214832 User submitted reviews online!!
Rock Hound State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 36 user reviews. Phone: (575) 546-6182
CGID1869

Rock Hound State Park

Camp Information
Sites
29
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   8   10   10   9   8   10   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  no  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$18
This is a great small park on a hillside overlooking Deming. Gravel sites with covered picnic tables at each site. Many hiking trails in the area. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$14
This park is a special deal for just $14 with electric. The terraced placement of campsites at the base of these desert mountains gives a very nice view of both the mountains and the plains below. Our antenna worked well to receive local TV. We were cautioned to beware of rattlesnakes, but did not see any. We did see bunnies and hummingbirds. No 50 amp but 30 amp was good. Water pressure was on the low side. Sunset was awesome! We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$14
Despite being built on a hillside, the sites are easier to level than it appears at first glance. At night, there was a beautiful view of the lights of Deming. The campground itself was so dark that the city lights really pop out. There is a good visitor center with cactus garden and lots of trails to hike. AT&T data service was lousy. All in all, an excellent bargain and enjoyable stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$4
Sites are level, gravel, with picnic table covered. Situated at base of majestic mountains with trails and rocks to be collected. Windy at night, but that's expected. Great views from site of valley below. While here, a MUST see is Adobe Deli http://adobedeli.com/..a hidden gem of a spot, off the beaten track with great food and eclectic decor. Rockhound is a quiet campground, terraced sites and a great stopover enroute to Silver City area. Stop at Visitor Center for local info and be sure to enjoy the stone labyrinth and desert garden area. Rate reflects the NM access pass, so only $4 for electric. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$14
This park was recommended to us by another couple who we had met on the road and have kept in touch with. They called us and told us that we just had to come to the Rockhound State Park. Most of the sites are on a first come basis, but there are a few that are reservable. We were certainly not disappointed! This place is magic. In the middle of the New Mexico desert sitting up on a plateau overlooking the valley and the township of Deming in the distance - beautiful at night! The sunsets are magnificent! The sites are huge all with a rubbish bin that is emptied each couple of days. Each site has a covered picnic table and seats on a concrete slab, a fire pit and a grill. There are plenty of walking trails; we did the Lovers Leap trail at Spring Canyon. The sign post says it is .5 of a mile. They lied! It is much farther than that but certainly worth the climb. Just make sure you take water with you as it is quite a distance! And, as this park is in the center of rockhound country; you are actually allowed to take up to 15 lbs of rock from the State Park with you when you leave! Great for rock enthusiasts and those just wanting a peaceful, easy to get to location! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$14
We stayed here twice going to and from Tucson. First time we didn't have a reservation and got assigned a spot in overflow. We had water and electricity, but they squeezed 4 big rigs into 3 spaces and we used a "Y" to share water. No awnings. Next time we had a reservation and had a huge site. All the the sites are large, gravel, fairly level, and terraced on the base of a mountain. The views are almost always good. Restrooms were OK, but not immaculate. Just OK. Staff was friendly and helpful. Price was great! I think all sites have a shade structure, table and fire ring but no Wi-Fi. Only 5 sites can be reserved, so get here early if you don't have a reservation. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$14
We used this state park for a overnight. It turned out to be about 15 miles off the interstate, but was worth the drive. We didn't have reservations and was placed in one of the four overflow sites. The sites still had water/electrical hookups, but was gravel. The park sits at the base of a local mountain range known for the rocks (hence the name) and the sunsets are beautiful. Would return, but only during the spring months as it would get hot here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2012
$14
We loved this park...6 miles on so-so road but worth it. Sites are large and well tended. Views are beautiful looking back over the valley. Signage is good to find the place and the price was especially nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$14
We love this park and try to stay at it whenever we are passing through. It has beautiful views of the desert, big sites, and great places to hike. If you are a rock hound you can actually take up to 45 pounds of rocks home with you. I'm not a rock hound so can't say much about it, but evidently there are many different kinds of rock that people want. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$14
A beautiful, well maintained State Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$14
This park is the most peaceful and calm I have ever stayed in. We made reservations on-line in advance to assure space. We found no ranger station in which to check in - only a drop box for those entering the park after hours. We located a volunteer park host who met us at the entrance and kindly guided us to our reserved site. The sites are spread out and you are not on top of your neighbors. I noted mostly adults in this park, a few kids. Rock hunting was fantastic fun and we found many varieties of things. The hiking is hot and straight uphill. If you are rock hounding, make sure you pack plenty of water, snacks, and tools. We chose to come when it was spring due to heat. I think if you go in the summer, it would be extremely hot and you would be exposed as there are few wind breaks. The bathrooms were clean and were just fine for showering. There was no playground we could find and if you have kids, you need to instruct them on the cactus, yucca, and other things that can stick, poke, or bite them. Also, amazing star gazing at night so bring a star map or something to view constellations. Overall, we hope to come here again for a longer stay. It was a really cheap, quiet, and well kept. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$14
Great state park. We had a similar experience in having to camp in a group site since the park was full, but we had electricity and water and it was quiet at night. Great camp host. Fun to hike the trails for the views and more fun going off the trail to look for rocks. Also, we drove over to Spring Canyon for the Lover's Leap trail. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$14
A nice park away from the main roads. Right against the mountains with trails for rock collecting. You are allowed 15 pounds of rock per day to take away. Beautiful view out over the valley below. Another popular state park where reservations are suggested. We got the last spot in the group area w/ water and 30 amp power. People coming in behind us had only dry camping available. Excellent assistance from park host finding a spot and getting situated. Neighbors had difficulty with electricity and maintenance was there and checking out the problem in just a few minutes. A very nice spot to spend a day, a week or a month. We will stop here again when we're in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$14
A great find in the middle of the desert not far from I-10. We arrived at 2 pm but still camped in the over flow which did have water and electricity. Others parked in the over flow got sites in the morning but I would make reservations. At the foot of the mountain with great short hikes and rock hounding in the area. About half the sites have hook ups. All have concrete pads with picnic shelter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$14
A great place to stay! Quiet and beautiful. A few miles from the interstate, well worth the drive. One of favorite state parks and we have stayed in state parks all over the country. Great price and lots of places to walk and just enjoy the beauty of the mountains and the "over-view" of Deming. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$19
New Mexico has excellent parks! This one is way off the beaten path, but beautiful views make it worth while. The park is terraced into a hill with a spectacular view from every site. Pull through site was long enough for the largest RV, but it wasn't level so we had to unhook anyway. For the price, it was a bargain. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$14
We had planned to stay one night, but after arriving, and seeing the wonderful vista, we stayed three nights. Would have stayed longer if possible. Nestled beside the mountains, the campground is raised and has a beautiful view of the lights of Deming at night. The sites are beautifully landscaped, and there are different size sites, to suit your needs. The visitor center is a must see, and offers insight into some of the rocks you may find if you are a rock hound. There is a Desert Botanical Garden, and a Native Plant Garden. The showers and bathrooms were clean. Hook-ups, w/e, worked fine. We had some high wind, but only after the perfect first day. There are two geocache located in the park. We found one, but were unable to find the other. This is a wonderful park and you should plan to stop here at least once. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$14
We loved this campground. The sites are HUGE, with great views of the mountains. The campground host met us at our site and brought us kindling for our fire without being asked. The bathrooms and shower were very clean. There is even a decent playground for kids. Add that to the rockhounding opportunities...this place is a gem! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2011
$14
The park is pretty well maintained. While restrooms are clean, they are old and small without any place to put down shampoo, soap dish, etc. except on the floor. The park is about 10 miles out of town - great for peace & quiet and views that just can't be beat but not so convenient if you want to eat out, see the sights. The park was full when we arrived, so they put us in the group site. It was wonderful until they shoehorned in 3 more RVs right next to us in the next few hours, one on top of the other. Also, the group site is a shortcut to hiking area so there was a lot of foot traffic under our windows. Is this over exuberance of hospitality or desire to bring in all possible revenue? We probably won't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$4
This is a quiet and wonderful isolated campground that served as an excellent base camp for us. The terrace level campground has commanding views of the Florida Mountains, Deming, and distant ranges and peaks. The campground is on a southwest slope below a volcanic ridge. This past week when Deming had low temperatures in the teens it was 5 to 10 degrees warmer in the morning at the campground. The access roads are wide and there is a moderate incline to the upper sites. Our back-in site had a very level gravel pad. There are a few pull-throughs. There are 24 spacious sites with 30 amp electric and all but one could accommodate big rigs. During our stay there were three to five sites still available in the evening. The campground is below several cell phone towers and satellite TV is picked up without problems. The entrance road to the state park is paved. For some reason the access road of the campground loops were left unpaved. The one and only restroom is very small. We stayed here for six nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$14
Beautiful views, great sunsets from every site. Large, fairly level gravel sites with water and power. Power was strong and clean, but at times the water pressure was low enough to require on board water pump support. We were here over Thanksgiving week and the park got close to full, but there were always no-hookup sites available. The bathroom/shower room (only 1 for the whole park) was unheated so we didn't use them. They looked as reported by another reviewer - clean but aging. We will definitely stop for another week when passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$14
Remote location out of town at the foot of a mountain. Gravel sites with nice views. Large back-in sites but narrow pull-throughs. I would not recommend this park for a large rig that needs a pull-through space. However highly recommended if you can back-in, you like peace and quiet and the beauty of the desert area. Its not for everyone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$14
Nice flat over sized site with covered picnic table area. Beautiful panoramic views. Trails leading to rock picking areas are ok if you are in fairly good shape. There are some resting points along the way. Be sure to take camera and a bag to collect the rocks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$14
We were met at campground entrance by a camp host who took us to a very nice site. Customer Service! Rangers, volunteers and camp hosts all very knowledgeable, helpful, friendly. Incredible views from spacious sites. While the showers are spotless and comfortably roomy, they are showing their age. And there are 3 toilets but only 1 shower. That was the only drawback to the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$24
What a spectacular place for an RV escape. Set up against the mountains east of Deming, the views were fantastic and sunset unequaled. Nice hiking trails around the park. Once again state parks have been among the best we've stayed in. Only shortcoming was the condition of the showers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$14
This park has fantastic views, was easy to find and was just far enough from civilization. Campground host was very helpful, obviously took pride in his work. Very impressed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$20
This is a great State Park nothing fancy but what a great sun set and so quiet that it hurts,if you are hunting for city life this is not your place. We will return every chance we get. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$22
Great state park with views of the sunset that will bring you back. Host was very helpful and moved us to a pull through site as we had a toad. Park is clean and well taken care of. The reason for the 9 score is the bathrooms could use a remodel, but that's all. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$14
It is clean and quiet. There are great views. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$4
We spent 8 days here and really enjoyed the park. The park is up a hillside with the sites terraced giving you incredible views, especially at night. The city lights of Deming, sunsets, and the mountain on the left silhouetted against the night sky… Beautiful!! Good cell, Aircard and Satellite reception (no trees). Water pressure wasn’t the best but it was ok. No problems with the electricity fluctuating. Very friendly camp hosts, with lots of good information. Sites were relatively level and big rig friendly. Gravel roads and sites with a shelter, fire ring and picnic table which is located on a cement pad. There is also a hiking trail and a trail that takes you through the cactus garden. There is a visitors center at the entrance to the park but we didn’t go in. Hubby says the bathrooms were very clean. This park does have a dump station which was very easy to get in. The only drawbacks were the thorns/burrs which were in the grass. You will need to keep a good eye on kitty or rover….and the flies, they were very aggressive. It may just be that time of the year for them. Grocery shopping in Deming at Peppers or Super Walmart. Propane is also available in town. We loved it here and will be back when in the area. Rate reflects our annual camping pass fee. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$24
This park is one of our best experiences yet! First, I was very impressed by the New Mexico state online reservation system which gives you detailed, specific information on each site including the site dimensions and photos. Why can't "for profit" parks give this kind of service? We stayed in site #17 which was huge! Each site has a BBQ, fire pit, picnic table, concrete patio, and shade cover. The site was level and gravel. Hookups were new and worked fine. The restrooms were clean, modern, and basic state park facilities. Only comment would be the ADA compliant seat in the shower made it necessary to stand very close to the shower head. The views from the camp site were incredibly beautiful both day and night. The far away city lights and unbelievable stars were fantastic. We spent hours "rock hounding" around the park. Although it was very warm in August, we started early in the morning and collected some nice rocks. This is a special place which we would highly recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$14
This is in a nice location with lots of room to get any size rig in. With only 29 sites resevations are recomended. I gave it a lower rating because the rest rooms and showers were not very clean and had a torn shower curtain. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$14
Nice place to stay during the spring or fall but the summers are too hot for me. The night we stayed we enjoyed a lecture of the night sky that was excellent. This park allows you to hunt for and take rock from the park. The first time we stayed the kids enjoyed collecting rocks of different types and we took them home and tumbled them. After the first time though the kids didn't want to do again. Novelty wore off after that. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2006
$24
Nice view from a high elevation. Gravel sites. Good spacing between sites We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$14
This park, though small, is lovely in many ways. It has the standard state park features, with a beautiful view of the area (the sites are up the hillside). The town of Deming is really quite interesting, especially a very substantial museum (free) about local history, and lots of Mexican restaurants. We were glad we stayed there and got to spend a day in town. It's quite convenient to I-10, although about 7-10 miles of country driving off the interstate. The sites are quite easy to back into, some are pull throughs. Giant rigs might not fit every site. We'd stay there again for sure. No phone hookups, but cell phone (Verizon) worked very well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2000
$14
If you like Rock Hounding this is a place for you; quartz, jasper, agates, opal, etc. If you're not so inclined perhaps not a great stop over. Sites are level and deep with good separation. Each has a cabana for shade with picnic tables and fire rings. Some great trails to hike that also lead to rock hounding activities. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com