223200 User submitted reviews online!!
Sumner Lake State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (575) 355-2541
CGID1875

Sumner Lake State Park

Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   8   9   8   7   8   8   7   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$14
What a nice park! We've been driving out west right past this for a dozen years and always stayed an hour up the road at Santa Rosa. Not any more! From now on, we'll stop here on our way. The RV sites are huge, and level. The pull thrus have quite a bit of space between them and the next site, the back-in's are in pairs, but still have a nice distance between them. The back in sites (we stayed in #7) have plenty of space for your trailer and truck. We stayed for three nights. We'll be back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$16
The park is about 6 miles east of highway 84. You travel over some hills and then, as you approach the park there are some twists and turns that take you up and over the dam and spillway to the entrance of the park. The route in had my attention but it was doable and I wouldn’t let it keep me from returning. Pecos Campground is the campground with water and 30 amp electric hookups. Just about every site has a view of the lake. There’s good Verizon cell service in the park, yielding a good 4G data flow. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$14
This campground is located to the north of Fort Sumner, six miles off of route 84. Driving down the flat grasslands of New Mexico’s eastern plains, all of a sudden you come to a dam and a huge lake. The hillsides of juniper and the blue waters of the lake with a rocky shoreline contrast with the dry, desert like drive to the campground. It costs $14 for electric and they do take reservations for some sites. The main Pecos campground where we stayed, sits up on a hill. There is a visitor center there and at the Mesquite campground which has water only. Primitive sites are available right around the lake. There are also two other areas for camping: the Pecos River campground with no hookups and the Eastside Campground that has electric but it is a first come first serve. The Pecos Campground was nice looking down on the lake with shelters for the picnic tables. The Eastside campsites are closer to the water but no showers. The bath house was clean and there was one shower. There is a trail to look down on the huge dam but the lake is dry because of the drought. The lake has 2,700 acres and there are a couple of boat docks in the park. Fishing is popular for walleye, crappie, bass and catfish. This was a one night stopover for us as we are heading back east. Fort Sumner is where Billy the Kid was killed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$14
We enjoyed the quiet. Our site had water, elec, and a nice lake view. Our site and several others had 3 sided adobe shelter always with shade. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$14
This is a beautiful state park, very clean & very quiet. We stayed in the Eastside Campground & had it to ourselves for 2 nights. Sites are large & lots of space between sites. Saw lots of deer. Park staff is very friendly & helpful. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$14
Showers were clean. Shower water only gets warm not hot. Sites level with great view of lake. The lake level is low . Park is very clean, dump station was nicely set up on the way out of camp site. Park is ten mile from Ft Sumner. No TV or Internet service a great get away for the mad rush. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$14
If you want a VERY quiet place to relax, this is worth considering. I had a nice big wide electric site with a great view of the lake in the East Side campground. The only sounds were birds, and leaves rustling in the wind. Rest rooms and were showers were very clean, and individual trash cans are emptied daily. Sprint cell phone service is good, but over the air television is limited to 4-5 channels. The park is "off the beaten path" so usually not too crowded, but be sure to stock up on supplies. The little store/restaurant next to the park was not open the weekend I was here in the off season. The water is very hard, and the ranger recommended we use bottled water for drinking or coffee. The water in the East Side campground is chlorinated, but not the water in the main campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$14
This is a beautiful state park with lake view from all sites. We enjoyed the wildlife viewing and quite nights away from the town lights and noises. We had an extended stay and would return again when in the area. The rangers are a great bunch of guys and go out of their way to assist. We did not boat on the lake but many do. Go enjoy the desert oasis at it's best. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$14
Another well maintained New Mexico state park. It's a little off the beaten path, but a nice set up with lake, river, and fabulous mountain biking trail. Although the showers were clean, the water never gets better than luke warm, and the "misting spray" shower heads mean that the luke warm water feels even colder than that. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2010
$14
We were disappointed and not impressed by the campground of this New Mexico State Park. The entire park seems to be disorganized and bit mixed in with the private community of Sumner Lake. The main campground, which has the hook-ups, is poorly designed, mid-slope location between the lake and a mesa, and on the edge of not being acceptable for big rigs. Use caution when entering the RV site access road. There is no turn-around, the road is rough, dirt and with tight turns around obstacles. There are three sites appearing to be level and they were occupied. The others offer some challenges to get a big rig parked and level. The three pull throughs are actually not pull throughs, for we had to disconnect to maneuver our motorhome into a suitable position. It takes forever to reach the RV Sites. The park has a odd loop around road probably designed to burn-off your expensive diesel fuel. There is little or no view of the lake, which is not close to the campground. Some of the sites like ours had the electric and water on the wrong side. Some of the sites share the 30 Amp electrical box and the water. We were planning to stay here for week. Due to the reservation system of New Mexico, and the first come first served sites being of such poor value, we stayed only one night. We will not return to this NM State Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$20
This is a decent park but well off the beaten path and not much to do unless you have a boat and fish. It was clean and quiet and a good stop over for one night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$14
This was a nice place with super wide sites and quiet nights. It isn't the northwest, it's the southwest, so the terrain is dry, the trees short and the lake small. But the campground has nice shelters (adobe at the reserved sites, tin roof at the first come-first-served sites) with benches and water hook-ups (must share with neighbor at some sites) and electricity. No sewer, but nice dump station on exit road. We walked to the lake, watched the sun set, and resisted feeding the too-tame deer. At night, something marauded our trash can; probably raccoons. Would definitely stay here again; great deal for the money compared to private campgrounds. It's far out, away from everything, but we like that. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$14
Very nice state park. We stayed in the Pecos loop. The sites were large and level with a covered picnic table and nice view of the lake. Verizon cell phone worked well and AT&T air card had five bars with 2G service. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$14
There was no one at the registration center so we had to self-check in. But the sites were large and flat with plenty of room between sites. Our site overlooked the lake. Each site had a pleasant covered picnic table and its own trash can. There were tame deer that came right up to us to be petted. Camping here is an excellent value for the cost. Our biggest complaint was a long walk to the restrooms. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$19
Quiet and pretty. Typical state park facility. Very tame deer and turkeys to feed if you are interested. Nice place to kick back for a couple of nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$14
We loved this park during a five-day stay. We had a pull-through site with water and 30 amp electric that we reserved by phone. Site included an adobe-type covered picnic shelter. Sites were well spaced giving campers a lot of space and privacy. It was incredibly quiet. During our visit at the end of October there were almost no other campers. There was a campground host nearby plus the Ranger. Three of the five campgrounds were closed. Lots of deer wandered into the campground in the morning and evening. We had no issues with bugs. Our Verizon and AT&T cell phones worked. We had a very slow connection using our Sprint Broadband Card. It was just pure pleasure to relax in and wander around this wonderful State Park. We would love to return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$4
We enjoyed the park for 2 weeks. Beautiful. Very quiet during the week. Bathrooms were clean and maintained. Great lake access. Fishing was good with carp, perch, bass and walleye taken. Park host was absent but not missed. Ranger was friendly, lax on posting reservation signs. Great cell phone coverage. Sites are very large and graveled. Water is very hard. Lots of mosquitoes, flies, bats and deer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
This is a nice, out of the way campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$14
Beautiful area with most sites directly overlooking the lake. The covered and walled picnic table are was a real nice touch. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$4
Nice state park with nice sites, some being larger then others. Pecos Campground Loop has 12 sites with electric and water and 2 having sewer. Neither site is on the reservation system and one of them is occupied by the camp host. Great water pressure, cell phone service was good, computer speed was SLOW, sites are level with gravel and have good drainage when it rains. Interior Campground road is dirt. Site #3 has a light that comes on after dark and we would sit outside and watch the bats catch insects that were being attracted by the light. Half of the camp sites in Pecos are by reservation, not sure of the others. Mesquite CG is developed but doesn't have electric hookups. Eastside CG has about 6 sites with electric and water and the rest are developed, they are not on the reservation system. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$18
We stopped at Sumner Lake on our way to Santa Fe from Texas. It's a great park with excellent state park facilities and a picturesque view of lake from most campsites. The lake is said to be good for Walleye fishing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2005
$14
This was a very pretty campground. We were the only ones camping besides the campground hosts who were very friendly. It was extremely clean and well kept. The sites were very spacious and far apart. Each side had a covered picnic table and grill and there was a trash can located at each campsite. There was a pretty view of the lake. There are sites on the east side of the lake nearer to the lake but this section was closed due to the time of year. It was very quiet and we enjoyed the wildlife. We definitely would return and recommend this state park to others. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2001
$14
This is a beautiful state park. It is very clean the showers looked new. Most of the RV sites have a pretty southwestern shelter over the picnic table. Every piece of trash is picked up daily so it stays very clean. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com