206648 User submitted reviews online!!
Lavaland RV Park was rated 5 out of 10 based on 22 user reviews. Phone: (505) 287-8665
CGID1882

Lavaland RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
59
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$1



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   6   6   7   7   7   8   4   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2013
$1
We tried to contact this park for two days. No one answered the phone or returned our calls. The phone number is answered by a generic voice mail that does not even confirm that you are contacting the RV park. We pulled into the campground a little after 1PM in the afternoon. Office was closed, self checkin box empty, sign in the window to call the same number we had been calling for two days. There were two other RVs in front of the office waiting for return calls. We left and moved on down the road to a park that answered their phone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$20
We used this as a one night stop on our way across New Mexico. This is a small basic RV park located right off an exit of I-40 in Grants. Park has gravel sites which were fairly level and provide ample room. Sites are close together with no privacy. Restrooms are newly remodeled and clean. Park looks tidy and the long term campers maintain their trailer and sites. The price is for an upgraded pull through site with full hookups and basic cable. Wi-Fi service was good. Price and location were good. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
This is a small, basic old RV park located right off an exit of I-40 in Grants. Park has gravel sites which were fairly level and provide ample room. Sites are close together with no privacy. Restrooms are newly remodeled and clean, and the office/laundry area should be nice when completed. Park looks tidy and the long term campers maintain their trailers and sites. Wi-Fi service was good. Location right off the highway and across from a Walmart were good. The office was empty when we arrived, and the site we had been assigned on the reservation was occupied, so we just took another empty site. The park was adequate for our needs, and the new owner is trying to upgrade the park, but it has a long way to go. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$10
Rate reflects a monthly stay. Overall, a quiet, no-nonsense spot. Lots of renovations occurring. Very nice, new, shower/restroom facilities. Laundry available, but limited by open office hours. Expect no staff on arrival and to pay in the box. Be aware that some sites are not as expected (missing sewer hookups, broken lines, malfunctioning elect.) so expect a shift of site, even if given one via reservation. Limited 50A sites--and not clearly indicated for a self-service (mostly) RV park. Rough roads throughout--go very slow. Very high water pressure--use a regulator. Park WiFi spotty, but Verizon worked well here. Very easy on/off highway, and town has an off-leash dog park (3 miles away). Full-time residents are present, but nothing like previous reviews, as the place is under new management. It may be quite lovely in upcoming months. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$22
Older campground purchased 6 months ago by a local contractor. He is making some repairs but these seem to be moving along at a slow pace probably because this is a "back burner" project that gets done when more profitable or time sensitive work is not available. When he completes the work it will considerably improve the appearance of the bathrooms as well as the other facilities. The sites were level and easy to maneuver around. Not all sites have 50 amp and CATV. Our rate reflects the rate for one of these "elite" 50 amp sites. About half the sites were occupied by long-term individuals who seemed to be working in construction. Camp was quiet at night with very little noise from I-40. We stayed two nights and noted the office was only occasionally staffed leaving us and others to use the night drop for payment. We had trouble with the CATV but could never find anyone to talk to about the issue. This will probably turn into a better campground when the repairs are completed. We would definitely stay here again overnight or longer if visiting the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$17
About five months ago this park was purchased by a local businessman and he has made some nice upgrades to the clubhouse and laundry area. It is close to the off ramp of I-40 but far enough away from the interstate that noise was not an issue unless you are in a tent. The back in sites seem to be long term tenants but the pull thru sites are easy in-out for over nighters. We felt safe, spend two nights and would return if in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$14
A nice park overall. We stayed a week so our daily rate was really low. In need of a little fixing up. No laundry on site. Most residents seem permanent but mostly tidy. Gravel sites mostly level. Close to I-40 so there's a little noise but not objectionable. Nice trees for some shade. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$23
I understand that campground is under new management and improvements are in progress. The office was closed when we arrived at 4 PM. Selected our site. Filled out the available forms and enclosed a check in the envelop provided. Did not see a bathhouse. A few campers were overnighters but most were permanent residents. Close to I-40 but did not notice any highway noise. OK for an overnight stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$23
This park is great for a layover with convenient highway access. It is nicer than the nearby KOA and half the price. Sites are wide with mature pine trees, but maybe too short for big rigs. We're 52' with toad hooked up and had enough room to stay hooked up, but I think a 42 footer with a toad will have to unhook for the night. As I write this I'm sitting with my windows open and can barely hear the freeway, so no issue there. Office and bathrooms are currently being remodeled with some very nice tile work and look like they will be very nice when complete. This location is a great first/last stop for our travels and we will certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$17
This park is everything you could want. It has level and gravel filled spacious sites. We had to go to a different site than assigned only because of some very low hanging tree limbs, but it was not an issue at all. New owners are in process of fixing up and reviving this park, but it is the nicer of the ones in the area. Management was very helpful. Some road noise from I-40 but not enough to keep you up at night. We would most likely stay here again if we come back this way and the price is reasonable as well. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2013
$21
We stayed here for 2 nights. The park is easy to get to and from Interstate 40. Although the park was located near the Interstate, it was pretty quiet. The interior roads and sites were gravel, fairly level but narrow. The pull through sites were not long enough to accommodate our motor home and toad. We had to park in an adjacent empty space as there was no nearby overflow parking. They have full hook ups – water, electricity, & sewer connections – and an outside table. The connections were at one end of the site so you might need a lot of hose. Only 6 of the 40 sites had 50 amp. There were trees between the sites but they had been trimmed up so they didn’t encroach on the sites and road. There was sufficient room to open slides. There could be some obstruction to the southern sky which could affect satellite reception. WiFi reception was good. There seem to be a lot of long term residents which were located in the back in portion of the park. Their vehicles were parked along the road. The pet area was along the outside edge of the park. There wasn’t a fenced area. There weren’t bag dispensers around the park to pick up waste. We didn’t use the restrooms or showers. They were controlled with a combination. The park was undergoing upgrades. The office wasn’t open very much. It was self register when the office was closed. Had to wait until the office opened to get the access codes for the WiFi and restrooms/showers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$17
I looked at the other RV parks in this area and Lavaland is by far a better, safer feeling place to stay whether overnight or for long term. Not a lot of I40 noise, ample size for big rigs, slide outs -awnings. Don't use restroom/showers, have own wifi/hotspot, and satellite,but, note that they are available. The new owner was friendly and helpful. Will stay for a month ($200 + elec) before heading to Colorado for the summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2012
$19
Run down old campground. They advertise cable and Wi-Fi but they no longer have them. Price of $19 reflects what is available. 40% old trailers occupied by full time residents. I filled out the envelope, include payment via credit card and dropped it in the box, later we got a knock on the door and was asked to come to the office to pay, which I did. I was given the envelope and info back. No groceries or RV parts, just a run down dirt campground. Okay for overnight. Water, Electric & Sewer worked fine. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
November 2011
$20
I called the park asking if they had wifi. The old guy on the phone said yes, in some spots. So I said, well, do you have a spot open where the wifi works? He told me he did, so I said I would take it. I was there in about 20 minutes, paid, hooked up water and electric, popped out the slide-out and sure enough, no wifi. The signal was far too weak. I would call bait and switch, but I am not sure the old geezer really understands the system in the park, himself. Anyway, do not count on getting wifi here. Otherwise, park was okay, for a no frills gravel sort of arrangement. I will not return, however. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2011
$19
Easy off and on the highway, very close to Wal-Mart and Visitor Center and convenient to El Malpais and El Morro. Price very reasonable. Unattractive (dirt and very little gravel, what looked like a junkyard in the back) but sufficient. Our site was level. No one in office until about 3:00 p.m. Friendly personnel. There was only one site that we felt we could fit in with our big rig but it only had 30 amp, and we couldn't keep the plug in without holding it in with tape. Bathrooms/showers were adequate and clean. No paper towels in ladies' bathroom and hand dryer didn't work. Nice water pressure and lots of hot water in the showers. Laundry had one working washer and two dryers, and the carpeting was soggy. Noise from highway was bearable. A few permanent campers but everyone was quiet. Overall, it was adequate for a few days but probably wouldn't stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2011
$19
Great protection from the wind which is why we stayed as long as we did. Quiet park with mostly permanent residents. Internet not secure but worked. Cable with a few channels. When we pulled in we kind of questioned staying but glad we did. Office staff is scarce with an envelope and drop outside of the office. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2011
$19
This is an old, run down park that needs an upgrade. Most of the sites are occupied by long term residents in run down trailers. However, it is ok for an overnight stay. The park has shade trees and is quiet at night with not much highway noise, even though it is near the interstate. We didn't see many of the residents. Cable TV works and the water is chlorinated. Apparently they are on city water. The WiFi connected but it was slow. The water, sewer and electric were located at the back of the pull-through site, so we had to unhook our toad and drive it around to the front so it wouldn't block the road. Not a great place, but we would probably stop overnight here if we came this way again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$20
We camp in a Motorhome so we didn't see the bathrooms. When we arrived the office was closed so we just filled out the form added a check and dropped it in the slot. There were lots of nice shaded spots that were nice and long. The slots were not quite double wide but more than enough to extend slides on both sides without infringing on the neighbors space. Just before we left I spoke with the office staff who was very helpful. Not exactly a resort but more than adequate for a few nights. While we were there we checked out the locations of the other parks in Grants and I think this is probably the quietest and certainly the furthest from the train tracks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
Being Labor Day weekend, I called a week in advance to make a reservation. The reservation was very lax, all they wanted was my name. I was camping here with several friends so I asked to be grouped together, they said no problem. When we showed up, there were 3 men in the office, very friendly. I was able to park next to one of my friends, but there was already someone else on the other side, so the last to arrive was not right next to us. We based here to go Jeeping in the area and the park staff as well as the full time residents were very friendly and visited with us about the local area. The park is rather old and could use a little work to make it nice. It is right next to I-40, so there was some road noise, but not enough to keep us from sleeping. The restrooms needed to be stocked with toilet paper. As stated in other reviews, the spots are a little tight, but my class C fit under the branches just fine. No trouble connecting to the WiFi, but it is unsecured with no password protection. For the price, I'd stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2009
$21
It is an old park and not well maintained. The roads are horrible sites just barely big enough for a 37 ft with small toad. The tree limbs need to be trimmed up higher as I hit the limbs going in and coming out. The staff is friendly. It is a good place for just a overnight stay. They say they have cable but couldn't find it and wifi is only at the office and laundry. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2008
$19
The only review for this park is from 2004, but we decided to stop here anyway. We pulled in and found the dirt roads and spaces to be too narrow for our 5-wheel with slides on both sides. The trees were also right in the way of getting satellite TV off the roof. Unfortunately we could not find a space to accommodate our trailer so we left. We did stay long enough to try to find a space that would work for us, but were not able to find one. This park would be fine for smaller RV's under 30' who don't have a roof mounted satellite dish. Larger RV's need to look elsewhere. Even though we did not spend the night, I felt an updated review of this park would be helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2004
$19
Sand/Dirt sites. Trees are ill placed and may interfere with slides and movement. Hookups are old and need some work but functional. It just off I45 so there is some road noise. The owners are very nice and accommodating. Lavaland is not a resort or upscale RV park. If you need more then the basics you won't find it here but you will find a place you can get a site for the night or day or two at a reasonable rate and be close to museums, restaurants, and gas stations. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com