206673 User submitted reviews online!!
Croton Point Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 37 user reviews. Phone: (914) 862-5290
CGID1937

Croton Point Park

Camp Information
Sites
92
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   8   6   7   5   9   9   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$50
This was a really nice place to spend a couple of days. The area is gorgeous, and right on the Hudson River. The sites are wide enough, with grass and trees, and well-maintained. No Wi-Fi. Bathrooms were clean. My only complaint was that the lodge was right across from our site, and there was a large party with loud music. They did stop playing at 10 PM, but the ambience of being on the river was disturbed. We didn't take advantage of the train into NY City, but the station was very close and we were told it was a 45 minute ride to Manhattan. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
This place is a real find. Close to New York City with convenient, frequent service by rail just a mile away. This is a large, lovely family park with playgrounds, ball fields, beachfront on the Hudson, peace and quiet. The grand kids loved playing outside on the green lawns and running to the close by playground. The sites are large. If you stay a week or more the price is very reasonable for a park this close to NYC. I searched for a long time before this park popped up on the radar. New York's best kept secret. Just don't expect fancy amenities. No Wi-Fi (We have our own Verizon air card). No cable (We have satellite). But there is water, electric, and sewer. The place is clean and basically well maintained. They are short on staff due to county budget restrictions. Low bridges on 9A. Just avoid that road and use 9. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$50
This is a county park (not state, as other review indicated). Attendants were very friendly and helpful; reservation must be by phone or in person. Main difficulty in getting here is US-9 -- 8 miles of transit from I-87, through several towns with narrow, double lanes and 30mph speed control. The MNR station is two miles from campsites, so noise is minimal; this is a great location for NYC access -- takes 50-60 mins (depending on which train you get). Full hook-ups are $50 per day; $240 for a week-long stay (5-7 days is same cost), makes it $35/day --- nice option. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$34
We stayed here for a week. The property this park has is very very nice, but it is in need of maintenance, possibly due to financial issues of the county? The staff of four people in the front office that greeted us on arrival, were more interested in their conversation than servicing us. The outlet at our electric hookup was upside down, so we couldn't use our surge protector. The trash dumpster was convenient but very messy, again, the staff needs to clean up after it, also get a replacement dumpster that isn't falling apart. The location to the train station for getting into NYC is very good, about a mile away. The sites are well spaced. There are great hiking trails and bike trails in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$50
For a state park, this was a nice place. The sites were huge and well cared for. There is no Wi-Fi and some minor train noise (from the nearby depot), but overall, the park is dark and quiet at night. It's a rare treat (for us) to have water at a State Park, much less sewers, so we were happy. The park gets busy in the weekends, but it seems tent campers are kept far away from RV sites so the party noise was minimal. VERY, VERY convenient access to the Train to NYC or Poughkeepsie. A nice grocery store, a hardware store, laundromat (important on long trips), gas stations, a Diner and an Italian Deli are right outside the gates, so that's very convenient. As mentioned in an earlier review, the roads outside the park are VERY hilly with VERY tight turns; pulling our 27' travel trailer made for some white-knuckle driving, but we did fine arriving and leaving. If we find ourselves going in NYC anytime again, we will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
Nice park location, difficult access for large RVs due to bridge height restrictions on access roads and turnpikes. You must take RT 9 thru narrow city roads. Restrooms were disgusting because they haven't been cleaned in months. Many carnival workers staying there and seasonal workers weed whacking all day spraying my rig with rocks. One TV station so bring a dish. No WiFi. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$35
Our rate based on a weekly rate. What a beautiful place to set up. Lots of shady level sites, the train into the City outside the gate and its a 45 minute ride into Grand Central. The park sits on hundreds of acres on the Hudson River with a short walk to the river or a sandy beach. Not sure why previous poster had problems with TV stations. We had major networks plus with just our RV antenna. We will go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$50
We totally enjoyed our stay at Croton Pond. Beautiful views of the Hudson River, great places to walk and lots to do. The hookups were good and our campsite - number 15 - was the most level site we have ever been situated on. So setting up was a breeze. The sites are grassy and a good size. The picnic table provided was brand new. The bathhouse was immaculate with new shower curtains. You could tell they were getting ready for the season. Not having a satellite, we were surprised that we could not get a single TV channel. Hope our reviews are helpful to others. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
We attended a rally here. Cost per night was due to us staying at the rally rate. Stayed here 8 nights. Sites short but a few will hold 45 foot coaches with some maneuvering. Only problem was exit gate. Up/down arm was hit by someone. Be careful when you exit with your RV. Area quiet. Bugs a pest a dusk. Great base to visit NY city and surrounding area. West Point tour a must. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
The best thing about this park is the location. A short bike ride or drive to the Croton on Hudson train station is all it takes to put you on a train that goes right to Grand Central Station in 30 minutes. It's also about 2/3 the price of the Jersey City park. It's a beautiful peninsula that juts out into the Hudson River with a nice beach, trails and partially wooded sites. We had a full hookup site that was level on grass. We were able to get satellite TV from our site with a little positioning. The park staff are not at all friendly or welcoming, and on more than one occasion the bathrooms looked as if they hadn't been cleaned in days. The showers are hideous with filthy walls and cobwebs and one of three stalls had a ripped shower curtain basically nonfunctional. One weekend there was no hot water and I had to inform the staff myself as nobody had otherwise known. Despite those problems we would stay here again just for the proximity to NYC. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$50
Nice park, just not accessible for large motorcoaches. The tree limbs and branches make it more than a challenge to get into and out of the park or RV section. The folks who run the place are very friendly and accommodating, but they just will not trim trees for folks to get through. I had to cut limbs for about an hour to get into the space where we were assigned. Even the road coming in and out I had to drive off the roadway on the grass to clear limbs to avoid doing damage. I called ahead to check on tree clearance, but it didn't help. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$50
Very nice large sites, pretty shaded but not hard to get around the trees. You have to negotiate some town traffic to get into the park, but once you cross past the train station, it's very easy to get around. Verizon hotspot worked well. A gem of a park in the sense that you can enjoy the trails along the Hudson, or get on the train and be in NYC in under an hour. I would highly recommend it as a destination to visit NYC, it couldn't have been easier to get on the train and get to Grand Central. Very nice staff and a well maintained park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
Great location for visiting NYC; train station is very close and it is only ~40 mins to Grand Central Terminal. The park is beautiful and has lots of nice walking areas and wildlife. The sites are large and level. Utilities are good but we had problems reaching the water and sewer connections; many of the sites have sewer in the front and water hook-up in the back. This is a county park and the office staff is not always aware of which sites are open (could be their reservation software?) and which ones will work for your RV. You may want to walk the sites before you pay. Sites 1-4 (electrical and water only) are on a busy road that leads to the cabins so people tend to speed past in their cars. Shower was not clean but the water was hot. We would definitely stay here next time we visit NYC. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$50
Very pricey, but due to location, okay. On peninsula in Hudson River. Could be very nice if the weather was better. Good TV, Verizon phone & data. I will probably return here when we next return to NYC. About a 45 minute drive to town. Watch for low bridges and restricted expressways. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$50
Park was beautifully maintained with mowed grass throughout (much nicer than gravel parking pads) and open spaces for playing ball. Looks like an old scout camp with rental cabins at the far end of the point. Our site was probably the worst for levelness and layout but we postponed our trip at the last minute and took whatever was available. Most sites are level and offer good mix of sun & shade. $50/nt was a great price for proximity to NYC. KOA's were almost $ 68/nt and another 1h north of city. Not worth the drive even if it gave you Wi-Fi and cable. Very quiet during our stay - I think most people use it only as a place to sleep and then tour during the day. Convenient drive to NYC (about 1h 15m) as long as not during rush hour. Did not use train into NYC as 5 people traveling would be $90/d, return trip. Drove to Queens everyday, parked for free and used subway. Pool is closed indefinitely due to cost cutting but that seemed to be the only place where they cut costs. No problems with the staff. They allowed us to delay our arrival for 3 days and then to extend our stay for an extra day, with no hassles. Watch for the low bridges coming in (10'11" for lowest bridge and that was only in the inside lane - 14' at the outside lane). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
I like this place, well kept and clean. Easy access by train to New York City. Staff was great helpful and friendly, sometimes a little confused as to who is where and what spot to camp (someone else may be in the spot they tell you to go to) but will always work it out. We will definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$50
We found the campground to be very comfortable and clean. The grounds were well kept and very well lit at night. Plenty of open areas to walk pets. There is a large area along side of the campsites where you can play softball, soccer, etc. We will stay in the park again when we return to the NY area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2011
$50
Great campground. The "3" is for management. They are basically clueless as to what is going on. Was told several times, no other spots available during this weekend. My specific spot was very unlevel for our wheelchair lift. When I contacted the office, they directed me to the only 2 possible sites I could switch to: both of which were occupied with campers. The office seemed clueless as to what was happening. Finally, they did send a man around to offer us a few different spots, which was great. But again, was told that ALL spots in the campground were taken. Well, we counted at least a dozen spots that were vacant the entire weekend. No loss to me, but the county is the loser in this situation, as the office is undoubtedly turning away campers thinking the campground is full. If you want a freebee, just pull in after hours, set up camp, you will be good to go. Had to return gate card upon leaving today. Office supposed to open at 8am. At 8.30am, nobody around, all locked up. They need to contract out the reservation system as the county employees cannot do it. Nice large spots, campground is great. The drive in via route 9 is terrible! Not a single gas station big enough for my 37' gasser. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$50
Somewhat pricey for only 30 amp, no cable, no wireless. Probably justified by proximity to NYC. We tried for Liberty Landing - much closer but they were booked up. Quiet park, big sites. Only problem was that office staff assigned us a site already occupied when we got there. A little tough backing up the 40' motor home on a twisting road to another site that we just took and then reported to office. Also, same staff person was on an apparent personal call when we entered office and was in no rush to get off to register us. Would stay here again if we couldn't get into Liberty Landing but would scout out site with toad before driving motor home to it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
This is the park to stay for a wonderful trip to NYC. Located adjacent to the Metro North Croton Harmon station, you are 50 traffic free minutes from Grand Central terminal. Located along the Hudson River north of the city the park is beautiful and peaceful. Ample cycling routes start from the park, plus the grocery store 2 miles from the campsites (spots are 1.5 miles inside the park) makes for easy shopping. Verizon signal was strong for both cell and data. 30 amp hookups operated with proper voltage. Words of caution: This area of New York is hazardous to tall RVs. Route your trip with caution. Best access, although you will pay tolls, is 287 to 9n through Terrytown. We arrived via an alternate route that was very dangerous being unfamiliar with the area. Also local gas stations are small so larger rigs should not arrive low on diesel; fuel prices are expensive too so plan accordingly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$50
A very nice park close to the Metro North train station. Can be at Grand Central terminal in 45 minutes. The restroom/shower was under construction when we were here. There was a huge festival in the park down below the campground, but not a problem. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$50
This was a clean park with fairly level sites. They are all back-in sites in our area. The office people acted a little strange at first, as we did not reserve ahead of time, just showed up in the early evening, and I guess people don't usually do that. After some discussion, they told us to go find a spot and come back in the morning to register and pay. When we went to the office in the morning, again, there was some confusion followed by agreeing to register us and let us stay. They were very nice: it just seemed like we really threw a monkey-wrench into the system by not calling and pre-registering. Overall, we thought the park was clean and well maintained. It would have been nice if the poles had lights on them: my husband managed to tangle pretty good with one in the dark, necessitating him to pick himself up, off the ground and stumble to the coach for a little of my dabbing at his wounds. So if you venture out in the dark: don't forget those poles spaced here and there: they bite! I can't say much for noise or weekend activities of other campers, as we spent a few nights at a hotel in New York, leaving our coach sitting here. The only complaint, other than the price was on the higher end, was that the water was pretty fishy or sour smelling. New York City water is amazingly clean and tasty, so am thinking that this came right out of the Hudson?!? If you can avoid putting it into your fresh water tank, you might consider doing so. We saw several big rigs in the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$50
This is a very nice full hookup campground in a rural park setting, yet it is only a 40 minute train ride from Grand Central Station. The train station is very close and convenient. The park was well maintained, and the staff was friendly. All spots appeared to be well shaded. The playground was nice. The pool was not open while we were there, but it is very large. A number of TV channels can be picked up with an antennae. It was nice to come back to a rural setting like this after being in the city all day. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
This park has nice sized spaces with shade variants. Be sure to drive/walk around campground before accepting an assigned site. Some sites are muddy and/or provide no satellite access. Check that your access card works while there is still someone in the office to replace it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$50
This is a State Park NOT a RV resort. That being said, I would recommend to those who like the freedom of not being monitored of your every move, can deal with people of all walks and the beauty of the mighty Hudson River. Town is right close and you have HUGE spaces. NO fire rings so make sure you bring one if you want to have a camp fire. There is a beach, and about 5 miles of bike trails. Also good birding if you like and a boat ramp. DO NOT take 9A (low bridges)only take 9a from 287. It is about a 20 minute drive through several towns with some narrow roads. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2009
$50
Pros: Park is nicely kept. Nice shade trees. Generously spaced sites. Quick access to Metro North Railway system. Nice park to walk around. Resident campers sites are mostly neatly kept. Electric good, water good. Cons:Price of campground has DRAMATICALLY increased to $50 a night. This is not a $50 a night campground. Not even close. No cable or wifi which is not acceptable for a $50 a night campground 90% of the park is occupied by full-time campers. Campground is next to 2 NYS Super-Fund sites for toxic waste. It is also located next to Metro North's railway hub. Which means all the trains come there at night and you can hear them running all night as they move them in and out of the repair/maintenance shop. They will finally idle them down around 3am so you get some quiet until 4am when the crank them up and they start leaving the station. Around 5am is when you can start hearing the train horns as the regular commuter line starts. Trains woke me and the wife up every morning. Since they raised the price there is no reason to pick this campground over Liberty Park, which is $10 more, but you are closer to NYC. Would not camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
Very nice park. Lots of trees and grass. Paved interior roads with grass sites. Like another reviewer said watch the bridge clearances carefully. Coming from Manhattan Island area use either Highway 9 or 9A. Although either road is mostly four lane, the outside lane will be a low as 10'1" but the inside lane will be 13'+. Also being from the west coast we were not aware of the restrictions on the Parkways being for cars only. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
As another reviewer stated, the only reason this park doesn't get a perfect 10 is because they do not have 50 amp service or cable. Other than that, this park was PERFECT! We had a great time. Literally on the metro-north railroad line - simple access. Park is beautiful, extremely clean, even the long term sites were spotless. Cant wait to stay here again - we booked a full month next summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
This park is a gem and it is impossible to beat the price and location. There are a number of long term campers, but their sites are kept up and the people are friendly. Don't be discouraged if you encounter problems in making a reservation. It took us six phone calls over three days. On the first couple of calls we were told they were too busy and to call back another day. When you travel in this area in a motorhome or pulling a fiver, watch the warning sighs on the overpass locations. Although the road is four lane, the outside lane may be a low as 10'1"; the inside lane will be 13'+. We would highly recommend this park. Lots of trees and walking trails. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
This Park grew on us. When we arrived the site we had reserved was taken by what looked like a long term camper. This is an older park, and for some reason they have big square posts at odd places around each site. It severely limits where you can park a big rig. Some of the hookups are not convenient. After several contacts with the office we were given a site that we were able to angle into and access the water and sewer. The location is beautiful- right on the Hudson and there is a stop within walking distance where you can catch a train right into the city. We would stay there again, but wish they would reconfigure the sites to be more user friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$30
This is the best kept secret in the whole state of New York. They don't advertise anywhere, so it was a great surprise to find something so close to the City and the Metro North is just at the entrance to the park. The staff is pleasant and helpful. Would be a 10 if they had 50 amp. We don't care that there isn't WiFi or Cable, we bring our own sattelite and internet connection. Wonderful walking trails. We want to come back in the spring for two months!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
Another great place to stay. The staff has been here for years, and treats you right. I used to fix dinner on Sunday and feed the entire staff. Lots of wildlife. Many festivals held in the park during the summer. A lot of the campers have been coming there for years. The people in town and the campground really do mess up the way us Texas guys think about Yankees. Give her a try, you won't regret it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2007
$27
They need to cut back the branches in and out of this campground, BIG TIME!! We did tell the gal in the office. But nothing was done during our 11 day/night stay. Did run into some problems with the electric. We have a surge guard. Shuts down the power to our unit if the voltage gets below 105 or above 132. It's to protect the A/C, frig./freezer and everything else in the unit. The surge guard then checks the electric power coming to the unit once very 8 seconds. Once the power is back between 106 and 132 it will turn the electric power back on. It shut down 3 times during our stay, 5 to 20 minutes. Did tell the front office and was told there was nothing they could do. It was the city's problem. The campground is quiet and is within walking or driving distance to the train to take you into and back from NYC. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$30
This campground could be very nice. They did not and have not mowed the grass in weeks. The front of the park is immaculate but the campground section had grass 18 inches high in places. It has a great location and good power though there were no 50 amp sites available when we got here due to the number of seasonal people here. I would say that half of the sites are seasonal with multiple cars in front of trailer with a lot of junk piled around and under them. I have stayed at worse campgrounds and we are not here for the campground but a wedding so it will work as a weekend stay but not a destination. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$29
Great wooded campground in a state park. Very friendly folks, very good paved roads, sites are gravel or paved and mowed grass patios with tables. Good spot to camp for visiting New York City as the train station is a 2 mile walk or drive from the campground. The train station is located at the entrance to the park and will take you to Grand Central Station in New York City. When its time to leave the hustle and bustle of NYC, this is a good place to retreat to of an evening. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2005
$30
Difficult to access, but a great jumping off spot for NYC. The campground would have been gorgeous with some administration. Many residents are obviously long-term and when you see two pit bulls lunging at you from a site, it doesn't give you a lot of confidence. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2002
$30
Though the rates are rather on the high side the park is not listed in any of the campground directories which it should. I stayed there the entire summer (2002). The park sits on a peninsula which is on the Hudson River at the river's widest point. A short walk to the Metro-North Train station will have you at Grand Central Station in about 40 minutes. The park is a county run park, their phone number is 914-864-PARK. The staff here is real friendly and helpful the park Superintendant, his assistant, my "BUDDY" and all the other staff members that enjoy the experience to helping you any way they can. I plan on being a camp host here next summer. Hope to see you! We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com