223422 User submitted reviews online!!
Canandaigua / Rochester KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 41 user reviews. Phone: (585) 398-3582
CGID1929

Canandaigua / Rochester KOA

Camp Information
Sites
124
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   9   9   10   9   7   8   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$40
We stayed here over a weekend and really enjoyed this park as it had a lot to offer, especially for the kids. Our dog loved the leash free area and we all enjoyed the adjacent field for football & baseball. The sites were small (most KOAs are) but offered just enough room from your neighbor. The campground itself is clean and well maintained as are bathrooms. The staff and owners are incredibly nice and go out of their way to make everyone feel welcome. Definitely one of the best KOAs I've been to. Apparently others think so too as the campground was near capacity. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$39
Campground is neatly kept, with the exception of the garbage bins, which were overflowing. The lake needs to be cleaned up; it is full of algae. There are lots of activities for kids, some are free, some not. Our rate reflects a KOA discount and only 2 adults. Our son and family of four paid $50 for a tent site, which we found expensive. We also had to pay $5 each for two adults to join us for dinner one night at our site, something I have a problem with. There should be some way to differentiate between guests who are going to use the amenities and those who are simply visiting an RV site. The sewer, water and electric hookups all worked well, as did the Internet. The sites are a little close, but we did have some nice grassy areas and trees nearby. We came here due to its proximity to Rochester where we have family. We may try another campground next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$50
Really great people. Nice sites with lots of choices. Plenty to do for the kids. Hard to get into for the summer but they try to make it work for you. Good facilities, Verizon works great, local channels are pretty good no cable. Perfect area if you want to go to the racetrack. Close to the lake and great farmland and stands. Wine country of course is why a large number of people who comes here. Nice group that stays during the summer. Easy in and out lots of good walking/biking and playing. Incredible jumping canvas for the kids. Don't know how to explain it but I enjoyed it - good exercise. I joined KOA discount club for the first time and 1 week stay there paid for itself. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$50
Busy weekend, lots of kids around. Some areas close in to each other but in the pull-through sites there is more space around you. Lots of fun items for kids to do (we are retired but enjoy seeing the kids play). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$50
This was our second stay here and it was even better than the first time! The people are friendly and willing to help out with just about anything! The facilities are very clean and maintained daily. There are plenty of pay as you use amenities like golf, pedal cars etc. and it is always enjoyable for the kids to jump on the bouncing pillow! I highly recommend staying at this campground if you are in the area. Estimated the $50 fee as I cannot recall the exact amount. I do remember it was in line with the other campgrounds and fully worth every penny! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$48
Stayed here over the Labor day weekend for 6 days. Staff was nice and friendly and aware of trouble with 50 amp service at our pull though site #73 when arrived and fixed with new circuit breaker, very clean and well kept. Everyone was friendly including the seasonal people. Lots of kids here over the holiday weekend and they had many activities for them. Though not large by any means, it is big enough with walking trails in the woods, fishing pond were they had a contest for largest fish caught (catch and release), fenced dog area, nice patio area on the big rig sites. Downtown Canandaigua is less than 10 miles and has a nice park at the north end of the lake. Will return when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$42
This was our second time staying here. Both were just overnighters. Stayed in site #76 in 2012 & #73 in 2013. Improved the sites dramatically but in doing so, they nickel and dime you on everything. Each Kid: $5/kid/day. 50 amp: $4/day. Big Rig/patio: $5 per day. So our $37.00 turned into $51.00. The patio sites are nice, fairly level. Again, didn't get to use anything because it was their opening season. Just opened the pool so you had to wait due to excess chemicals. No internet because they were updating. As a business owner, I would have done the updating PRIOR to opening weekend. Jumping pillow was deflated. The store was adequately supplied with everything one might need. For a $10 donation to Camp Care, you can get a bottle of local wine. Tempting but anytime you have to change or cancel a reservation, you are charged $10. Don't get me wrong. Not complaining, just getting tired of the $1 here and the $5 here and: "Since you have a big rig, we put you in a big rig site and that includes a patio, but we won't tell you that it's an additional fee." They were very pleasant as they swiped your card though. Above, it automatically said YES to waterfront sites. The only water here is a "Critter Pond" with a possible stream that flows above and below it. Some sites were on the pond, the cabins and the w/e sites. This KOA was no different than others. The roads are gravel. There appeared to be seasonal campers also and the "BIG RIGS" had to make the turn to get into #76-#71 just right. Did I mention that we are both experienced "BIG RIG" operators? Saying this, we would have had difficulty had the "seasonals" had their vehicles parked along the road. On their map it reads, "OVERFLOW PARKING". Again, let me stress, that they were friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$33
My pull through site was flat and level. It was composed of crushed rock. The site was barely 52 feet long. To keep my trailer and truck in the site, I needed 30 feet of fresh water hose to reach my trailer. I had to back my trailer in at an angle after disconnecting so I could stay off the road. The site had a picnic table and fire pit. Good access roads. The free Wi-Fi was excellent. No cable. The over air TV was strange. T.V. signal kept cutting out every three or 4 minutes for 5-10 seconds at a time. The office staff said they had never heard of this problem. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$44
Great location to visit Palmyra or Rochester. Staff was very friendly and helpful. They even lent us a 50 amp extension cord when the site they gave us was too far from power. We would have stayed longer but they were completely full. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$48
We were only here for a stop over and it is good for that. Full hook-ups, sites were kind of level but could be better. Gravel and grass for the pull-through sites that we were on. However we were so close to the person next to us we would have reached out and touched their RV. Electric and water were good, and the Wi-Fi worked well from the site we were on. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
This is an extremely well kept, family friendly campground. There are cement patios with Adirondack gliders for the big rigs, which have recently been added. There is a lot to keep the family busy: catch and release fishing pond, gaming room, zip line, bouncy pad, playground, tree house, hiking and biking trails. Clean heated pool. For $3 there is miniature golf and you can rent bicycles, although they were expensive. Very pet friendly and has a nice large area with some agility equipment for pets to roam free. Staff is extremely helpful and friendly. They even remembered us from the year before. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$36
We stayed at the Canandaigua / Rochester KOA for 2 nights on our continuing vacation journey as a stopover. The park is a nice clean family oriented park that is very welcoming to the traveler. The children loved the playground and spent most of their time playing there during the visit. The campground also offers a heated pool that looked very nice, but we did not use it. The campground is a short 20 minute drive from downtown Rochester and is very close to many shopping amenities. The washrooms and showers were very clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly. They did not offer many family activities during the week, but the weekend events looked fun. The sites are quite narrow and crammed together, but were more than long enough to park our truck and trailer for a few days. If you want space to move around on your site, this campground does not offer really wide sites. Overall, I would recommend this KOA as a spot for both short or long stays. It is very clean and well kept. For travelers traveling during the week it would be great to have some family activities added to their schedule. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2011
$48
My family and I have never been more disappointed in a KOA in our life. And when we voiced or disappointments to the owner, his response was, "You have your opinion and we have ours." Well thanks for understanding! They were very over priced on the activities and the lack of staff made the wait even longer for the kids. When I attempted to express our concerns, the owner became argumentative and kept interrupting me. Again they didn't didn't seem to care. We highly suggest you do not stay here, it is not family friendly!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$25
Me and my 5 year old son spent the night here and had a blast. We walked the obstacle course in the woods and my son climbed the tree-house. We also rented a motor tube/boat and my son didn't stop smiling for the whole day. The staff was great to talk to and everyone seemed very friendly. I would say this is the place to go if you are looking to camp near Rochester NY. Thank you for making our stay so welcome. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2010
$38
The owners of this park are VERY snooty. It is almost like they want this to be a private campground that only certain people can come to. Beware that if you have a mixed breed dog they WILL question you about the breed and will give you a hard time if it has any Pit Bull or Doberman in it. I also received a "lecture" about how I needed to clean up after my dog IMMEDIATELY. As an experienced camper I did not appreciate the tone that was used by the owners. The park itself is beautiful but the attitudes are not!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$42
We stayed here twice and both times were in the Fall to visit family. The campground is well maintained, laundry room and bathrooms clean and staff friendly. WiFi was not consistent, but we were able to get it to work. I very HIGHLY recommend getting one of the premier sites, especially if you are in a big rig. The premier sites are large and pretty level. The other section of the campground is very cramped with small sites. Maneuvering a big rig through this area would be difficult. There is also an extra $4/day charge for 50amp service, which we were not made aware of at the time of the reservation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$45
We were misled about the rate, which is unusual for a KOA. It was an acceptable stay, but nothing to write home about. We probably won't come back. There are cheaper places just as convenient for us and nicer. Having been full-timing for three years, I would say this is not typical KOA service. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
We arrived about 30 minutes before check-in time and were told to leave the property even though there were ample empty spaces. I asked the attendant if she could check to see if my site was available. She said that would cost me and extra $10 for her to check. I refused to pay and she told me to leave and come back in 20 minutes. This campground is on a 2 lane road. We had to drive several miles to find a safe spot to wait. When we returned , they put us in a spot in a field that was very wet and muddy. The person who escorted us to the "site" said to make sure I put down several boards under the levelers as they would sink into the mud. Overall a very bad experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
Probably the nicest KOA I've ever stayed in. Very well kept facility. Had good pull-throughs and power. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$42
The park was nice and well maintained. The staff was friendly and helpful. We will go back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2009
$37
We arrived an hour early to a crabby attitude. It was not a great way to start. We booked for a 36' motorhome with tow attached. The site was way too small and narrow for it. Shame on me, but I assumed all KOA's had a certain standard like cable TV. Wrong. Lesson learned: I will read reviews more carefully and will not assume anything before checking! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$34
It's a place to sleep while visiting area. Sights are ridiculously tight. Some are next to the road or literally in the playground. Photos show aerator on pond but it must have broke because pond is kind of stagnant now. Must not stock it anymore. My kid and all kids around us never got a bite. If you have a popup this is alright for you. If you have larger you will be staring at the next RV six feet from your seat under awning. If you're lucky your neighbor has a sewer donut because it will be near your table. Hookups are near road. You will need long hoses and cords to reach. Activity for kids is expensive. KOA takes 10 percent from reservations so owners make up difference charging for everything. They will not allow you to pick a site and now I know why. If I knew I was going to be by the county road I would not have gone. Previous reviews about rules were spot on. Rules aren't unreasonable but crabby attitudes are kind of funny. They should take a course on verbal judo to tell people nicely. You won't have to worry about partiers here. Restaurant was ok, showers are clean but they clean them from 10am-noon. One hour should be long enough. If you like listening to your neighbor's conversation at the fire or just need a place to crash while in Canandaigua this is just ok We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$39
Positives- Clean baths, attentive owner, close to Canandaigua, nice pool , enough for kids to do. Negatives - site size (tight) if you have anything bigger than a pop up. Putt Putt should be ripped out and burned; old plywood and all warped. Workers sometimes treat you like an inmate about rules. Bathrooms are closed too long for cleaning. Odd sewer placement, but I guess sites are so small placement will be close anyway. Site is top secret until you drive across state to realize you are right next to playground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$37
Very nice park - Great place, staff, cafe had excellent food and service, WiFi excellent in the Cafe computer desk area, albeit we experienced spotty reception at our site. Would stay longer next time we have an opportunity to travel through this area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$40
We stayed here over the Memorial Day weekend. The camp was packed and had many activities to do. The grounds were well kept and the staff very friendly. Some sights need some extra boards for leveling. A nice quiet area (most of the time). There is a pond for waterfront camping and Wi-Fi is available. This is a nice place to get away from everything for a weekend. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2008
$60
Campground needs some trees planted, line ups for sewage dump at the end of the weekend. Canandagua is a great little town, campground is nice and close to the speedway. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$40
Great park near the Canandaigua Lake. Park is well maintained and, contrary to other reviews, staff is very helpful and friendly. Would stay her again if in the area. WiFi adequate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$40
I spent the month of August at this campground and really enjoyed staying here. The monthly rate was $780 for a full hook up site, considerably less than the $40 daily rate. I tend to stay longer in one area now to offset the high cost of fuel. The site was level, but small and the RV sites are close together (typical of a KOA). The utilities are shared, so I had to bring my electric and water lines under my camper to the hookup. The campground itself is very clean and well maintained, with a lot of activities for kids and families. I would also have to disagree with some of the previous reviewers about the staff. Everyone was very pleasant and helpful and went out of their way to ensure that I was comfortable and satisfied with my stay. The rules of the campground are reasonable and are obviously enforced to make sure that everyone there enjoys their stay. The only incident I observed where the staff were "less" than friendly involved children running wild and loud and abusive language after the start of "quiet hours". I would not hesitate to recommend this campground either as a destination or as an overnight stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$42
Nice friendly park with a nice game room and activities for my 3 children, we would return again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$33
My wife and I stopped here for an overnight on the way home from a longer trip. We had some concerns about KOA and crowded sites, but thought we would be OK on a Thursday in October. The hosts were very friendly and accommodating. We asked for a nice site away from other campers and got one. We were close to the restrooms near the small lake and could get WiFi reception on my laptop from inside the camper. The sites seemed a little small but not overly cramped. There are plenty of activities for kids. Well stocked store. Clean restrooms and showers. We would stop here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$34
We camped with several other families and I was hesitant when they said it was a KOA, which I equate with overcrowded and no trees. Not true here! While the front RV section is pretty densely packed, the tent area where we were had large wooded, park-like sites. The list of activities were endless. They have an obstacle course through the woods with a zip line! They had a pool, hiking trails, playgrounds, mini golf (fee), climbing wall, on-site cafe, paddleboats (fee) and bike/carriage combos (fee), rec hall, tetherball -- that's a partial list. My kids (12 and 14) loved it and I think they did just about every activity. Also, the restrooms were clean and spacious. The attractiveness coupled with the activities really changed my idea about KOA's. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$37
POSITIVES OF THIS KOA: very clean restrooms, decent size store with most items you'd want or need, some weekend activities, variety of site options available (i.e: gravel, patio, pond, wooded, etc.). Many pull-thru sites and big rig sites. Free good quality wifi. Picnic tables in decent shape and fire pits for every site. Great small homemade obstacle course and short children's zip line in rear of park. Decent playground and cute canoe sandbox. Well-maintained and decently priced laundry facilities. Short drive from the campsite to Culinary Center, beach, water park, and vineyards. Clean, small pool (cold though!). Free blue wheeled tote can be borrowed from store for your use if you are not on a sewer site. Another plus-many more sewer sites than typical in campgrounds. NEGATIVES OF THIS KOA: Condescending owner, employees and overall generally poor customer service-present as friendly at first but we, and all others around us, were constantly being "warned" to not do this or that, even when we weren't to begin with! Example of this: bought net for child in store. Owner asked what was it for-I thought it was just friendly communication until he reminded us to not "move rocks", "take frogs from pond", etc. Another example: we rented a peddle bike and was warned 3 times to "not go too fast". It is as if they do not trust anyone to behave. Quiet hours are 10 pm, which was too early in our opinion. We'd just get our fire going after dark and have to go inside shortly afterward as this park is silent by 10 due to owner patrol (some might love this!). We wish it was 11 pm as in most parks. Another pet peeve-we didn't discover until after we got there that they have NO activities and cafe is not open during the week, which wasn't obvious on the site. We would have stayed at a state campground had we been aware of this given the price. Speaking of price, expect to pay for everything: Mini-golf was old, beat-up course and we each paid $3 dollars-with no score cards even available. Visitors are $3 dollars apiece, and be prepared for them to also be lectured about rules. You also must pay an extra $3 for each person in your family over 2 people per day (for our children, we paid an extra $42 dollars for the week). 75% of the RV sites are very close together. Be prepared to run water or sewer lines under RV's, etc to reach, and/or have utility poles near picnic tables/awnings, etc. If you do happen to get a bigger site, they'll charge you $3 dollars extra per day. Because this park is near the thruway, there was TONS of traffic at all hours-the site next to us had 5 different people in the 7 days we were there. The dumpsters are also only dumped once a week when they needed to be dumped 2-3 times per week. They were overflowing and smelly and are in the front of the park. They also park people EVERYWHERE in this park, including within 5 feet of playground, arcade, pond, and golf course! Someone else had commented on this and I couldn't believe how true this was! It was unreal when busy! We couldn't even find room to play bocce ball and frisbee unless we went into the unoccupied tent sites in the rear of the park. No food, except ice cream bars and slushies and some limited beverages available during week. Long waits always in store. Each of the 2 bathrooms are closed 2 hours per day in prime time (i.e: 10-12 and 12-2). Arcade is very outdated and my children and others lost lots of money in it. I told the office once and it took 45 minutes to get my money returned, and only after being questioned for a few minutes by no fewer than 3 employees separately about how'd I'd lost it! I was only asking for my child's .50 cents to be returned-it was ridiculous! They also refused to tell me when I made my reservation what site they'd given me, and I couldn't find a site map anywhere online, which is a first for me. Flies were very bad at this park and I can only assume it was due to the poorly maintained pond-it was filled with algae and weeds and difficult to fish in. We had to buy fly strips (conveniently sold in store!) just to eat dinner outside. They had some activities on Saturday (pancake breakfast for $5, craft for $2, ice cream for $1-2, free coffee, free zip line, free hayride, bingo for $1 per board, and wine tasting (unsure of cost) but most cost extra. Additionally, they don't print out sheets with activity times and costs listed so you must either write it down yourself (ia: copying it from office where it is posted or listen attentively to not-loud-enough announcements made when activities occur. Overall, we were disappointed and probably won't return despite clean facilities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$37
We stayed on a full-hookup, pull-through site. The site was not bad - fairly level - but it was too small. The area you had between the picnic table and the next site was very close. There were some other pull-through sites that had more room, but it looked like they were reserved for the big rigs first, and the littler guys last - which makes perfect sense. The laundry came in very handy since our dog decided to pee on our bed the first night, and then her own bed the night before we left. The store had small packs of detergent, softener and a change machine for the laundry. Everything worked perfectly. The hiking trails were nice, and there was a dog walk area with disposable bags provide - nice. The staff was good about emptying the garbage and refilling the bag dispenser. We would stay here again, but only if we got a bigger site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$36
The spaces here are level and easily accessible, although some of the big rigs seemed to have trouble getting into their sites. The sites seem quite close together. The trees are beautiful. This campground seems kind of far from the interstate, but that would not deter us from staying here again, if we were to be passing through. TV reception is great, without using the antenna. There is no cable. WiFi is good. Miniature golf, fishing, playground equipment, pedal cars, bikes, arcade room, and pedal boats are all available. This is a very nice campground, and we enjoyed our stay here, even though it was only overnight. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2007
$33
This campground is exactly what I expected from a national chain. It feels like you are parking in a parking lot. It is strongly policed by campground employees riding around the tiny campground in a golf cart with a clipboard. Your neighbor's sewer hose is a few feet from your door. The campground owners seem to have a very superior attitude about their campground and instead of welcoming guests they appear to be allowing you to stay at their esteemed establishment with a practiced and polite smile. The pros? It is close to Canandaigua lake and the water park. The rest of the finger lakes are nearby. The store is well stocked, the bathrooms are clean and they have full hookups. KOA campgrounds are and always will be a place to stop while traveling so you can dump your tanks, fill your water tank, take a shower in a clean bathroom and move on. If you are looking to stay in the area there are several state camp grounds within an hour that have so much more to offer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2006
$36
We stayed a total of three times at this campground. The owner seems pretty nice. We were promised a site right next to our relatives, but were put far away from them. This upset us. There is a lot to do at this Koa, and the bathrooms seemed clean. The sites are extremely close together and have tree branches hanging down. Part of our roof was torn as a result. There is a big rig friendly part of this campground, but the sites there only have water & electric. This campground is close to beautiful Canandaigua. There is no cable at this campground, and the owner doesn't plan on adding it any time soon. Your antennae can receive Rochester and Syracuse stations though. I would recommend this campground if you have a small RV or have children. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2005
$36
First the positive comments -- the campground is clean and well maintained. It has many amenities for the entire familiy and is conveniently located. Now the negative comments -- our reservation was not held properly. We reserved a full hookup site and they had us reserved for only water and electric -- its a good thing I printed my reservation confirmation. The owner advised me that he keeps one full hookup site open for such errors. The sites are EXTREMELY close together and I had to run my water and electric under the trailer under the steps in order to hookup. We had an end site with a road on 3 sides -- a lot of noise. Due to the configuration of the site, our neighbor's sewer hookup was 6 feet from our picnic table -- there was no place else to put it. The owners have a fee for everything -- I'd rather they charge a couple extra dollars per night and not fee so much. I wanted to stay about an hour or so passed checkout time and he wanted to charge me a fee and indicated that the site was reserved for that evening -- 4 days earlier he advised me that this same site was kept open in the event of reservation errors. Every inch of this campground had people camping -- on the miniature golf course and there was even a motorhome in one of the roads -- you literally could not have had one additional person on the campground -- way too crowded! If I'm going to have this many people around me, it defeats the purpose of camping -- we'd be better off staying at a hotel in the city. I would not recommend this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$32
This is the second time we have camped there, first in 2004. We were in site 12 also agree wholeheatedly on the size. (we only have a 25 foot 5'er and it was tight) It is a nice campground and they are correct in saying that larger sites are farther down the row but aren't too many larger ones. And yes I saw someone almost go in one of those sunken firepits trying to avoid a vehicle from another campsite. The utility hook-ups are shared and for somone on the left of the box you had better have a real long electric cord or you wont reach it. Peddle cars are kind of pricy to rent. You may not be able to use your awning because of trees in awkward spots We stay there because of the proximity to two area water parks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$36
Pros: Very clean and well kept. Very friendly and helpful management. Small enough so I would imagine that if you stayed a week or more, you'd know everyone else in the park. It also had some rental cabins at the end of the lake. Cons: We had a small site #12. Not enough room for tow vehicle and 32' 5th wheel front to back; had to park truck horizontally in front of trailer. . . which was a bit hazardous because of sunken fire pits. Sites further up the row appeared to be longer. Also did not like the water connection being located ABOVE the electrical connection. We will camp here again...but pick a different site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2004
$35
This is a good family park with lots of things for the kids to do. But, if you have a RV the sites are too close together, the hookups are very poorly set up. The owners are not all that nice either. The laundry was clean. The garbage at the dumpster was overflowing and not emptied the 3 days we were there. We won't stay here again, just not a very friendly park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$38
Very convenient location - about 5 miles off NY Thruway (I-90) exit 44 - just east of first Rochester exit. Clearly marked. A very nice KOA park that has been nicely maintained and very clean. Good hard gravel roads and level sites. Spots for everything from tents to big rig RV's. Lots of grass and a very nice lake. A cafe and game room - with paddle boat and bike/buggy rentals available. Very safe location in the country. Victor and Kathy are personally involved and really enjoy what they do. Victor has years of experience with Boy Scout camps, and it carries over into the operation of this camp. They take pride in what they do, and work hard to make campers happy. New WiFi added recently - fee based. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com