. Beware. They insist on name tags and many have a chest full. Laundry is good but very busy so it can be a challenge to get washers or dryers. Would only consider a short stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$52
Although we stayed only 4 nights when asked they put us in a nice site between park models. Level with a large concrete pad. Much better than the transient sites on the dirt next to the dog walk area. We could not get the wifi to connect. Too expensive for what it is. As others have said, this is a park for long term stay. Cable TV not available for short timers but we received all major networks via antenna. All facilities seemed excellent: pool, snack bar, bocce ball, tennis, etc. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$39
What a wonderful 55+ park. Always something happening around the bar/resturant area that is out in the open by the pool and hottub. Many friendly people. Dancing, live entertainment 2 times a week.. A computer room, billards,cards and learn how to make your own jewelry. This is a wonderful place and we will visit it again in the near future. This park should be the standard in deluxe RV Parks. Close to shopping and you can always drive into Phoenix for the day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2012
$50
We stayed here in a motor home. We thought that they had internet but it never did work right and when we asked about it not working the lady at the desk said "it is what it is" and laughed. The only spaces for short term are in the back in a gravel parking lot. If we did not have friends living nearby we would not stay here at all. If you don't use their facilities the price is way out of line. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$28
Access and park roads paved. This is a park model community with 31 RV spaces for transients. There are some spaces available between the trailers, but these are for long term. Short term sites are in the southeast corner of the resort. Most facilities are in the center which means a good walk to them. My site was gravel and slightly unlevel. Utilities worked fine. Cable TV had a extensive selection, but some of the digital channels were too weak. Wi-Fi had a strong signal due to repeater tower nearby. There are dog walking areas nearby. As a short term resident I had to wear an ID tag if I was using any of the faculties. I don't have a toad, so I was relying on there being transit services. You can forget about that here. Phoenix doesn't have very good bus service. I probably would not stay here again as this resort is more suitable for long term residents. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2011
$33
This is a mobile home park (park models) with a few RV sites in the back. The sites are very narrow. We did not see any free Wi-Fi available. The park is gated and has a good club house. There seems to be many needless rules. We would stay here again provided there was nothing else available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$21
Sunflower RV Resort has 1100 mobile home sites and about 50 RV sites, but the RV sites were level and hard packed dirt with sand surface which stayed cool in the 100+ temperature. The facilities are excellent. Just because it is primarily a motorhome park does not detract from the great facilities, friendly people and excellent location. Cable, extra $'s, and WiFi were excellent. Price reflects C2C pricing plus cable and other park charges. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2011
$49
RV sites are on long narrow DIRT side by side spaces. TV is excellant, 72 channels. WiFi is good using Internet Explorer 9.0 and Firefox browsers, but AOL doesn't work here. This is a very expensive park for what you get. Also, a very loud garbage truck comes through at 7:15 AM banging dumpsters waking up any late sleepers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$49
Definitely a "Park Model" community, but everyone was very friendly. Facilities are state of the art, and the daily "happy hour" from 2pm to 6pm offers $4 margaritas and $3 wine with free snacks. This park is activity central for those who enjoy that. We would definitely stay here again. One other plus: an RV wash station adjacent to RV area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2011
$50
This is a nice snowbird park with mostly park models. The section for overnighters is small; however the spaces were adequate. The price was quite high for an overnight stay and we will probably look elsewhere in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2010
$28
We stayed here at the Passport America price of $28. which is half their normal fee and even then it is way overpriced. We made the mistake of making a reservation. When our plans changed we called to cancel and were told that we "could not" cancel (that doesn't show up in any of their ad's.) We would be charged as it had already been billed to our account. The first of several disappointments with this RV Resort. For us the entrance and main office were wonderful and make a GRAND impression, though the Resort is really a Park Model Resort and RV's are an after thought, relegated to a large dirt/gravel parking lot out in the back by the garbage dumpsters. The WiFi is marginal if and when it works. We would never waste our money and time with this park and highly suggest you pass this one by. There are lots of others that welcome we RVers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2010
$48
It was a real surprise to pull up into the RV park that has been rated so well, only to find the RV sites in this park were way in the back on nothing but a gravel spot with a concrete slab next to it. Had no trees, no greenery, no frills. Each site sits no more than three feet away from the neighboring site. The WiFi is terrible! It took 1.5 hours to even get online, only to have the WiFi go in and out. We are so far away from the pool, bathrooms, laundry, etc., that they mean nothing to us. We only stayed one night and were happy to leave in the morning. For the "Good Sam" discount price of almost $48.00, this was a ripoff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2010
$47
We are currently here in a 40 foot coach parked with park models, of which there are too many. We have been here before only because it is the most convenient to everything. We are out of here everyday doing something since it so close to shopping, friends, theaters, restaurants, etc. There are numerous activities if you want to participate. The park is very clean, well maintained, safe, and a lot cheaper than Ft Myers and California. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2009
$47
If you need to be in this NW area, the resort facilities here are very nice. But as mentioned by others, the overnight or one week only Passport America RVers are banished to a gravel back lot, a long way from the nice pools, showers, laundry,etc. For our 4 night stay, it was okay. Parking area not full and RVs were arranged in opposite directions so we weren't close. We loved the free cable TV, recycling bins, free car wash, nearby dog walk. Normal daily rate was $47, so paying half that on PA worked fine. I sure wouldn't pay their $700-800 monthly rate for a regular site amongst the park models. You also get to hear the AF jets screaming overhead and some nearby trains. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$25
This resort has mostly permanent park model mobile homes with a few RV sites that are relegated to a small graveled area at the back of the park, far from pool and clubhouse. Sites are narrow with a small concrete pad and picnic table. Staff was friendly and informative with an escort to site. Wi-Fi was non existent. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2009
$26
Price given reflects Passport America rate for a week. We were parked in back on gravel with back to back hookups, next to the trash dumpsters for the park. Tight sites, you can almost touch the next RV with your awning. Nice park, but we won't be back. By the way they park over-nighters, wouldn't care to stay again. Most activities in Phoenix are an hour away, better off staying in Mesa or Chandler. Could spend more for a campsite and not waste money on fuel for the dinghy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$26
Total number of sites is listed as 1150 but this is deceptive as 1100 of those sites are permanent park models. The "resort" is well kept but the overnighters like us, were shuffled to the rear of the park and the site was no more than a gravel parking lot with hook-ups. Glad that we only stayed one night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2009
$51
Rv parking is set up in the very last row right next to the dry Sal River. No trees at all just barren. This was supposed to be a senior park but we were located next to a motorhome with 2 small children. What gives, if its senior lose the kids. Don't think I will stay here again, spent a week here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2008
$25
Price includes tax at Passport America rate. There are full hook-ups, 2 pools, 3 whirlpool spas, fitness center, computer center, free WiFi hot spots at the community center, library, mail room, wood shop, wood carving, ceramics, lapidary, silver smithing, stained glass, porcelain painting, sauna, tennis, shuffleboard, chip & putt, BBQ patio, bistro, laundry, and billiards. All the amenities one could ask for. However, you will most likely want to drive to the amenities area. Although the park advertises 1150 sites, short stays are restricted to the Southeast corner. Sites are very close together. Two sites will face each other and share the space between with each having a separate patio and plastic picnic table. An escort will guide you into the site and place your step over the patio. Always check your own clearances when an escort directs you. I had to move up 6 inches to clear the rear of the curb side slide over the utility post of the adjoining site. This is not a really pet friendly camp ground. The area to walk pets is the very end of the Southeast corner, about 6 feet wide by 80-100 feet long and all dirt. Grass is not available at this campground. There is a wonderful city run dog park 4 miles away with easy access. Two parks, one for large, and one for small dogs. Shopping is close by. I rated it just above average due to the dirt sites and close proximity to each other. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$56
A nice place but won't go back We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$43
This park is way over-rated for pull-through campers. The pull-through sites are not landscaped, ugly, narrow and too close to the adjacent sites. The hookups are old and worn, site is dirt, not gravel. They do have a cement pad. We chose a pull-through because they had cable TV, the back-ins didn't. The park looked pretty nice at check-in so we assumed all the sites were nice. Wrong, the pull throughs in the back are really bad. The advertised Wi-Fi was so weak in the pull-through area no one could stay connected. The Mgmt pleaded ignorance of computer issues, just said "sorry". We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$45
We camped here in a motorhome and where they put you is way at the back of the park as most units are the built in park kind. Site was very narrow but level gravel. The water did go out one morning for several hours without warning, apparently they were fixing something. They are very anal about dogs-- there is only a long narrow strip of gravel across the back of the park where dogs are to be walked and there a number of streets in the park where you can't walk them either. Got the "third degree" at check in to prove we were over the 55+ age limit, even had to show driver's licences! Park appears to have lovely amenities and is close to shopping and restaurants. Would be a quiet place to spend part of the winter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$45
Nice place to camp, but we are not into all the amenities. Father lives close by. Only real draw back is you must walk to library to get WI-FI reception which is about 6 blocks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2005
$40
This is not an RV Park. 99% Park Models. Transient area is in a corner of the park, far from everything. Had to get out of the coach and play with a gate phone to get in. WiFi only in the clubhouse area. I will never stay here again. Too pricey for the space provided. It is not, as described in Big Rigs Best Bets, as WISP. I will send them an e-mail. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2005
$22
Free Wi-FI was added within the past year (2005), but you can only get access from the club house area. Rest rooms and showers are cleaned daily. Their web page lists all 7 of Cal-Am RV resorts in Arizona. We've stayed at Sunflower since 1995, about 8 times and really like it. It's an over 55 park. One great feature is that they have a steam room! Rates vary depending on time of year, from $22 to $44 per day. Monthly and annual rates are available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2000
$28
Big resort destination park with all the amenities. Pull throughs handled 40' 5th with ease. Transient sites however are just average. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com