206669 User submitted reviews online!!
Mountain Road RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 52 user reviews. Phone: (575) 461-9628
CGID1918

Mountain Road RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   9   5   6   9   8   6   8   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$28
The rate reflects a one night stay in a 50amp site with the Good Sam discount. We didn’t see any signage coming in on highway 54. There is some highway noise. We picked our site and unfortunately picked one where the sewer wasn’t working. There are gravel roads and gravel pads. Ours was fairly level. Water pressure was good. It was an OK place for an overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
We pulled in about 1:30 PM. The office was locked and no one was around. We tried to call but received some weird message about call couldn't be completed. We finally put our payment into an envelope and picked a site. Wi-Fi OK but slow. Cable very good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$25
Very nice and convenient location for overnight stay. Check in was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recomment this location for overnight stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2012
$22
This is a nice friendly park to stay at, but not level side to side. The wireless worked better than most parks we have been in and the electric and water are okay. The lady that checked us in is really nice and friendly. The men's bathroom only has one stool, two showers, and a urinal but not stocked with toilet paper. Would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2012
$26
Great overnight stop .Easy on and off. Strong Wi-Fi, good cable TV, Verizon card strong, and dog friendly. Very clean laundromat and bathrooms. Fuel stop between Campground and Hwy 40. Friendly and helpful owner. Will stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$27
We stay here often over night. Great owners. Good cable and great Wi-Fi. Can get muddy in the rain. Fairly level sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$24
Quick stop arriving late and leaving early. Friendly staff, quick check in and set up. All gravel, clean spacious restrooms, easy access. No problems. Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
Right past the truck stops at Exit 333 in Tucumcari. Not much to look at but it offers the basics. Like all desert campgrounds in the southwest, it's dirt/gravel but sites are long and level side-to-side. We seem to be on a slope front to back but levelers handle that. Great Wi-Fi. Great cable. You do get noise from both very busy truck stops but with the a/c going, you don't really hear anything. Just a short jaunt into town where you can do basic shopping (no Wal-Mart). Very good and reasonably priced meals at the Rockin' Y Restaurant. Recommend that place. Several geocaches within 5 miles. We'd stay here in the future and would recommend it to others. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
This is a great park. The lady at the desk was very friendly. It was easy getting to this park and easy to get back on the interstate. We needed to fuel the motorhome and the gas station was right there. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2012
$28
There is a Loves and Flying-J at the exit from I-40. The entire park is gravel except for the so called pet walks which are scrub brush. Internal roads are narrow and sites are short and narrow. Someone said that the sites are long pull-throughs but when I used the pull-through site with a 33 foot class A and a small tow dolly, my car was sticking out into the road. Someone put down that there are shaded sites. There are skimpy water starved tall bushes which can be a problem for some slideouts. The cable was very fuzzy and several of the listed stations were not available. The Wi-Fi was barely usable for email but not much else. The laundry and restrooms are kept locked (although restroom keys are available if you know where to look). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
Friendly staff at registration office. No road or truck noise. Gravel, level site. Easy access to interstate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
Ordinary park. Basic gravel road with picnic tables. All sites are on gravel. Park does have satellite TV. We would stay there again for an over night visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
The rate is for 30 amp with Good Sam. Just used for overnight and was very pleased. All sites are long pull through (did not unhitch car) full hook up including cable TV and internet. Staff is very friendly and the coffee and muffins in the AM are a treat It snowed overnight and she had all the info about road closing, etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2011
$28
I thought we had not stayed here before, until we drove up to the office. What was I thinking? Access is okay. If there are two rigs coming in, one will be hanging in the road. There is a Loves and Flying-J at the exit from I-40. Staff is friendly. The entire park is gravel except for the sort of play area at the west end which is primarily burrs. Internal roads are narrow and sites and short and narrow. Utilities worked okay although they appear to have been put in during WWII. Someone put down that there are shaded sites. There are skimpy water starved tall bushes which can be a problem for some slideouts. The slogan for the area is "Tucumcari Tonight" which means that after Tucumcari there is nothing until Amarillo or Flagstaff, so might as well find a spot here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$16
We stayed here for three weeks. The price per day is a result of the weekly rate. There is a nice view of Tucumcari Mountain. Verizon internet is only 1X and very slow so we used the campground's Wi-Fi. We were near the office and were pleased with the speed on the internet. Our Verizon phones worked well. The owners are friendly and helpful. They provide fresh, homemade muffins to campers in the office every morning. All sites are pull-throughs and ours was very level. They try to keep the site closest to the bathrooms for the elderly or handicapped campers. The laundry and bathrooms were always very clean. Although close to the freeway, traffic noise was not an issue. There was a lot of truck traffic, but it never kept us awake. There are plenty of restaurants nearby. We will stay here again whenever we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$27
Upon arriving in the late afternoon, we were greeted in the office by the owner of the campground. A totally happy and informative host. She explained everything completely and even told us the best place from the park to watch the fireworks in town. Blueberry muffins and pinon coffee free in the morning before heading out. A nice park that met our needs perfectly. Clean restrooms and showers, level sites, Wi-Fi and easy hookups. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$27
Very nice overnight park. Friendly office worker. Made GREAT home made tamales, 6 for $8. Free muffins and coffee in the a.m. and we were on our way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2011
$26
This park is right off of I-40 and is very convenient for a night or two especially if you don’t want to unhook the toad. A little highway noise and near truck stops which actually came in handy when we needed a few items. We would stay here while in transit, but not really ideal for a long term stay. The sites are gravel and level. Wi-Fi worked great for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2011
$26
Dumpy run down low rent park. Loud motor noise from two close-by truck stops. I did feel secure here. I will not stay here again. Much better parks in this town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2010
$25
This is a convenient no frills overnight park located near I-40. Roads and sites are gravel/dirt. All sites are pull through and fairly level. There are a few trees, but most do not get in the way of a satellite signal. The rate is a little high for what you get. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$27
Level, gravel lot. We needed something that was located just off I-40 so it worked for us. The Wi-Fi was very weak. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
We tried to stay here, but the sites offered were too small to let us keep our truck and 21' trailer hooked for the night. There were several larger sites still empty at 5:30 PM but the manager told us the larger sites were held back in case a larger RV showed up and needed the extra room. Don't understand this logic since all sites were the same price and we were here. Lots of full time park residents at this park. Just one big dusty gravel park. We asked for our money back and went to the KOA park just a block down the road. Excellent decision on our part. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$27
A gravel parking lot with hookups. This is an adequate pass through spot with level sites and easy access from I-40. Has friendly staff and lots of room to maneuver. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
This was an easy park to get to from the highway. The spaces were really tight, easy to get into but extremely close to the folks next to you. It was clean and fine for an overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$23
Sites were clean but old and in need of repairs. Laundry was poor: needed to dry clothes twice, so it took 1 & 1/2 hours to dry clothes. Very annoying. We stayed 1 night. WiFi connection was very good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$27
This Campground is located so ideally next to I-40 that it must fill every night. We arrived from Texas via US54 about lunchtime and there weren't many RVers parked, but by the evening there weren't any vacancies. It needs a little polish but is adequate for a night's stay. Office staff (one nice lady) does it all. The Wi-Fi wasn't the strongest at out site but cable TV is good. Dog run needs cleaning however: it's the same old story, sorry pet owners not picking up after their pets. We would stay here again without hesitation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
Price reflects a Good Sam discount for a full hook-up, level, pull-through site. Ok, our site was just barely long enough to squeak into without unhooking the tow-car for the night. Another friendly, quiet, easy access place to rest overnight while traveling I-40. No problems with satellite TV, Verizon cell phone or air-card reception. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$27
Sites are short and not level. Cable is available every other site, so had to run cable under Motorhome. OK for an overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2009
$27
all gravel; not much shade; half mile to I 40; reasonable; no pool; Good Sam; it's Tucumcari and if you need to stop, stop...; down the street from FJ; nice people; wide spaces. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
This park is clean and simple. Easy freeway access. All services work as promised. Sites are rather barren, but there's a nice view of nearby fields and mountains. Just fine for an overnight stay and rejuvenation for the next day's drive. We could hear the freeway from our site, but it wasn't too loud. Ostrich bonus: Drive out the road a ways past this campground and you'll come to a field full of ostrich's! Rode my bike along their fence and they ran beside me. Fun! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
It is “pricey”. Thirty dollars for a night, but with our Good Sams discount, it became $25, but because we were using 50 amps of electricity, $2 was added on, plus 52 cents for tax. The final discounted total was $27.52. The Wi-Fi is free. The water pressure is good. The pads are mostly dirt and some grave. Good for a stop-over, but I would not want to stay here long. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
Lady in the office very friendly, and the park looked to be very clean, The sites were a bit dusty, but with no cement it's expected. The sites were very close to each other, but for just an over night stay,it was peaceful. Love's truck stop was close but not bothersome. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
We spent one night here. Our site was so bad that we couldn't level the motorhome even though we have good jacks. The person who checked us in was very efficient. The sites are not as large as advertised. The park is layer out on a hill and I would be surprised of any sites are level. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2008
$25
Stayed here one night heading west, and thought enough to stay one night on the way back east. Small park near I-40, but far enough away that the noise is not bothersome. This is a small gravel park with level sites. Decent Wi-Fi, friendly staff. Good stop for overnights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$26
Adequate park for overnight stop. Good Wifi. This was the fastest checkin I have ever experience. Gave her my GoodSam card and I was registered. Paid and drove to site. There is a new Flying J very close by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
Great place to stay overnight. Staff was nice. Nothing bad to say for an overnight. However, they are lacking in facilities. While it's great they have wifi(I'm using it now), they need cable tv in every spot and a better playground. It can also be loud sometimes with the truck stop nearly across the street. I would stay here again without a question, but only overnight. But then again, most people don't stay for an extended period of time in Tucumcari NM unless they live there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
This park is close to I-40, but no road noise. The Wi-Fi and cable worked great. There are a few trees, but most of them are not very tall. Restrooms, showers, and laundry were very clean. The staff is very friendly. If I stay in Tucumcari, this is the place I will stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
The basic rate of $25 is prior to discounts (AAA, Good Sam). The campground is not much to look at. The sites are all hard packed gravel but as it had rained a bit before we arrived we used our jack pads under the jacks. The campground management appears to be a husband/wife or brother/sister and both were pleasant enough. The washrooms and laundry are kept locked but you'll be offered a key at registration. The park looks clean but some maintenance seems to be needed. Our cable-TV connection at the post had obviously been replaced with an above-ground cable running to a splitter at the site next to ours. The result was a very bad cable picture. Not to worry...over-the-air TV signals are strong and clear. We were able to receive the OTA signals with the roof antenna down. The WiFi is free and the signal is strong. But we were in the first row behind the building. Not sure how reception would be in sites farther from the building. A Flying J is just down the street and I was able to use their WiFi signal with no trouble. But again, there were no rigs parked between us and the J. This park is suitable for both overnighting as well as a base camp...as long as the cable-TV is working. The park is very quiet and even though I-40 is just about 3/4 mile away we didn't hear any highway noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2008
$25
Just an overnight stop, and only would want to stay overnight. Sites were small and dirt. Said they had internet, but I could not connect. When asked office was told that sometimes when she's full the RVs get in the way of the signal. Friendly office staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$24
Great RV park. All sites face NE and shade the camper at the end of the day. Very friendly managers. Very good WiFi. Great place to spend a night or two. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$23
We overnighted here twice on an extended trip. Once on the way out and once on the way back. Although it is a no frills park, I feel it is a great place for an overnight stopover. The lady at registration was very friendly and accommodating. The sites are well defined and easy to get in and out of. We will surely stay here again if we are in that area and in need of a place to stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2007
$21
Okay for an overnight stop. Gravel/dirt roads. Had 50 amp service with no problems. Free WiFi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$22
At I-40 Exit 333 (NW) down and across from Loves truck Stop. Perfect 1 night stop. Easy to get in and out in the dark. Office was open til 9:00 PM MST. Two of us used this park in October 2005. 1 33 trailer and 1 MH with toad. 30/50 amp sites, cable tv. 55 to 60 foot PTs. Good Sam Park. We will stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2006
$20
Not very impressive. Power was very poor, 104 volts on one leg at about 25 amps draw, one roof air kept kicking off. Our water did not work, but we have a holding tank so no biggie. Not well maintained, but adaquate for a night. Easy in and out for our 45' motor home. Better than Walmart I guess. We will try the KOA up the road next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2005
$19
OK for a one night stop. Easy in and out. Long pull-thru sites. Had no problem with a 54' rig. People on site were very friendly. Stayed one night. Also had friends with a MH also stay there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$20
Sites are easy to get into and exit. Clean, full hookups, cable TV and friendly hosts. What more could you look for when traveling down the interstate. Not far off the road and a Love's just across the street. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2004
$19
OK for a couple of days stay. Safe and quiet. Very good washer/dryer setup. Owner very helpful with local info. Tucumcari Historical Museum is worth looking thru. We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$24
The staff was nice. Campground seemed well kept and the sites were fine. Used as an overnight stop, but it was pouring rain the whole and really didn't even get outside. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2003
$28
The power in this park was so bad and the owners were hostile if you said anything about it. Everytime a new RV arrival plugged in, the power dropped. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$22
The park was quiet and very clean. The folks were friendly and courteous. This is a great overnight stop on the road with easy access and reasonable rates. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$19
Have stayed here for two years on the way west. This is a very easy campground to get into and back onto the interstate. It is very clean and the management is extremely friendly and helpful. This isn't an RV resort with swimming pools and game rooms, but it is a very good place to pull in to for the night. In fact, if you had business in the area this would be a good place to stay the entire time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$15
The people that manage this one are real great folks. I had some problems with my truck and they were very helpful. The office is only open from 7 to 9 am and 4 to 8 pm. This is mainly a overrnighter. Loves is right across the road. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com