214909 User submitted reviews online!!
Bar S RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 82 user reviews. Phone: (505) 876-6002
CGID1879

Bar S RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
62
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   4   7   3   7   7   6   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$18
We traveled to this 876-6002 en route to Cortez, Co. What was supposed to be an overnight stop turned into 3 nights due to high wind and blowing dirt. We knew this area could get that way. The campground personnel was very friendly and accommodating to our situation. This was a nice place to stay, we even ventured out to do some sightseeing. Though it is between the BNSF and I-40, the noise was not annoying. Will stay here again and recommend to others. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$22
This a delightful no frills RV park. Perfect location to visit El Malpais National Monument or for an overnight stay. Easy on and off I-40 and as other reviewers have said it is sandwiched between the I-40 and the BNSF railroad but there is really little noise. The trains do not hoot there is just a low rumble. Price reflects an extra $2 per night for 50 amp. Restrooms very clean, excellent value, we have paid much more for a lot less. Our only small complaint is that the Internet connection was flaky but the campsite was busy. Having said that the cable channels were brilliant and even included the golf channel, which is quite unusual for campsites these days. We certainly recommend and would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$18
Big pull through sites, gravel relatively level. Clean restrooms, older but clean. Very nice attendants in store. Watch for noise, however, park is located between I-40 and mainline BNSF RR tracks. If light sleeper could be problems. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$18
This is a nice RV park at a great rate. It sits between the railroad tracks and the freeway but we did not have any problems sleeping, and I am a light sleeper. Graveled, level sites and a lot of them are pull through. There was plenty of room at each site. This is a no frills park but everything worked well. The wireless and cable worked great. The park was neat and clean. We went to have an oil change done at Speedco which is at the same exit and decided to stay and sight see. There is a great place to walk the dogs across the street from the park - there is a very large open area north of the freeway with a fence between you and the freeway. We would come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2013
$17
Rate is for a 50 amp FHU pull thru site with GS discount. Interesting layout to the park. The sites are fairly narrow with pine trees on each side, but the roadways are very, very wide so that RV's of any length have no problem and never need to unhook if just staying for an overnight. Strong Verizon signals and excellent satellite reception as the placement of the pine trees offer no interference. For the money this is a great place to spend a night while traveling across I-40. We would certainly stay here again if in the area and needing to stop for the night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$20
We agree with the other early 2013 reviews. We would add that in spite of any of the negatives, this RV park is an excellent value. We would stay here again. We didn't find many shade trees as others have indicated. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$19
There are no individual picnic tables at each site, which is a bummer as we like to eat outside. The showers were OK with plenty of hot water. There are a steady stream of trains passing by, but we only heard one whistle. If it wasn't so cheap, I'd be upset! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$19
This RV park is fine for an overnight stay. The woman that checked us in was very friendly and efficient. The pull thru sites are long enough but pretty close together. The park doesn't get high marks for beauty ,but it's clean. There were some long term residents but the appearance seemed neat enough. There is the almost constant noise of trains. Unfortunately, that kept us up most of the night. One warning - follow the signs to the enter from the back of the park. The road to the front entrance is blocked but you can't see it from the main road. There is no where to turn around. Our nightly rate is for 50 amp service. We probably will not stay here again just because of the trains. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$17
What a gem! We stayed here 2 nights so we could visit the various state parks in the area. The site was gravel but 100% level and each spot has its own shade tree to keep the afternoon sun from scorching you. The Santa Fe railroad is on the other side of a divided highway, approx 1-2 blocks from the park, and the trains run all night. We loved this. It did not disrupt our sleep at all. The staff here are the very definition of helpful and friendly and, if you enjoy such things, there is free hot coffee and fresh pastries available to you every morning. We would most definitely stay here again and plan to on our next pass through this beautiful area. The rate, service, and location cannot be beat. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$17
My price reflects the Good Sam discount plus taxes. This was a very fair rate for full hookup. The park has very good services (water, electric, sewer), and great showers, but the trains may rob you of your sleep if you are a light sleeper. They didn't bother me. We only stayed overnight, so I don't know how enjoyable one would find it for a lengthy stay. It's an hour west of Albuquerque, and there isn't much in the area as far as I could see for entertainment. But for an overnight stop, it was great. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$17
This is a pleasant RV park,and is very convenient to Interstate 40 for an overnight stay. We have stayed here several times while traveling on the highway. The sites are easy to get in and leave . All the hook-ups work well. The only negative is the noise from a nearby railroad, so while not overwhelming, there was some train noise several times during the night. If not for that I would rate this park as an 8. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2012
$14
A good place to spend the night along rte 40 since it is convenient to the highway and to a Love's at the same exit. It is obviously a popular campground for travelers and the couple next to us have been stopping here for 10 years. There are trains running often by the park, but we were at the other end and they never bothered our sleeping. Half of the people in the park are contract workers. The sites are level gravel and easy to get into. The campground is very convenient for Malpais and El Morro National Monuments and also to the Acoma pueblo and historical site. Our price reflects a weekly rate. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$17
Park is in good repair, nice gravel sites, and pretty level. The young lady in the office was very nice and helpful. Did not notice any noise from the highways; however, there were several trains per hour running very close to the park and they ran all night long. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$16
There are a lot of contract workers, but the park is quiet and a good place to spend the night. The hosts were very pleasant and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$17
Ok for an overnight stop. There seems to be a good many permanent campers in the park. The lady at the desk was very helpful. The washer and dryers were clean and reasonable. The sites are gravel and mostly level. We arrived during a rain storm and there were a lot of puddles in the area so park could use some more gravel. The sites are pull through and easy off and on the interstate. It is behind the gas station. We would stay here again for an overnight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$17
This park is just OK for an overnight stop. The staff was friendly enough, our site was plenty long and wide, and the hookups worked fine. The price was fantastic. However, there was a lot of noise from the trains that ran all through the night. We probably will look for another park next time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$17
We used this campground as a stop for the night as we were driving across the country. It has the best pricing we have ever run into for what you get. Our rate was $17 for the night and we received full hookups and cable. We also had WIFI. Can't beat it! We will make this a routine stop on our migration every fall and spring. The staff was friendly, cheerful and very helpful. Sites were perfect for pulling in late, relax with a little TV, get to bed and up and out before sunrise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$17
OK for overnight. Good daily rate of $17, just $15+ for GS. Mostly level, gravel site, a little tight. Disliked the one bathroom set-up, but you get what you pay for. But they had very good cable TV. There's a RV wash a few blocks away and traffic noise was tolerable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$16
Easy in and out off of I-40. Wide and long sites-no problem parking truck next to trailer. Staff very friendly and informative. Hook ups all worked well. Laundry was adequate and reasonable. Large TV in the laundry area. The dog area was adequate except that there was a great deal of broken glass all over the area. We would return to this campground because it is convenient and reasonably priced. Nightly rate reflects weekly rate plus extra $2.00 for 50 amp service. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$19
Park is nothing special, all dirt and gravel, but sites are long and wide enough. Great place for an overnight stop or very short stay. Rate was great for a full hook up site plus cable. Wi-Fi was not strong enough at the site to make a connection. Highway noise was not an issue but there a lot of trains on the nearby train tracks. It did not bother us. I would definitely use this place again as an overnight stop as the rate is unbeatable. Note: we drove by all the other parks and they were all the same, so go for the cheapest. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$19
Great place for 1 night or to use as a base camp. No picnic tables, but did not want one any way. Cable did not work well at our site, 23, but was checked out immediately. I just hooked to one site over and had perfect cable. Host was very friendly and apologized for the cable issue. Good water pressure. Great value, and I would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$17
Wi-Fi is pretty variable. I think the earlier reviewer is right that too many people are using the open network. Otherwise, great place for the cost. Good clean showers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$16
Huge, wide spots. Great Wi-Fi, plenty of cable channels, clean park. Just what we needed after a long day on the the road. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$16
This is a good park to stay for an overnight stay while on the road. The sites are wide, level, and easy to get into. The utilities are easy to get to and everything works. The occasional trains that run through the night are noisy and may be disturbing to some people. This is a Passport park; hence the reasonable rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2011
$18
Called here asking about Wi-Fi after discovering that another park's Wi-Fi did not work. Attendant said yes, they had Wi-Fi! Sure enough, they did. Trouble is, the system is overtaxed to the point where it is impossible to get a lease from the wireless router on either of the nets. They are both unsecured and likely tapped to exhaustion by neighbors. I have a slingbox satellite receiver at home and it allows me to watch my own TV while on the road, provided the Wi-Fi is good; this one wasn't. BUT, other than that. This park is fairly new, no mature trees to speak of for shade, but all of the hookups were fine and in good repair and the desk attendant was friendly. Basically, the substandard internet service was the only detraction. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$16
Good Sam Discount. The CG is off I-40 exit 79 and behind Love's Truck Stop. Lots of truck traffic. The CG is level packed gravel, a little dusty, drive through sites with full hook-ups, free Wi-Fi and cable TV. 50 AMP is extra. Staff is helpful and informative. There are long term residents but everyone is friendly and this is a pleasant CG to spend a day, or a few. Historic Route 66 at the back door and Grants, NM just two miles east. The laundry is clean, 3 sets of W/D. Clubhouse/Office at the entrance. This CG easily handles big rigs. I-40 and BNSF railroad noise is not a huge issue. You can find lots of things to do not far away, easy day trips. We would return here when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$19
Nice neat well done modest campground. Easy to get into sites which are large and level gravel. You don't hear the Hwy but you can hear the trains but they don't use their horns. Good Wi-Fi and cable 50amp brought the price to $19! We haven't paid that little in years. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$17
This park gets a solid 8 for the following reasons: Easy access - exit 79 off Interstate 40. Large pull throughs - with plenty of room for slides. Full hookups 30 or 50 amp for $2 additional per night. With free cable & Wi-Fi. Park is clean and well maintained. Staff is friendly & helpful. Yes, the interstate is along one side and the railroad tracks are along the other but we have paid much more for parks in similar settings which offered fewer amenities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$15
This is a great overnight campground. It's easy in and off the freeway. Road into Park is not the best but very short. Reasonable rate for overnight. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$19
For the price this is a very nice park. The only problem is that it is between the Interstate on one side and the railroad track on the other. It has level, gravel, easy pull throughs and easily accommodates a 40' motorhome. The sites have some shade. It was great for a quick overnight stay while traveling. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$18
Nice campground, very clean and the hosts were very nice and helpful. Fortunately, it was a bit on the hot side so we had the AC running which "helped" to hold down the noise of the train, or maybe I should say TRAINS. Other than the noise, it was a nice park and I would go back but with ear plugs. I now carry ear plugs with me and I would suggest it to others. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$17
Arrive after hours, and pick a site. You will have to decide if you prefer freeway noise or train noise. We opted for a spot close to the freeway. Couldn't use the bathrooms because they require a code, which we couldn't get until the morning when the office was open. Their ad says biggest pull through sites in New Mexico, and I can say for certain that is not true. But the park is ok. We were mainly here for sightseeing. This is a good base camp while visiting El Malpais, El Morro, Ice Caves, and Chaco Culture. Be sure to visit the 2 casinos about 20 miles east and sign up for the players cards. One of them gives you $10 free gas and the other gives you $15 in free play plus $5 off food. Together, my husband and I walked away with $20 in gas, $10 free food from gas station, and $35 in cash from the free money we played with at the slots, and had 2 for 1 barbeque. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2011
$19
Internet is not available unless you are parked within very close proximity of the office. Was told that it was available at the site when I called before arriving and also upon checking in. Once we were checked in and set up, they apologized and said we could move. Had we known ahead of time, we would not have stopped. The only thing good about this park was the rate of 19.12 per night for 2 people and 50 amp service. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$17
Rate is 50 amp, FHU Escapees discount paying cash, a reasonable price. This is a good park for a quick stay in the area. Has gravel roads and gravel pads that are fairly level. There are nearby railroad tracks and a train passes by frequently. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2011
$14
Rate is Escapees discount with paying cash. This is a good park for a quick stay in the area. The person checking us in was quite nice. There is a book trading center and a small gift shop. Prices were reasonable. We would stay here again. However, the train right behind the park ran every few minutes all night. Did not blow the whistle, thankfully. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2011
$17
Price includes Escapee discount for 50 amp FHU site. Sites are level gravel and there is highway and railroad noise. We had a bit of a problem maneuvering between the trees to keep them off our slides. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Residents are not observing the speed limits or picking up after their dogs. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$14
Rate is FHU 30 amp daily rate with Escapees discount. Gravel roads and sites which can be dusty when the wind blows. Small pine trees between sites. One single restroom and shower for each sex, a code is required to open door. There is another restroom inside the office along with washer and dryer. Great value for the price, making for a good overnight stop and we would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$18
OK, there is train noise every 20 minutes but no whistles. What do you expect for $18? You get very decent full cable + Wi-Fi. Sites are easy in/out and the park is quiet sans train and interstate noise. This is a very cheap overnight stay. If you call several days ahead, you can ask for the best sites nearer to the road and away from the train tracks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$19
A good spot to get off the road for a night, especially if you like the sound of trains. Fairly easy in and out from I-40. The gravel sites are just long enough so you don't have to unhook your toad. Cable TV was good and the price was great. Nightly rate reflects 50 amp with Good Sam discount. Quite a few long term residents. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$17
Nice private campground. A little noisy from the train tracks and Interstate traffic. They have full hookups. Would recommend for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$17
It's not pretty but a good value. Decent spacing between sites, all utilities worked as expected, Wi-Fi and cable were excellent. Very friendly staff. There was some train noise but it did not bother us. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$17
This family run park is not fancy, but very clean and has shade at each site. Shower/ restrooms were clean. Certainly good for the price, and I would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$16
Positives = long/wide/level pull thrus, nice gravel interior roads, free Wi-Fi = great, cable TV = good, small but nice laundry, book exchange and great pricing. Negatives = only 2 bathroom/shower but they were neat & clean, no tables, trains are close but the noise is not too bad, small gift shop but no food items. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$17
I am going to have to disagree with many of the previous posters. This park, is indeed, a decent enough place to stay for an overnight, and certainly at a somewhat reasonable price, but when I do ratings of campgrounds I look at, for example, Fort Wilderness in Disney World as a 10. This place was very bare bones. Small sites, nothing to write home about, simply a place that doesn't cost too much while you are resting for the night. On the plus, Bar S seemed safe enough and clean enough. On the minus-there is one shower/toilet/sink for men and one for women. One. Which means if you want to quickly get on the road the next day, and you want to use the shower, you could be delayed if womeone else is in the shower. Also, there is a train track that runs by that can be easily heard. Not too much of an issue, but it can be heard. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$15
This is the kind of park that one chooses because it is on the way to somewhere else. The rate is outstanding, and the facilities are austere but completely usable and acceptable (including cable TV). All gravel with little room between sites, this is not a fancy resort, but it is off the highway, easy to access and the people who run the place are very nice. You simply cannot beat this place for the rate!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$17
This is a great overnight stop. We agree with the other reviewer, don't miss the WOW Diner just across I-40. It might be worth scheduling a stop in Grants just to eat there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$17
The $17.15 we paid reflects $2 for 50 amp service, and the 10% Good Sam discount. This a super park for an overnight stay or even a 2-3 day stay to see some of the sights south of Grants. The park is clean, well maintained, everything works, and the sites are easy to get in and out of. The park is not terribly attractive, hence the 9 rating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$17
The rate of $16.39 reflects a week’s stay with 50amp service. The water pressure was awesome even when the park was full. The roads and sites were hard-packed dirt and gravel. Our site was level and we had room to adjust for the trees on either side of our rig so our slides would come out without touching the trees. The staff was friendly and helpful. This park doesn’t have the amenities of some but it was perfect for our stay in the area. They do not charge extra for giving your rig a bucket bath. We would stay here again and we would recommend it to others. Be sure to go to the WOW Diner on the other side of the interstate; excellent food and excellent service. The area doesn’t seem to promote recycling; we finally took our items to Grants Recycling on highway 117. There are train tracks close to the park and there are a lot of trains going through but not many use their whistle. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$39
Sites are small for larger RV. Near RR tracks, the trains run 24 hrs and are noisy, but eventually get used to it. Friendly staff, clean, sparse landscaping. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$17
Gotta love the trains! Very frequent, but at least they don't blow their whistles all the time. The park is a gravel parking lot with services, but that was OK for an over-night stay. No problem with the site/services. Easy on and off I-40 with a gas/diesel station close by. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$15
This park is great for overnight stops. It is just off the highway but the traffic noise was not noticeable. There is a train track behind the park but we never heard the trains blow their horns and the train noise wasn't bad. The staff was very nice and friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$15
This has been our 4th time here and as usual it is a very nice park. Easy to get to and easy pull through. I would highly recommend this. Owner very friendly and cooperative. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2009
$15
Unless you're an extended stay construction worker, this is basically a way station as you move through the state along I-40. Value is good, $15/night for full hookups w/cable TV. Trains are heard around the clock; engine noise, no whistles. Staff are very helpful and friendly. The campground is neat and well maintained. Sites are level and appreciably wide. No slide out constants. Each site has a pine tree and is composed of gravel. There are about 15 full-time tenants that keep their sites neat and are very friendly. We recommend this park to others. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$15
Rate is FHU 30 amp daily rate with Passport America discount. Gravel roads and sites. Pine trees between sites require a little consideration before parking to avoid hitting slides. Very limited restrooms and showers facilities. One for each sex outside entrance with code required. One inside the office. Washer and dryers in office. Great value for the price, making for a good overnight stop and we would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$14
Good overnight park with clean restrooms and a friendly staff. The WOW diner nearby server excellent food. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$15
This wasn't our original destination, but unfortunately our truck broke down, and we were stranded in Grants for two days, whilst the Ford Dealership fixed it! The site is all gravel with level sites and a small dog walk area at the end of the campground. The wi-fi was excellent and the laundry facilities, TV sitting area, and showers were clean and well maintained, with extremely friendly and helpful staff. Fortunately there was a good convenience store within walking distance for emergency supplies. We wouldn't have chosen to stay here, but under the circumstances it was a positive experience and inexpensive. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$15
This is a great RV park for one night while traveling on the road. For only $15 you get full hookups plus cable. It's not a fancy RV park and it's between I-40 & railroad tracks that have about 60 trains per day. If your windows are closed the noise is not noticeable. We stayed there in July and would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$15
Park was clean, check in was great with fabulous phone contact for registration. Bathrooms were very clean and park was well organized. camper. No complaints. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$15
Great little over night spot to stay. Staff very friendly and park was clean. Cable and Wi-Fi worked great. We would stay again if we were traveling through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$17
Easy access, wide site, clean restrooms, clean laundry, a good place for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2009
$15
This is simply a gravel parking lot for an overnight stay while traveling through the area. Staff not very knowledgeable of the area. The price was fair for what you get. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$15
A great park for those on the road. Flat gravel sites with a very friendly staff. We will stay there whenever we pass through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$15
Full hookups, showers, laundry, free Wi-Fi, great cable (even if all analog), and all for the low, low price of $15 (rate before Good Sam discount and taxes)! Such a bargain! At these prices, if you ask for the Good Sam rate, you should go out and spend that $1.50 somewhere (the amount of the discount) just to provide economic stimulus! I casually asked the desk person how they could have all of this for just $15! She kind of looked at me like: "What do you mean, this is normal!" The sites are gravel. The only landscaping is that most of the sites have a large pine tree. I was put into a back-in because I wasn't towing a car. The back in was against a fence. I have a 32 foot motorhome with a bike carrier on the back, and my front stuck out an itsy bitsy bit into the driving area, but not bad. The pull-throughs can accommodate big rigs. Try to avoid getting put into spaces 60, 61 and 62. Those spaces are at the top of the driving loop, and require "parallel parking." Let's just say, when the RV's come around the driving loop, I wouldn't want to be in those particular spaces. The Wi-Fi worked on and off; sometimes it would work fine, and then it would "hang." But at these prices, you can't complain! When it hung, I got out my Verizon air card, and no problem. In addition to the "standard" rules, the park had a rule about "no alcohol outside your RV." I'm sure there was a good reason for this. Because I was racing to stay ahead of a snow storm, I didn't get to check out the laundry and showers. Temperatures were dropping as I checked in, and the next morning, I got out as soon as I could to stay ahead of the storm. I normally give parks like this a 6 or 7, but I'm giving a 9 because I felt safe and this was quite a bargain! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$15
The park is actually at Milan, just a mile or two West of Grants on I-40. It is well kept, with clean and level sites, cable TV and Wi-Fi. There are restaurants and a grocery nearby as well as a truck stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$15
You can;t beat the price, and the office folks were friendly; gave us a packet of information for the surrounding area. Yes, there is a bit of train noise here, and I've learned to keep a pair of earplugs in my travel kit at all times. I preferred my days here at $15 a night, to the $45+ we spent when we arrived in Albuquerque. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$17
Spent two months here while selling our home in Grants and getting ready to full time. The park is clean and well kept. management is friendly and helpful in all respects. The park has both pull through and back in sites with some young pine trees for shade.The pull throughs are long but a little narrow for rigs with extra large double slides. Restaurants, shopping, gas stations and propane are all close by.The park is pet friendly and usually has a mix of both long terminals and over nighters. We have family in the area and will stay here every time we are in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$15
A great little Mom & Pop operation with clean office, nice service and very reasonable rates. We were able to pull through with 40' motorhome and still have tow vehicle hooked up. There is an additional $2.00 charge for 50 amp service. There is some noise from trains but were told by the office there is now a ban on the train horns when passing by. There is good shopping and dining in Grants nearby. Not a lavish resort type of park but a great base camp for visiting El Malpais, the Bandera Volcano and ice cave and El Morro National Monument. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$15
Friendly people at check in. Long sites, a little narrow. Park is clean. Great place for an overnight stay if you can sleep through the train noise every half hour which didn't bother us to much. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$14
We were treated great and made very welcome. Nice long sites for our 85' 5th wheel and Volvo with Toad. Didn't even have to unhook. Very Big Rig friendly!! Passport America. Lots of trains, but the TETON is built well and we hardly heard them. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2008
$14
Friendly registration. Large pull thru sites. Campground was noisy due to busy railroad tracks on one side and close to freeway on other side. The noise is the only reason I gave this park average rating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2008
$15
The lady who checked us in was very nice. Surprised at the price, later that night we learned why the price was so low. Right next to the train tracks, the whistle woke us up every 1/2 half hour all night long. The price per month was only $155 and there were some long term folks there. I slept with ear plugs but was still woken up. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$13
Accepted Rec USA; $2 extra for grand-daughter. gravel lots - very plain. Nice host. Lot has no picnic table or grass. Due to being at 6500 feet above sea level and still freezing at night, we had to disconnect our water hose at night. No pool. No playground. No frills. Clean and quiet. Train near by that we heard about once every hour. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$14
Once you get past the trains this is a well kept place with improvements being made. Nice people as mentioned, great rate for a 30 amp FHU with wi-fi and cable. Easy in and out. There is a surprising amount of things to see and do in this area. We added a third night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2008
$14
Very nice people, large lots and nice and clean. The only drawback was the constant train, day and night about every 20 to 30 minutes. We tried to drown it out with a fan, just didn't work. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$14
This is one of those "does it suit your needs?" campgrounds. It was perfect for us - close to the freeway, huge pull-through sites (unhooking the toad is not necessary), full hookups if you wish, open skies - no trees (the satellites loved it), really low priced (don't see many of these prices anymore). It isn't a resort, it isn't close to shopping & restaurants, it doesn't have a pool, it has a lot of train noise (but we cheat - we have a well-insulated MH and close the windows)... No problem. We'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
The owners are some of the nicest we have ever encountered. We get a kick out of their humorously state campground rules, love the pets and the cookies on arrival. This is high desert lava flow country though, so the sites are just gravel pads with no plants-feels sort of like an old fashioned drive-in movie lot. The view is spectacular and the park is far enough from I-40 that there is no incessant freeway roar. They go all-out for breakfast here with cereal, pastry, milk, juice, etc. in a breakfast bar/breakfast room at one end of the camper store. There is also a well-stocked paperback exchange. My only complaint is that the WiFi is only free for 1 hour. We stay here at least once a year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2006
$14
We stayed here one week and the rate averaged $14 including tax. Overall, we felt this was an excellent value. It is very close to I-40 but far enough away to minimize traffic noise. The nearby Love's is extremely easy to get to and there is also a Petro and Chevron nearby. Very easy access to all the sites around Grants. The biggest drawback for us was the close proximity to the very busy railroad--about 20 or more trains per day and, unfortunately, there is a crossing nearby so each train blows its air horn--this can be very annoying at night if you cannot "tune it out". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2006
$13
Mostly full time units working in the community. Not bad for an overnight, quick in and out. Main line of major east west train on north edge of RV park. Sleep was almost impossible between rumble and train whistle. We would not stay again. Gas and supplies are next door which was a plus as the interstate is within one half mile so for ease of access it may work if ear plugs are on board. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2005
$13
This is a large level gravel lot. Sites have a tree between them and little else except the hookups. Check-in is friendly and quick. This is a clean park. Yes it is near a busy rail line. For the price this park is hard to beat. Hard to rate, but we will stay here again. This was our second stop at this RV Park, both for one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2004
$12
Very nice for a couple of days, especially at the low price. Used as a base to visit the many local attractions. Owners very helpful about what roads to take for the best scenery. They were friendly and seemed to be glad we were there. We will stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$12
Stayed twice in July and August. Very good for overnight. Train noise could be bothersome to some, but I was exhausted. (I grew up next to a railroad, so the noise wasn't a big deal to me. Check in is very friendly. I would stay again. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2001
$11
SKP discount, right next to busy railway, but OK for a night. Very clean We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com