218896 User submitted reviews online!!
Alto Hombre Gordito Hideout was rated 4 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (575) 336-7877
CGID1901

Alto Hombre Gordito Hideout

Camp Information
Sites
19
Date of Stay
June 2011
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   8   1   2   10   10   10   1   7   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2011
$38
When we arrived, the campground looked abandoned. We knocked on the Manger's office, but no one answered. We decided to drive through the park to see if we could find someone. We were chased down by a lady in a truck, who when we stopped, proceeded to scream at us about not being able to drive through the park. It was surreal. The kids' playground was rundown and covered with weeds. There was horse scat all over the place. Definitely won't go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$45
The owners are a wonderful couple from Amsterdam. We all felt immediately welcome and at glad to call 'Hombre' our home for a few days. The owners were incredibly helpful and run an efficient yet very relaxed campground. Our friends stayed in a very cozy cabin in the same park that was an incredible deal at $75/night. We all rented skis for $10/day. This made skiing very convenient. The downside (if any) would be the distance to town (25 min) and the high cost of the RV sites. We should have opted for a site without the shelter ($35) since it was too cold to be outside most of the time. Site prices still seems high when you compare our friend's cozy cabin with all the amenities provided for a mere $40 more, we felt the prices for a plot of dirt and utilities to be a bit high since we were providing everything else for ourselves and there were hardly any other campers. We should have gotten low season rates. I also noticed that RVers are charged daily for firewood while cabins, get all the firewood they want. I think they are trying to discourage outdoor fires, but with already high site prices, I think this should be rethought. We also had to pay $3/day for our dog. Fortunately, with so few campers around, he was able to run free with the owners' dogs which made it worth that charge. In busy season, I'm sure this would not be allowed. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2010
$51
This place is HORRIBLE. It is run down, dirty, expensive and definitely the worst RV park we have ever stayed at. The sites are very hard to get to (up a steep hill) have weeds all over and it is very unkempt. There was a big pile of animal waste (looked to big to be a dog) right by the office. They also charge extra for everything, such as if guests want to stop by, if you want to have a fire, etc. Will never stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2009
$50
Tortuous entry, were told we would need 4 wheel drive low to get to site. Super pull through site not bad when you eventally get there. 15 miles out of town, remote & secluded. $3 daily fee for our small dog. Bathrooms & showers very poor, never cleaned. Pool area filthy. Very run down, badly needs update investment. Very expensive and they charge extra for just about everything, would only return if the price was a lot cheaper. Only redeeming factor were the pretty views. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$45
We had a wonderful stay at this park. The staff was very helpful and always friendly and smiling. We went horseback riding one day with our 9-year old novice granddaughter, and by the time she got back, she felt like an equestrienne. Now we have to buy a horse! Stay at here and have a great stay! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
What a fine place! The couple that runs this place are friendly, helpful, and fun. There are also many things to do at the park. We enjoyed the horses, pool/sauna, and the game room. Every site has great views and beautiful trees. We plan on coming back again and again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$38
This is a great place, we have had the baest vacation ever! My children also had a wonderful experience at your camp. We will be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2007
$32
We stayed at this rv park because, according to their website, they have all these great activities for families. When I called to reserve two sites, I specifically told them that I needed two spaces next to each other. The host assured me she had reserved two spaces side by side, and she even gave me the space numbers we would be in. However, when we arrived, it was a totally different story. They gave me two spaces diagonally from one another. The spaces had another camper between us which was very inconvenient. When I told them the spaces were supposed to be together, and gave them the numbers I was assigned, they said it was taken and we'd have to stay in the spots they assigned us. Ridiculous! Well the only "great" thing about this place was the view. The pool was disgusting. The water was cloudy and green, and the room it was in smelled very bad. The basketball court they claimed to have was nothing more than a goal stuck in a field of grass and dirt (no pavement to actually bounce the ball). The hosts at this park were not very helpful. Everytime I needed to go to the office to ask a question, no one was ever there. I wouldn't want to stay here again. It needs a lot of updating, and they need to tie down their dog. They expect everyone there to tie down their dogs, well they should lead by example and do it themselves! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$35
It was ok it wasn't as good as the sundance RV park they didn't have a stream. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2006
$32
When we first checked in the managers were nice enough but by the end of the stay the man was almost harassing. They did not keep the noise levels down by other campers, but seemed obsessed with our fire to the point that he sat at the end of our site to watch us. The spa and pool were so dirty that there is no way that I would get into them. The location was very pretty but I will not be treated as he treated us and will not return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
December 2004
$37
We arrived at the camp site with confirmation in hand and were rudely advised that we could not stay because we did not have chains or snow tires. We showed them our confirmation which did not mention snow tires or chains, but they refused to allow us to stay. The roads to the campground were unpaved and covered with ice making it very hazardous and certainly chains are advisable. However, it was not mentioned, and we later noticed that all other rv parks in the area were paved or sufficient gravel was in place to absorb the ice. The owners of the campsite were extremely rude. They did return my deposit, but they made no suggestions and offered no help in assisting us in getting out of the campground. We had to back out and required several attempts due to the fact that the roads were in such bad condition, and the terrain was very "hilly". They advertise that they have a heated pool and sauna, but we were advised by others that the pool is not heated, and the hot tub is very dirty and not fit for use. I do not recommend this campsite. We were fortunate enough to find a campsite nearer the ski lodge and had a very positive experience there. That campsite is Sundance Lodge. I strongly recommend Sundance Lodge. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2004
$150
I was informed that this site was very accessable to Ski Apache and it was not. I spent $150 per night with the assumption that the pool and hot tub were going to be in good enough shape to use. The indoor pool was too cold to get in, and the hot tub had a build up of who knows what in it. And when we lit the fireplace with the flue open the smoke engulfed our cabin. We went to talk to the owners about our situation and they told us that we were doing something wrong and that they did not believe us. They then told us to not even use the fireplace and that they discuss these accusations in the morning. I am very disappointed in this campground. They made this place out to be cabins when they were actually just mobile homes with wood siding. Very disappointed. The owners have no compassion for their customers! We camped here in a Campground Cabins.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2003
$28
The management of this park is not concerned for their patrons. We were involved in a near fatal automobile accident the day we were to arrive at the RV park. Our truck and 5th wheel were a total loss, and we were transported to the hospital via ambulance along with the 8 people in the van that collided with our truck and trailer. I called the RV park from the hospital to inform them of the situation and that we wouldn't be able to make our reservations. They canceled our reservations, but then charged us $114.00 for half the week stay that we had planned at their park. They explained to me that having a near fatal automobile accident and totalling both truck and 5th wheel RV was not "their responsibility". We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com