223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Red Rock Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 26 user reviews. Phone: (505) 722-3839
CGID1876

Red Rock Park

Camp Information
Sites
120
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   9   7   7   2   7   9   8   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$20
Nice campground in a beautiful location. The museum is really very good. I found it more extensive and informative than the museum at Window Rock. It is far enough from I-40 that there is little road or train noise. The only downside is the blowing sand if it is windy. Staff is really helpful and friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$20
Nestled in a lovely south-facing red rock canyon, this campground is a jewel for those headed east or west on I-40, which is only about 1 mile away. Train tracks are about 1/2 mile away, but with the windows closed I couldn't hear the trains. I took 1 star off because with windows open one might be able to hear the trains at night. Sites have water and electric, are well-spaced, and are reasonably level. Campground is grass and sand, and not a speck of trash anywhere. Restrooms were clean, with soap and paper towel dispensers and large showers. Very friendly and polite staff. We were touring the museum and rain was threatening, and several of the campground staff offered to give us a ride back to our RV when we finished seeing the museum. Please do not miss the fine museum, which is only about a 5 minute walk from the campground. Nice sand art paintings, excellent large wood carvings, fine southwest jewelry, baskets, pottery, early stone and clay utensils, etc. It is rare that one finds a campground as nice as this, as inexpensive, so close to an interstate, and with so much to offer for the overnight traveler. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$20
Fantastic scenery! Clean, level sites. Easy access (within a mile) to I-40. Be sure to visit the Indian museum at this facility. Note that we don’t carry a TV around so no cable service is necessary. We use the fifth-wheel primarily to have a comfortable place to sleep, a toilet and shower that don’t offer surprises, and someplace to store food. Other than that, we live outside! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$20
With a rate of 20 USD per night, there is not much to complain of. We stayed here at a time when there were no events and the campground was almost empty, which can be a little spooky. But - no problems whatsoever. Restrooms/showers were clean albeit a bit worn. If you're looking for a cheap place for the night, then this is the place. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$20
I can completely understand some previous ratings due to the time of year and the type of usage this campground gets.Certain times of the year it is a horse camp and with horses you get flies. And there is certain times of the year I would not come here and with that being said March is a good time to come, too cold for flies and virtually no one in Camp. But beware when the wind gust blows the sand and dirt flies everywhere. This camp is fine dirt and sand with gravel but the grounds were very clean. This is our second time here in four years and we would return outside of the peak camping season and definitely not when they are using it for a horse camp or rodeo grounds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
This is a beautiful sport that is treated like trash. Gorgeous red cliffs with trees and hiking. The campsite was littered with trash and horse manure. There were hundreds of flies every where. The hiking trails had trash all over them. The trains were loud as well. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$20
Nice open feeling to the park. Picking a site was a little confusing because of how they have it laid out. Mostly dirt and sand. Price is right though. Big Rig friendly. We are 65' with toad and did not have to unhook. Negatives are: No sewers but there is a dump station, train noise although we did not hear them inside the coach, dirt and sand everywhere and no amenities other than the bathrooms and a post office. We would stay here again if passing through the area, but only for a night or two. Not a destination CG. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$20
CG about 6 to 8 miles east of center of Gallup. Great place to stay while looking for Indian jewelery, blankets, pottery, etc. We stayed here when not much was going on. So CG was quiet and we had plenty of room. Site 100/101 flat, paved` and open so we could use satellite. Strong Verizon broadband. Only negative is lots of dirt in CG, not much grass. We always stay here when we come to Gallup: best price and very convenient to town. We will stay here again. Make sure you pay at the Museum Office NOT at the post office which is in the CG. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$20
Stayed here for Rock Rock Balloon Rally in December. Staff escorts you to your assigned site. Some sites are small: had to squeeze my TT into my site. Mostly dirt, sites not very level, w/ electric and water. Two large bathroom units with endless hot water. Nearby rail line has 24-hour freight traffic, and you'll hear one about every 20 minutes. Scenery is outstanding, especially with hot air balloons flying around the nearby rocks in the mornings. Cell phone service ok, radio stations ok, no TV. Nearby Gallup is 20 miles west. Operated by City of Gallup. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2010
$20
The accommodations are fine here except for the pervasive traffic and train noise resulting in our getting minimal sleep. The unheated bathroom was difficult to use although it was clean. We'd never stay again knowing sleep is unavailable here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$20
We stayed here a few years ago when it was a State Park. Under the current City management we think it is better. It seems better organized and the grounds are very clean. The location is beautiful. The sites are on bare earth, each with a picnic table on a concrete slab. There are a lot of trees. We could hear the trains in the distance but there was no road or aircraft noise. Sites are fairly tightly packed so might not be so nice if full but there were only a few campers on this visit. We thought the site arrangement and layout was confusing, partly because picnic tables and utility hookups are on the same side. We liked it and recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$12
If you mind the red dusty sand of New Mexico, don't stay here. Also, the sites had a lot of sticker burr plants they call Rams Heads. Our site was particularly infested with it. We've seen this a lot in New Mexico. There were sites with a lot less problem. Noisy train traffic, but we don't mind that. The showers where huge with copious amounts of water BUT, the there were only 2 showers in each building and you got dressed and undressed in public. No private spot for your clothing. Really liked the showers though: BIG and lots of water!!! Excellent place for a group. Looks perfect for a convention. Lots going on here too. Fun place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$20
This is a decent place for an overnight stay. It gets you far enough away from the railroad tracks and I-40 to be quiet. This park is run by the city and not attended full time. We arrived on a Saturday, picked a site, then a city worker came to collect the fee that evening. Restroom keys are given on request. There are hiking trails that look to head into beautiful country. Many of the trash bins were full. There were four other occupants and a majority of the sites were unused. I did not count the number of sites. The park itself is not much to look at but the backdrop is very pretty. I would stay overnight again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$20
Excellent park backed up against huge red rocks! A very impressive facility that also includes a "horse motel", museum, a balloon launch area and a rodeo venue. It might be a little dusty if the wind kicks up since it's all sand. The sites are a little odd in that the picnic tables appear to be on the same side as the hookups. Red Rock is a Gallup city park, that was acquired from the state, when it was announced 6 years ago that it was being closed due to budget cuts. So don't let the two groups of reviews confuse you. Even the campground receipts say "Red Rock State Park". Very easy to get to off old US 66, just about a mile east of the new Fire Rock Casino. Oh, BTW the casino has the tightest slots we've seen in New Mexico. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$14
We parked facing a huge red rock wall. There is a nice hike to Church Rock. We enjoyed watching the colonies of prairie dogs. Even though this park is in a canyon our Verizon air card worked well, the Sprint cell phones were spotty. The negative was the panhandlers who had the nerve to knock on our RV doors wanting gas money. You could smell what kind of gas they wanted to buy. The city workers will come by your RV to collect the rent, just make sure they arrived in an official city vehicle and give you a receipt. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
Nice enough park owned and operated by the city of Gallup. Good for one or two nights. Restrooms and showers were clean and you need a key to use them. Lots of shady sites in the park. Biggest drawback is the sand. We were there soon after a week when they had high winds and they were using a bucket loader to clean the sand drifts out of the sites. The park is very quiet and is two miles east of Gallup so there is no traffic noise. We would stay here again if passing through the area. If you are overnighting, this is better than the KOA which is right off of I-40 and is nothing more than a paved parking lot. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$20
This is a nice park and probaly due to the fact nobody was in the park made it even better. Lots of hiking or whatever and one thing we were told to beware of is when you are walking your dog keep a close look out for stray dogs from the reservatuion or packs of dogs thjat run loose, we did not witness this but were on the lookout. One thing i have to mention is the people that were helping the ranger George and Joy as campground hosts did a excellent job helping everybody out that came into the campground and even though they weren't officially the hosts i hope there work did not go in vain, Thanks we will be Back We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$20
This park is wide open with some beautiful views of the red rocks. There is great hiking in the area. The spaces are very adequate in size with water and 50 amp power. The dump station is easy to access. We had complete privacy while here for 3 days in November of '08. There were no other campers here. The 50 amp power was welcomed because of the 20* weather. Payment, as stated below is mostly on the honor system, there was no one to check, and finding the information on where to pay could have a been easier for the honest. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$20
What a comfy little park! Payment was run pretty much on the honor system, with arrivals and departures any time it was convenient for you. The sites were roomy. The restrooms were concrete but very clean, with soap and paper towels provided. The Good Sam guide says there are no showers, but they are wrong. The water and power connectors are at a four-foot height, which is so logical that more parks ought to take the hint. The prairie dog compound in the middle of the campground was free entertainment. The only negative: the payment process was very "manana," with a single employee handling payments who took three phone calls to completion before she finished a simple one-day stay transaction for the person who was physically there. Nevertheless, I'd stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$35
Excellent RV Park. We checked out the KOA and Red Rock before deciding on this one. The staff is friendly and do a great job at maintaining the grounds. Some of the sites are a little tight, but nothing compared to others we've been to. If I'm every back in Gallup, this is where I'll stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2007
$19
Red Rock is no longer a State Park. The Trading Post Store is not open but the Post Office is. We paid for 3 nights and stayed 2. There is no one on site, you put your money in your own envelope and drop it in a mail slot on the store. There is a pack of 4 wild dogs in the park that bark and come into you site looking for food. At night people come into the park to use the bathrooms and sites without paying. The first day we were approached by men wanting to know if we could help them out with a few dollars. The second night at around 10pm a man knocked on our trailer door and rubbed on the tent next to us asking for money. Calls to animal control were not followed up on because it was the weekend. There is a house in the park with a police car parked in the yard but when we spoke to the person living there, no response. Called State park office and Gallup city Office each said the other owned the park. We left and I have stopped payment on the check I left. Will not go back again. 10 Year Full time campers. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2006
$19
Pretty basic layout with sites close together and minimal trees. Visually unlike any state park we've ever been in, much more like a basic commercial cg. Post office is right in park so there is constant traffic throughout the day. We did see wild horses in cg one morning. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$18
Given the alternatives near Gallup, I recommend this park in spite of the fact that it is mostly sand and the spots are not well marked. Having stayed here 5 times on the way further West, I have found it quiet, safe, and convenient for an overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$18
While some sites are kind of small, there were plenty of nice sites when we were here. There are fire rings, basic hookups, picnic tables, and a very nice store with friendly people. The surroundings are beautiful, and the stars at night were fabulous. Yes, we were visited by a woman selling kachina dolls, but at $15 each for a hand-made item, they were nice souvenirs. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2004
$18
Agree with other reviewer that $18 is way too much for this park. Site layout is very confusing, and poorly marked. This is the first place we've ever stayed where panhandlers beat on the door -- two of them in the first hour -- one drunk looking for a handout, and someone else later wanting to sell junk. They seemed to be on foot, wandering in the woods near the park and gave us the creeps. The numbers of permanent residents, in crummy trailers with big dogs in permanent looking fences was a bit off-putting also. If you have good locks and a Smith & Wesson under your pillow, you could consider this place for a quick overnight. If not, stay at the Wal-Mart in Gallup. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2004
$18
The surrounding Red Rocks are lovely but the park is a mixed bag. Clean but oddly placed sites and utilities. Deep loose sand. Used Autoformer to boost power. Several somewhat permanent sites (old converted buses) with dog pens and large barking dogs within. Campstore also serves as local post office and mini mart so regular traffic from outside. $18 is too much for this modest park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com